M Williams Choke sign

Yeah no doubting we're immature as a team because we have no right in our development to be here. Which is exactly what is freaking all you guys out :p:p:p

The relevance of your comments to this thread is non existant.

Your change of topic and using of the word "immature" as if claimed by me, reeks of arrogance.

You do realise what Williams has done dont you. The next time you get beat there will be opposition supporters leaning over the fence choking themselves to Williams... you've actually now got that associated with your club!!!

You can argue its relevance all you like, Im glad its you guys and not us.

It will now be the last memory of your last game of this season.

HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA!

You do realise what Williams has done dont you. The next time you get beat there will be opposition supporters leaning over the fence choking themselves to Williams... you've actually now got that associated with your club!!!

You can argue its relevance all you like, Im glad its you guys and not us.

It will now be the last memory of your last game of this season.

HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA!

I wonder if those same oppositin supporters hang over the fence waving guns at Didak? ;)

I'd rather have a player get involved in a minor on-field indiscretion than have a player roaming around with criminals off-field :thumbsdown:

Oh and for the record my thoughts on the whole 'choke' drama....

What Williams did was stupid, yet it was also done in the heat of the moment after an ordinary game from himself - I think it is fair to say he let the emotions of the game get the better of him.

Is it fair to target him like he has killed a child? Hmmm No. But that is what the media and over-sensitive supporters will dov:rolleyes:

Is Williams arrogant? Definatly not, I'm sure those who spend enough time around the club and our players will no Willo is one of the most shy, down to earth guys you will ever meet. Does he play it up for the crowd? Hell yeah, most of the indigenous boys do (ala Farmer) and it is what makes our game so interesting to watch.

Would Williams regret what he did? Absoloutly, he is one guy who I can assure you doesn't want a media circus following him around, this is the guy who refuses most media appearances and interviews as he doesn't like the recognition.

Did Clarko handle the situation correctly? In my opinion no, he could have issued a small statement about how it was the wrong thing to do and left it at that, save the verbal spray for Willo behind closed doors. As for the comment about how Willo's actions could contribute to 'a quick way to exit the footy club' I fail to see how a player could be asked to leave the club based on a poor post-goal celebration, yet other players in the same club who have had many off-field indiscretions get barely a tap on the knuckles :confused:

Willo has apoligised to the port coach (even though his celebration was directed at the players not Choco) and he has made a mends with many of the Port Players so why it remains an issue for people who it did not directly offend continues to baffle me :confused:

bit of an overreaction.

at the end of the day it was unneccessary. something like that is going to attract negative publicity, so why do it ? a distraction that is not needed.

im sure the port players wont forget it. may even spur them on next time they meet which again makes the whole thing a bit senseless. and then theres the whole 1 goal for the game thing.. hardly a contributor.

subaru - you are a real s**t-stirrer.

Choco sent the runner straight out to Tredrea and had him dragged - told him to pull his head in. Tredrea apologised the following day through the media at a recovery session.

Was just a question ...........seem to remember Port fans thinking it was OK that's all - you can't have it both ways;)

Its time to let it rest. Karmas a bitch and no doubt it will come knocking on Willaims door.

So how about we all jsut calm down and wait another 3 or 4 months and bring it up again after we no doubt see images of Williams crying after getting knocked out of the finals once again.

The last cocky prick that tried to insult out club during a game was Kane Pettifer. .... and hes still soaking up the karma.
oh go and have a cry - didnt your coach do the same jesture???

grow some ____ing balls

I can;t believe some people are suggesting a 1-2 week holiday and comparing to bad off field behavior.

Its quite obvious that Port were probably chiping to Willo all game, and it was just to shove up it up them at the end, it was over the top, and he copped a public spray from Clarko, move on.

I would find it amusing from another club, and actually enjoy seeing a bit of character, people really have over-reacted here, and just seem to want to get into him, but I never heard anyone give crap to Alastair Lynch do it, and that was in a preliminary final to club legend Scot West.
just goes to show how sanitied the games becoming these days - everyone being so precious

and you guys call soccer players soft :rolleyes:

Williams - zero class

Clarko - very classy effort coming out straight away to come down hard on it. Great message to send to his players and the competition. If this is the sort of thing that he tries to teach his players, the Hawks are in very good hands....

..and people lament that fact that there are no characters in the game anymore then crucify them when they do.

