MCG

• Thread starter Thread starter Zep2J

You guys obviously weren't in my section. Got up to hit the bathroom the second the qtr time siren went and it took so long I missed the first 3 and a half minutes of the 2nd qtr.

It is a great stadium, hopefully people of WA will get the quality stadium they deserve soon enough. When is the new stadium meant to be finished by?
New stadium is specced at the super basic level. Dining facilities for only 1.6% of the crowd - far, far behind mcg, etihad, adelaide oval, AAMI and even subi. Size increase will absorb about half of the current WCE waiting list but I dont expect better facilities.

I always felt the 60k odd they were looking at didn't leave a lot of room for growth, I think 80k would have been a lot better, a bigger stadium with more corporate facilities and more general public facilities.

It is probably best to future proof it as much as possible, redeveloping an existing stadium is much more expensive than building stands from scratch.

We are very likely to get more games at the MCG next year, as we're in for an extremely tough draw.

Expect us to play Hawthorn, Richmond and Collingwood twice. Expect us to stink up Simmonds again as well.

I always felt the 60k odd they were looking at didn't leave a lot of room for growth, I think 80k would have been a lot better, a bigger stadium with more corporate facilities and more general public facilities.

It is probably best to future proof it as much as possible, redeveloping an existing stadium is much more expensive than building stands from scratch.

Sadly in WA, them's fightin' words.

Far from future proof, the capacities and specs are not present proof.

Yep no matter how much losing hurts, its been great to experience the federation square crowd, march to the G and watching a game played in one of the worlds truly great stadiums.

First time I've watched freo interstate and its still been great. No cues, full strength beer and decent food, what a treat. I did notice that there was no radio commentary playing in the toilets so maybe our new stadium can trump them there :)

Can't remember the food in Subi but it must be bad if you call that decent.

And the full strength beer depends on day/night and who you play:)

Not sure if you guys have noticed how Victorians moan about Subi (probably have lol), but perhaps you get why now. It's not up to standard and the WA government should hang their heads in shame for not providing a genuine quality stadium, especially as it will be a revenue raiser for them in the long run. Shameful really.

It's not the food or beer that appeals to me, so much as the quality of the seats, leg room, viewing position, replay screen, amenities etc. Pretty sure Subi had bench seats last time I was there :S

First time at the MCG and all I can say is it makes Subiaco Oval look like a third world stadium. Even with a full house there was barely a line for the toilet and a beer. Great stadium!!

Sorry to intrude, but it was my first trip there 07 GF (shudder). Before then I didn't see anything wrong with Footy Park, but seeing a new stadium close to the CBD made me realize how crap FP is. The legroom between seats, the views all around the ground (we did a "bar crawl" through the MCG just after gates were opened). As bad as the day was results wise, I was awestruck by the MCG.

Perth really deserves much better than you have now, same for us with the new AO.

Shame its an attrocious ground for actually viewing any sporting fixture. I guess that all falls by the wayside when you can get a decent feed and a schooner. Wtf. Go to a pub.

What more could be done for viewing aspect in a 100k capacity stadium?

As of next season, fixturing will mean double-ups are based on ladder finishes. They're grouping the ladder into three sets of six, with each club playing another in their group two or three times.

So next year I imagine we'll get... Hawthorn, Geelong, Sydney/Richmond, the Eagles, and then some other shit-kickers (hopefully not North or Port).

And I think we'll get the Hawks, Tiges, Pies, and Richmond over at the 'G. And hopefully our trips to Brisbane (reckon we'll get them in Queensland after a few years at GC) and the Giants and Swans (we've never played GWS outside of Subiaco, so...) to fall before or after our bye weekends.

The queue for the ladies on level 4 was ridiculous, both at half time and after presentations. I have never queued for half as long at Subi.

That's because 100,007 people were there. The MCG and Etihad are the best grounds in Australia for facilities, and Subi is probably the worst. If you're seriously trying to use that as some weird indictment on the 'G and big up for Subi... come on... even Wembley Stadium gets queues on FA Cup Final Day. You can't work around those things – more toilets? Well, less room for other amenities.

Come on.

Not sure if you guys have noticed how Victorians moan about Subi (probably have lol), but perhaps you get why now. It's not up to standard and the WA government should hang their heads in shame for not providing a genuine quality stadium, especially as it will be a revenue raiser for them in the long run. Shameful really.

It's not the food or beer that appeals to me, so much as the quality of the seats, leg room, viewing position, replay screen, amenities etc. Pretty sure Subi had bench seats last time I was there :S

In case you've missed it WA fans have always known Subi is a shithole, we don't need Victorians to tell us that.

Fair call I guess, but really there's no Vic Vs WA in my comment mate, just gives a bit of perspective when you see one stadium compared to another. I lived in WA for a few years and spend a lot of time there now, so actually like the place and Freo. Just not Subi lol.