Mitch Clark

Slightly disagree - Lake / Gunston were definitely mentioned before trade week, Gunner not long before but towards the end of the season. What we tend to do well is get in peoples ears very early and hold it tight but it does sometimes come out. I wonder if we have been in his ear about a return for the best part of the year??
And Stewie was in awesome shape, when it mattered, and besides, if you ask me, round is a great shape

I'd agree about Gunner... but Lake was pretty surprising to us all.

I'm not saying that we haven't been in their ear... but it was hardly made public. We keep our cards fairly close to our chest and we do things pretty admirably and fairly on all accounts I believe.

Would really like him in our team... if he can release his demons beforehand... so to speak.

But I wouldn't go any higher then a 2nd round pick for him about <400k

I'd agree about Gunner... but Lake was pretty surprising to us all.

I'm not saying that we haven't been in their ear... but it was hardly made public. We keep our cards fairly close to our chest and we do things pretty admirably and fairly on all accounts I believe.

Would really like him in our team... if he can release his demons beforehand... so to speak.

But I wouldn't go any higher then a 2nd round pick for him about <400k

I think there was definitely talk of it but it was pushed under the carpet because it had been discussed so much in the past without anything eventuating. I know I had heard it because from memory I was thinking " I wonder if it is true this year" and then it happened

AsI mentioned on our board,I had certainly heard about it and I don't have any contacts that close to the Hawks that it would have been inside knowledge. Must have been in the media at some stage I just think it was swept under the carpet as another one of those years that we made a half arsed attempt at Brian Lake

Sorry, so let me get this right? its fine for you to say that he is 'get-able' but when a Melbourne supporter concedes that he is 'get-able' we are wrong?

Nope. Think you need to re-read what I wrote and stop trying to put words in my mouth.

if all the rumours are correct about him wanting a fresh start then it would make sense that he may go elsewhere. I would love Mitch to stay at the club and I would back Roos and co to be able to nurture him as much as they needed to help with him mental health, but if he doesn't want to play with our club (as pissed off about it as I would be) then I don't want him there.

All the rumours. Right. Where has Mitch said he doesn't want to play for the MFC? Mail is he loves most elements of the club.

Maybe at this stage in time you could have stopped at the bold type. If you where to be that "pissed off" why are you as fans hounding him for answers? Respect is a two way street - give the bloke a break he has had a serious illness. Why would you be that "pissed off" - is player welfare not paramount to your fans? Think its paramount to your coach.

Mail is there is a disconnect - you join the dots.

Paul Roos has been there for 22 games - Roos and Peter Jackson are very positive people and are doing an outstanding job. No doubt most elements of the MFC are heading in the right direction. There is not a player in the land that does not give a 100% for their club.

According to the mail Mitch Clark loves many elements of the MFC - Roosy, the MFC staff and his team mates. Yet there is still a disconnect! He is "get-able"

I don't think anyone is arguing that he isn't 'get-able'[/B], I think Melbourne fans would be dirty if he blindsided the club and went off to join another Victorian club. If he was to go back to Perth to play then I wouldn't have any issues with his decision.

Sad state of affairs at a football club. When none of the fans are arguing Mitch Clark of all players is not "get-able". Playing groups are tight knit groups - all the mail is MFC is no different. Think its general accepted one of the major turning points for getting Roos was when he spoke with the player group.

Fans rarely know the machinations of a AFL football club. Yet they are sometimes very quick to have their say. Respect is a two way street. The kids have choices these days - deal with it. The kids are not stupid.

Roos is one of the best player welfare coaches in the league. If anybody can patch up the disconnect I'm sure he can.

Nope. Think you need to re-read what I wrote and stop trying to put words in my mouth.

I re-read it and it still makes out like you are saying he is 'get-able' and I agreed, you then went on to say that it is sad when Melbourne supporters aren't arguing that he isn't 'get-able'?, which implies that as a Melbourne supporter you think its wrong that I think he is 'get-able'.

All the rumours. Right. Where has Mitch said he doesn't want to play for the MFC? Mail is he loves most elements of the club.

Maybe at this stage in time you could have stopped at the bold type. If you where to be that "pissed off" why are you as fans hounding him for answers? Respect is a two way street - give the bloke a break he has had a serious illness. Why would you be that "pissed off" - is player welfare not paramount to your fans? Think its paramount to your coach.

Mail is there is a disconnect - you join the dots.

Well the fact that Mitch hasn't said that himself makes my statement correct, look up the definition of a rumour.

Why would I be pissed off? well 6 months ago Mitch Clark was suffering from severe depression and couldn't continue on with his football career, which is completely fair enough.

But if he decides he wants to return 6 months later and play for a different club (in Victoria) then as a MFC member I would be pissed off, if he is mentally fit to compete in a professional sporting environment again you would think he would repay the same faith that the club showed him.

I re-read it and it still makes out like you are saying he is 'get-able' and I agreed, you then went on to say that it is sad when Melbourne supporters aren't arguing that he isn't 'get-able'?, which implies that as a Melbourne supporter you think its wrong that I think he is 'get-able'.

Well the fact that Mitch hasn't said that himself makes my statement correct, look up the definition of a rumour.

Why would I be pissed off? well 6 months ago Mitch Clark was suffering from severe depression and couldn't continue on with his football career, which is completely fair enough.

But if he decides he wants to return 6 months later and play for a different club (in Victoria) then as a MFC member I would be pissed off, if he is mentally fit to compete in a professional sporting environment again you would think he would repay the same faith that the club showed him.

As an MFC fan what is more important to you the welfare of the players on your list or the compensation pick you are going to get for him?

As I've stated above you have one of the best welfare coaches in the league, think he has given his view.

I've said it for a while on twitter, but reckon Geelong is the best fit. Could keep them up there for another half a decade

Would be a good fit at Geelong , resting ruck along side Hawkins, swap with Blitz. Two mobile ruck utes.

Footy Mad , you have been noisy on trades between Melb and Geelong , could MC be thrown into the mix?

Im not 100% sure Melb want him back , seems to be some sort of link to losing MC and the possibility of a PP or assistance from the AFL. Melb may prefer the latter.

Why he would look at Haw? Very strong club etc but I dont not see an obvious spot for him. If he really just wants suburban Melb , and not Melb its self why not Rich or North. Both up there and coming.

As an MFC fan what is more important to you the welfare of the players on your list or the compensation pick you are going to get for him?

As I've stated above you have one of the best welfare coaches in the league, think he has given his view.

I have a feeling we are arguing the same point here.

I mentioned earlier that I would love MC to be running out on the MCG next year for us, and I would back Roos 100% to make Melbourne a place where Mitch feels comfortable and is able to play at his best, I would prefer having him playing next year over any compo that we may receive for him.

In saying that it is hard to ignore the amount of rumours floating around about him wanting a fresh start at a different club, so I have no doubt that clubs like the Hawks, Pies and Bulldogs will be talking with him about a potential position on their list next year.

Exactly and we should be proud of that. All this talk about ulterior motives and so forth cheapens what the club is doing. Its a rare case of the Melbourne supporters actually letting the football department down for once, and not the other way around.

Before the dee's got Mitch didn't they go after Hale?

We actually targeted both Dawes and Clark that summer, but Dawes knocked us back (for about 750k per year!) so we went for Clark.

Then due to ineptitude ended up with Dawes and not Clark.

Would be a good fit at Geelong , resting ruck along side Hawkins, swap with Blitz. Two mobile ruck utes.

Footy Mad , you have been noisy on trades between Melb and Geelong , could MC be thrown into the mix?

Im not 100% sure Melb want him back , seems to be some sort of link to losing MC and the possibility of a PP or assistance from the AFL. Melb may prefer the latter.

Why he would look at Haw? Very strong club etc but I dont not see an obvious spot for him. If he really just wants suburban Melb , and not Melb its self why not Rich or North. Both up there and coming.

Turbocat I only passed on my mail from yesterday morning at 9.35 simple 2 minute call - only did it to see if we where interested - but things change.

You can add Hawthorn & Richmond to your list. Vickery is getting shopped all around town. Hawks have a ton of Buddy money left over.

Defiantly a disconnect somewhere. Think Roos number 1 concern is his welfare. Not sure all elements of the Demons fans have that as their number 1 concern.

Turbocat I only passed on my mail from yesterday morning at 9.35 simple 2 minute call - only did it to see if we where interested - but things change.

Ok , not sure im understanding your vibe there. To see if the Crows were interested in him?
Just saying, considering the Cats wold be a good fit , and considering deals will be done , maybe MC into might be a good fit.If the AFL give the nod that will give them some comp for him , I wonder what it would be , it may just be better than they would receive at the trade table.

Ok , not sure im understanding your vibe there. To see if the Crows were interested in him?
Just saying, considering the Cats wold be a good fit , and considering deals will be done , maybe MC into might be a good fit.If the AFL give the nod that will give them some comp for him , I wonder what it would be , it may just be better than they would receive at the trade table.

Guess your mob would be quite keen to pick up Clark and Frawley for nothing. I'd rather you traded for Clark on that basis - seems a bit unbalanced to pick up two quality players and not give up anything in the process.

Modern era of FA. Im sure every club would love to pick multiple FA's if they go into their best 22. While the club still is finishing top 4 , I guess they must keep up with the others with these type players. If we were falling away , my guess is we would play more kids.

As I understand it Clarke is uncontracted but listed , so he will require a trade of some sort , not a FA. One of the TV shows last night had him as a R3 pick.

Yeah I only asked about us, wanted to find out if we would have a crack - feeling was Crows would look elsewhere. But I get the feeling Clark wants to be a Demon, Roos wants what is best for Clarks welfare.

Managers comments where blow out of all proportions. Think the worst scenario for all would be for Mitch to breakdown at Melbourne. Not sure how you would handle the supporter backlash.

However, Roos also has to manage the expectations of the supporters, not an easy job by all accounts. Maybe the media beat up put supporters into shadow jumping mode yesterday and things got way out of hand. It is called the "silly season" for a reason. I'm positive Roos with the passage of time will work thru this - just hope Melbourne supporters dont hound Clark like they hounded Frawley for answers.

I dont think anybody could honestly answer all the questions today. Think Roos & Jackson have handled this superbly. Why Roos is paid the big bucks I suppose, fantastic judge of players welfare. Very straight shooters when it comes to the players.

Modern era of FA. Im sure every club would love to pick multiple FA's if they go into their best 22. While the club still is finishing top 4 , I guess they must keep up with the others with these type players. If we were falling away , my guess is we would play more kids.

As I understand it Clarke is uncontracted but listed , so he will require a trade of some sort , not a FA. One of the TV shows last night had him as a R3 pick.

So pick #60 odd. You'd throw that away for the chance at a partner in crime for Hawkins and/or stand-in for glass man McIntosh.

TV shows last night had him as a R3 pick.

Tv shows, radio shows and I think its fair to say neither are websites helping the situation one iota. However, dont think fans are handling this whole era of FA.

So pick #60 odd. You'd throw that away for the chance at a partner in crime for Hawkins and/or stand-in for glass man McIntosh.

No , Im just posting what was said on TV.

The best outcome imo , would be he and Melb are happy to reunite ...

2nd best , he and Melb are happy to go his own way , he goes as a FA type and Melb get comp as if he is a FA. Not sure that has been explored but that would make sense. Id say most clubs would say thats fair. . He would probably get paid a reasonable sum , so the FA comp could be substantial.

Trades , yes could be trades. Trade with Hawks , im sure they have a couple of fringe best 22 they can offer. Cats and other clubs would probably offer that as well.

Worst option is he wants out Melb wants him to stay and a big fight happens ..no good for anyone. His health should be the target here.

Tv shows, radio shows and I think its fair to say neither are websites helping the situation one iota. However, dont think fans are handling this whole era of FA.

FA is stretching peoples mind a bit , but this is really an unusual case. Working out what he would be worth as a trade. I think the FA comp system would be a fair method. If paid by his next club at 500 ie say as Frawley , they should get that type of comp from the AFL.