Mark Williams

Good luck Willow and Bombers.

Willo could have an absolute blinder this year.. he'll be pumped. If you guys can get the ball to him early in the season he'll get the confidence and respect of the group to kick it to him all time, which will in turn keep him motivated all year.

Lock in 5 goals on Anzac day too.. he's a big game player, no doubt.

I think your consistently bigger crowded games will benefit him.

I'm already worried about who the hell will play on him from our blokes... wait a minute, Campbell Brown might get the nod. Sure would make things interesting.

Still my favourite memory of the 08 GF was him and Dewy handballing to each other twice around 4 defenders for him to pick it up and goal.. freakin gives me goose bumps thinking about it.

Good luck Willo formerly 'My man'.. we in the brown and gold will watch you work and wish you well. Feel free to sit out when we play you.. ta.

The more I think about this trade the more I like it.

I was a bit "meh" at first but it really is a good move I reckon. Having lost Lloyd and Lucas we were completely devoid of experienced goal kicking options and Williams fits that bill rather well. There weren't really many other forward options available, we wouldn't even have looked at Hall or Fev - nor should we have IMO, so if we can get anything near 50 goals from Williams next season this is a massive win for us. I've never been a big fan of his but never hated him either and am looking forward to seeing what he can do for us next season.

Add in the draft picks, I was a bit disappointed to lose pick 16 at first but with the later picks we've gained and also retaining pick 10 this trade had won me over.

Kudos to the Hawks fans who've come in here and offered their opinions as well. Hodge2Franklin you are the best of the lot mate!

lol to all that continue to put gumby in your potential forward line structures. When he gets on the park for more than 2 games in a row and does something meaningful for 5 in a row.. then include him. Personally I don't see that happening for a while if ever.

Also why are so many stoked to get "a proven goal kicker", we had one of the leagues most proven goal kickers (lloyd) and told him to piss off and play on the wing...

Was really onboad with knights but starting to feel really shaky. We need midfielders.. A grade midfielders not more half forward/back flankers (mcphee,monfries,houli,davey,jetta,zaka,mcveigh(unless he gets his run back) etc etc..

Getting anything for Nash however was a bonus but would have preferred to keep two 1st round picks so we can get some classy onballers.

Go Bombers..

And where do you think we could of got these from?

Burgoyne was the only decent midfielder offered up and he chose Hawthorn as the club he wanted to go to.

Asolutley gutted that Mark Williams was traded, a quality Hawk at the time who was with us through the hard times, earnt and enjoyed the 2008 premiership......................

Would of loved to keep you as one club player Willo, Wishing you all the Best with the bombers!

My turn. Damn hard getting to the end of this thread.

If you guys have any worries about Willo, just watch his Grand Final 08. The Dew/Willo hand ball sequence is awesome. But earlier in the game with the ball right at the boundary post he slid in, ducking and weaving, handballed to Roughy (I think) who gets the goal.

Willo is a big game player!

Goodluck to Willo and Bombers!

Willo was one of my fav Hawks. It's ironic that my fav memory of him is the goal at the end of the game to win the game against the Bombers in '06 i think. He was a great servant of the Hawks, and I hope he does great for the Bombers. I think he will kick 40 > 60 goals next year if fit. His pace is his best asset. His body language at times may frustrate you supporters. I hope he does well for the Bombers (maybe not against the Hawks tho).

I think if lloyd had been allowed to play out of the square for the last two years and knighta had put his faith in him rather than telling him he would be part of a "rotation" lloyd would have played on. The guy loved footy and loved this club.. he was only 31.. Hall is coming back at 32-33 with a two year deal (from memory).. Lloyd had the past two years and probably another 2-3 if we had played him from the square in his fave position. He was shunted into a role that didn't suit him.. we are just lucky he loved this club enough not to play somewhere else. Would have kicked 100+ for the dogs... Lloyd said his time was up because he has honour and loyalty to this club. He is the LAST person who would have come out and trashed talked about how he was shown the door. Even at the end it smacks of a champion. I still shake my head to think we 'had' to make room for neagle.. If you can't see that knighta's treatment of lloyd (and to a lessor extent Lucas) was disgraceful then.. well lets agree to disagree.

I am seriously going to start considering red cards for people who can not see the facts in front of them and keep reading something into the situation that is not there.:thumbsdown:
Why would you want to ignore all the countless interviews from various people and keep beliving the dribble that was printed early on by a media pack drooling for stories.

Just some facts.

1) Fact Kinights was happy for loyd to play on.

2) Fact Essendon offered Lloyd a very good 1 year deal.

3) Fact it is no secret that Knights and Lloyd where not best mates but at no stage did their captain / coach relationship suffer as both laid everything on the line to each other and where completly open. Hird and Sheedy where not great mates either.

