• AFL & Trigg hung Rendell out to dry-Extradite them

Votes: 0 0.0%
  • AD played a sole hand in this… and his sex life

• Trigg solely to blame-He will stop at nothing

• I will vote for Slippery Pete-‘winning’ policy

• Situation? What situation? Handled perfectly!

• Rendell is racist. He invented the 3 point line!

• Trigg; the Angel Saint of the AFC-Can do no wrong

• AD hated Matt; wanted him gone- The AFC bent over

• KONY2012

• My vote doesn't count…no white parent

• Jack Watts

• man_patto

• Who cares! Where's WALL-e?

You are struggling to understand...

No one is trying to turn anyone white...

Rendell is trying to get the AFL to "offer" FREE SCHOLARSHIPS TO PRESTIGIOUS COLLAGES to Indigenous kids.... OFFER is the key word...

No one is stealing children.. No one has to come....

You don't understand do you...

No, with all due respect, you don't understand.

Indigenous people find the "offer" of taking away their children and that's what they are, children, away from their cultural upbringing to bring them up the "white" way, so to speak.

I reiterate, the majority of you here are looking at this through a white person's eyes and that is what the problem is.

At the age that Rendell is saying there should be "offers" made, these kids in the remote areas are in the process of learning the law as it pertains to the land and the black fellas see this as just another attempt at wiping out their culture and traditions.

People in Rendell's position should know this kind off stuff.

I have given rudimentary suggestions at best and this issue needs more than a few words in a forum post to suffice. This requires more research, study and trial and error for it to improve dramatically. I have linked a website already you may want to read as a starting point.

Why don't you exmplify where my 'ideas' are incorrect or non existent rather than making blanket statements like this one, 'This whole thing is giving me the shits. It is all to bloody prescious.. Some times we all need to move on... How many of us filthy white people still hold grudges towards the Japanese or the Germans? Less than 1% I'd say!'.

That shows a severe lack of understanding of Australian history. Maybe it wasn't taught to you and you have not had the time to care, but let me ask you this, how many countries are there in Australia?

What times knock off time at AFL house???

Or perhaps your posting on your own time now???

This is how I felt on Friday afternoon before the presser.

I wanted Rendell out of my club because we then "knew" he was a racist.

Had he stayed on I fear what my reaction would have been, I may not have gone to the game Saturday night in protest.

But now with more information I don't know what I "know" about the situation. I am certain that Rendell is not the monster he was portrayed as, but dont know exactly who was behind his demise and what the "end game" really is.
I doubt the truth will ever get out and we will ever know exactly what transpired.

But the club is bigger than one man, and bigger than one mans actions. Even if you disagree with the CEO, stopping your support of the club achieves nothing. And robs you of the pleasure the club gives you.

It is bigger than one man this issue. This is the fabric of the club under Trigg and it stinks....

I personally know him and let me tell you... He is a crushed man... Crushed..

Does he deserve it?

I find it remarkable that this whole fiasco has generated two threads, around 1200 posts, when we have nothing but assumption and partial information to work from.
I don't.... Not one bit...

I am filthy at the AFL, The Crows and those two insecure peanuts who have dragged Rendell down.... This is not going away any time soon...

I will NEVER forgive Steven Trigg for this

Only time I have ever though of sending my membership and any Crows gear I have to the club and saying get ****ed.

Can't see myself in Teal though...

Great post. Lie down and roll over and the AFL have won again. I want these pr**ks to pay.

No, with all due respect, you don't understand.

Indigenous people find the "offer" of taking away their children and that's what they are, children, away from their cultural upbringing to bring them up the "white" way, so to speak.

I reiterate, the majority of you here are looking at this through a white person's eyes and that is what the problem is.

At the age that Rendell is saying there should be "offers" made, these kids in the remote areas are in the process of learning the law as it pertains to the land and the black fellas see this as just another attempt at wiping out their culture and traditions.

People in Rendell's position should know this kind off stuff.

So tell me as you seem to understand...

Why is it ok for interstate AFL clubs to offer Indigenous 18 year olds a place on their list but it is wrong for prestigious colleges to offer schlarships in the same state? I didnt see Buddy Franklin, Richard Tambling or Jarryn Jacky "protest" about being offered a spot on an AFL list? Heck, they even took up the offer.

