2- N.Bassett
1- K.McGregor

TTM

3- I.Perrie
2- N.Bassett
1- J.Torney

Rookie

1- T.Hentschel

I don't know what to make of today's game. I didn't think we played particularly well, we were just up against a far worse side who wouldn't make us pay for our mistakes. However, it was a good team effort with contributors all across the ground, but no real standouts.

BOG
5. Ricciuto (Got plenty of the ball all day and used it well, provided a superb target up forward)
4. Burton (A real livewire across half forward, kicked some nice goals too, if he'd held that attempted speccie it would've been the complete Birdman performance. Welcome back Brett!)
3. Perrie (Well you guys bagged me when I said he wasn't kicking enough goals, today he did his job - 4 goals in the first 15 minutes coming from nice chest marks on the lead, that virtually put the Dees out of the match from the outset. Daniher paid him a big compliment by putting Neitz onto him. He finished the day with 6.)
2. Johncock (His best game for a month or so, got a fair bit of the ball through the midfield and used it well)
1. Massie (provided superb rebound off half back)

BTM
3. Biglands (Did the bulk of the ruckwork against two opposing ruckman and won!)
2. Torney (Did the tough hard things as usual)
1. Stenglein (Kept Yze quiet after starting well)

Rookie

Abstain. Hentschel was our only passenger.

POTY

5- Ricciuto
4- Perrie
3- Burton
2- John****
1- Biglands

TTM

3- Perrie
2- Torney
1- Doughty (for his last quarter)

Rookie

None

POTY

5- Perrie
4- Ricciuto
3- Burton
2- Biglands
1- Massie

TTM

3- Massie
2- Perrie
1- Torney

Rookie

Hentschel

hmmm...good win! But, what was Dogga's game time? 20 minutes? Has he gotten into Ayres' Bad book or something. Same with Gags....way too much time off.
Message to Gary: You need to give ur 2nd tier midfielders actually proper game time, if you want them to take over the midfield role after Bicks retires.

BEST:

5. Johncoc.k
4. Roo
3. Perrie
2. Bickley
1. Burton

TEAM:

3. Biglands
2. McGregor
1. Bickley

ROOKIE:

Nil

Best

5 Ricciuto
4 Perrie
3 Burton
2 John****
1 Torney

TTM

3 Biglands
2 McGregor
1 Torney

Rookie

Hentschel

Couldn't go to the game today so i was punished in front of TV with a 3:30 start:( Not a good time to catch a flu:( :( :( :( :( :(

Let me start of by saying we were given a dream run by the umpires today which is a welcome change from last 2 weeks.

Best on Ground

5 - Mark Ricciuto (Great captains game. Led from the front all day and was influencial all day long whether as a forward or on the ball)
4 - Brett Burton (That was just about the best game I saw him play. Got plenty of the ball and kicked 3 goals. Used the ball OK too)
3 - Ian Perrie (He was on fire in 1st 12 minutes and ended up with 3 opponents for the day. Kicked 6 and set up a couple. Great effort)
2 - Graham Johncock (Stiffy was great today. finished up with 19 disposals and kicked 3 goals. He was due for a good one)
1 - Kris Massie (He has really played well in the past month. Provides a bit of toughness and run from the backlines)

Best Team Man

3 - Ian Perrie (Presented all day. One of the moves that went a long way to win us the match was when Daniher moved Neitz on Perrie)
2 - Rhett Biglands (Rucked pretty much all day and did well.)
1 - Jason Torney (What can I say. Just a genuine team man)

Rookie

1 - Trent Hentschel. (Apart from missing a sitter, I tought he showed some promise. He took a couple of nice contested marks and showed a cool head under pressure to hit a target with his disposal. 7 possesions and 4 marks in his 2nd AFL game is not bad considering his form in the last month hasn't really been flash)

Great to have a win and with a bit of luck, good form and positive application we should look forward to two more good games at home - Not to mention the players coming back.

Best
5 Ricciuto
4 Perrie
3 Burton
2 John****
1 Torney

TTM
3 Biglands
2 McGregor
1 Torney

Rookie
1. Hentschel

Best on Ground

5 - Mark Ricciuto (As the others have said, great captains game.)