Chocko showed his class by doing the choke at the Grand Final. I thought it was pretty poetic that his namesake gave it back to him.

Clarko did the right thing because he has to keep a lid on a team that is playing well but is yet to make the final hurdle but geez, give the guy a break.

I wonder if those same oppositin supporters hang over the fence waving guns at Didak? ;)

I'd rather have a player get involved in a minor on-field indiscretion than have a player roaming around with criminals off-field :thumbsdown:

What like opposition supporters leaning over the fence at Hawthorn games with massive bags of cocaine!!!!!

Your avoiding of the point will not make it go away.

Cant wait to see how Williams takes it when it bites him in the arse.

It will be the last thing he sees this season.

What like opposition supporters leaning over the fence at Hawthorn games with massive bags of cocaine!!!!!

That would be some drug bust. The whole Collingwood cheer squad in one fell swoop. They might let Joffa keep his gold jacket in the big house.

But then I guess you would have to beat us to taunt Willo wouldn't you?

It will be the last thing he sees this season.

Meaning what? Is this one of those internet threats? Is that you Alan Didak?

How did you bloody choke against us? Ridiculous! We were above you on the ladder, and a very good side! That is not choking! Sure, we kicked the last couple of goals, but we were better than you last year, especially at the end of the minor round. Not choking.

Just like us today, you lost a close game against a tough opponent. That in itself does not constitute choking. You need to be heavily favoured to win and bottle it inexplicably to be choking.

Trust me, us Port supporters know choking.

What willow did was out of line. I am not even going to try and come up with an excuse for it

But ffs he has been berated for it by his coach in extremely strong terms in an open forum (it doesn't come much harsher than being told it's the quickest way to be shown the exit door) and still we get 450+ posts on it.

Kicked a goal with 30 seconds left on the clock, his first scoring shot and basically first useful thing he did all day, turned around and did the choke sign - hand around his throat with another hand in the air 'holding a rope'.

INXS were guests of the hawthorn football club and he just wanted to dedicate a goal to them :confused::eek:

p.s. 30 page thread for that, wow, impressive. I've only read the first 3 pages but i'm guessing a couple of the hawks and north boys fired up somewhere in the thread? Did H2F get on board? Please let me know as i'll take the time to read if that's the case!

Last year, r21 hawks choked against port, losing a top 4 place.

Perhaps the port players had been reminding the hawks of this and Willo did EXACTLY what chocko did.

I have no doubt this is exactly what happened.

How did you bloody choke against us? Ridiculous! We were above you on the ladder, and a very good side! That is not choking! Sure, we kicked the last couple of goals, but we were better than you last year, especially at the end of the minor round. Not choking.

Just like us today, you lost a close game against a tough opponent. That in itself does not constitute choking. You need to be heavily favoured to win and bottle it inexplicably to be choking.

Trust me, us Port supporters know choking.

We choked because we were ahead early in the game and in the last quater against you guys. If you are ahead in the last quater and have been leading most of the game you choked. We did that last year.

Choking is not restricted to the place you are on the ladder before the game, or finals.

You guys want this game to be sanitised so much, at the time when your coach did his choke symbol I laughed and thought it was awesome and the right thing to do. He let the emotion get to him and he showed it. Don't take this out of the game.

It's not an insult it's a passionate response and it's almost a tribute to him and if you give it you also have to be able to take it.

I'm thinking the reason Clarko has reacted like this because he is close to Choko, was involved on that GF day and the years leading up and knew the motivation behind Choko making that statement.

If you are gonna be a smart arse its best to do so when you have played a good game.

The lady-boy gets his first goal in consolation time after lurking out the back on his own and comes up with this gem.

Flog.

I agree. Beating Port in Tassie with such a home ground advantage is a non event. Should have been able to put this win in the bag, with little trouble and moved on - instead of create the attention, brought on yourselves with such an arrogant move from one of the players that should have tried to keep a lid on things.

Nothing too impressive about winning and being so arrogant about it, with such a huge homeground advantage.

Huge homeground advantage?

Port have trounced us something like 10 out of the last 12 games, including several games down there.

You tried (yet again). You failed (yet again).

If you are gonna be a smart arse its best to do so when you have played a good game.

The lady-boy gets his first goal in consolation time after lurking out the back on his own and comes up with this gem.

Flog.

Warren Tredrea - sighted in the first quarter then disappears for the rest of the game

M Williams Choke sign