purplesoul

Is everyone happy?

I look forward to the year that I don't get a 10% increase. Last year it was due to the seats (same seats) being upgraded from premium to premium gold (yet seem to have got exactly the same view).

Did everyone get an increase?

Did everyone get there forms? :confused:

Still waiting on mine..

......... scratch that, apparently it did come, just haven't been given it yet :)

The increase seems to be across the full range of membership options.

Where do you sit purplesoul, up the top on the members side?

They've increased all memberships so that we all get free public transport 3hrs before and 3 hrs after matches. :thumbsu:

shibz_1989 said:
Yeah it was, but now everyone has it.

It's on pg 14 of the membership guide.

Yeah, apparently being crammed into a train with 40,000 other people like sardines is going to give us an 'improved spectator experience' - sounds like they are getting in early for the 'save subi' campaign. I see that the country members get the opportunity to participate in this public transport contribution (I guess so long as you don't live further than 3 hours away it's a pretty cheap option :rolleyes:), I wonder if the interstate members will too?

Cut-price footy fares

October 21, 2006 08:00pm
Article from: Paul Lampathakis

0,,5281397,00.jpg

SUBIACO OVAL: A day at the football will be cheaper next, if fans use public transport.

An agreement between the WA Football Commission and Public Transport Authority will result in heavily discounted bus and train fares incorporated into ticket prices at Subiaco Oval.

Planning Minister Alannah MacTiernan said the joint ticketing deal should reduce game-day traffic and parking problems for motorists, residents and business, by encouraging people to use public transport.

One-off buyers of football tickets will pay $1.65 extra for travel to and from Subiaco _ saving up to $6.05 on normal bus or train travel, based on $7.70 day-rider tickets.

West Coast and Fremantle members will pay $15 extra on top of an adult season membership ($11 for concession), but nothing more for children, for 11 home games at the oval.

An adult club member who normally used day-rider tickets would save $69.70 for 11 games.
Ms MacTiernan said the extra cost would be compulsory for all Subiaco football tickets, after being optional last year for members only.

She hoped that by pre-paying a "modest amount'' for public transport, more people would be encouraged to bus or train it to Subiaco.

She said there would be big infrastructure upgrades to the West Leederville and Daglish train stations to ensure people would move through more quickly.

"This upgrade will give (West Leederville) station the capacity to cater for 20,000 patrons in the one-hour peak following sporting events such as AFL matches and Super 14 rugby,'' she said.
Football commission chief executive Wayne Bradshaw agreed the cost was cheap in comparison to normal fares.

He said the deal would improve traffic flow and parking, and reduce impacts on residents and the environment.

Members would be notified by mail and the deal would be effective from the first game next March.
City of Subiaco chief executive Chester Burton welcomed the move, saying the council had pushed for years to have joint ticketing for the football, as there was already for other codes and events.

The council wanted to reduce the number of vehicles coming into the area for matches, which had big negative impacts on residents and businesses.

"You get something like 10,000 additional vehicles for any major event at Subi Oval,'' he said.

"While many park responsibly, a proportion park dangerously or cause inconvenience to residents who can't get into their driveways and can't have visitors when matches are on.

"From a business point of view, people don't come to Subi to shop or have a cup of coffee when an event is on because it's too hard with traffic and parking.''

source; http://www.news.com.au/perthnow/story/0,21598,20623468-2761,00.html

dockersfan"This upgrade will give (West Leederville) station the capacity to cater for 20 said:
That probably means footy is staying in Subi. :( They wouldn't upgrade the train station to cater for 20,000 if they are going to build a new stadium.

dominguez said:
That probably means footy is staying in Subi. :( They wouldn't upgrade the train station to cater for 20,000 if they are going to build a new stadium.

Where are the other 40,000 going to go once it's upgraded to 60,000 - surely Subiaco station can't cater for that many?

Well, I think it's a great idea. This season, I've paid over $30 for bus fares, because me and my friend's parents don't have the time to drive us to the games every fortnight. And I must admit, the service was pretty shocking, but it does say that services will improve. Does that mean they'll have more then 1 bus returning when they had 3 going up? They better...

chook2734 said:
Where are the other 40,000 going to go once it's upgraded to 60,000 - surely Subiaco station can't cater for that many?

Only about 50-60% of people would catch the train though I think, so 20,000 should be sufficient. Some people who catch the train would probably head to the pub after games, so wouldn't be catching the train within an hour of the final siren. I know that's what I do, if I'm gonna have a drink afterwards I'll catch the train, otherwise I drive to the footy.

Rob said:
50-60%? I reckon 20% max. Maybe 30% if they really push it.

Alannah said on the news tonight 20-25%, so that would have to be close to around 10,000 each game. I haven't caught the train to Subi in a few years, but I can remember the ride home being pretty awful and completely squished. I can only imagine what it will be like if they get twice as many people wanting to use it. Is there any truth to the rumour that Mueller park will be closed next year?

I'm sure it will improve slightly next year if the new southern line opens, but i'd expect it won't be by much because there aren't many stations. Most people would need to drive to the station to get on the train (because there won't be many buses running on the weekend) and once you've piled the family into the car, you may as well drive to Subi. It's not like traffic is an issue.
Our public transport system simply isn't that good, especially on weekends.

Rob said:
I'm sure it will improve slightly next year if the new southern line opens, but i'd expect it won't be by much because there aren't many stations. Most people would need to drive to the station to get on the train (because there won't be many buses running on the weekend) and once you've piled the family into the car, you may as well drive to Subi. It's not like traffic is an issue.
Our public transport system simply isn't that good, especially on weekends.

Totally agree with that. The Warnbro (or should I say Waikiki) station is right down the road from me, but too far to walk. However, once the line is working, the bus that comes near my house won't go to it (even though it's on the way) but instead is going allll the way to Rocky bus station.

Hopefully transport to the footy improves. :thumbsu:

Could someone please post the membership prices? Adult and Concession (student)?

I am hoping to be back in WA next year so I will get another membership if they are not too expensive.

Reveler said:
Could someone please post the membership prices? Adult and Concession (student)?

I am hoping to be back in WA next year so I will get another membership if they are not too expensive.

New members Adult Premium gold $ 488 Concession $431
Premium $ 428 $ 371
Standard $ 292 $ 240
Budget $ 223 $ 167