4 - Brett Burton (His best game for the season and can only remember one lairy piece of play)

3 - Ian Perrie (gave the team a great kick start when it mattered)

2 - Graham John**** (Right back to his dashing tough hard at it rebounding best today)

1 - Kris Massie (In great form at the moment - another hard at it player)

Best Team Man

3 - Rhett Biglands (He was absolutely r**ted at the end of the game but a great effort)
2 - Tyson Edwards (created heaps of run with good disposal from the backlines.)
1 - Jason Torney (He's a beauty - a great pick-up)

Rookie

1 - Trent Hentschel. Showed glimpses today and when he stops playing in an apologetic manner and just hangs loose, he will explode because he DOES have it.

Originally posted by macca23
Trent Hentschel. Showed glimpses today and when he stops playing in an apologetic manner and just hangs loose, he will explode because he DOES have it.
Spot on. I just got the feeling had he kicked his 1st attempt at goal he would have grown in confidence. You could see he was nervous as hell when he took that mark in front of goal and he just froze at a crutial moment. I don't like his kicking from set shots. I have noticed this lately, he really kicks them high in the air. He doesn't do it in field play but with set shots he ALWAYS kicks them really high.

Overall a better performance than his 1st game. He'll come good.

BTW you are not copying Dave's and my BOG votes?!?!?!?!?!?! R you??????:p ;) :) :D

Originally posted by Stiffy_18

BTW you are not copying Dave's and my BOG votes?!?!?!?!?!?! R you??????:p ;) :) :D

I did notice that myself Stiffy. :D

No mate, I actually tried to make them different but I couldn't because you 2 guys had it spot on IMO. ;)

BOG

5 Ricciuto
4 Perrie
3 Massie
2 Burton
1 Kennedy/Schmitt/Avon (couldn't split them, sensational 4 quarter effort, back to form after an absolute shocker last week)

BTM

3 Biglands
2. Torney
1. Massie

Rookie

-

Glad you guys see something in Trent, cause I sure as hell don't, woeful IMO today, which is very harsh I know, but the best kids (and he has big wraps) have a certain poise, calmness under pressure, and can execute. Looked totally lost today, and only got his 7 or so touches because we played a shocking team, we were completely dominant and the Dees struggle with key forwards. I'm sure he'll improve and get better with time and experience, but geez, he's gonna have to. Saw nothing impressive today.

Overall, good stuff by the boys, shows what can be accomplished when you go in hard, and play tough, attacking footy. The run off half back was wonderful, set up many attacks.....the flow of runners from the backlines through the middle was reminiscent, dare I say it, of the glory days of 97, 98.

Hentschell can play - just give him time.

7 - the umpires - golden run all day

6 - David Neitz - what a wally. Showed no leadership whatsoever.

5 Ricciuto - great game by the skipper, first quarter was unstoppable. He neraly managed to crash through four melbourne defenders in the first quareter!!

4 - Perrie - has been the find of the season and continues to work hard and provide great results. Never mind Carey being the missing ingredient. It could be Perrie.

3 - Burton - apart from a couple of silly clangers played his best game for a long time. Ran hard and used the ball quite well.

2 - Bassett - The epitomy of a team player. Never shirks the issue and has courage by the truckload. Leaves his man to win the contested ball because the team is his only focus.

1- John****- great return to form. Played it hard quick and smart.

Team man

3 Bassett - see above
2 Torney - courage personsified. Things that he does the crowd doesn't even applaud at times. Many of our crowd are completely ignorant about most things football.
1 Biglands - battled hard in the ruck all day.

Rookie

Hetnchell - sued the ball quite well when he had it. Will improve a lot.

Good signs

Rob Shirley attacked the bal really hard and acquitted hismelf well.

Smart and Bickley look like they could go on forever.

Ladhams McGreogr Massie Doughty etc all played well. Great depth at the club I think.

Look out world here come the Crows!!!

Umpiring was not up to scratch even if we were the beneficiaries this time,

BoG

5 = M Ricciuto, led from the front
4 = B Burton, best game from the birdman in quite a while
3 = I Perrie, he's making sure they will find it very hard to leave him out in future games
2 = K Massie, just keeps on improving
1 = G Johnc&ck, excitement machine

BTM

3 = R Biglands, great 4 quarter effort
2 = I Perrie, could have kicked more but played the team game
1 = M Bickley, force of habit in picking Bicks for this award,

Rookie

1 = T Hentschel, showed a bit but needs to muscle up a touch more for next year.

good games in a game where it was fairly easy to play in were, =

C Ladhams, N Smart N Bassett, B Hart & J Torney

BOG

5 = M Ricciuto, a supreme performance
4 = B Burton, back to his formidable best. Look forward to a screamer soon.
3 = I Perrie, all the hard work of previous weeks and this week he has the score on the board too.
2 = K Massie, tireless and courageous all day.
1 = R Biglands, great effort rucking on his own.

