McGun

Jul 5, 2009
Ballarat
Priority Round
Priority Pick – Pick - 1 Melbourne –Tom Scully – 182cm – 75kgs – Dandenong Stingrays (VM)

Tom Scully is one of the most talked about footy players in all of Australia, well his IS more talked about than half of the current AFL Players. Tom is a very accomplished player he runs very hard and will one today be an elite runner, well that's if his not already called one. Tom is 182cm which makes him a smaller midfielder which is just about his only weakness (If you call that a weakness).
Why? Because Tom is the best player in the draft and he will do great things for Melbourne.
Others Possible picks: Jack Trengove is a slim chance to go here but it’s fairly unlikely.
Round 1
Pick 2 - Melbourne – Jack Trengove 185cm – 80kgs – Sturt (SA)
Jack has been rated by some experts as South Australians best player in a long time, even better that former number 1 pick Bryce Gibbs. Jack is an all round good player he can kick the ball well and long, can take a very strong grab; he will put his body on the line, a very strong tackler and can play forward. He can run all day, he got 15.4 in the beep test.
There is now very little between Trengove and Scully I think if a South Australian team had pick one we would be hearing Jacks name read out first on Draft Day
Why? Melbourne drafted a Tall with there first pick last year so they need a midfield just about as much as a forward and Jack is far better than any other KPF in this years draft
Others: Dustin Martin, Anthony Morobito or John Butcher but all 3 are very unlikely to go here
Pick 3 – Richmond – Dustin Martin – 187cm, - 86kgs – Bendigo Pioneers (VC)
Dustin is one of this years top draftees he can play inside or an outside as a midfielder he is fairly quick (2.89 in the 20 meter sprint). He is also the best kick in the draft and just about as good on his left side as his right. His hand balling is good he is very strong at the hips so he can break though tackles, he gets a lot of the footy, he had 21 disposals in two 20 minute quarters in the final round of the championships and he can also play forward when needed. Just to add the cherry on top, Martin has been heavily linked to Richmond and looks everything but official that he will be a Tiger next year.
Why? Like Melbourne Richmond need KPP players but Martin is better than any other KPP. There may not even be a KPP in the top 10.
Others: Anthony Morabito, John Butcher and Ben Cunnignton but Tigers gave already said Martin will be a Tiger next year.
Pick 4 - Fremantle – Anthony Morabito – 192cm – 93kgs – Peel Thunder (WA)
Anthony is a true modern day footballer he can run all day, His size of a KPP but plays as a midfielder. He doesn’t need 30 disposals to have an impact he only needs 15 to be one of the better players in the draft his kicking dose have some question marks but its talked to be much worse than what it is. Morabito will be ready to make an impact and would be a good bet for the rising star.
Why? Anthony is a local boy and will just love Subi he would be able to run up and down their huge wings all day and he is a perfect fit for Fremantle
Other Possible Picks: John Butcher, Kane Lucas, Ben Cunnington. I have had Morabito and Fremantle’s pick since before the Championships and I can’t see that changing.
Pick 5 - North Melbourne – Ben Cunnington – 184cm – 78kgs – Geelong Falcons (VC)
Cunnington is one of the toughest players in this years draft and Scott would really love that. With Ziebell, Swallow and Cunnington all playing in the midfield North will be a clearance machine. Cunnigton will play good where ever he is put, i.e. he kicked 5 goals playing forward and the week after he got 35 disposals in the midfield.
Why? Ben is best available and Brad Scott would really love Ben’s style of play.
Others: Gary Rohan, John Butcher I wouldn’t be too surprised to see John Butcher here.
Pick 6 – Sydney – Gary Rohan – 186cm – 79kgs – Geelong Falcons (VC)
Rohan just leaks X Factor he makes Dale Thomas look like a dud, his super quick, has a great kick, can take a great grab, he can play any where on the field and best of all his a ranga. I think Swans will want him to play as a Flank next year and they will slowly move him into the middle. They should also be able to pick up a Midfielder with the next pick (14) I don’t think they need a key forward because White and Johnston should be a great combo in years to come.
Why? Rohan could be the best player in this year’s draft he will also be able to play where ever Swans need him too,
Others: I think Butcher is a chance but I can’t see any one else here unless some one from the top 5 slips I think there very interested in Dustin Martin too.
Pick 7 - West Coast – Lewis Jetta – 178cm – 72kgs – Swan Districts
West Coast have said they want a small forward even though Jetta is not a small forward West Coast will most likely draft him in hope to turn him into a crumbing forward . Jetta is an overage player so he should be able to play footy next year. Jetta uses the ball very well he is very team orientated he can kick the impossible goals, he is lighting quick and can dodge tackles well.
Why? West Coast loves their Mids but I think they want a small forward which they could turn Jetta into.
Others: Kane Lucas is a big chance but I don’t think they need another mid after drafting Masten, Ebert and Swift in past years they also Kerr, Priddis and Hurn so I don’t think they need Mids. I wouldn’t rule Luke Tapscott either.

