Mitch Clark

can he actually get himself fit to play anymore? be a risk for any club to take him

Think Clark and quite a few clubs think he can. MFC have the most upside to be gained but if things did go wrong could they handle the downside from supporters. Every AFL football career is a roller coaster of emotions.

As turbocats said FA is "stretching" many supporters brains.

I really want him to return, it would show great resilience. I reckon he should go to Collingwood they need a forward and I think he would fit in there.

If he is too continue playing in Melbourne then he has to play for Melbourne. Either a WA team or Melbourne. Would be unfair on the Dees. He is contracted after all.

Would be a good fit at Geelong , resting ruck along side Hawkins, swap with Blitz. Two mobile ruck utes.

Footy Mad , you have been noisy on trades between Melb and Geelong , could MC be thrown into the mix?

Im not 100% sure Melb want him back , seems to be some sort of link to losing MC and the possibility of a PP or assistance from the AFL. Melb may prefer the latter.

Why he would look at Haw? Very strong club etc but I dont not see an obvious spot for him. If he really just wants suburban Melb , and not Melb its self why not Rich or North. Both up there and coming.

Provided all is good physically and mentally, if there is an interest from you guys, I can't see 90 minutes down the freeway being a major deterrent. Not only would he be good as a CHF/back up ruck, he'd take the 2nd defender (which he could handle with), and allow a Vardy/Kersten to play as a 3rd tall, aiding their development. Especially if he comes pretty cheap, it'd be the perfect move for the Cats. Obvious risk, incredible reward

Modern era of FA. Im sure every club would love to pick multiple FA's if they go into their best 22. While the club still is finishing top 4 , I guess they must keep up with the others with these type players. If we were falling away , my guess is we would play more kids.

As I understand it Clarke is uncontracted but listed , so he will require a trade of some sort , not a FA. One of the TV shows last night had him as a R3 pick.

What has trying to get a player for nothing who retired mid season due to clinical depression have to do with FA?

I think it's pretty poor that other clubs have been secretly contacting him in an effort to poach him whilst he's still recovering from his illness. I have no problems with it after his tests to check if he's ok to go, but to get in his ear when no one is certain if he's ok is pretty poor. No, actually I think it's disgusting, it shows a complete lack of understanding of his health.

http://www.theage.com.au/afl/collingwood-magpies/magpies-in-pitch-for-mitch-20140909-10em2f.html

The Magpies met Clark at the Westpac Centre last Thursday and spoke to him at length about his possible return to the AFL.

Clark held a meeting with Paul Roos on Monday and was expected to meet the Melbourne coach again on Wednesday or Thursday to discuss his future. The Demons will seek to do a trade for Clark if he chooses to leave, with the Pies understood to be amenable to a deal. But a number of other clubs also have registered an interest, with a Victorian club perhaps more likely due to Clark's personal circumstances.

Read more: http://www.theage.com.au/afl/collin...-for-mitch-20140909-10em2f.html#ixzz3Cob2qOLK

http://www.theage.com.au/afl/collingwood-magpies/magpies-in-pitch-for-mitch-20140909-10em2f.html

The Magpies met Clark at the Westpac Centre last Thursday and spoke to him at length about his possible return to the AFL.

Clark held a meeting with Paul Roos on Monday and was expected to meet the Melbourne coach again on Wednesday or Thursday to discuss his future. The Demons will seek to do a trade for Clark if he chooses to leave, with the Pies understood to be amenable to a deal. But a number of other clubs also have registered an interest, with a Victorian club perhaps more likely due to Clark's personal circumstances.

Read more: http://www.theage.com.au/afl/collin...-for-mitch-20140909-10em2f.html#ixzz3Cob2qOLK
Ever since Leigh Brown retired that forward/ruck role for Collingwood has been poison. I can understand Collingwood's interest in Mitch, but can't see how Mitch would be interested in that kind of role with Collingwood.

I'd be surprised if we went really hard for him, but if we did I'd think it would be as a permanent forward with Cloke and with White or one of the young rucks to be the 3rd tall/back up ruck. Allows Reid to play his best position, which is back.

But if Clark is looking to get away from the pressure of footy, he couldn't come to a worse place.

I'd be surprised if we went really hard for him, but if we did I'd think it would be as a permanent forward with Cloke and with White or one of the young rucks to be the 3rd tall/back up ruck. Allows Reid to play his best position, which is back.

But if Clark is looking to get away from the pressure of footy, he couldn't come to a worse place.

Really?

http://www.afl.com.au/news/2014-09-09/freo-no-to-whats-his-name-

Young, who manages several Fremantle players, provided AFL.com.auwith a written statement on Tuesday afternoon.

"Firstly, I’m staggered that I need to reply to Ross Lyon's comments due to the importance of this week to the Fremantle Football Club and its players.

"I would have thought his total focus would have been on this week’s final, not Mitch's health. Ross could have contacted Mitch to see how he was travelling but makes comments that are totally out of character for Ross.

"The other issue about Mitch Clark missing his opportunity to play for Fremantle is a joke.

"The entire AFL industry knows that Fremantle made a massive error in how they handled that possible trade, as it should have been done in the first two days of trade week.

"The trade was a no-brainer and Fremantle messed up what really was impossible to do. Ross should check with his CEO and find out what really transpired that week. I’m still shocked that no one has been made accountable for the trade of a lifetime gone wrong.

"Maybe Ross is just turning the media’s attention of the importance of this week’s match, who knows?

He is the perfect prototype to play that role and not only play that role he is pure class too. He is very much in the David Hale mould.

He would be a major asset to Collingwood if he ended up there.

He is the perfect prototype to play that role and not only play that role he is pure class too. He is very much in the David Hale mould.

He would be a major asset to Collingwood if he ended up there.
I agree he is the perfect prototype for that role. I don't agree that under Buckley they know how to get value out of this role which is why I think Mitch is a poor fit for Collingwood.

I don't think it's at all that difficult to get "value" out of it.

I mean it's pretty clear what the role entails, it isn't rocket science.

Buckley has just had poor players to execute it i.e. Dawes/Lynch who aren't mobile enough for it.

A Mitch Clark speaks for himself. He'd be a far from poor fit. This is one type of player we would welcome with open arms, provided everything above the shoulders was clear.

That was petulant by Ross Lyon and showed no class.
I cant stress enough how childish and basically borderline classless Mitch was with Fremantle during the small negotiations in terms of salary, Really put the freo recruiters noses out of joints and even killed any interest West Coast had

I'm not denying he's a fantastic player, Because he is, He's had some brilliant periods in his career, Very unlucky to miss AA in 09, Had some brilliant patches up forward

When he turned up at Melbourne he looked like their savior in 2011, I hate to use the term "If he played all games" but he would of bagged 60+ goals, Structually was Melbournes most importaint player and maybe they wouldn't of been in the wilderness for so long

However He had/Has issues with his general dealings with some clubs, He's talented enough to get another chance

I cant stress enough how childish and basically borderline classless Mitch was with Fremantle during the small negotiations in terms of salary, Really put the freo recruiters noses out of joints and even killed any interest West Coast had

That's some nice revisionism. There wasn't an issue between Freo and Clark. They even put out a press release saying that Clark would be going to Freo before a deal was done (how often has that been done, speaking of classless). Freo tried to screw Brisbane by offering a shitty first round pick and in doing so opened the door for the Lions to seek better offers for themselves and also for Clark elsewhere.

Yup, Freo played the Clark trade terribly. Bond wasted three days quibbling over only giving us pick 20 when they also had 16.

By the time they put 16 on the table Melbourne had entered the fray Freo were on the back foot. And, like dlanod said, there was the infamous press release as well.

Lyon's outburst is bizarre. If he wants to blame someone for that trade not being done, he should look at Chris Bond.

Freo have a history of poor negotiations, just look at how they got Ross Lyon. We all know how they operate so it shouldn't come as a surprise when they do something disgraceful.

That's some nice revisionism. There wasn't an issue between Freo and Clark. They even put out a press release saying that Clark would be going to Freo before a deal was done (how often has that been done, speaking of classless). Freo tried to screw Brisbane by offering a shitty first round pick and in doing so opened the door for the Lions to seek better offers for themselves and also for Clark elsewhere.

It was the only pick we had at the time, we can't offer what we didn't have.

Yup, Freo played the Clark trade terribly. Bond wasted three days quibbling over only giving us pick 20 when they also had 16.

By the time they put 16 on the table Melbourne had entered the fray Freo were on the back foot. And, like dlanod said, there was the infamous press release as well.

Lyon's outburst is bizarre. If he wants to blame someone for that trade not being done, he should look at Chris Bond.

We didn't have pick 16 until we organised a trade with GC (from memory) in exchange for our Palmer compensation pick which has not been activated yet.

I don't think that trade happened until mid way through the trade week. A player is worth as much as a club is prepared to offer, and in hind sight Fremantle made the right decision.

We didn't have pick 16 until we organised a trade with GC (from memory) in exchange for our Palmer compensation pick which has not been activated yet.

I don't think that trade happened until mid way through the trade week. A player is worth as much as a club is prepared to offer, and in hind sight Fremantle made the right decision.

You had pick 16 all along. 20 was received from GWS.

You had pick 16 the whole time. It was Fremantle's first round pick. Fremantle wouldn't give it up. Fremantle offered Brisbane their second round pick.

Fremantle then got pick 20 in a trade with GWS. They proceeded to offer that to Brisbane.

Fremantle didn't even offer pick 16 until there started being a prospect that Melbourne was getting involved. It still was less than what Melbourne was offering, and Melbourne convinced Clark to move to them instead.

Let's just take a step back and see that pretty much all Melbourne and Brisbane fans are in agreement about what happened during that trade period, and at the same time acknowledge its total irrelevance to Mitch Clark's current situation.

Some, not all, Freo fans seem to still have something against Clark, Melbourne and Brisbane over how it went down and can't acknowledge that if they wanted him, their club DID have a few days where they could have got the deal done, but didn't.

Other Freo fans (rightly) simply say their team didn't value Clark as highly and didn't see the value in rushing to sign him, and Melbourne came in over the top and got him.

The latter group don't tend to voice their opinion as much as the former group.