Merged Draft threads - Part 2

I meant Hurley and Hartlett in that order sorry dude, I think he would be incredible for us, what I meant for the 3rd rounder is Milne if we can't get Hurley and vice versa. Wouldn't it be funny if we picked up Nev Jetta and Luke Stanton, I know we don't need another goal sneak though :D

Wow.. Mitch Robinson looks incredible! So hard in at it and doesn't seem to slow down. Looks like a good footy brain too. Like Shaun McKernan too! Nick Naitanui seems to be a ruckman with X-factor something that I haven't seen before not to mention nice hair! :D

Agreed!!!
could he be a smokey for our pick 5?????

I meant Hurley and Hartlett in that order sorry dude, I think he would be incredible for us, what I meant for the 3rd rounder is Milne if we can't get Hurley and vice versa. Wouldn't it be funny if we picked up Nev Jetta and Luke Stanton, I know we don't need another goal sneak though :D

Wow.. Mitch Robinson looks incredible! So hard in at it and doesn't seem to slow down. Looks like a good footy brain too. Like Shaun McKernan too! Nick Naitanui seems to be a ruckman with X-factor something that I haven't seen before not to mention nice hair! :D

Yeah I agree, Milne, seems like a steady lock down defender, just what we need, he would be fantastic if we didnt get Hurley, then I have thought Milne would be a good pick up, although a few clubs would be looking at him, as he is a solid tall defedner, and IMO that a few clubs would be looking fot that type of player, and thus maybe get picked up a little bit higher in the draft than he may have been predicted to go, thats all,

Agreed!!!
could he be a smokey for our pick 5?????

I am speaking for most of the people on BF, but I would say that the top 5 - 6 are locked in, allthough their are always surprises on draft day, but the top 6(Watts, Rich, Hartlett, Naitanui, Hurley, with Vickery and Ziebell on the fringe of this group of players) IMO are locked in for the first 5-6 picks, thats all. Although, Robinson, I feel is perhaps the 4th best mid behind Rich, Hartlett, Ziebell.

Not sure why everyone is rating him (Vickery) a top 10 prosepct because he only had one good match during the Champs and he didn't play much footy before that because of injuries so you can't really rate him on that form of one game at the Champs alone. Nice pack mark and a steady kick for goal, just needs to bulk up and be able to get most of the contested footy on the ground, much like Big Naita does, has to do some of that dirty work because he is a bit one dimensional in that regard. Mark, kick, goal. He is an okay ruckman, needs to learn to tap it down to his teammates and know when to launch himself to the ruck contest. That should come with time, but no guarentee. Should be a first round selection, may slide to early second round but unlikely. He has showed good glimpses of his capabilities, no doubt, but I'm still not sold on him like most seem to be on here, very wary of his injury background and some of the contested ball he backs away from don't rate very well with me.

He played well in a few of Champ games ,named in the best against NSW and then BOG against WA. I also thought he was very good in the game against Country at the MCG and he kicked a couple of goals against SA and had a reasonable game.
He has also done really well in the TAC Cup recently as well. He is not only an OK ruckman and having seen a bit more of him than one champ game i do rate him as a chance to go reasonably early in the draft. And what contested ball does he back away from ? His so called one dimention ruck work and willingness not to go for contested ball did not stop him from putting on a BOG performance against Roughhead in the wet a few weeks ago at Sandy or another BOG this weekend against Northern.

He played well in a few of Champ games ,named in the best against NSW and then BOG against WA. I also thought he was very good in the game against Country at the MCG and he kicked a couple of goals against SA and had a reasonable game.
He has also done really well in the TAC Cup recently as well. He is not only an OK ruckman and having seen a bit more of him than one champ game i do rate him as a chance to go reasonably early in the draft. And what contested ball does he back away from ? His so called one dimention ruck work and willingness not to go for contested ball did not stop him from putting on a BOG performance against Roughhead in the wet a few weeks ago at Sandy or another BOG this weekend against Northern.

Have seen a heap of examples where he has backed away from a contested situation, mainly changing the direction of himself going slightly away from the ball but do not have any footage or the like on the computer. I admit I haven't seen a lot of TAC Cup footy this year, and didn't see those matches you named, but it's good news for him to show some grunt on some rainy days if true, that's probably in my eyes one of his weaknesses. He was very good against WA, provided a nice forward option and his kicking was quite sharp, but didn't think he was one of the best in any others, but certainly wasn't disgraced, just not in the top bunch.

To be able to play like he did after coming back from a long lay off from a reco would suggest a lot of improvement to come which it sounds like he is showing in his TAC games.

A Ruckman that can go forward and kick goals with reasonable skills sounds pretty good to me and depending on needs would be a good chance to go top 10.

Have seen a heap of examples where he has backed away from a contested situation, mainly changing the direction of himself going slightly away from the ball but do not have any footage or the like on the computer. I admit I haven't seen a lot of TAC Cup footy this year, and didn't see those matches you named, but it's good news for him to show some grunt on some rainy days if true, that's probably in my eyes one of his weaknesses. He was very good against WA, provided a nice forward option and his kicking was quite sharp, but didn't think he was one of the best in any others, but certainly wasn't disgraced, just not in the top bunch.

Cant say i have seen any of that in his games myself. Have not seen any of his school footy so i can only go on what i saw in the 3 live champ games and his TAC footy plus the DVD of the SA game.

And what the bit about it being true against Sandy. Have a look at his stats on that day. I don't give blokes a wrap unles i think they deserve one :p

Fair enough Ant. Sorry I doubted you pal. ;)

To be able to play like he did after coming back from a long lay off from a reco would suggest a lot of improvement to come which it sounds like he is showing in his TAC games.

A Ruckman that can go forward and kick goals with reasonable skills sounds pretty good to me and depending on needs would be a good chance to go top 10.

Yeah, he has still got plenty of improvement left in him, but so have most potential draftees. There is plenty of kids in this draft that have a lot of positives, so I wouldn't be to surprised him being picked up late into the first round, early second round even.

I don't mean natural improvement with age and experience as all draftees have that.

He spent a lot of time off from his Reco, so started out behind a lot of those players he played with and against.

Also Recos take awhile to gain confidence in and players generally perform far better the year after their initial comeback.

For him to perform at the level he did was a very good effort and these are the sort of things that recruiters take into account.

Sometimes there is more than meets the eye.....

I don't mean natural improvement with age and experience as all draftees have that.

He spent a lot of time off from his Reco, so started out behind a lot of those players he played with and against.

Also Recos take awhile to gain confidence in and players generally perform far better the year after their initial comeback.

For him to perform at the level he did was a very good effort and these are the sort of things that recruiters take into account.

Sometimes there is more than meets the eye.....
Yep, I knew what you're talking about, probably should've taken the time to explain it a bit more. Of course recos take long to get over and gain confidence again, but most players have injuries of some sorts, but recos is up there as the worst no doubt. Somtimes there is more than meets the eye..? Agree, in most / if not all situations there is always more than meets the eye, and have taken some into account. No doubt it was a good effort, but still has plenty of stuff to work on like most.

hey guys, while we have some of the better posters on here, what are you thoughts on these guys, yes we have all probably heard of them before, but here goes nothing.

Kade Klemke: maybe the player we are looking for, could be the small defender we have been lacking, Slats is good, but I have a feeling about Kade.

Jarred Redden: a really steady ruckmen IMO, will probably be picked out of the last consistant ruckmen from the champs, I feel he would be a really handy pick up with maybe our 3rd or 4th round, if he is around that long.

Jay Shannon, a really solid, without being outstanding on baller,

if we don't get a ruckman early then jarred redden would be a solid pick later in the draft as you suggest at 3rd/4th round. though i'd love the bombers to get a hold of mckernan if he is available - he is still so raw with so much development. could be anything

klemke/shannon - decent enough but we have plenty of similar types.

hey guys, while we have some of the better posters on here, what are you thoughts on these guys, yes we have all probably heard of them before, but here goes nothing.

Kade Klemke: maybe the player we are looking for, could be the small defender we have been lacking, Slats is good, but I have a feeling about Kade.

Jarred Redden: a really steady ruckmen IMO, will probably be picked out of the last consistant ruckmen from the champs, I feel he would be a really handy pick up with maybe our 3rd or 4th round, if he is around that long.

Jay Shannon, a really solid, without being outstanding on baller,

Klemke and Shannon are quite similar types, both have good composure with the ball and aren't afraid to get in and under. They both probably don't have anything exceptional, but are very good in most areas. If they get drafted, they won't be superstars, but solid workhorses that will contribute and do their part.

Jarred Redden I marked down on my record in the last match of the Champs, showed nice athleticism in the ruck and can take nice pack marks. Is very tall from memory, around 200cm, but still as you would expect from a young ruckman very raw. Could be a good 3rd/4th round pick-up, though wouldn't be surprised if picked up a tad earlier.

Klemke and Shannon are quite similar types, both have good composure with the ball and aren't afraid to get in and under. They both probably don't have anything exceptional, but are very good in most areas. If they get drafted, they won't be superstars, but solid workhorses that will contribute and do their part.

Jarred Redden I marked down on my record in the last match of the Champs, showed nice athleticism in the ruck and can take nice pack marks. Is very tall from memory, around 200cm, but still as you would expect from a young ruckman very raw. Could be a good 3rd/4th round pick-up, though wouldn't be surprised if picked up a tad earlier.

From all the research I have done on Redden, he seems really defensive minded, could he hold down a key defensive post (CHB??) and push Paddy to FB. I would like to see Paddy at FB, as he has the pace off the mark and the athleticism to play on the big power forwards,

what other players are we looking at, we all know who the players are that Essendon are looking at early in the draft and this and that, lets change things up,

How about tom swift with our second pick, steal, agree, disagree,

If Natanui is available Essendon will take him- gleefully like they did Paddy Ryder a couple of years earlier.
I still believe if the draft went Watts, Rich, Hurley and Natanui then Trengove comes into calculations BIG TIME.
Might be a coincidence that young Jackson was having a coffee at the coffee shop opposite Windy Hill after all he is from Strathmore however it was interesting that Adrian and Merv were the two blokes sharing a table with him;)

If Natanui is available Essendon will take him- gleefully like they did Paddy Ryder a couple of years earlier.
I still believe if the draft went Watts, Rich, Hurley and Natanui then Trengove comes into calculations BIG TIME.
Might be a coincidence that young Jackson was having a coffee at the coffee shop opposite Windy Hill after all he is from Strathmore however it was interesting that Adrian and Merv were the two blokes sharing a table with him;)

But why, god, oh why, i dont want a big mark with too many quaetion marks over his head.

From all the research I have done on Redden, he seems really defensive minded, could he hold down a key defensive post (CHB??) and push Paddy to FB. I would like to see Paddy at FB, as he has the pace off the mark and the athleticism to play on the big power forwards,

what other players are we looking at, we all know who the players are that Essendon are looking at early in the draft and this and that, lets change things up,

How about tom swift with our second pick, steal, agree, disagree,

A little defensive minded, not over the top. Have only seen him play ruck and impressed there. I wouldn't like to see Paddy at FB at all, would restrict his run even more..! Tom Swift would be a steal if we could get him with our second pick no doubt, a ball magnet that reads the game very well obviously. Good discussion mate, bringing up numerous topics. :thumbsu:

But why, god, oh why, i dont want a big mark with too many quaetion marks over his head.

Just remember HFF, before Trengove got injured, he was looking like a top 10 pick. Talking about steals, if someone nabs him with a 12+ pick they'd be extremely happy and could be the steal of the draft.

A little defensive minded, not over the top. Have only seen him play ruck and impressed there. I wouldn't like to see Paddy at FB at all, would restrict his run even more..! Tom Swift would be a steal if we could get him with our second pick no doubt, a ball magnet that reads the game very well obviously. Good discussion mate, bringing up numerous topics. :thumbsu:

Just remember HFF, before Trengove got injured, he was looking like a top 10 pick. Talking about steals, if someone nabs him with a 12+ pick they'd be extremely happy and could be the steal of the draft.

yeah, have looked into tom swift a little bit more, and he really does seem to be a good good player, if we were to pick up Hurley with our first pick, would we go for another 'tallish' player, as we IMO were going to pick up a ruckmen somewhere,

as for Paddy, he seems to have all the attributes to be a good quality FB, although, in a little bit of a fletcher type more than a michael style of play, I feel we may also look at another tall player somewhere in the draft as well. as our mid field is still young and raw, and any players we pick up later in the draft, may be, IMO, midfielders, as our current midfield is relatively young.

what other type of players are we looking for,

All young players have question marks hanging over their head.

What do you mean you don't want a big mark?

He has been injured like many other players, eg Cotchin last year, Selwood etc etc, but he should make a full recovery.

Everyone is keen on Hurley yet he has pace question marks.

The more I look at this draft the more Im not too concerned who we pick up as long as it fits a need. Trengove, Naitanui, Hurley, Swift.. they all look like good pick ups.

My knowledge is fairly small this year but of the quality of some of the players ive seen to where they are predicted to go, it looks great. I reckon this draft may prove to be one of the best when it comes to 3rd and 4th round pick ups when we all look back on it in 5 to 7 years.

i'm not opposed to trengove at all. hurley does look good but in the modern game a full back needs to be one of the quicker players in your team. if hurley is gone and we take trengove so be it, might be a blessing as he might turn out a better option anyway. i'm looking forward to pre-draft testing - we've seen the results of taking quick young players in reimers this season.

we are well placed to secure a quality player that will fit a need with pick 5 in either a key defender (hurley, trengove) or future ruck alternative (vickery,mckernan). i am opposed to taking ziebell early as i'm confident we can find a similar type at pick 23.

I am convinced that if the draft went Watts, Rich, Hurley, Natanui, EFC would pick up Hartlett and hope that a key position such as Trengrove/Lynch etc is available.

If they picked up Hurley first, then EFC would lookl for a midfielder. And there is a chance that Swift could be a slider.

Well it is now certain that we will receive pick 5. Probably our picks will be along the lines of 5, 23, 39, 55.

Looks like the majority of us want Hurley and currently Fremantle are beating Richmond by 5 points. We need the Dockers to win as it should mean Port finish 3rd last and will take Natanui over Hurley. Of course this only matters if we are looking to get Hurley. Draft Camp will settle a few issues we have with various players like Hurley's pace. Lets all cross our fingers and hope Freo win this final quarter.

Could the history be more stark between Fremantle and West Coast. May have made it tougher for us to get Hurley.