Pick 8 - Port Adelaide –Luke Tapscott – 180cm – 86kgs North Adelaide (SA)
Port like taking there local boys and that’s one of the many reasons why I think they will take Tapscott. He has a huge and very accurate kick his defensive pressure is very good and if he can work on his pace he will be a very accomplished player. I also think people say his “overrated” but I rate him very highly and I think he would suit port very well.
Why? Close to best available and a local boy which I think Port will really like.
Others: It doesn’t really matter because they have the next pick.
Pick 9 - Port Adelaide – John Butcher – 197cm – 87kgs – Gippsland Power (VC)
Last year Butcher was already been talked about as a number one pick but he has really slipped down the pecking order. His form and kicking has really put a lot of people off him but don’t get me wrong Butcher is a very good player and should be a 200 gamer with Warren Tredrea getting old and they lack key forwards. Butcher should be a great fit, his a great size for a key forward and can take a very good grab if he works on his kicking he could turn out to be a league elite.
Why? Power really lack key forwards and Butcher is the best forward in this years draft so power should be very happy if they got Butcher.
Others: David Talia, Jack Carlisle, Aaron Black I think Power will draft a tall with this pick
Pick 10 – Essendon – Kane Lucas – 188cm - 79kgs East Fremantle (WA)
Essendon really need some classy inside midfielders and Lucas offers that he can win the contested ball and can play inside or outside. He also offers some X Factor. His pressure around the ground is great and his decision making is near elite. He should also be able to play footy next year.
Why? Essendon have a lot of needs but inside midfielders is there biggest and Lucas will be able to fill in that role.
Others: Jake Melksham, Koby Stevens any of those two or Lucas should be at Essendon next year unless some one like Cunnington slips.
Pick 11 – Melbourne – Jake Carlisle - 196cm – 83kgs – Calder Cannons (VM)
After picking two small’s Melbourne will need to work on the second biggest need, tall’s. Jake is a very good height for a CHF/CHB he can take a very good grab and his leap is fairly impressive. He also has loads of potential. I don’t think we will see him having an impact for a while but he is one of my favourites of this years draft and Melbourne should be rapt with this pick
Why? Melbourne need talls and Jake is one of the best talls in this year’s draft.
Others: David Talia, Ben Griffiths, Aaron Black.
Pick 12 – Carlton – Aaron Black – 193cm – 80kgs – Peel Thunder
With the loss of Fev Carlton really need more Forwards. I rate Henderson a lot, but I think he would be a better defender. I also think the Lions were developing him into a defender. Black has an amazing leap (Not as good as Jurrah), but pretty good. He is also a fine mark, and has a good set of skills. He has the potential to be the best tall in this years draft and possibly one of the better players.
Why? Blues really lack tall forwards, and Black is the best available.
Others: Matthew Panos, Ben Griffiths, David Talia

Pick 13 – Adelaide – Koby Stevens – 186cm -78kgs – Gippsland Power (VC)

With a first round flooded with midfielders, Koby may find himself slip a bit because a lot of teams will want to fill the KPP stocks. Because of GWS & GC getting a lot of the high picks next year which will mean many midfielders may be better players, but they will be able to get more good midfielders in the next two years. I still rank Koby as a top ten pick. He’s very hard at it, he tackles very well always applying pressure, uses the ball well and with Goodwin and Edwards getting old, Crows should be looking for a hard at it Mid, and that’s why they will love Stevens.
Why? Goodwin and Edwards are getting old, so I think they will be wanting a midfielder and Stevens is the best available.
Others: Jake Melsham or Maybe David Talia

Pick 14 – Sydney – Daniel Talia – 195cm – 80kgs – Calder Cannons (VM)

Talia is arguably a top 10 draft pick but I think tearing his hamstring may slip him down the pecking order a bit. After drafting Rohan the Swans would be looking at drafting a tall, and I think they would be stoked if they saw Talia still available. Talia is the most versatile p layer in the draft he can play in the forward half, or the back half. He is very athletic and would be a great running half back. He will also push himself and you will know he will put 110% into every match.
Why? After losing O’Lachlan, Hall and Barry the Swans will be looking to take a tall with one of their two first round picks. I don’t think they will use pick 6 on a KPP because honestly there is no talls worthy of it.
Others: Jack Fitzpatrick, Mathew Panos, Ben Griffins. I think it’s just about a guarantee Swans will take a tall, unless some one slides. Jasper McMillan-Pittard has also been linked to this pick, but I think it’s a little too early to take him.
Pick 15 – Bulldogs – Ben Griffiths – 198cm – 99kg – Eastern Rangers (VM)
Griffiths is a huge boy, he can play at either end, and could even play in the ruck. This would really appeal to a lot of teams. Griffiths has a huge kick, if he is anywhere inside 60m, he will take a shot. He also is a good shot a goal. Griffiths is fairly injury prone which may be a turn off, but Bulldogs really need a KPF because Hall only has 2 more years left in him. I would think by the time Hall retires Griffiths should be ready to play some good footy.
Why? Bulldogs need forwards and I think they will take the best forward available and that is what Ben is.
Others maybe Jack Fitzpatrick, but I think they will take the best available forward or possibly someone like Troy Taylor or Ryan Bastinac.
Pick 16 - Port Adelaide – Mathew Panos – 193cms – 85kgs – Norwood (SA)
Even though Port have already taken a tall, I think they will still be interested in looking for another one, and Panos should be a good fit. He has a VERY good shot at goal. He leads very well, and has a great set of hands. He is very aggressive, and is capable of kicking a big bag of goals. I don’t think Panos is of first round standed, but tall’s are on a lot of teams wish list, and I think Port have there eyes set on this kid. This will be there last pick, so they can’t draft him at anywhere else. If he wasn’t taken here, he may even slip to the 3rd round.
Why? He is a local boy, so they wont have to worry about him going home. Port also lack tall’s so they would be rapt to take another tall here.
Others: Brad Sheppard, Jack Fitzpatrick, I also think Port will be hoping to pick up a “Slider”
Pick 17 – Geelong – Nathan Vardy – 198cm – 92kgs – Gippsland Power (VC)
The fact that Mumford has left, Blake’s not the worlds best ruckmen and Ottens will be 30 next year, makes me think Geelong will be needing to draft a ruckmen. With no real needs, I don’t see why they don’t draft the best ruckman in this years draft. Vardy times his jump very well, and his hit outs to advantage are very good.
Why? As I said they have lost Mumford, Blakes not the world’s best ruckman and Ottens will be 30 next year.
Others? Ryan Bastinac, Brad Sheppard, Allen Christensen. I think Geelong will be hoping to pick up a slider, but I think they would love Cunnington to slip, but that’s highly unlikely.

• Banned
Round 2

Pick 18 - Melbourne – Brad Sheppard – 187cm – 78kgs – East Fremantle (WA)

Melbourne really seems to like the running bank flank/”Quarter back”. They have put Cale Morton and Jack Grimes there, but if they were to draft Sheppard that would allow Morton and Grimes into the midfield, and then they could put Sheppard in the “Quarter Back” role. Brad is very good over head which would allow him to fill in holes. He is also very fast, can take tackles, a very good player. He is an all round classy player.

Why? Melbourne seemed to like the running half backs and Sheppard is just that.

Others: Jack Fitzpatrick, Andrew Moore, Troy Taylor This is a very hard pick. I think it will depended on who gets drafted in the first round.

Pick 19 – Richmond - Andrew Moore – 188cm – 81kgs – Eastern Rangers (VM)

Richmond would be hoping that one of Talia, Carlisle, Black, Butcher or Griffiths would still be around, but there’s a fairly good chance that they all could be gone. Moore is almost as good as a KPP he reminds me of Ryan O’keefe but faster He can play at either end and is very good at winning the contested ball. He reminds me of Adam Hunter a lot though. Him being the brother of Tiger player Kelvin would help his chance’s of been picked up here.

Why? Tigers would be hoping for a KPP but Moore is the next best thing.

Others: Richmond could go for a midfielder if there’s no tall’s left. They could go for Jake Melksham, Ryan Bastinac or a first round slider.

Pick 20 – Fremantle – Troy Taylor – 190cm – 77kgs – NT Thunder (NT)

Like Richmond, Fremantle would be hoping to draft a Tall, but there wont be many around worthy of this pick. Taylor is a 3rd tall/winger who can run all day. He has a huge amount of x-factor and can have an impact with only have 15 disposals, he also seems to be a game breaker. I think he would also love playing on Subi. If he was to be drafted it would be one of the good storys of this years draft. He apparently has some problems as a teenager, and playing football helped him get though them problems.

Why? Freo like drafting players who will suit playing at Subi. And Taylor they could also play him as a tall if needed.

Others: Alex Carey, Mitch Duncan or Jake Melksham

Pick 21 - North Melbourne – Mitch Duncan - 187cm – 81kgs – East Perth (WA)

With the loss of Gibson, North will be looking for someone to fill in his role, and Duncan would be able to do that plus more. Duncan can play many roles from the forward flank to the back flank, even in the midfield. His skills are good without being great, you could say alittle above par. He will never say die, and the way he goes in reminds me of the Sellwood boys.

Why? I think Scott would really like Duncan plus he could fill in Gibsons roll.

Others: Jake Melksham came close, I wouldn’t rule out Alex Carey, Callum Bartlett or Trais Colyer

Pick 22 – West Coast – Jake Melksham – 182cm – 70kgs – Calder Cannons (VM)

West Coast would be rapped to still see Melksham around here. Melksham is an extremely smart and skilful player. He gets lots of penetration on his kicks and he always kicks it to the advantage of his team mate. Melksham hate losing, and always gives it his best shot. I think he would be most coach’s favourite players because of his brains and his willingness to learn.

Why? West Coast seem to love the midfielders and how could you pass on Melksham with pick 21.

Others: I doesn’t really matter because they have the next pick.

Pick 23 - West Coast – Travis Colyer – 175cm – 73kgs – Claremont (WA).

Colyer has been heavily linked to West Coast. I really like Cloyer and I think he could go first round, but he had a lot of “Bad Boy” which could make him slip a bit. Colyer is lightning quick, he can kick the “impossible” goals. He has loads of x-factor and could be a match winner if West Coast were to draft him. It would also allow Lecra to play midfield.

Why? West Coast wants a small forward pocket and Colyer is just that.

Others: Sam Reid came close I also wouldn’t rule out Callum Bartlett

Pick 24 – Essendon Ryan Bastinac – 183cm – 74kgs – Dandenong Stingrays (VM)

Essendon would be rapt to still see Bastinac here. Essendon have said they want midfielders, and I can see them drafting them with at least 3 of their picks. I really like Bastinac and I find his clearance was very good. The way that he can keep his feet and get it out is just awesome. He is also very good under pressure. He is also very fit (15.1 in the beep test), he just wont stoping running until the game is over.

Why? Essendon need inside midfielders and Bastinac is the best one available

Others: Allen Christensen, Callum Bartlett and Jessie Crichton

Pick 25 - North Melbourne - Jordan Gysberts – 189cm – 81kgs – Eastern Rangers (VM)

Gysberts is a modern day midfielder, a good height and loves to kick a goal. Gysberts is a AIS graduate which always helps. North Melbourne doesn’t have any major needs, which makes me think they will go best available for the majority of the draft. Gysberts could go anywhere from pick 10 to pick 30, and should be ready to play round 1. Gysberts is also very consistent, and you will always get a solid effort from him.

Why? You can never have enough classy mids and Gysberts is best available.

Others: Sam Reid, Callum Bartlett and Allen Christensen

Pick 26 – Essendon - Allen Christensen - 175cm - 72kgs - Geelong Falcons (VC)

Essendon would be rapt to see Christensen still around at their third pick. I do think Christensen’s height may see him slip a bit, maybe even into the late 30s but Christensen is still a great player he will win his own ball, put his head over the footy, can play inside or outside or as a forward, he moves great, he is quick without being super quick. He could still out run most players, and should suit the Essendon game plan well.

Why? Best Available, covers Essendon’s needs and would suit their game plan well.

Others Callum Bartlett, I think they would love to take Gysberts here but I doubt they will let Christensen slip past them here,

Pick 27 - Brisbane Lions - Nat Fyfe – 188cm – 75kgs – Claremont (WA)

With the addition of Fev. The Lions have by far the best forward line in the AFL, even with the loss of Bradshaw. One of the Lions weakness is their small forwards. Fyfe has been linked to Steve Johnson and Brett Burton. Fyfe is not the fittest guy, but a couple of hard pre seasons could even see him move into the middle. Fyfe has a lot of X-Factor, he doesn’t need a lot of the ball to have an impact. He can win or lose a game for a team.

Why? Fyfe will fill in a need for Brisbane, and I have had Fyfe going to this pick for a while now,

Others: Jeese Crichton, Callum Bartlett, Sam Reid. Maybe because Brisbane got Amon Buchanan they may go for a midfielder or best available.

Pick 28 - Geelong – Callum Bartlett – 179cm – 75kgs – Geelong Falcons

Bartlett is a very “high risk high, high reward” kind of pick. Bartlett was talked up to be a top 5 pick before becoming injured. Bartlett is very skilful, extremely fast, very good at winning the contested ball and he can kick a good running goal. With Geelong’s great midfield, I don’t think they would mind taking this risk. I think it will pay off and him being a local boy always helps.

Why? Geelong have plenty of time to develop young players like Bartlett, and I don’t think they would mind taking the risk either.

Others: It wouldn’t surprise me if they went for a tall like Sam Reid or Jack Fitzpatrick. I don’t think Geelong would mind taking best available.

Pick 29 Adelaide - Alex Carey – 181cm - 79kgs – Glenelg Tigers (SA)

With Goodwin and Edwards getting older, I think Crows should take a midfielder. Even though they did draft Stevens with pick 13, they did take a lot of tall’s last year, so they wont need to take some tall’s yet. Carey is a very consistant footballer who love physical contests and going in hard at the ball. His clearance work is very good and his hand balling under pressure is near elite. His fitness and stamina may see him slip a bit, but a couple of big summers should fix that.

Why? The Crows midfield is aging, and I don’t think they need to draft a lot of tall’s because of the fact that they drafted so many last year.

Others: If they were to go for a tall, they should go for someone like Fitzpatrick, or they could go for a midfielder like Mark Hutchings, Jessie Crichton or Garrick Weedon.

Pick 30 - Collingwood Josh Thomas – 178cm – 70kgs – Broadbeach (QLD)

Thomas has been heavily linked to Collingwood. He has even been invited to train with them. Josh is a very tough little inside midfielder. The fact that Thomas rejected Gold Coasts offer, makes me think that a team has promised to draft him. It would also mean that he wouldn’t mind leaving Queensland. The fact that drafting Beams worked out well also, says that Thomas should too. They’re also very similar players.

Why? Thomas has been heavily linked to Collingwood, and I highly doubt he would still be around at there next pick (62). I also can’t see them drafting anyone else.

Others? If Collingwood is not the team that Thomas was said to play for, Collingwood may go for a tall in Sam Reid who’s Bens brother or Jack Fitzpatrick. Luke Ball is also a big chance.

Pick 31 Western Bulldogs – Jessie Crichton – 183cm - 70kgs – North Launceston (TAS)

After getting Hall and drafting Griffiths with their first pick, I don’t think they will need another Tall here. They should go for the best midfielder available in Crichton. Crichton is still very skinny and I don’t know where he is hiding that 70kgs, he looks more like 65kgs. I think the best asset of Crichton’s game is his tackling. He will just tackle like there’s no tomorrow, He always kicks in the middle and loves to run “Down the guts”

Why? After getting Hall and drafting Griffiths, I don’t think they will need another tall. They should go for the best available midfielder.

Others: If they were to go for a tall, I think they would go for Fitzpatrick, Astbury or maybe a mid like Mark Hutchings. Even a running back flanker like McMillan-Pittard.

Pick 32 - St Kilda - Max Gawn - 206cm - 97kg Sandringham

Gawn is one BIG boy and has loads of potential. With King and Gardiner getting older now, Saints should be looking for a ruckman to help fill in their shoes, with McEvoy. Gawn has more to offer other than being 206cm. He is fairly agile for a big man (above par). His tap work is great, and he can also take a nice mark and push forward, Gawn did have a knee reco which may see him slide a bit.

Why? King and Gardiner are getting older and don’t have a lot left in them. By the time they retire Gawn should be ready to step up and help out McEvoy in the ruck. Also with no huge needs, they should just fill in one of the future needs.

Others: If Saints didn’t want a mid they may go for a KPP like Astbury, Ried or Fitzpatrick. Or even the best available

Pick 33 - Essendon – Jack Fitzpatrick – 201cm – 85kgs – Western Jets (VM)

Jack could turn out to be anything. Last year he showed he has the potential to be a top 10 pick, possibly even top 5. But in the last 12 months he has really slowed down and you could even say his taken a few steps backwards. Jack is a great height and could play FF, CHF, CHB or Ruck. Even though he’s had a disappointing year, I still think he could turn around and become one of the better players in this years draft and be called a steal, if he was drafted at pick 33.

Why? Lloyd and Lucas have both left I don’t rate Neagle to much so I think they could do with another KPP. Essendon could even draft him as a ruckmen because as they proved last year you can never have enough ruckmen.

Others: After drafting so many midfielders I think they should go for a KPP like Astbury or Sam Reid. Or if they were to go for a mid, they may go for Ryan Harwood.

• Banned
Third round

Pick 34 – Melbourne – Luke Ball – 184cm – 83kgs – Saints

Ball has been linked to Collingwood, Essendon and Melbourne. I don’t think he will go to Collingwood, they don’t have a good record of taking players who they say they will. Melbourne have the money, and have a great young list. Ball will be one of their best players if not their best. Ball is a great inside player who gets a lot of the ball and use’s it well. Melbounre would also love his experience.

Why? Melbourne have been linked to ball The Herald Sun said they could even use pick 11 on him, so they would be rapted to have a player of his talent and experience.

Others: Dave Astbury is a good chance. They could go for a ruckmen in Craig or hope Gawn’s still here if they take Ball earlier.

Pick 35 - Richmond – Dave Astbury – 195cm - 79kgs – North Ballarat Rebels (VC)

Tigers finally get a tall in Astbury. Astbury can play at either end. He has very good endurance, great kicking ability, can take a good, courageous and contested mark, and is very agile for a tall. Tigers really need some tall’s, mainly tall forwards. Which I think is where they would get him to play the majority of his game, or if they played him as a defender, it would allow Post to play forward.

Why? Tigers really needs tall’s and Astbury is just that.

Others: Joel Houghton, Sam Reid, Sam Shaw really any tall who’s worthy of this pick or possibly Ryan Harwood.

Pick 36 - Fremantle – Joel Houghton – 195kgs – 82kgs – Perth Demons (WA)

I don’t think Houghton’s is worthy of this pick, but I don’t think he will be around at their next pick either. If they were wanting to draft him, which I think they will, they will have to draft him here. He’s a great shot at goal, good below his knees, his 2nd efforts are good, can take a good grab and like’s to go for a run. I have made him sound like a number 1 draft pick, but I better bring him back down to earth now. He can be inconsistent. If he doesn’t get a lot of the ball, he will just go missing. His work ethic can be down a times, and he doesn’t always win his own footy. Reality is, Houghton could turn out to be anything from a superstar to a lazy dud, but I have faith in him to be a superstar and Freo should be very happy if they were to draft him.

Why? A local boy and will be able to fill in the Full forward spot which Fremantle would be happy with.

Others: Ryan Harwood, Mark Hutchings, Sam Reid, Sam Shaw .It’s always hard to predict who Fremantle will draft.

Pick 37 - North Melbourne - Ryan Harwood 182cm - 76kgs – Glenorchy (TAS)

Its very hard to tell were Harwood will go. His rated by some as a top 25 pick, but I think he will slip a bit. Harwood was Tassie’s best player this year. Harwood will always give it his best. He gets a lot of the ball, he use’s it well, he lowers his eyes when he is about to kick. He should slot into the Kangaroos midfield nicely. I think he would be able to play some AFL next year.

