Merged Draft threads - Part 2

Thanks very much for the kind words HFFlanker. ;)
I can see him going in the third round, seems just about right for him I reckon, but not to sure we'd want another one of his type (Lonergan, Hislop, Hocking, etc.) but he'd definitely be a possibilty.

Hang on , why would you not want someone with good skills on both sides of the footy who can find the footy and if anything is slightly quicker than the three players you mentioned?
Sure he lacks the so called "X" factor but that does not stop him from being a pretty good player. It is not like he is an unskillfull one sided outside plodder :D

I would love for us to get Michael Hurley with our 1st Pick and with our 2nd pick get Mitch Robinson

Doubt he will be available. Sorry to disappoint, but I suppose, from all reports, the top 25 could all be potential top 10 picks, so could be picked up anywhere. but seems like a few clubs like the look of him.

Hang on , why would you not want someone with good skills on both sides of the footy who can find the footy and if anything is slightly quicker than the three players you mentioned?

Sure he lacks the so called "X" factor but that does not stop him from being a pretty good player. It is not like he is an unskillfull one sided outside plodder

I agree, ant: he seems to be a Sam Mitchell type player, and if he is anything like mitchell then i am welcome to him being at the bombers. Everybody has to remeber that every drafted player we pick up, may not come on as w would have liked, tall ones or short ones. look at our current 'crop' of ok players, Dyson, still young but high hopes from a promising player, lee injured, cant get the body right, Johns never really handled the big stage of AFL, just to name a few. As mentioned, he could add us depth, I do keep mentioning it, but all GREAT sides (Geelong last year, Brisbane in the three peat) all had more than the best 22, they had up to 25-30 players that could walk into their side and make a difference. look at Geelong now, they had Ablett, Ling and Milburn out, all AA from last year, they had Prismall, Gamble and D.Johnson come into the side, and more than do their bit for the team.

If you sit down and put together your version of our best 22, then the remaining list, which in a perfect world, (No injuries) would be our Bendigo team, you will see we now have reasonable to good depth.

We will most likely cut 4-6 players.

Our main aim now is to balance up our list and recruit for the replacements for our retiring KPP players.

We have some but they are unproven or injury prone.

What i want to see us draft is a lock down KPP defender, preferably a FB.

The reason i say lock down is we have Paddy but i don't think he will ever be a defender that will nullify an opposition gun forward but i see him more in the mould of Fletch and if we are being honest, as good as Fletch is and has been he has ALWAYS had bags kicked on him by gun forwards.

We need someone that can do a lock down job and keep these guns to reasonable tallies.

From what i have seen and from what i have read and been told it sounds like Hurley is our man.

If you sit down and put together your version of our best 22, then the remaining list, which in a perfect world, (No injuries) would be our Bendigo team, you will see we now have reasonable to good depth.

Our main aim now is to balance up our list and recruit for the replacements for our retiring KPP players.

The reason i say lock down is we have Paddy but i don't think he will ever be a defender that will nullify an opposition gun forward but i see him more in the mould of Fletch and if we are being honest, as good as Fletch is and has been he has ALWAYS had bags kicked on him by gun forwards.

We need someone that can do a lock down job and keep these guns to reasonable tallies.

From what i have seen and from what i have read and been told it sounds like Hurley is our man.

Well thats a relief,but; by all reports and from our form, i am seriously considering our position to draft Michael Hurley.

Sure he lacks the so called "X" factor but that does not stop him from being a pretty good player. It is not like he is an unskillfull one sided outside plodder :D

I wouldn't say he is quicker, but most probably not slower than the three mentioned. Sure he has had good skills, not overly outstanding, he can find the footy which is a plus but most can these days, it's that 'multi-package' that splits the good players from the rest, and in my eyes he isn't exactly that 'multi-package' that someone would look for in the first two rounds with one or two standout features (Eg. Superb skills, great pace, big leap, etc.) but it's only my opinion of course. He'd be a good third round pick up though as I have previously mentioned, wouldn't have a problem with that.

Yep, agree. He would be ideal.

Good post. :thumbsu:

I'm sure a lot of us are keen on Hurley but i have doubts on if he will be availabe at our pick. Port Adelaide need a KPP and may go for him, but if you look at our and Carlton's road ahead, we could easily finish above the Blues. And if this eventuated, you wouldn't see Carlton passing on him as he is exactly what they need also.

I wouldn't say he is quicker, but most probably not slower than the three mentioned. Sure he has had good skills, not overly outstanding, he can find the footy which is a plus but most can these days, it's that 'multi-package' that splits the good players from the rest, and in my eyes he isn't exactly that 'multi-package' that someone would look for in the first two rounds with one or two standout features (Eg. Superb skills, great pace, big leap, etc.) but it's only my opinion of course. He'd be a good third round pick up though as I have previously mentioned, wouldn't have a problem with that.

I like the comparison I made to Shannon, that he is a Sam Michell type player (not the quickest, best kick) but is able to get his own ball, in both a contested situation and a loose ball play, he does seem to get lost on a couple of occasions in the couple of games I saw him in, but overall I was,l really impressed with him, he is a likely type, and one who, with a little bit oftime and effort, then we could get a bargain with our 3rd rounder, as that is where he is likely to go IMO.

Merv -- do you think Pears could be this player??

what about tyrone vickery? absolute gun. great tap ruckman, excellent around the ground and extremely dangerous up forward. i dont have a lot of faith in laycock and imo this kids going to be an absolute star

Not as a first rounder. Rather Hurley or Ziebell or Hartlett thanks.

Merv -- do you think Pears could be this player??

It's difficult for me to answer for a couple of reasons.

I haven't seen him play much at FB or even CHB since he has been with us.

I saw him in WA play at CHB several times and he looked right at home although he wasn't what i would call a lock down defender.

That's not to say he didn't beat his opponents, as he did, but he was physically superior to them mostly and provided good run and set ups out of defense.

When he played with Myers during the champs, he was working well with him and used the ball off HB well, but i think WA had a rule to use Myers as there quarterback as a lot of the defenders liked to dish off to him.

Knighter and Dodoro have both said they see him as a CHB type so i'm not sure if he will be given the chance to play FB.

I am keen for Mal to retire so we can start to eas someone into the position while we still have Fletch there as back up/coach but i'm not sure the coaches see it this way as when Mal has been out we haven't used Pears at FB at all.

lol, sorry for the ramble, i hope he could be that guy, but i haven't seen enough of him yet.

I would be surprised, from the little i have seen of him, if he didn't go first round but i doubt we would choose him but he would be a great pickup for who ever did.

Merv, just say we pick up Hurley and in the first couple of years he shows that he is more than capable of playing FB. Do you think Pears could play as a rebounding defender and like a bit of a quarter back who may play as loose man or third tall defender? Because he has the size and smarts to play that role and is quite quick and mobile

On Tyrone Vickey, their are better players than him out their, is a proven fact that the top three ruckmen in the comp atm were all late picks or rookie drafts(Cox - Rookie, Sandilands - Rookie, Hille - Pick 41), and lay off Laycock, he is improving, steadily. We will probably pick up a ruckmen with our 3rd or 4th pick, maybe Jarred Redden, but apparently alot of clubs are interested in him, maybe Andrew Browne from VC was pretty impressive, mountain of a kid. May be a likely type, seemed a little slow sometimes with his hand to foot concentration, but did a few nice things in the couple of games i saw of him.

I like the comparison I made to Shannon, that he is a Sam Michell type player (not the quickest, best kick) but is able to get his own ball, in both a contested situation and a loose ball play, he does seem to get lost on a couple of occasions in the couple of games I saw him in, but overall I was,l really impressed with him, he is a likely type, and one who, with a little bit oftime and effort, then we could get a bargain with our 3rd rounder, as that is where he is likely to go IMO.

I likened Mitch Banner to Sam Mitchell. Where do you think he will go??

Late into the draft Mitch will go in my opinon, isn't overly tall (Under 180cm) and isn't quick enough to dominate at AFL level, which clubs look for in drafts obviously, match winners. Is a good, honest, hard-at-it footballer with a pretty big kick for his size however his speed and height are major negatives and are attributes that can't be fixed majorly, especially height. I think he is a genuine chance to get drafted, whether it is late into the draft or the rookie draft though because he does have those essential 'footy smarts'.

Pick 47 North Melbourne Football Club

Brent Harvey 172cm, 75kg

How is this bloke going atm, any one help me out here. please. Won an E.J whitten medal in his third season at the top, How did ben Mglynn play last year, was top 20 for inside 50s last year. was having high hopes for 'wee man' were the haws, but has sadly been struck down by injuries thus far. was taken with a rookie pic, but excelled in the ressies, so, my dear friend their is hope for this boy yet, and plenty of it. Look at Jamie Sheean, the young pure blonde kid from VM, dominated, had 25+ possies in the final game, and kicked a few very good goals, so, size is not everything.

One last thing, Campbell Brown, All Australian 2007, BP

These are the players I think will more than likely be in line for selection in the second, third and fourth round. A few may push up to be late first rounders and some may miss out all together. Once again how they test at draft camp / state screening will play a big role on where they go or if they get picked up at all.
Please note This is not a finished product. I have another 30 or so players to add but i thought i would add what i have done so far. So if you notice someone that you think should be there is missing it is probaly becasue i have not got around to adding them yet.;)

David Zaharakis – 180cm, 73kg – Northern Knights.
Speedy midfielder/winger who was overlooked in last years draft which was a surprise to a number of people. He has kicked on a bit this year and captained Vic Metro to victory in this years champs. Has a very good long right foot kick but also tends to be very one sided which can catch him out under pressure. He has games where his decision making can let him down a touch as well. He reads the game pretty well and is reasonably good at stoppages. Can take contested marks and his work rate is good. His TAC Cup form this year has been very good and has included games where he has kicked multiple goals.
Should go before the fourth round this year.

Ryan Schoenmakers – 189cm, 85kg – Norwood.
Left foot CHF who had a good Champ series. Not overly tall for a CHF but moves well on the lead and takes a good mark. His pace is pretty good and he leads to the right areas on the ground. Skills are good and his goal kicking was pretty reliable.
I would be surprised if he does not get taken in the second or third rounds.

Mitch Banner – 178cm, 77kg – Western Jets.
Midfield ball magnet who gets in and under and finds the ball as well as providing a running option. Does a lot of good work at the stoppages and simply runs all day. Can kick a fair way on the right side but he can kick some ordinary balls and his decision making can be great one minute and rather poor the next. He is pretty good by hand and his marking skills are pretty good. Has racked up some big numbers in his TAC Cup career including eight 30 plus possession games over the last couple of seasons. Can kick multiple goals when he goes forward. If his decision making and kicking skills where a bit sharper he would be a lock for the first round.
With the amount of ball he does find I don’t think you will see his name on the board when the fourth round starts.

Neville Jetta – 178cm, 75kg – Swan Districts.
Small forward with great pace who can push up and find a bit of the ball through the middle of the ground. Mainly a right footer but does have a left side. His front and centre work is very good and he reads the play well. He missed a few easy goals in the game against Tassie at Casey but his kicking skills are generally good. His work rate is pretty good.
Could sneak up into the first round but I think he will end up going second or third round.

Aaron Cornelius – 192cm, 84kg – Glenorchy/Tasmania
The go to man in the Tassie forward line. Played a mixture of CHF and FF and was Tasmania’s best forward. Is not overly quick but is a good contested mark and works to the right areas on the ground. He is a pretty long right foot kick and his kicking skills are pretty good. His set shots from a distance where a bit patchy at times during the champs. Does a lot of things right.
Another who could sneak up into the first round but will surely be picked up somewhere in the second round.

Jordan Lisle – 196cm, 87kg – Oakleigh Chargers/Carey Grammar
Tall KP player who gets used at both ends of the ground. Good strong mark who has good foot skills and kicks the ball a long way. Has reasonably good pace and is a good defender. Has a bit of a question mark on his agility. His goal kicking is pretty reliable. To me he looks to have the makings of a good defender.
If his draft camp goes ok he will get taken second or third round.

Ben Speight – 177cm, 71kg – Norwood.
Not a name that has been mentioned a lot but is one player who I was impressed with in both the games I saw him play. Small midfielder/forward who has good skills on both sides of the body most of the time (he did kick a couple of ordinary balls in the game against NSW). Reads the play well and is good in close with his hands. Terrific work rate and ran hard all day to make an option or to receive. Played a little bit of time at half back and gave good run out of defence.
May not be taken in the second round but I feel he is a really good third or fourth round prospect.

Chris Hall – 179cm, 65kg – Woodville / West Torrens.
Small forward/midfielder who is very light. Very good pace and skills and is excellent at ground level. Runs hard through the middle and has good hands and is very creative with his disposal. Right foot kicking is good. Marking skills looked ok. Was dangerous in and around the forward line. Roving skills in the forward line where good.
Classy little player who should get picked up second or third round.

Zachary Clarke – 203cm, 84kg – Oakleigh Chargers
Vic Metro’s fourth string ruckman who has had a reasonable year for the Chargers so far. Has split his time with some ruck duties as well as playing at FF. He does not win as many taps as he should for a player of his height but he has done pretty well in the games I have seen him play. His has good skills by foot and by hand and is pretty mobile with good pace for a tall. Has shown he can take a good contested mark but it is also one area of his game that could improve a bit more. He gets to the rights spots but has spilled a couple grabs that he should have taken at various times during games. His goal kicking is pretty good and he has been in Oakleigh’s better players on a number of occasions this year. Not a player I expect to go second or third round but certainly a player worth looking at when the fourth round comes along. Could possibly sneak into the third round but I suspect he will be picked fourth round or later if he goes.

Luke Stanton – 191cm, 83kg – Northern Knights.
Tall athletic winger/midfielder who has steadily improved over the last 12 months. Has the ability to kick both sides of the body but he often misfires and does not hit targets. He runs to position well and his pace is pretty good. Knows where to be to receive the ball. Generally looks better playing an outside role but he can win contested footy and has reasonable footy smarts at stoppages. Has also been used at half back with good results. Has played CHB against sides that use mobile players at CHF. Generally very creative by hand.
Would be very surprised if he did not go somewhere between late second round to mid fourth round.

Rory Sloane– 182cm, 76kg – Eastern Rangers.
Small defender/midfielder with good defensive skills and pretty good pace. Played mainly half back or BP during the champs and did a pretty good job handling the opposition small forwards. In the TAC Cup he has mainly played midfield and is a good in and under player who can get in and find the ball. He is pretty creative by hand. The main thing that lets him down is his disposal by foot. He can be very hit and miss on a bad day. There is not much of him but he will give you 100% all the time.
He has form over two seasons in the TAC Cup so I think clubs would be looking at him later in the draft.

Tom Allwright – 185cm, 83kg – North Hobart/Tasmania.
Midfielder/defender from Tasmania with reasonably good pace. Good reader of the play and is very composed under pressure. Nice right foot kick and a good mark. Good hands in close and his overall vision of play is very good. Gave good run out of defence while playing there.
I think this kid would prove to be a good late round pick up.

Paul Cahill – 192cm, 80kg – Sturt.
Tall forward with good pace and a strong mark. Work rate and leading during the champs was excellent. Seemed to have a good handle on where to lead and how to work in with the other tall forwards. He is very athletic and mobile. He is not the best kick going around but he did manage to kick goals in all the games.
Can’t see a mobile tall like this bloke going much further back than third round.

Alex Stopp – 189cm, 86kg – Norwood.
Another player who is probably outside the view of most people but did have a very good champ series. He is a tallish midfield/half back with good pace and nice skills on the right side. Played a lot at half back and was very impressive in his ability to run and be the link man coming out of defence and through the middle of the ground. Solid bodied kid with good pace and good vision.
Someone clubs should have a look at in the third or fourth round.

Tom Rockliff – 183cm, 83kg – Murray Bushrangers.
Small forward who was very good in last years TAC Cup final series but was over looked in last years draft. Has been a consistent player at Tac Cup level kicking bags of 6 plus goals on numerous occasions. The question mark he has on him is his athleticism and his pace. He is not overly quick. He has had some time in the midfield but he is a work in progress there and his results have been steady without showing anything to get over excited about. As a forward he is very dangerous. He takes a strong mark and his crumbing work is excellent. He had a reasonable champ series and he kept his work rate up throughout. Even when things where not going his away in the goal department he was finding a bit of the ball and getting some score assists on the board.
What happens at draft camp will determine whether Tom gets drafted. If the results are good then expect someone to have a good look at him. If the results are poor then clubs will more than likely pass again.

Bart McCulloch – 198cm, 83kg – South Launceston.
Ruckman from Tasmania who had a pretty good champ series. He has a bit to work on in his tap work but he sticks with the job and wears opponents down. He has good pace for a tall and can find the ball around the ground. His kicking could use some more consistency but overall his skills are pretty good. Can take a good mark and does not mind going for a run with the ball. Athletically he is very good. Being 198cm he was a bit undersized for the ruck but clubs will see potential for him to play in other areas.
Possible selection some time after the third round.

Xavier Gotch – 175cm, 71kg – Oakleigh Chargers/De La Selle
Like his old man there is not much of him but he knows how to find the ball. Works the clearances well and has good vision and hands in close. His skills are pretty good but he can be prone to wasting the ball at times. I have seen some games where I think he could work a bit harder but generally he is pretty good. His pace is good and he can kick goals when he goes forward.
Possible third round or later.

Tom Lynch – 191cm, 84kg – Sandringham Dragons / Haileybury College.
Good KP prospect who can play both ends of the ground. Takes a strong mark and has good pace for a big man. Knows where to lead to as a forward and his work rate is very good. His skills are pretty good and his defensive game is also pretty good. His goal kicking is ok and he sets up goals from CHF on a regular basis. Generally finds a lot of the ball which can be credited to work rate efforts. He had a knee reco last year so his efforts to get himself up and running for this years champs have been outstanding. If he did not miss so much time last year and early this year with injury he may well have been talked up as a genuine top 15 pick.
I can not see him being passed over. Should go second or third round.

Ryan Schoenmakers – 189cm, 85kg – Norwood.
Left foot CHF who had a good Champ series. Not overly tall for a CHF but moves well on the lead and takes a good mark. His pace is pretty good and he leads to the right areas on the ground. Skills are good and his goal kicking was pretty reliable.
I would be surprised if he does not get taken in the second or third rounds.

Could he be a Robert Murphy type?

Pick 47 North Melbourne Football Club

Brent Harvey 172cm, 75kg

How is this bloke going atm, any one help me out here. please. Won an E.J whitten medal in his third season at the top, How did ben Mglynn play last year, was top 20 for inside 50s last year. was having high hopes for 'wee man' were the haws, but has sadly been struck down by injuries thus far. was taken with a rookie pic, but excelled in the ressies, so, my dear friend their is hope for this boy yet, and plenty of it. Look at Jamie Sheean, the young pure blonde kid from VM, dominated, had 25+ possies in the final game, and kicked a few very good goals, so, size is not everything.

One last thing, Campbell Brown, All Australian 2007, BP

Brent Harvey was quite speedy and still is quite speedy isn't he..?
McGlynn, not sure if he'll get another game with the Hawks this year, sure he is tough, but he doesn't have much else, and I wouldn't rate him as a player, looks good because of the quality of the Hawks side imo when playing. I never said size was everything but being a quite small size player and rather average speed makes it hard for you to make it to the top level, it's not rocket science but not to sure you have realized that. Jamie Sheahan has some nice dash, have seen quite a bit of him actually, he plays for Vic Country by the way, not sure where you got VM from, must of been reading the wrong article. He has nice dash, nice sprint on him and can can go forward creating a marking target and crumb goals. Of course there are always exceptions, Campbell Brown is one of them, but them picks are speculative and very lucky and hard to sought of find so it's better to use a later pick on them sorts, in my opinion of course. Just giving my opinion buddy, if you don't want to read them and don't like them, feel free to block me from looking at my messages because to be honest, I couldn't really give a stuff.

Could he be a Robert Murphy type?

Yeah, that'd be a good comparison. Schoenmakers could possibly be a better mark overhead but Murphy could have a little better agility, but that'd be almost spot on. :thumbsu:

Brent Harvey was quite speedy and still is quite speedy isn't he..?
McGlynn, not sure if he'll get another game with the Hawks this year, sure he is tough, but he doesn't have much else, and I wouldn't rate him as a player, looks good because of the quality of the Hawks side imo when playing. I never said size was everything but being a quite small size player and rather average speed makes it hard for you to make it to the top level, it's not rocket science but not to sure you have realized that. Jamie Sheahan has some nice dash, have seen quite a bit of him actually, he plays for Vic Country by the way, not sure where you got VM from, must of been reading the wrong article. He has nice dash, nice sprint on him and can can go forward creating a marking target and crumb goals. Of course there are always exceptions, Campbell Brown is one of them, but them picks are speculative and very lucky and hard to sought of find so it's better to use a later pick on them sorts, in my opinion of course. Just giving my opinion buddy, if you don't want to read them and don't like them, feel free to block me from looking at my messages because to be honest, I couldn't really give a stuff.

I think we both have same opions of the bloke, just different views of where he may go. He is a good player, and will become a good player.
IMO:cool: