Meatloaf

• Thread starter Thread starter boncer34

Why do they even need to get anyone? The ground will fill anyway - people don't go to the GF to watch the pre-game entertainment

I thought, with it being a backward (Sharpies :D) country, on a par with a US redneck state like Georgia or Alabama, that Meatloaf was a wise choice.

Lol so "almost" means something else to you. Got it :thumbsu:

Also please learn the definiton of semantics.
"Almost" as in the same fashion, close to, similar. I'd say they're pretty apt descriptors wouldn't you?

Also please learn the definition of semantics.

... Jimmy Barnes' performance in the grand final a few years back? Was almost as bad as the loaf's.

Meatloaf was far worse, but Barnes has had his day as well.

This isn't about semantics, it's about two contradictory statements. Something can't be simultaneously "far worse" and "almost as bad". I took your second remark as a revision of the first - and I agree that Jimmy has had his day.

I would say that Meatloaf was far worse than Jimmy. Although Jimmy has lost the clear tone of his voice, he still hits most of his notes on pitch - except the really high ones which he can't reach any more.

Meatloaf has lost his tone, range and his sense of pitch. He is an out and out basket case as a performer.

Therefore, Meatloaf is far worse.

In fairness to Meatloaf, those saying he didn't have a great voice in the past are crazy. Whether you rate his music or not (I don't), suggesting John Lennon, Jeff Buckley (hugely overrated, massacred Cohen's Hallelujah), etc, had a better voice is just ignorant. He didn't always make the most of it, and his song selection certainly left a lot to be desired, but he could SING.

To hear him singing ordinary songs in a shattered voice that was once their saving grace was a bit sad, really. Kind of like when Britney got fat.

What a bitter old coot.

Hate to break it to you mate, but the reason you got called shit was well, you were shit.

A couple thoughts:

1) As some have rightfully pointed out, the money is better spent elsewhere. But people need to undertsand that the AFL already budgets itself up to the eyeballs. They didn't just pull this money out of a great big pot at the expense of something else.

2) I would be happy to abandon the musical component. I'd be very happy to see the TAC Cup Grand Final, or the VFL Grand Final prior to the big game, however I am presuming this would cause significant logistical concerns (state of the ground, movement of equipment etc etc). It's not so easy as just saying it.

3) If music stays, than budget a little higher and bring in some substantial talent. How much would tempt Silverchair into another reunion? God forbid, how deep do you have to dig for a Metallica?

This is what happens when you cater to the musical "taste" of 50 year old bogans who are stuck in the past and haven't listened to new music in about 3 decades.

There are so many great Australian acts around right now who would love the exposure of playing at the AFL grandfinal, would come a hell of a lot cheaper, and would actually know what Aussie Rules is all about. But no, the AFL pays a shit load of cash to get some fat, washed up American Hack that nobody under 30 has even heard of. :thumbsd:

Drapht, Jinja Safari, The Getaway Plan, Hilltop Hoods, Bluejuice, Illy, Amity Affliction, etc etc.

360 singing Killer right before the Grand Final - now that would be good to see/hear.

Support our awesome local talent, not just some old has-been.

EDIT: how could I forget Bliss N Eso :O :O

This is what happens when you cater to the musical "taste" of 50 year old bogans who are stuck in the past and haven't listened to new music in about 3 decades.

There are so many great Australian acts around right now who would love the exposure of playing at the AFL grandfinal, would come a hell of a lot cheaper, and would actually know what Aussie Rules is all about. But no, the AFL pays a shit load of cash to get some fat, washed up American Hack that nobody under 30 has even heard of. :thumbsd:

Drapht, Jinja Safari, The Getaway Plan, Hilltop Hoods, Bluejuice, Illy, Amity Affliction, etc etc.

360 singing Killer right before the Grand Final - now that would be good to see/hear.

Love your idea but terrible execution in the artists you have listed.

Aussie hip hop only has a minority audience and a rock or indie band would be better suited to that platform.

3) If music stays, than budget a little higher and bring in some substantial talent. How much would tempt Silverchair into another reunion? God forbid, how deep do you have to dig for a Metallica?
Why would you want Silverchair to reunite...?

As has been said, give some up and coming Aussie acts a chance. I don't care if its shitty Aus hip hop, or another rock band that stole their sound from Led Zep/ACDC/etc.

They will put on a show that matches these US hacks and won't cost big $$$.

Just don't do what the SANFL did and get a shitty cover band. No Jet either.

Why would you want Silverchair to reunite...?

As has been said, give some up and coming Aussie acts a chance. I don't care if its shitty Aus hip hop, or another rock band that stole their sound from Led Zep/ACDC/etc.

They will put on a show that matches these US hacks and won't cost big $$$.

Just don't do what the SANFL did and get a shitty cover band. No Jet either.

Silverchair fit the bill as a 'big' Aussie band.

Big no from me for an up and coming band. Whilst I'd love for them to get an opportunity, landing big name has the function of promoting the game, particularly (lets face it) overseas. The performer on the day makes no difference to you and I as to whether we will watch the game.

Metallica, Coldplay, Bon Jovi, U2.... (aiming a bit high here hey? :D)

Big name bands with sounds that suit a large open air stadium.

Why should the AFL become a slave to parochialism? Australian acts should actually earn the right to play a stage as big as the Grand Final. I'm sure being chosen would be far more meaningful to any Australian act if they were selected on merit as opposed to being chosen just because they're from here. That said, I'm not completely against smaller Australian acts getting a shot at Grand Final, but they should be nowhere near the major pre-match entertainment, more like a support slot. But that of course would cost more money and I'm not sure if it would add much, but it's worth consideration.

Also, not a single one of the acts you listed warrants a spot on Grand Final day (let alone a crack at "Live at the 'G" early in the season). Outside of Triple J, virtually no one in Australia gives a crap about Aussie hip-hop.

Your argument loses credibility when you state that "nobody under 30" has heard of Meatloaf, that's just plain ignorance. The problem with the selection of Meatloaf was whoever organised the entertainment can't have seen him perform live in probably 15 years or so. They didn't do their research, and we were left with what you did accurately describe as a "washed-up hack".

The AFL just need to skew their entertainment roughly 20 (maybe 30 years) younger, target acts who are at their peaks. If the AFL want a "legend", the they need to make sure that it's someone still performing on merit (Lionel Ritchie), as opposed to reputation (Meatloaf). The people suggesting the likes of the Foo Fighters and Coldplay are spot on the money (even if they're not everyone's cup of tea), these bands have wide appeal and haven't lost "it" yet. The only question is affordability, but if Meatloaf made as much as has been rumoured, even that shouldn't be too hard.

John Lennon at the AFL grand final ? Awesome.

This si not taking sides but all the bands at finals this year sounded crap. so theres something in the argument.

PS the three tenors were crap at the MCG too

Even a band like Gyroscope- their single Snakeskin was used a lot during the 2008 AFL season. They've released another album since then, too. Good young Aussie band, they were awesome at the Clipsal 500.

Silverchair fit the bill as a 'big' Aussie band.

Big no from me for an up and coming band. Whilst I'd love for them to get an opportunity, landing big name has the function of promoting the game, particularly (lets face it) overseas. The performer on the day makes no difference to you and I as to whether we will watch the game.

Metallica, Coldplay, Bon Jovi, U2.... (aiming a bit high here hey? :D)

Big name bands with sounds that suit a large open air stadium.

You've pretty much nailed it on the head there. The main idea of the pre-match is about making the game an "event" to the more casual observer and the international market, which is what most people seem to be missing here.

Also, I reckon Metallica and U2 are out of reach (mostly due to arrogance and belief that such a thing is below them), but the other 2 are very gettable.

The killers please.... Make it happen Vlad

Reckon The Killers would be a sensational choice. :thumbsu:

Even a band like Gyroscope- their single Snakeskin was used a lot during the 2008 AFL season. They've released another album since then, too. Good young Aussie band, they were awesome at the Clipsal 500.

They're not there yet, still quite unknown. Also, a band should ideally have at least 5 pretty easily identifiable songs to choose from.

The AFL should stop dicking around and get some real acts... They are becoming a laughing stock. What about Green Day? Foo fighters? U2? even Cold Chisel

Abso-freakin-lutely.

"Wake me up when September ends...."

Feels right to me :D