Why? I think Scott and the Kanga’s recruiting team will be going for best available so I don’t think they would let Harwood past them.

Others: Jasper McMillan-Pittard, Kyle Hartigan I think Kangaroos will be looking for best available

Pick 38 - Sydney Swans - Jasper McMillan-Pittard - 185cm - 72kgs - Geelong Falcons (VC)

Swans would be ecstatic to still see their man Jasper here. Jasper has been rated by some experts very highly. Scott Clayton (Gold Coast recruiting manager) rates him as a top 10 pick. Paul Roos was quoted saying after his interview “ F**k drafting him lets put him on as an assistant coach now”. He also got questions for Neil Craig when the crows were interviewing him, Jasper reads the play well, very strong over head and has great leadership skills. Don’t be surprised for him to go at pick 14 either.

Why? Best available and has been linked to the Swans.

Others: Swans may go for a tall like Sam Ried or Kyle Hartigan or a midfielder in Hutchings.

Pick 39 – Hawthorn - Kyle Hartigan - 194 - 84kgs - Western Jets (VM)

39 picks in and Hawthorn finally get their first pick. Hawthorn would be looking to pick up a tall defender. Hartigan was rated very highly, and has played some great footy as an underage TAC Cup player. However he has really slipped this year. A fair few people are saying that he is carrying some kind of injury. If Hartigan can get the form that he showed last year, he will be a steal to be taken here.

Why? Hawks would want a tall defender and Hartigan is just that.

Other: James Craig came very close but I think Hartigan’s a little better. Craig’s height maybe a put off for the Hawks.

Pick 40 – Geelong - Mark Hutchings 180cm - 82kgs East Perth (WA)

With no real needs Geelong should go for best available, and Geelong should be rapted to still see Hutchings around. Hutching is very rough and hates losing a contest. He played 10 senior games which shows he should be ready for AFL next year. He also has a good set of skills and good leadership qualities. He may have to work on his pace a bit. He’s not really slow, just a little under par.

Why? Best Available here for the Cats,

Others: I think they’re very interested in Tutt, however I think he would slip past the Kangaroos next pick. I don’t think Hutchings would still be around at their next pick.

Pick 41 - North Melbourne- Sam Reid – 192cm – 84kgs – Murry Bushrangers (VC)

After drafting all midfielders, I think it’s about time they went for a Tall. Reid is brother of Collingwood’s Ben. Reid has played in just about every position, but he is more of a CHB who runs off his opponent. Reid’s draft camp really surprised a lot of people. He got 14.7 (7th) in the beep test and 2.92 (4th) seconds in the 20m sprint. Drafting expert Matt Burgan said he could be drafted as high as pick 12.

Why? North will have to draft a tall and I would call Reid a steal at this pick.

Other: Jason Tutt, Andrew Hooper, Ayden Kennedy, Majak Daws. I can’t see North passing or Reid if he was here,

Pick 42 – Geelong - Jason Tutt - 176cm - 72kgs – NSW (NSW/ACT)

Geelong is one of the four clubs to be looking at the little guy. With Wojo getting older, Tutt would be a good fill in. He is very fast a very good kick and is extremely good under pressure and he rarely gets caught. I think he will need to bulk up a bit before his ready to play AFL.

Why? He has been linked to Geelong and will fill in a future need,

Others: Although the got Vardy, they may go for Craig if Tutt was gone and they wanted a small defender, they could go for Hooper.

Pick 43 – Carlton - Gerrick Weedon - 186cm - 80kgs - Claremont (WA)

With the loss of Fev, the Blues forward line is now pretty shaky. Weedon would be a great addition. He could play a roll similar to Sam Fisher. Has a good speed for a medium forward. His awareness and decision making, ball winning and his pressure around the contest is first class. He also use’s the ball well and should be ready to play football next year. The Blues would also be very happy to still see him around.

Why? Weedon would add some much needed depth to the Blues forward line.

Others: James Craig is by far best available, but they wouldn’t need another ruckmen. They could go for a small in Hooper, or a tall like Serhart Temel.

Pick 44 – Richmond - Nicholas Winmar - 190cm - 78kgs - Claremont (WA)

Winmar is a “Modern day player”. He reminds me of Anthony Morabito a lot. He is a great height. He will need to gain at least 6-7 kilos before he could play AFL, but he dose have the stamina, speed and skills to play AFL. He also has heaps of X-Factor which helps. After getting a tall, midfielder and utility a running flank/wing would be a good addition to that list.

Why? Tigers don’t really have a running back flank, so if Winmar could get his body right and add a few more kilos, he should slot straight into the Tigers line up.

Others: They may go for a tall like Temel, McDonald or Luff. I did have Hooper going here, but since they got Farmer I don’t think there’s a need for another small defender/small midfielder.

Pick 45 – Adelaide - James Craig - 195cm - 91kg - North Adelaide (SA)

The Crows would be rapted to see Craig still around this late in the third round, but I think his height may cause him to slip a bit. Usually 195cm is a great height, but not for a ruckman. His giant leap is worth 5cms. He’s very agile for a big man, a good kicker, good under the knee’s and he was the all Australian ruckman for this years championships. It would surprise me if a team drafted him for a key forward or a defensive role.

Why? With no huge needs I think the Crows will go for best available which Craig is.

Others: I think crows will go for best available. They could go for Hooper or a mature age recruit like Myles Sewell.

Pick 46 – Hawthorn - Dylan Grimes - 192cm - 81kg - Northern Knights (VC)

Even though I already have Hawks getting Hartigan, I think they could do with another defender. Grimes could be classified as a tall defender, but he’s more of a 3rd tall/ running CHB or back flanker. He is extremely agile, and a good pace for someone of his size. He can take a good contested mark and will run back to fill in a hole to chop off the forwards and good at 1 on 1’s. He is also the brother of Melbourne’s Jack Grimes.

Why? Even though I have Hawks going for Hartigan and they drafted a few defenders last year, I don’t think another defender could do any harm.

Others: Hawks may want a classic full back in Luff or they could go for Sewell, brother of Brad or possibly a small in Hooper.

Pick 47 - Brisbane Lions - Dylan McNeil - 178cm - 75kgs Murray Bushrangers (NSW/ACT)

I would think McNeil would be a player that Brisbane would really like. He reminds me of Redden, very good at winning the contestant ball, very courageous, use’s the ball well by hand and foot, can play forward and likes to run forward and kick a goal whilst playing in the midfield. Many people may have him going higher than this, but his height and speed may see his slide a bit.

Why? I think he will suit the Lions style of play, and would be a player that Brisbane would like.

Others: Maybe Jesse Smith if they were still interested, but I think he looks set to be a Hawk. If Lions were so keen or winning a premiership in the next two years they could go for a mature aged recruit in Myles Sewell.

Pick 48 – Fremantle - Chris Luff - 193 - 82kgs - Peel Thunder (WA)

Chris is your good old full back who only gets 5-10 disposals, plays in the goal square on the opponents full forwards, keeps opponent to 1-2 goals and a player who all full forwards hate a lot like Simon Prestigiacomo. He is also very good by foot, makes great decisions and always reliable. I think he would be a great long term player who would be able to hold down full back for the next 10 years. I also think his very underrated, so don’t be surprised to hear his name called in the second round or higher in 3rd round. He has also been linked to Scarlett by some experts.

Why? Best available, fills in a need, and a local boy so why not?

Others: Fremantle have the next pick so it doesn’t really matter

Pick 49 – Fremantle – Trent Dennis-Lane – 184cm – 76kgs – Subiaco

Trent has been linked to Fremantle and I cant see why they wouldn’t want him. Trent is 21 and has been playing in the WAFL. He was second in the leading goal kickers list (67), he’s got good pace, great at crumbing goals, he has got a good lead and his defensive pressure is outstanding. With Fremantle’s great record of mature aged recruits, I don’t see how they will let Trent slip past them.

Why? Best available, a local boy and Fremantle are interested in him.

Others: Adam Hooper, Myles Sewell or they could take a huge punt on Majak Daws.

• Banned
Fourth round

Pick 50 – Melbourne – Mitch Thorp – 194cm – 87kgs – Hawthorn

I’ve had Thorp going to Melbourne ever since he was delisted from the Hawks, but I had him going to them in the PSD until I read the Age and Herald sun and they said the reason Joel McDonald didn’t nominate for the draft was because Melbourne promised to draft him in the PSD with there first pick. So if this is true, and they want Thorp, they will have to take him here. Thorp is just 21 and was taken at pick six in the 2007 “Super Draft” so he’s still a super talent and could hold full forward for the next ten years for Melbourne if he can get his behaviour right.

Why? Thorp has been training with Melbourne, and if they want him they will have to take him here if they’re going to take McDonald in the PSD.

Others: IF they changed their mind on Thorp, they could go for a tall in Temel, Shaw or even Luke McDonald.

Pick 51 – Richmond - Andrew Hooper - 172cm - 78kg – North Ballarat Rebels (VC)

Hooper is rated highly by many people. If you look at the full picture he is only 172cm tall which I think will play a huge role on where he is drafted. If he was 10cm taller he would be a guaranteed first round pick. Because of his height he will get pushed around easily. Hooper won the Larke medal (Best player in the championships) and was selected in the U/18 all Australian team. If a team wouldn’t mind someone of his height, he could go a lot higher. Unless a team is willing to, I don’t think he will be in the first 3 round.

Why? Best available and even though Tigers got Farmer, I still think they could do with another back pocket.

Others: After drafting a bit of every thing I think Tigers could still go for a KPF in Temel or McDonald but they should still be around later in the draft.

Pick 52 – Fremantle – Ronald Ah Chee - 183cm - 81kg – NT Thunder (NT)

With Fremantle’s 6th pick I have them getting Ah chee. I have them getting a bit of everything. I think they would like a tall, but there is none really around unless they want to take a risk on Temel. Ah Chee could really go anywhere. He could go as high as pick 25, or he could slip to the Rookie draft. I like to call him a “pocket rocket” he loves winning the contestant ball there burst though the pack. Ah Chee had more disposals than any other player in the Championships and he won the NT MVP. Ah Chee has also been linked to Nathan Foley,

Why? Fremantle could do a player like Ah Chee his also best available.

Others: Sehart Temel, Or Fremantle could go for one of those no name recruits.

Pick 53 - North Melbourne – Majak Daw – 194m – 84kgs – Western Jets

It’s really hard to say where this kid will go. Pick 53 may be a little early, but its North’s last pick and I don’t think he would last to their PSD pick. Majak was born in Africa and has only been talked about in the second half of the year. Daw’s can play on the wing forward flank or even as a ruckman because of his great leap. He has been linked with Jurrah and Natinui. Eugene Arocca also said Daw’s is on North’s radar.

Why? Majak has been linked to the Kanga’s, and I think the risk will pay off.

Others: Sam Shaw, Myles Sewell but If the kangaroos really are keen on Daw’s, they will take him here.

Pick 54 - Sydney Swans - Sam Shaw – 191cm – 77kgs - Oakleigh Chargers (VM)

Shaw is a versatile tall who can play at either end but he dose play his best football in defence. He is a very athletic player and his pace and leap are very good for someone of his size. He can play on the teams full forward or float as a loose defender or a 3rd tall. With the loss of Leo Barry, Shaw could play a similar role.

Why? Best available and will help the Swans defence.

Others: They have the next pick.

Pick 55 - Sydney Swans - Josh Cowan – 183cm – 74kgs - North Ballarat Rebels (VC)

After drafting a little bit of everything, I have the Swans going best available. Cowan has great foot skills, good decision making and his run and carry is really first class. Coach Glenn Wilkins rates him as the hardest trainer and worker at the club, and one of the hardest workers he has ever coached. I don’t think Cowan will be ready to play for at least a year. I don’t think his body’s right just yet but I think he will one day play some good footy and his my favourites rebel for a reason.

Why? After drafting a fair few tall’s I think Swans need to go with a small and Cowan is also best available.

Others: Menzel is a similar player to Cowan so they may go for him or even Myles Sewell or Derek Wanganeen.

Pick 56 – Geelong - Josh Donaldson - 194cm - 85kg - West Perth (WA)

With the loss of Harley the Cats could go for another tall defender. Donaldson can play at either end he even played ruck in the championships but he won’t be able to do that in the AFL I wouldn’t think. He does play his best football in the defence. He has a great leap, can take a good contested grab, got a good set of skills so he can kick a good goal. He is also fairly agile and has a good pace for a big man.

Why? Can fill in for Harley and best available in some ways.

Others? Myles Sewell would be a good chance along with Derek Wanganeen.

Pick 57 – Hawthorn - Myles Sewell 182cm - 80kgs - North Ballarat Rosters

Sewell is 21 and won the JJ Liston trophy for the best player in the VFL. He’s brother of Hawthorns Brad Sewell. He also plays a similar role as him, a tough inside midfielder. I have been saying Sewell will get drafted for the last three years and it looks like it’s finally his turn after playing in the VFL for the past two years. Sewell should be ready to play some good football next year.

Why? Brother of Brad and too good to pass on.

Others: They have the next pick so it doesn’t matter,

Pick 58 – Hawthorn – Jessie Smith – 191cm – 83kgs – North Melbourne

Smith has so much talent to offer, he was even rated by some North Melbourne supporters as the next captain of North. Smith is only 21 and has shown he has the potential to be a future AFL star, but injuries have gotten the better of him. Smith asked to be traded but Lions seemed to be the only team interested. However he failed their fitness training. He never got traded so he decided to walk.

Why? Smith has been training with the Hawks and it seems to be all thumbs up so far.

Others: I think Hawks would be very keen on Sewell and Smith. I can see them both going here with these 2 picks, so unless one of them gets drafted before here, they may go for best available after drafting two tall defenders and no huge needs besides that.

Pick 59 – Carlton – Bryon Sumner – 175cm – 68kgs - Eagles (SA)

Carlton have been linked to this little bloke and I can see why they’re interested in him. He may only be a little bloke, but is quick, has good disposal, loves kicking a goal and always puts his head over the ball. I think at AFL level he would play a running half back role, but he can also play in the middle or rest up forward and kick some nice goals.

Why? Carlton have been linked to Sumner.

Others: I wouldn’t be surprised if they jumped on Ledin or Menzel if they wanted a running back flanker.

Pick 60 - St Kilda - Zach Ledin - 181cm - 78kg - Geelong Falcons

It’s really hard to predict where this kid will go. He is 19, so as an overage player he’s also had 3 years of experience in the TAC Cup. He really dominated some games this year for the Falcons. He has great skills, speed and stamina. He plays more of an inside player, but if he plays outside he can really use his skills. He could also play footy next year if he could mange to break into the Saints line up.

Why? Best available, Saints would be rapt to see him this far into the draft. It’s also believed Saints are interested in him.

Others: If they were keen on getting best available they could go for Menzel but Ledin is clearly the best option.

Pick 61 – Adelaide - Daniel Menzel - 185cm - 77kg - Central Districts (SA)

Menzel plays the “quarter back” role but he can play in a range of positions, forward, back or on the ball. He has good skill, a lovely and long kick, a good leap, he can cut off the leads, and a good frame to grow into. He could play a role a lot like Drummond from the Lions. He would suit the Crows game plan well. He could go a lot earlier but his ball winning ability may see him slip.

Why? Best Available, suits Crows game plan and a local boy.

Others: I had Anthony Long here but I doubt Crows will let Menzel past them this late in the draft.

Pick 62 – Collingwood - Ayden Kennedy - 191cm - 80kgs - Eastern Ranges (VM)

Kennedy could turn out to be a really good forward in years to come for Collingwood. He has all the right qualities to be a tall and could even play as a flanker or possibly a winger. He did really well at draft camp especially in the agility and the 20m sprint. Collingwood could also do with a few extra talls.

Why? Kennedy can play a tall role and they would be rapt if he was still around here.

Others: Temel but I think it may be a little bit too early or even McDonald They could do with some talls.

Pick 63 - Western Bulldogs - Joe Dare - 188cm - 81kgs - Geelong Falcons

It’s really hard to predict where Dare will go. Dare has lived on a farm his whole life so his no stranger to hard work. I really like Dare and I would like to have him a lot higher, but I think his speed may cause him to slip. Dare has been linked with Darren Milburn and the role he plays has been linked to Joel Bowden without kicking the ball backwards all the time.

Why? Even though Dogs have Dale Morris who is also a medium defender, I think Dare is just too good to pass on.

Others: Maybe Temel but after getting Griffiths with there first pick, I don’t think they will need another Tall here

Pick 64 - St Kilda – Kallen Geary – 177cm – 70kgs – Bendigo Pioneers (VC)

Kallen is brother of the Saints Jarryn. Kallen is only small which I think will cause him to slip, but he’s still a steal this late in the draft. Geary had a very good draft camp including 9min 45second 3km run. He won Bendigo’s club champion award for the second year in a row. He mainly plays in the middle, but rests forward. He even played as a defender for Vic Country.

Pick 65 - Geelong - Pass

• Banned
Fifth round

Pick 66 – Melbourne – Pass

Pick 67 – Richmond - Serhat Temel - 194cm - 89kg - Calder Cannons

Now were do I start with the “Turkish Delight” He has loads of potential and can turn out to be anything. He had a mega finals series for the Cannons, and kicked some big bags of goals for them though out the year. Temel has a nice and long kick, his marking ability is great, he was triple teamed at times and still got the mark. He is a very big risk but I think taking him this late would be all right.

Why? Tigers need big forwards and Serhat is that. He could play in the goal square for the Tigers for the next 10 years if he can be developed well.

Others: Tom Hill, Luke Mcdonald. I think with Tigers late picks they need to go for some big bodies.

Pick 68 – Fremantle – Pass

Pick 69 – Hawthorn – Pass

Pick 70 – Hawthorn – Pass

Pick 71 - West Coast - Pass

Pick 72 – Richmond – Luke McDonald - 196cm - 90kgs – Eastern Rangers

With the success of Jayden Post who was an over aged player, I think Tigers will once again take the risk on an overage player. Luke is a great height and weight for a KPF, and he is an awesome kick. He kicked 64 goals 16 which is just amazing. He can take a great grab and he kicked four of five bags of six or seven.

Why? McDonald has a great kick which a lot of Tiger supporters would love. He is also a big forward which the Tigers need.

Others: I really think and hope McDonald goes here. I think he’s just about the only option here unless they go for a ruckmen in Milne, Hill or Groenwegan.

Pick 73 – Hawthorn - Pass

Pick 74 – Essendon - Pass

Pick 75 – Carlton - Matt Maguire – 192cm – 100kgs – St Kilda

After delisting Cloke, Maguire looks to have gotten the thumbs up from Carlton.

Why? If they drafted Maguire they know they’re getting a reliable player and he would also allow Waite to play forward.

Others: If Maguire got the thumbs up they wont draft anyone else.

Pick 76 - Brisbane Lions - Derek Wanganeen - 172cm - 63kg - Port Adelaide (SA)

Derek is cousin to AFL star and two time Brownlow medallist Gavin. Derek. He is very short, which may cost him been drafted. Like Andrew Hooper, if he was 10cms taller he would go a lot higher. He can be played all over the place, back pocket, forward pocket, midfield just about everywhere. Even though I have the Lions getting Fyfe with their first pick, I think they could go for another small forward to play the same role as Rhan Hooper did.

Why? He can play as a small forward which Brisbane need.

Others Dylan Robinson, Matt Fowler, or they could pounce on a smaller player like Derek who slips because of their height.

Pick 77 – Adelaide - Pass

Pick 78 – Collingwood - Claye Beams - 184cm - 80kgs - Labrador

Claye is Dayne’s brother, and they play a similar kind of game. They even look the same. Claye has the big tattoo down his arm. If Collingwood were to draft Clay, the chances of Dayne ever moving to Gold Coast would be extremely slim. Enough about that time to say what his like on the field. He’s only came back to playing football in the second half of the year. Because of him playing not much football means he has lots of potential to work with. He’s got a nice long kick and kicked 6 goals in one game.

Why? This may sound bad but if they were to draft Claye it would keep Dayne at Collingwood and Claye could also turn out to be a great player. There is not much greater talent still around anyway.

Others: Maybe Daniel Harris from the Kangaroos or Mitch or Scott Taylor would suit Collingwood’s game plan well.

Pick 79 - Western Bulldogs - Pass

Pick 80 - St Kilda - Pass

Pick 81 – Geelong - Pass

Key: This is for players who also played in the National Championships.

Vic Metro = (VM) Vic Country = (VC)
South Australian = (SA) Western Australia = (WA)
Tasmania = (TAS) Queensland = (QLD)
NSW/ACT Rams = (NSW/ACT) Northern Territory (NT)

Lucas is the best midfielder available at our pick, but I would hardly call him an "inside midfielder" as you so directly put it!

Coopster, we still do have quite a few needs:

1) 2-3 A Class midfielders (we only have 1 in Jobe Watson)

2) 3rd tall forward

3) crumbing forward- we currently have no-one. Hoping for Christensen to do this role short term.

4) Ruck depth- If Hille and/or Ryder goes down we are screwed.

Lucas is the best midfielder available at our pick, but I would hardly call him an "inside midfielder" as you so directly put it!

Coopster, we still do have quite a few needs:

1) 2-3 A Class midfielders (we only have 1 in Jobe Watson)

2) 3rd tall forward

3) crumbing forward- we currently have no-one. Hoping for Christensen to do this role short term.

4) Ruck depth- If Hille and/or Ryder goes down we are screwed.

I beleive we have some A Class midfielders coming through (Reimers,Stanton,Prismall,Lonergan) but yes another 2 high draft midfielders wont hurt

yes i did say we needed a tall. I rekon Talia at 10 and move hurley forward what do you think?

And are you forgetting Davey,Jetta,Monfries and even Reimers? i think they are very capable crumbers.

I agree with our ruck situation needs work but i dont think we should worry about getting a ruckman in this draft not a huge amount of talent in that division.

I beleive we have some A Class midfielders coming through (Reimers,Stanton,Prismall,Lonergan) but yes another 2 high draft midfielders wont hurt

yes i did say we needed a tall. I rekon Talia at 10 and move hurley forward what do you think?

And are you forgetting Davey,Jetta,Monfries and even Reimers? i think they are very capable crumbers.

I agree with our ruck situation needs work but i dont think we should worry about getting a ruckman in this draft not a huge amount of talent in that division.

None of those midfielders are/will be A-Class quality. You are talking the upper class of the competition here. Myers probably is the best chance to go into that group. Either way we are 2-3 midfielders down.

Talia at 10- not for mine. Grab the best midfielder available at 10, either Melksham or Kane Lucas. I have every confidence in Gumbleton, don't see a pressing need for Hurley to go forward. He is a perfect swing man. 3rd tall is like Ryan O'Keefe or Steve Johnson sort.

None of Davey, Monfries, Jetta or Reimers are crumbers. Think Milne or Schneidder for teh Saints, Brynes or Stokes for the Cats. All of our "crumbers" are midfielders that play forward. I would target a crumbing forward either at our PSD pick 9 or our rookie pick.

As for ruckmen- depends who is available at our picks. If we don't get Ball, I can see us taking Gawn at 26.

Insane Draft For the Swans!!!!!!!

McMillan, Rohan, Shaw and Talia!

3 first rounders and arguably a second rounder with picks 6, 14, 38, 54

Nice effort, but I dont think Kennedy will drop that far. On SEN the other night they spoke about him going in the 2nd round and also in an article on the afl website written by Matt Burgon.

Sydney and Melbourne would be loving this one.
Scully, Trengove, Carlile, Sheppard, Ball.
Rohan, Talia, JMP, Shaw, Cowan.

Reasonably happy with the Crows' draft.
Stevens, Carey, Craig and Menzel would be a pretty good outcome.
Not entirely sold on Craig as he doesn't really have a position. (Too short to ruck effectively, we have others similar to him with the same deficiencies; Sellar, McKernan, Maric, Moran)
I like Carey, but not sure he's a second rounder. If we went for JMP instead, it would be a very good draft for us.

terrible from a port perspective, Butcher was about the only one of our 3 picks u got right. No way will take Panos if we take Butcher, i find it hard to see even if we dont get Butcher. Tapscott will be lucky to go 1st round let alone top 10.

Good effort but I don't know why you think we are keen to replace Gibson.

He couldn't get a game in our backline by the end of the year and there are a number of blokes who will go ahead of him for a midfield role next season, most likely starting with Cunnington.

I like Daw at 53 too.