What times knock off time at AFL house???

Or perhaps your posting on your own time now???

FORMER Crows recruiting manager Matt Rendell has publicly apologised for his racially discriminatory stance on indigenous footballers.

"I publicly apologise sincerely if I have caused any offence," said Rendell on Adelaide radio TripleM today. This follows his conditional apology on Footy Classified on Monday.

Rendell says he has sought to personally apologise to AFL community engagement manager Jason Mifsud and national multicultural program manager Ali Fahour for the position he put forward in a 30-minute meeting at the Adelaide Football Club in January.

Beyond warning AFL recruiting managers would ultimately recruit only Aboriginal players with one white parent, Rendell offended Mifsud and Fahour by suggesting a pre-draft academy be established for under-16 indigenous players who would be re-located in Melbourne.

"My sole intent was to help - to solve (the problem of a high attrition rate among Aboriginal footballers in the AFL) and not to offend," said Rendell.

"Obviously, they (Mifsud and Fahour) have taken offence. It is a fair time after the meeting, but that is irrelevant.

"Hopefully, they will accept my apologies."

Rendell absolved the Adelaide Football Club from any blame.

"I've made the error - they did nothing wrong," said Rendell, adding he wanted Crows fans to stop "slagging off at the football club".

"I've caused offence - not the football club."

Rendell also declared no grudge with AFL chief executive Andrew Demetriou, who also took issue with Rendell's remarks in the January meeting.

http://www.adelaidenow.com.au/sport...or-racial-fracas/story-e6freck3-1226306389043

I suppose you must think it's a case of the Manchurian Candidate in this case. :rolleyes:

Having noted the distinct lack of information.. and having done quite a bit of research in writing my previous epistle.. here are my thoughts on the fiasco.

Firstly, I'm rapidly coming to the conclusion that Rendell is guilty as charged. Not everyone would regard his comments as being racist, but I believe the academy concept to be fundamentally similar in basis to the "Stolen Generations" policy - and apparently there were worse comments which he never bothered to mention during his Monday night interview.

I don't believe that he intended his comments to be racist and I do not believe that he is racist. I believe that his comments were made out of ignorance, with no ill-intent. I believe that he meant well, but chose his words poorly - shooting from the lip as we all know Rendell does.

I also think that something is distinctly rotten in the state of Denmark (AFL House). I can't believe it took them 7 weeks to decide to take action, given how offensive his comments were (allegedly). This smacks of political opportunism and I can see Vlad's bloody hands all over the controls. It's no coincident that the comments emerged in the media around the same time as Jurrah's incident in Alice Springs. Make no bones about it - Vlad is directly responsible for this and his involvement and motivations need to be thoroughly investigated.

What options did Trigg have? I honestly believe that he may have gone down the mediation/re-nedification path if things had stayed quiet. Once the media got hold of it he had to take action. His claim that "mud sticks" is 100% correct, just ask Collingwood how long Nicky Winmar's mud stuck to them back in 1993. His cause was not helped by the fact that Vlad was the one slinging all the mud.

Given that Trigg was familiar with the content of the conversation and Rendell had confirmed the veracity of Misfud's feedback, I don't see that he had any choice once the media got hold of it. He knew the comments were fundamentally racist and knew that the club could not afford to have such comments associated with it. His only option at this point was to end the association between the club and the person who made the comments.

In summary.. Rendell guilty as charged. Vlad's behaviour despicable & worthy of investigation. Trigg's hands tied, with no alternative open to him.

This is how I felt on Friday afternoon before the presser.

I wanted Rendell out of my club because we then "knew" he was a racist.

Had he stayed on I fear what my reaction would have been, I may not have gone to the game Saturday night in protest.

But now with more information I don't know what I "know" about the situation. I am certain that Rendell is not the monster he was portrayed as, but dont know exactly who was behind his demise and what the "end game" really is.
I doubt the truth will ever get out and we will ever know exactly what transpired.

But the club is bigger than one man, and bigger than one mans actions. Even if you disagree with the CEO, stopping your support of the club achieves nothing. And robs you of the pleasure the club gives you.

I get the sense that our CEO is absolutely gutted over this. It has taken a few days to digest all that has been said and implied. I am a Matt Rendell fan, and have had some limited dealings with him over the past few years. He has done enormous good for the AFC. Despite what some of you here suggest, we have an elite CEO, the envy of many in the competition. Trigg is hurting badly over this, a hard decision which only the best leaders can make and stand by. I support my club, in all respects, and I know the AFC will support Matt into the future. I don't believe we have abandoned him, but there exists a range of people (not just players) who are no longer prepared for the scrutiny and fishbowl existence that is modern AFL. The attrition rate might just get a little higher, across the board, in the future.
Do not question Rendells passion and good intentions (refer Pulp Fiction for outcomes re best intentions). Do support Trigg in the only decision he could make. Do question the AFL's motives and timing.

Having noted the distinct lack of information.. and having done quite a bit of research in writing my previous epistle.. here are my thoughts on the fiasco.

Firstly, I'm rapidly coming to the conclusion that Rendell is guilty as charged. Not everyone would regard his comments as being racist, but I believe the academy concept to be fundamentally similar in basis to the "Stolen Generations" policy - and apparently there were worse comments which he never bothered to mention during his Monday night interview.

I don't believe that he intended his comments to be racist and I do not believe that he is racist. I believe that his comments were made out of ignorance, with no ill-intent. I believe that he meant well, but chose his words poorly - shooting from the lip as we all know Rendell does.

I also think that something is distinctly rotten in the state of Denmark (AFL House). I can't believe it took them 7 weeks to decide to take action, given how offensive his comments were (allegedly). This smacks of political opportunism and I can see Vlad's bloody hands all over the controls. It's no coincident that the comments emerged in the media around the same time as Jurrah's incident in Alice Springs. Make no bones about it - Vlad is directly responsible for this and his involvement and motivations need to be thoroughly investigated.

What options did Trigg have? I honestly believe that he may have gone down the mediation/re-nedification path if things had stayed quiet. Once the media got hold of it he had to take action. His claim that "mud sticks" is 100% correct. His cause was not helped by the fact that Vlad was the one slinging all the mud.

Given that Trigg was familiar with the content of the conversation and Rendell had confirmed the veracity of Misfud's feedback, I don't see that he had any choice once the media got hold of it. He knew the comments were fundamentally racist and knew that the club could not afford to have such comments associated with it. His only option at this point was to end the association between the club and the person who made the comments.

In summary.. Rendell guilty as charged. Vlad's behaviour despicable & worthy of investigation. Trigg's hands tied, with no alternative open to him.

What has he actually been charged with?

Really?? Where have I advocted this?? Id suggest you read my comment again and if you come to the same conclusion you really should leave and not post here again.

So I have asked how we can solve this problem without anyone taking offence and you have the gaul to suggest I am looking at this from a white perspective.

You see all you have done is reinforce what I have said, quote how do we solve these issues without being afraid of people pulling the "Racism" or "highly offensive" card out.
No matter what is said, no matter the context no matter the forum you can guarantee the "racism" card rears its ugly head.

I love reading posts by moral crusaders like yourself....never offering anything constructive in the way of a resolution but the first to be banging their chest with racism.

Your'e really starting to smell like a troll, I'd suggest you take a hike!!

Oh **** ing hell! I didn't say you advocated this; read my post.

I said the problem is that some are looking at this through a white fella's perspective and no matter what we think may be right, no matter if we think we are trying to do the right thing, the point is that Aboriginals find this particular solution to keeping Aboriginals on AFL lists highly offensive.

We, you, me, may not understand this and think, "gee, we are only trying to help these kids" but this is not help in the eyes of indigenous peoples; it's offensive.

To add further insult to Aboriginal sensitivities would be to have a go at the way they feel about this and please Gazoonga, I did not just say and imply that you personally are having a go at the way Aboriginals feel about this: I said it would add further insult if people had a go at them.

I get the sense that our CEO is absolutely gutted over this. It has taken a few days to digest all that has been said and implied. I am a Matt Rendell fan, and have had some limited dealings with him over the past few years. He has done enormous good for the AFC. Despite what some of you here suggest, we have an elite CEO, the envy of many in the competition. Trigg is hurting badly over this, a hard decision which only the best leaders can make and stand by. I support my club, in all respects, and I know the AFC will support Matt into the future. I don't believe we have abandoned him, but there exists a range of people (not just players) who are no longer prepared for the scrutiny and fishbowl existence that is modern AFL. The attrition rate might just get a little higher, across the board, in the future.
Do not question Rendells passion and good intentions (refer Pulp Fiction for outcomes re best intentions). Do support Trigg in the only decision he could make. Do question the AFL's motives and timing.
Trigg said last night that he could come back to the club.

Would be nice after this blows over (and it will in a matter of days) if he came back and was able to get his wish of participating in this years draft.

That was afterall the carrot in not going to Port as an assistant coach.

What we have learnt is that the AFL is very autocratic and the CEO is more intent on listening to his bureaucratic pen pushing paper shuffling nepotistic employees than a man who has been in the Football industry for 35 years and been involved in all facets of the game. Which is sad.

He was guilty of trying to arrange free scholarships to prestgious collages...
That is the problem... It made the insecure compare it to the stolen generation.. What Rubbish! No one had to accept them!

Anyone comparing these kids coming to the city to go to a private school to get an education and maybe play AFL football or even drafted straight into the AFL system to the Stolen Generation is ignorant.

These kids have a choice. The stolen kids did not. These kids are getting an education and chance at an elite sport. The stolen kids were not, many times they ended up living in very bad conditions and mistreated.

Stolen Generation was a government policy, to destroy the Aboriginal way of life. To compare it to the recruitment of kids to play footy is an insult to those affected by it.

He was guilty of trying to arrange free scholarships to prestgious collages...
That is the problem... It made the insecure compare it to the stolen generation.. What Rubbish! No one had to accept them!

Stolen Generation was a government policy, to destroy the Aboriginal way of life.
Correct.. and the underlying thought process is almost identical to that underlying Rendell's academy idea.

Both rely upon ripping young aboriginal kids out of their communities, at a relatively young age, with the supposed intention of assimilating them into a predominantly white society.

You might not think that this is offensive.. but I can guarantee that there are a LOT of Aboriginals out there who would beg to differ.

So tell me as you seem to understand...

Why is it ok for interstate AFL clubs to offer Indigenous 18 year olds a place on their list but it is wrong for prestigious colleges to offer schlarships in the same state? I didnt see Buddy Franklin, Richard Tambling or Jarryn Jacky "protest" about being offered a spot on an AFL list? Heck, they even took up the offer.

Look, the offers for the kids are for under 16's and that, in Indigenous eyes, is just not on. As I said earlier, this is a very special period for that age group.

Every one goes on about Liam Jurrah being an "initiated" Warlpiri man but he could never have been one if he had been at a college, prestigious or not, at the age that has been suggested that these kids be placed.

Again I say, we need to approach this issue of indigenous kids remaining in the AFL with the direct input of the indigenous communities.

I would hope that you would appreciate that all this talk about what's right, wrong, indifferent about the system and what should be done about it, is just more talk from white fellas about what's in the best interests of Aboriginal Australians without anyone asking them how they feel about this. That's the way black fellas look at it.

I've been trying to make sense of this for a little while now, so I'll put my own viewpoints forward. Probably a good way for me to get my thoughts in order. I should say upfront though that much of this is simply me "joining the dots", since we are lacking concrete evidence in many parts of the whole story.

I believe Rendell was honestly trying to help, and his opinion was that the recent high attrition rate of indigenous players can be explained, in large part, by the dramatic shift in lifestyle and familiarity the kids experience when they are drafted. By placing them in an environment closer to that of the AFL earlier in their life, they stand a greater chance of success.

Unfortunately, Rendell's brash way of speaking apparently offended Misfud and Fahoul, and I wouldn't be surprised if Rendell didn't even realise it, so he kept going on. In the minds of Misfud and Fahoul it went from being an offensive line to a racist diatribe, to the point that they were furious with him.

I suspect the reason this took so long to come out is that Misfud really didn't want to sink Rendell. They're mates. I reckon he kept it to himself, but it kept coming back into his mind. He was torn between looking after his mate, and sticking up for his ancestry, not to mention the responsibilities of his job. Eventually he decided to mention it to Demetriou in an off-the-cuff fashion, probably hoping that Rendell would get a warning or some counselling, and perhaps at worst would be asked to publically apologise.

Demetriou had no issues with making a scapegoat out of Rendell, particularly given the recent issues (not just the Jurrah incident, but also Roos' comments, etc) and effectively demanded that Misfud make the press conference. Misfud didn't want a witch hunt and pleaded with Trigg not to sack Rendell.

I suspect Trigg's response was to demand that Rendell go and apologised unreservedly in a public sense. Rendell, still under the belief that nobody was offended and that he was trying to help, balked at the suggestion and refused to do so, and was effectively given an ultimatum - resign or be sacked. He chose the former. I can't help but wonder if he would have thought about it harder if he wasn't already tired of the job. Certainly I think he would have done things differently if he realised how much he had offended Misfud.

And so we come to the present time. I don't hold any grudges with Misfud - I think the length of time that passed is a reflection that he didn't really want things to go down this way. If he wanted to sink Rendell he could have done so at any stage before now. We've also heard comments about how he pleaded with Trigg not to sack Rendell. That doesn't sound like a man with an axe to grind. I think he's been placed in an unfortunate situation by the way Rendell spoke, and he's probably horrified at what has happened.

Although Demetriou hasn't done anything "wrong" in my version of events, there were a lot of things he could have done right that he failed to do. He had the opportunity to educate Rendell, and would have ended up with a stronger AFL as a result. Instead, he chose to make a scapegoat out of him. Poor form, though hardly surprising.

Assuming Demetriou didn't demand the immediate sacking of Rendell, Trigg's actions were disappointing. I would have liked him to come out and say first, make it crystal clear that the club does not hold those racist views, secondly to suspend Rendell indefinitely, thirdly that he would be giving Rendell an opportunity to explain his viewpoints, and fourthly that if Rendell was found to simply have made an offensive comment out of ignorance rather than racism, that he would be sent to counselling and the matter of his continued employment would be revisted once said counselling was completed. Instead, we got a knee-jerk reaction in which Rendell was denied the chance to explain his actions, and the club is now denied a chance to realistically ever welcome Rendell back, and all for negligible benefit.

The AFL as a whole also shares some blame for not properly educating Rendell in proper cultural sensitivity. Players undergo seminars ad nauseum but I doubt very much that they send their recruiting managers on the same seminars.

In the end, I believe Rendell has made a racist blunder - not out of malice, but simply out of ignorance. Misfud has been placed in a horribly awkward situation, Demetriou has been happy to chop of Rendell's head, and Trigg has failed to stick up for his employee when he needed it the most.

I guess I'm most disappointed in Trigg, but overall I think I'm less angry now than I was before. I'm just terribly disappointed in the situation as a whole, it's a massive pity, and despite making the comments, Rendell doesn't deserve the outcome that has occurred. Neither does Misfud deserve the public outrage directed at him.

I don't even know anything about Fahoul so I won't comment about any part he may or may not have played.

Misfud and Ali F - time to front up and give us your versions please.

I'm still overwhelmingly frustrated and annoyed, with Trigg and the AFL, that Matty R has not been offered an opportunity to be educated and mediated through this mess. I'm sorry Matt but I WILL keep slagging the club.
You want to know why? Because when you ask me not to slag the club I presume its because you know things I don't - and these things need to come out.

I know for a fact, you told me, that Triggy wouldn't give you a chance to tell your side of the story. I know for a fact he asked for your resignation.

What I don't get yet is why this couldn't be worked through.. so I think we all need to keep pushing til we do.

And in the process I anticipate we'll all get a little more educated if we are willing to listen to each other.

The very worst thing that can happen here is it gets swept under the carpet and/or people just yell and scream at each other from opposite sides of the racist/PC fence that seems to be constructed around here.

I've no doubt Matt upset them.. I've no doubt he is not a racist at heart.. what I don't get is given those 'facts' (sorry Vader taking a page from your book a bit here) why the issues couldn't be worked through.

In failing to support this being worked through appropriately the AFC and AFL have absolutely proven to me they are NOT committed to removing racism from the game. They are only committed to removing the perception of it.

That's why I think the club still needs to be 'slagged'. Its up to the club to 'slag' the AFL.

Rendell apologises

"I publicly apologise sincerely if I have caused any offence," said Rendell on Adelaide radio TripleM today. This follows his conditional apology on Footy Classified on Monday.

"My sole intent was to help - to solve (the problem of a high attrition rate among Aboriginal footballers in the AFL) and not to offend," said Rendell.

"Obviously, they (Mifsud and Fahour) have taken offence. It is a fair time after the meeting, but that is irrelevant.

"Hopefully, they will accept my apologies."

Rendell absolved the Adelaide Football Club from any blame.

"I've made the error - they did nothing wrong," said Rendell, adding he wanted Crows fans to stop "slagging off at the football club".

"I've caused offence - not the football club."

Rendell also declared no grudge with AFL chief executive Andrew Demetriou, who also took issue with Rendell's remarks in the January meeting.

What do we make of this..............issue finished now? First step to coming back to the club?

http://www.adelaidenow.com.au/sport...or-racial-fracas/story-e6freck3-1226306389043

It's worth noting that Trigg's first responsibility is to the club and it's welfare. If that means dismissing a popular employee in order to prevent the club being tarred with a racist brush, then so be it. That's his job.

Rendell is also a fairly good recruiter in your eyes, no?

Correct.. and the underlying thought process is almost identical to that underlying Rendell's academy idea.

Both rely upon ripping young aboriginal kids out of their communities, at a relatively young age, with the supposed intention of assimilating them into a predominantly white society.

You might not think that this is offensive.. but I can guarantee that there are a LOT of Aboriginals out there who would beg to differ.

For me, the key distinction is that the Stolen Generations policy was implemented because the governments believed that their way of life was inherently superior to the indigenous way of life.

Here, it's not about who does it better. It's simply that the way of life for an AFL player is vastly different to that of indigenous (and, for that matter, non-indigenous) people from remote areas, and if they choose to make that transition, they could use all the help they can be offered.

Rendell's suggestion would only be equivalent to the Stolen Generations legislation if that legislation had involved indigenous people requesting their children be taken in order to enable them to live a big-city lifestyle. Massive distinction.

Edit: Of course, Rendell's language most likely failed to make that distinction so obvious, and hence we arrive at the situation we're at now.

The key difference is choice.

If the AFL career does not work out they can go home, as many have. Stolen kids did not have that option.

Cyril Rioli said he wanted to leave Scotch College plenty of times. But his mum made him stay. No white man was keeping him there.

If you want your voice heard guys get on to ADELAIDE NOW and add your comments to the Rendell Apology story!!!!!!

If enough noise is made, who knows?

Hmmm...

It's not about choice.

The thought process behind the (alleged) Stolen Generations is that the aboriginal kids needed to be taken away from their parents and cared for by white people, in order become valued members of society.

As you have highlighted, the choice factor is a HUGE part of this "thought process". How sinister would the scenario have been if the government just waited around for indigenous Australians to assimilate themselves into white society?

Flawed analogy, yes

We agree on something...

Many have argued that these "thought processes" that you speak of are part and parcel of a failed attempt at what is now called genocide - to project this stigma onto Rendell's ideas for a football academy without proof is extreme, unnecessary, and borderline defamatory no matter how you try to explain it.

YOU CANNOT SEPARATE THE "CHOICE" FACTOR FROM THE "THOUGHT PROCESS"

For me, the key distinction is that the Stolen Generations policy was implemented because the governments believed that their way of life was inherently superior to the indigenous way of life.

Here, it's not about who does it better. It's simply that the way of life for an AFL player is vastly different to that of indigenous (and, for that matter, non-indigenous) people from remote areas, and if they choose to make that transition, they could use all the help they can be offered.

Rendell's suggestion would only be equivalent to the Stolen Generations legislation if that legislation had involved indigenous people requesting their children be taken in order to enable them to live a big-city lifestyle. Massive distinction.

Edit: Of course, Rendell's language most likely failed to make that distinction so obvious, and hence we arrive at the situation we're at now.

Lets not forget it had a side affect to wipe out the race and stop future generations of Aboriginal people existing by putting them in communities where they are the sole Aboriginal person.