4) Lloyd spoke to Richardson mid season about struggling to come up injury wise and struggling with the defensive running needed.

5) Fact if Knights thought LLoyd was not up to it he would have told him so in the same way he did with Lucas this year and Pev and JJ last year. He would not have beat around the bush. Lucas was told plain and simple that he was no longer a required part of the team plan. Lloyd would have been told the same.

6)Lloyd has struggled with constant injuries since his hamstring tendon injury and has rarely been injury free. it was close to a miracle he actually got back on the park.

As for just parking him at FF. You are expecting the coach to change his game plan structure to accomadate a player not being able to fill any other role ?
Not sure what you have been watching lately but the game has gone past plonking 1 player at FF all day uless you are Fev and a real danger of kicking 9 or 10 goals. Every other key forward plays stages of the game up the ground.
Mid season before i heard a bit of an inside story about how much Lloydy was struggling with the injuries i thought he could still fill a role as a lead up forward kicking 50 or so goals. That changed once i heard how hard he was actually finding it it to get to even 90% fitness.
Take the tip. Lloyd was physically finished.

I
Take the tip. Lloyd was physically finished.

Then why wasn't Knights man enough to say it?

Why did we offer him a 1 year contract when everyone around the club knew he was struggling to get up?

It's funny how your argument and the whole situation contradicts itself.

What any smart person can read into the situation is Knights put pressure on Lloyd to retire because he did not want to make the hard call on the club captain and all time legend. This is no slight on Knights because he's possibly a psychological genius but the constant non backing in the media would have made the Lloyd lovers sick to death.

The best outcome was achieved and the two old dinosaurs in Lloyd and Lucas are gone.

No need to argue gents we all love each other here, we all know he was offered a roaming role 1 year contract, Lloyd did what he thought was best for the club. I think he could have gone another 2 years in the square.

We effecitvely traded Lovett for Williams and pick 24. It is a big win

WIN WIN; by the dons medium sized forward who can nail a goal.. How happy did Wilo look when longey came out to meet him!! having longey at our club must be a massive clincher for the indo boys he looked rapped with the move.. Hawks have lost allot of depth in the front half with Boyle & Williams dropping off the list this year wanna hope buddy goes to the health farm this summer

I think the bow and arrow should make a return:thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu:

The Lions supporters said the same thing when we got Cupido, look how that turned out. I was one of the few Bombers who wasn't happy with that decision either, I have a sixth sense about these things. ;)

But Cupido was a good player. In fact, he was one of our most talented player in our list during his time with us.

He was our best field kick along with Rioli, one of the few players at that time that can break lines and was very smart with his positing in our forward line.

Good luck with Willo, guys. I was sad to see him go seeing I have number 6 on my back :( but like he said, he was a bit stale and no one can begrudge him of that. Hopefully he gets his body right and gets back to the Willo of old.

Before Buddy and the big Rough came along, he used to cause amok with opposition defenders and almost won a Coleman until injury cruelled him.

After Buddy and Rough came along, I reckon he took on an even more important role; The accurate and reliable kick!

His whole finals campaign last year was outstanding. I remember proudly wearing the number six as he and Stewwy Dew combined for Willo's game breaker. He'd be the one I'd want holding the pill when the siren goes.

Damn I'll miss him. Anyway, at least there's something about the Bombers I like now :p.

As much as I wanted Lloyd to go on it was the right decision to make.

He used to be able to break away from the full back on the lead but most of the time when he led for the ball the full back was right there with him... The hamstring injury just took the extra yard of pace he had.

But Williams is definitely a good get! Losing Lloyd/Lucas/Lovett, the forward line was just too young and would have had Monfries as the senior player...

He had gone stale at the Hawks and if he can get back to 05/06 form then the deal is an absolute bargain!

nqz4uu.jpg

Sorry for the amateurishness.

Good luck with Willo, guys. I was sad to see him go seeing I have number 6 on my back :( but like he said, he was a bit stale and no one can begrudge him of that. Hopefully he gets his body right and gets back to the Willo of old.

Before Buddy and the big Rough came along, he used to cause amok with opposition defenders and almost won a Coleman until injury cruelled him.

After Buddy and Rough came along, I reckon he took on an even more important role; The accurate and reliable kick!

His whole finals campaign last year was outstanding. I remember proudly wearing the number six as he and Stewwy Dew combined for Willo's game breaker. He'd be the one I'd want holding the pill when the siren goes.

Damn I'll miss him. Anyway, at least there's something about the Bombers I like now :p.

ha thanks mate....hopefully his knee come good.....we know how sharp a shot at goal he can be.....he drilled one after the siren to beat us 4-5 years back in the wet....i couldnt belive it haha

Mark Williams