Matthew Wade

• Thread starter Thread starter dan warna

There is one little difference though.

Wade's a young bloke whose keeping is continually improving.

Haddin is almost as old as me, was never a great keeper to start with, and has deteriorated.

Wouldn't bother with this pathetic waste of time if I were you mate.

Cool. I'm going to go outside now and spend countless hours hitting a golf ball. That Green jacket is only a few years away!

And this is why. Spend as much time as you can Bradey, means we will see less of your utterly ignorant ####en junk here.

Did not like Clarke's comments one bit. Should not be nervous that a young keeper just scored his maiden test century in tough WI conditions could be dropped for someone like Hackin next series yet here we are. Just hope the other selectors put Clarke and his 'mates first' attitude in place.

I've noticed a lot of backlash from Clarke saying Haddin is still number 1 keeper in his books. Lets think about it for a second, Haddin was selected to tour as number 1 keeper but went home to be with his sick kid. What exactly do we expect Clarke to say? For the record I think Wade has done enough especially after the ton but that is not what the selectors think which is a shame. Regardless they aren't going to start slagging off Haddin now while he is going through a rough time with family dramas.

To come out and basically guarantee Haddin his spot back publicly was wrong.

As I said a few pages ago, he could easly have given some safe diplomatic "Yeah nah we've got a number of great options, it'll be tough on whoever misses out but it's a good problem to have" type answer. That doesn't upset anybody but also doesn't commit to anybody yet either.

But he didn't. He effectively told Wade that it doesn't matter what he does, Clarke will be gunning for Haddin over him.

To come out and basically guarantee Haddin his spot back publicly was wrong.

As I said a few pages ago, he could easly have given some safe diplomatic "Yeah nah we've got a number of great options, it'll be tough on whoever misses out but it's a good problem to have" type answer. That doesn't upset anybody but also doesn't commit to anybody yet either.

But he didn't. He effectively told Wade that it doesn't matter what he does, Clarke will be gunning for Haddin over him.
I don't think Clarke is that callus or stupid quite frankly

I'm still a believer in him wanting to fire up Wade - if so being diplomatic wouldn't be of any use

Haddin batted responsibly 12 months ago?
Must be watching a different Brad Haddin to everybody else.

Totally agree. Haddin's shot when Aust. was bowled out for 47 in S.Africa, was nearly the worst shot I have ever seen a recognised batsman play for the Baggy Green, in my 45 yrs. of following test cricket.

On the shot alone, I would have sacked him on the spot and never to play for Australia again, if I had if been Chairman of Selectors.

i personally thought hussey's shot in that innings was worse, given context and all. i mean by the time he played that shot we were effectively 6/16 or something with MJ and the bowlers in. obviously the shot was terrible, but hussey playing a really loose, stupid shot to a ball that was miles outside off first ball after tea when the score was effectively 4/10 was much worse for me. the innings could have been saved at that point, considering clarke was still in.

At 7/160 odd, Haddin would've walked down the wicket played some outlandish shot and we're all out for 180.

Instead Wade digs in and plays a test innings and we manage 300+ and now in the box seat to win the series.

Clarke can have his opinion - but not sure why he needed to make it publicly in support of his mate Haddin. I'm sure a phone call would've reassured him.

Wade's keeping has improved out of sight and he's still 24. Are we building a team for the next Ashes or not? Haddin is 35. It seems the age thing only applied to Simon Katich - when it suited the capt.

Does anyone know if Wade has an IPL contract? He was with Dehli but I'm fairly sure they let him go. Was he picked up again?

Yeah we didn't need him with our huge influx of quality internationals and Naman Ohja very capable with bat and gloves.

I'm pretty sure he was just bought out and wasn't signed by another franchise. Not 100% on this though.

At 7/160 odd, Haddin would've walked down the wicket played some outlandish shot and we're all out for 180.

Instead Wade digs in and plays a test innings and we manage 300+ and now in the box seat to win the series.

Clarke can have his opinion - but not sure why he needed to make it publicly in support of his mate Haddin. I'm sure a phone call would've reassured him.

Wade's keeping has improved out of sight and he's still 24. Are we building a team for the next Ashes or not? Haddin is 35. It seems the age thing only applied to Simon Katich - when it suited the capt.

Exactly why I think he had a purpose for Wade to hear it too

Wade gone for 4 in the 2nd dig :thumbsd:

Still leaves him with 198 runs @ 40. Will likely be our second highest run scorer for the series behind Hussey, with the second best average of the top 7.

I'd say that's a pretty darn good start.

Clarke was asked about the keeping situation and gave an answer, when you consider the circumstances of Haddin's return to Australia I'm willing to bet they want him to know that it will not hinder his chances of being selected again.

That being said, Wade's innings will be counted heavily for him and will provide another reason why he's finished as our number 1 keeper.

When you consider that the next test is not until November when Haddin will 35 (turns 35 in October) strongly suspect age will be a definite factor in the selectors minds. Take a 24 year-old on the up or a 35 year-old on the slide? Easy call and should be same as the one that was made with Langer.

lets just forget his ill timed comments then.

The main criticism of clarke should be that he's a poor selector, he wanted haddin over wade for this tour which is just bad selection policy.

We can argue why he made the mistake, it could be that he just can't pick keepers or that his close friendship clouds his judgment but the end result is the same he is a selector who made a very poor choice.

wade vs haddin should not have even been an issue for this tour, haddin was a keeper in career worst form and unlike others in the team he did not have the pedigree or long term past performance to demand such leeway.

Clarke was asked about the keeping situation and gave an answer, when you consider the circumstances of Haddin's return to Australia I'm willing to bet they want him to know that it will not hinder his chances of being selected again.

That being said, Wade's innings will be counted heavily for him and will provide another reason why he's finished as our number 1 keeper.

When you consider that the next test is not until November when Haddin will 35 (turns 35 in October) strongly suspect age will be a definite factor in the selectors minds. Take a 24 year-old on the up or a 35 year-old on the slide? Easy call and should be same as the one that was made with Langer.

Very reasonable point, I hadn't thought of it like that. I am not sure Clarke should have worded it the way he did, probably slightly to strong in support of Haddin, when it should have been something about 'Brad missing these tests wont have any impact upon whether he returns to the side or not'.

Anyone get the impression Clarke's comments that Wade could be picked as a batsman were just an attempt to backtrack?

Well we know haddin's recent form with the bat has been terrible, so he can't hold his place on his batting. We know his career form as a wicketkeeper has been ordinary so he can't hold his place in the side as a wicketkeeper.

The argument that his runs make up for his shitty keeping is long gone.

So he must be a good bloke to score one of 11 spots as the best cricketers in the country because he's an average keeper and a declining batsman.

Well we know haddin's recent form with the bat has been terrible, so he can't hold his place on his batting. We know his career form as a wicketkeeper has been ordinary so he can't hold his place in the side as a wicketkeeper.

The argument that his runs make up for his shitty keeping is long gone.

So he must be a good bloke to score one of 11 spots as the best cricketers in the country because he's an average keeper and a declining batsman.
Quality post. I simply cannot think of a reason Haddin should be picked.

in the last 3 years there have been some real head scratching selections but haddin being picked specifically for his keeping skills would have to take the cake.

This just isn't going to work having clarke as a selector not unless he grows a pair, if he wants to sack a bloke who just made a match winning ton for his awful form mate then he should do it and live with the consequences and the criticism.

Two keepers would be a chicken shit way of not actually making a decision, if we are to win back the ashes we can't afford senior men getting a free ride.

One of the hardest things as captain is to make the hard call on friends, I remember being the captain of a grand final side 15 years ago, the night before I had to decide on my 12th man, I called my vice captain, who liked to think he was the captain, to discuss who I should drop and why. He ran 15 miles the other way. I dropped a mate who I had been through 6 years of school with and made the decision on my own. And we won the flag.

I know Clarke has played with Haddin for well over 10 years now, but if you want to be the captain of your country, sometimes you have to make a tough call, Haddin's time has come, and sorry Clarke, you have to let go.

Totally agree with the dropping of Haddin but the reality, Clarke has come out and said he stands by him....so I reckon he will be back but if he doesnt perform in the next 2 tests, he will be out for good!

Cmon Haddin, do us all a favour and retire from Int.cricket!

I think people are forgetting that pup only has one vote out of five in picking the first squad. We haven't heard anything from Inverarity, Marsh or Bichel since pre tour and Arthur certainly didn't go one way or the other. Perhaps I'm being naive but I remain hopeful that Wade will be the keeper and Haddin playing for NSW come day one at the Gabba this November.

Yeah you're right but pretty sure he will have a convincing say!

Agree with your last point as well! It would be nice to see Wadey there...shows they're looking towards the future.

despite popular opinion he's a real top bloke. worked his arse off playing grade cricket and still plays as many matches as he can. has a massive case of white line fever which hasn't done his public persona any favours, and the summer just gone didn't help as he seemed to fall into "me v the world" mentality.

but that aside, no, he shouldn't be in the team now. wade has pretty much done everything asked of him, is clearly a better player in the current, and with 10 years on him in the age department it's just a no brainer.

had's has had a pretty decent test career. it was always going to be tough coming in after gilchrist, but in reality he did a pretty decent job, including a batting average in the 40's at one stage. but it's time now unfortunately for him.