BTM

3 = R Biglands
2 = I Perrie
1 = K Massie

Rookie

1 = Abstain. Would have been giving Hentschel a sympathy vote. Not up to AFL level just yet.

BOG
5. Ricciuto - Got the ball rolling in the 1st quarter, great presence also in the goal square & straight kicking for goal.
4. Perrie - Unlucky not to get 5 votes & set the game up early for us & dragged Neitz away from FF. His marking was fantastic & he handed off a couple of goals too.
3. Burton - Did his usual couple of stupid things when he had too much time to think - but was very impressed with his game. Actually went in hard for the ball as well as being a dangerous receiver.
2. Bassett - Another solid game from Bassett. Marshalled what was a terrific defence so as we didn't miss McGregor down back.
1. Johnc.ock - Good to see Stiffy get back to his earlier form. Just hope get gains more consistency as he should become a very exciting & damaging player for us.

BTM
3. Biglands - Controlled the ruck all day (for those doubters who didn't think he was capable).
2. Torney - Stitched up Vardy & often ran to position through the middle to set up attacking plays.
1. Hart - Another impressive game by Benny. He was hurt a couple of times, but never gave an inch.

BR
1. Hentschel - Was more of a decoy across HF with the form Perrie was in. Smart tap back which set up Perrie's 2nd goal. Good move by Ayres to give him a run down back when he missed that sitter.

Umpiring was not up to scratch even if we were the beneficiaries this time,

BOG

5. M Ricciuto: Weapon of Mass Deestruction? Ricciuto be thy name!
4. B Burton: All round good game - how fit is he?!! Missed out on BOG cause he lost that game of slaps with Neitz.
3. I Perrie: Faded in and out but was strategic gold on top of his goals as he forced Daniher to move his ace of spades out of the action.
2. G Johntodger: Massive game from the Stiff. Throbbing down back, in midfield and up forward. Will only get better.
1. K Massie: I'll say it again, this is why Carlton made him a top three draft pick back in the day.

BTM

3 = R Biglands: Rucked and made a contest all day. Needs a medal.
2 = M Bickley: Same old Bickley, always fearless.
1 = N Bassett: More courage than a snake-handler with Old Mice aftershave on

Rookie

1 = Abstained - That miss in the last quarter by Hentschel was unforgivable and we've not given a vote to Mattner and Reilly this year when they've played far better.

Originally posted by dyertribe
4. B Burton: All round good game - how fit is he?!! Missed out on BOG cause he lost that game of slaps with Neitz.
Ahhh... that's where you're wrong. Perrie's mark put him in a tough position to kick that goal. After Neitz pushed Perrie's head down into the turf, the Birdman could see he was ready to give away fifty. So Burton came in to remonstrate with him and, bingo... SLAP! SLAP! Fifty metre penalty, Perrie gets his shot from point blank range.

I don't want to ever hear again that Brett Burton doesn't have a football brain. ;)
1 = Abstained - That miss in the last quarter by Hentschel was unforgivable and we've not given a vote to Mattner and Reilly this year when they've played far better.
I couldn't agree more on your last point. I can only conclude some people going easy on Trent because it was his second game as against Mattner being in and out of the side since midway through last year.

I notice you've given the same 5/4/3/2/1 as Stiffy, macca and I. There's too much agreement in this thread... I don't like it.

Originally posted by DaveW
I notice you've given the same 5/4/3/2/1 as Stiffy, macca and I. There's too much agreement in this thread... I don't like it.

Kane and I were the same but different to you guys.

my experience plus Kane's reputation means we are right and you are wrong!!:p ;)

Its easy with hindsight but there seemed to be plenty of emotion when the team huddled prior to the first bounce...I said to the missus..." They look like theyre on a mission today!!"

BOG

5 Perrie
4 Ricciuto
3 Burton
2 Biglands
1 Massie

TTM

3 Biglands
2 Massie
1 Shirley

ROTY

Pass

Apologies to Johnclock but I had to give Shirley a vote in the Team man award. He played with desperation that rubbed off on a few on our others.

But Sarge was superb.
Hard leadin, Straight kickin top stuff.
Not to have remonstrated with Nietz showed a bit too when he wouldve been well within his right to smack the Dee captain;)

I thought Trent was a backman?
He wont play another game this year; because if he does; it will mean the Crows depth is in trouble.

Surprised to read in the media today some doubts about Biglands ability to run out a game. Gee, Ive never questioned him :confused: