Heritage Bank Stadium (Carrara)

It's also mostly 1 tiered which reduces the cost considerably. And from the looks of the design, a lot of the amenities aren't built into the stands which also keeps costs down.

The design is also helped by the climate on the GC, where it doesn't get bitterly cold and plenty of undercover seats provides protection from the rain. Put it in Melbourne on a day when it's 7 degrees and sleeting and see how popular it is. Especially if the wind is coming in from the open side.

Just found it funny - you said 7 degrees and bitterly cold...I am in Canada, here it sometimes gets to -30 degrees. ;)

Went to Suns-Lions Saturday night. Cab from Surfers to the ground was ~$30; was four of us so pretty cheap really. Were gonna grab the free shuttle but didn't fancy standing out in the rain if it came. Got the Translink bus back into Surfers, no worries.

How about a bit of footage of the old Carrara Stadium back in the 'Bad New Bears' days?

This one one really personifies what footy used to be like when people were allowed on the field -

This one of my favourite. Mainly because of the song, titled 'I just want to be at Carrara' I presume?

I'm driving up from Murwillumbah on Saturday and just wanting know where to catch a bus from. Also, I am doing the banner so will need to arrive with ample time. Cheers.

I was at Metricon Stadium a few weeks ago to watch the Suns v Freo game (up there on holidays and went with my bro-in-law). Although the crowd was small (around 12k I think) it was a great experience - great viewing (on fence, 50 metre line) and everything obviously shiny and new.

The thing I noticed most was the demographics of the crowd. I've been to games at MCG, Etihad, Waverley Park, Kardinia Park, Princess Park, (all in Victoria) and Footy Park in SA and the crowd at Metricon was like no other. Pretty much mostly families and hot women. I mean I didn't see a feral anywhere.

I'm a Cats supporter and thought there was a chance that Gary Jnr might finish up his career back down in Victoria with the Cats. I don't think he will now after seeing the surroundings he has himself currently in. ;)

I live in North NSW too.

Can you park somewhere like Ashmore Rd and walk from there?

There are a few places to park along Nerang-Broadbeach Road (the road Metricon is on) but you have to pay between $10-$20. It has been said many times by the police here that you will be booked if you park near the stadium on a public road so it is definitely not worth it. You could always park at Boowaggan Road for free and then take the free shuttle to the stadium. Up to you.

I live in North NSW too.

Can you park somewhere like Ashmore Rd and walk from there?

As long as the weather is not like it was last Saturday night, you should be able to park at Royal Pines on Ross Street and walk (approx. 20 minutes).

Am up on the Gold Coast this week and thought I'd make an appearance at the game.
Having never been to the stadium I had no idea where to or anything, luckily my grandparents who live up here know the area well and dropped me and my father an easy 10 mins walk from the ground.

Our seats were easily accessible and with a great view.
Also really like the way the stands are so open to allow breezes to flow through in the humid weather.

Great place to watch footy and when the suns get up and about the atmosphere is amazing.

Just updated the taxi situation in this post as it became obvious it had changed. The taxi rank is now out the front of Carrara Indoor Stadium (right next to Metricon). Closest to Gate 3.

This is some information I posted in the Suns sub-forum in response to someone asking about transport to the stadium. Hopefully people read it and understand that, while it's not ideal, it's not actually that bad if you know what you are doing. Anyway hopefully this information encourages some people to come up to the Coast for the 2013/2014 season/s.

I have now been to quite a few games at Metricon Stadium and feel like I have a good idea about our transport system so I will attempt to give you (and others who read this) as much information about getting to a game as I can for now and the future. Metricon Stadium (Carrara Stadium) is of course located on Nerang-Broadbeach Road, Carrara and depending on how you want to get to the game there are several options:

CAR - DROP OFF/PICK UP
The official drop off/pick up area is Emmanuel College (Birmingham Road, Carrara) which is a 1.5km walk from the stadium.

SHUTTLE BUS - TO THE STADIUM
The shuttle bus areas allow for patrons to either be dropped off at and ride the bus to Metricon Stadium or park and then take the bus ride to the stadium. These areas include:

Victoria Park - Corner of Gold Coast Highway & Victoria Avenue, Broadbeach (Opposite Jupiters Casino on the Convention Centre side)
Cost: Free (must have ticket)
Parking: Not allowed.
Distance: 15 minute drive on bus.
Runs: 2 and a half hours before game and 1 hour after game.

lOPkS.jpg

Boowaggan Park 'n' Ride - Corner of Robina Parkway & Boowaggan Road, Merrimac
Cost: Free (Not sure if ticket is required)
Parking: Allowed.
Distance: 10 minutes drive on bus.

crx5F.jpg

Helensvale Train Station - Town Centre Drive, Helensvale
Cost: Free (Not sure if ticket is required)
Parking: Limited
Distance: 16 minutes drive on the bus.

6ozMvPT.png

Southport Sharks - Corner of Musgrave Avenue & Olsen Avenue, Southport
Cost: $10 (Must be a Sharks member - Sharks membership costs $6)
Parking: Limited
Distance: 12 minutes drive on the bus. Bus departs behind the scoreboard.
Booking: Bookings must be made at (07) 5532 1155.

9MtpaI5.png

SHUTTLE BUS - GOING FROM THE STADIUM
Shuttle buses from the stadium can take patrons to Nerang Station (Nerang), Victoria Park (Broadbeach), Boowaggan Road (Merrimac), Cavill Avenue (Surfers Paradise) and Southport.

TRAIN
Metricon Stadium is not near a train station so patrons will need to get to Nerang station and take the free shuttle bus to the stadium. Currently the Gold Coast has 7 train stations: Beenleigh, Ormeau, Coomera, Helensvale, Nerang, Robina and Varsity Lakes. Using the train service is free to ride if passengers have already pre-purchased their game ticket and may be asked to present the ticket before or while on the train.

TAXI
A taxi rank operates in the Yellow Car Park just north of Metricon Stadium out the front of the Carrara Indoor Stadium. It is located closest to gate 3. This area is both the pick up and drop off area designated for taxi drivers.

FUTURE
A light rail system (tram) is currently being installed on the Gold Coast Highway that will run through Southport, Main Beach, Surfers Paradise and Broadbeach. It is due to be complete in 2014 and should help a lot of tourists who chose to stay in Surfers Paradise for the game.

LIGHT RAIL (TRAM) ACCESS - JUNE 2014 ONWARD
The light rail line will open in June 2014, extending from Griffith University Hospital to Broadbeach South and will offer several patrons the opportunity to get to Metricon Stadium. Seeing as majority of tourists will be staying in either Main Beach, Surfers Paradise and Broadbeach I will put a heavy focus on those areas in this explanation.

Main Beach Light Rail Station
Patrons choosing to stay in Main Beach will be able to access the Light Rail station that is located along the Gold Coast Highway, just north of the corner of Tedder Avenue and the Gold Coast Highway. Patrons will then get off at the Broadbeach North station (Queensland Avenue) and walk one block south to Victoria Avenue where the shuttle bus will take patrons to the stadium.
Notable Hotels near the Main Beach station include: Oscar On Main, Xanadu Resort, Maldives Resort, The Crest and Contessa Condominiums
518Z5Hh.png

Surfers Paradise North Light Rail Station
Patrons choosing to stay in the Northern part of Surfers Paradise will be able to access the Light Rail station that is located along Surfers Paradise Boulevard. Patrons will then get off at the Broadbeach North station (Queensland Avenue) and walk one block south to Victoria Avenue where the shuttle bus will take patrons to the stadium.
Notable Hotels near the Surfers Paradise North station include: Mantra Sun City, Golden Gate Resort, QT Gold Coast, Surfers Paradise Marriott Resort and Australis Sovereign Hotel.
kT7XHzl.png

Cypress Avenue Light Rail Station
Patrons choosing to stay in the central-north part of Surfers Paradise will be able to access the Light Rail station that is located along Surfers Paradise Boulevard, opposite Adrenaline Park. Patrons will then get off at the Broadbeach North station (Queensland Avenue) and walk one block south to Victoria Avenue where the shuttle bus will take patrons to the stadium.
Notable Hotels near the Cypress Avenue station include: Mantra Crown Towers, Quarterdeck Resort, Breakfree Moroccan, Outrigger Hotel, Olympus Apartments and International Beach Resort.
NjZvpXz.png

Cavill Avenue Light Rail Station
Patrons choosing to stay in the central part of Surfers Paradise will be able to access the Light Rail station that is located along Surfers Paradise Boulevard, north of Cavill Avenue. Patrons will then get off at the Broadbeach North station (Queensland Avenue) and walk one block south to Victoria Avenue where the shuttle bus will take patrons to the stadium.
Notable Hotels near the Cavill Avenue station include: Hilton Surfers Paradise, Sea Temple Surfers Paradise, Mantra Circle on Cavill, Chevron Towers, Hotel Grand Chancellor and Monte Carlo Sun Resort.
WBApOct.png

Surfers Paradise Light Rail Station
Patrons choosing to stay in the central-south part of Surfers Paradise will be able to access the Light Rail station that is located along Surfers Paradise Boulevard, opposite the Q1. Patrons will then get off at the Broadbeach North station (Queensland Avenue) and walk one block south to Victoria Avenue where the shuttle bus will take patrons to the stadium.
Notable Hotels near the Surfers Paradise station include: Q1 Resort, Watermark Hotel, Wyndham Surfers Paradise, Mantra Legends.
vQ845Ky.png

Northcliffe Light Rail Station
Patrons choosing to stay in the south-central part of Surfers Paradise will be able to access the Light Rail station that is located along Surfers Paradise Boulevard, south of Vista Street. Patrons will then get off at the Broadbeach North station (Queensland Avenue) and walk one block south to Victoria Avenue where the shuttle bus will take patrons to the stadium.
Notable Hotels near the Northcliffe station include: Artique Resort and Palazzo Colonnades.
Hgl4rkD.png

Florida Gardens Light Rail Station
Patrons choosing to stay in the southern part of Surfers Paradise will be able to access the Light Rail station that is located along the Gold Coast Highway. Patrons will then get off at the Broadbeach North station (Queensland Avenue) and walk one block south to Victoria Avenue where the shuttle bus will take patrons to the stadium.
Notable Hotels near the Florida Gardens station include: Crowne Plaza, Surfers Hawaiian and Ipanema Holiday Resort.
IC8LnFd.png

Broadbeach South Light Rail Station
Patrons choosing to stay in the southern part of Broadbeach will be able to access the Light Rail station that is located along the Gold Coast Highway, opposite Pacific Fair Shopping Centre. Patrons will then get off at the Broadbeach North station (Queensland Avenue) and walk one block south to Victoria Avenue where the shuttle bus will take patrons to the stadium.
Notable Hotels near the Broadbeach South station include: Jupiters Casino, Mantra Sierra Grand, Bel Air On Broadbeach and Ocean Pacific Resort.
VUn5tUc.png

MY SUGGESTION
Seeing as a lot of people like to stay in Surfers Paradise the best option to get to the game would be to take a bus/taxi to Victoria Avenue (opposite Jupiters Casino, takes 10 mins max) and take the free shuttle bus to Metricon Stadium. There is free shuttle bus that runs straight to Cavill Avenue, Surfers Paradise after the game so you should have no problems getting back. If you are worried about getting lost then take the safe option and stay in a hotel in Broadbeach and take the same free shuttle bus. Victoria Avenue is located next to several nightclubs, bars and nice hotels. Some say Broadbeach is better than Surfers Paradise anyway. Of course Broadbeach does have the advantage of a major shopping centre and a casino which Surfers Paradise does not (at least not yet).

So there you have it guys, if you have any questions don't hesitate to ask and if it is important I will add it to this post.

Hey mate this still up to date? Staying in Broadbeach this weekend and need to get to the game. Terrific write up though mate :thumbsu:

Yes it is. Just take the shuttle from Victoria Park in Broadbeach and take the same shuttle back to Victoria Park after the game. They usually don't check tickets but probably safe to have your ticket before you get on the shuttle just in case. Any other questions?

Should be good, just around the corner from that shuttle sweet :) Much appreciated

Went to Metricon on Saturday afternoon. Very impressed with the stadium. Sat on the lower level & had a great view of the game. One aspect that did concern me is that venue staff were very lax in policing the reserved seating. My wife & I witnessed one woman, who was in a group of 4, who on discovering people sitting in their reserved seats was told by a staff member to find some vacant seats elsewhere. 15 minutes later a young couple in a similar situation were also told to sit somewhere else. On both occasions the staff member in question made no attempt to remove the people who had wrongly sat in the seats in question. The venue operators will need to do better than this in the coming years when seating will be at a premium as the Suns start enjoying regular success, attracting larger crowds.

The staff must have slacked off from this because when I went up in 2011, the staff were going up the aisle between the GA seating and premium seating moving anyone sitting in the premium area on.

Ferry plan floated for city
Andrew Potts | August 14th, 2013
ferry-plan-floated-wideimage.jpg
AFTER more than a decade treading water the Gold Coast City Council is to christen plans for a ferry service in the lead up to the Commonwealth Games.

The council will announce a tender process to build a citywide system within weeks.

Mayor Tom Tate has warned companies vying for the contract that they would have to meet key conditions around noise restriction.

Plans for the ferry service are expected to include a route from Runaway Bay to Broadbeach, with another stop at Carrara's Metricon Stadium for AFL games and the 2018 Commonwealth Games.

Thought this was interesting enough to post here. Metricon Stadium would become the first stadium in Australia to be accessible via ferry. Thoughts?

So there is no way to get back to Brisbane on public transport after the game??
Nerang train station is located around 2kms from Metricon Stadium. Shuttle buses run to and from the station before and after the game. Sometimes the line up for the buses are quite long so leaving the game early might be a good option if you don't want to wait. Really not that hard to get to Brisbane from the stadium.

thanks Just thought the last trains running back up to Brisbane might have gone before I got there.