LIVE: Adelaide v Geelong - Rd 13 - 7:00PM Thu
Squiggle tips Cats at 57% chance -- What's your tip? -- Injury Lists » -- All Rd 13 Games
BigFooty Tipping Notice Img
Weekly Prize - Join Any Time - Tip Round 13
The Golden Ticket - Corporate tickets, functions, Open Air Boxes at the Adelaide Oval, ENGIE, Gabba, MCG, Marvel, Optus & People First Stadiums. Corporate Suites at the Gabba, MCG and Marvel.
, and when people often spout him as the number 1 player - this is where my claim of being overrated stems....
Matthew Pavlich
He is a great player, but no where near the likes of Brown or Hall.
He is not a match winner. Does not rip the game apart when it's there to be won.
He often passes off instead of taking the hard, 'champion' option - the goal from 45m on the boundary with the game in the balance.
Gets too much ball up the ground.
Doesn't take enough bigcontested marks inside 50.
I only say he is over rated, I don't say he is poor - but for mine he's not in the top 20 in the league, and when people often spout him as the number 1 player - this is where my claim of being overrated stems....
Freo supporter in disguise.
But for the life of me I cannot recall anyone rating Pav as the No1. player in the AFL.
Going into 2007 Pavlich is the best player in the AFL.
Why would we want to downgrade?
We will keep Pav thanks.
Even Jako called him the best player in the comp during the NAB game.![]()

I'll help you remember -
![]()

I rate pav hes just in the wrong team.

Shut up!! i am an eagles supporter and i would pick pavlich any day over big ugly barry and brown... and why is over rated he is brilliant.. at least i can admit... u probably go for hawthorn or some bottom dwelling team that need someone of the likes of pavlich
pafc4life would be a pafc supporter so he is hardly relevant.
You know what those Port supporters are like.
And I reckon Ripper can answer for himself on this one.
But it certainly looks like he was quoting Glen Jakovich.
And you know what those Eagles are like.
![]()
![]()

people rate rocca? wow, few ok games and one where he destroyed the ever impressive Zac Dawson, i wouldnt even rate him as a gun
Marc Murphy a little bit, showed lots of promise i can admit, but isnt at the level as people are saying he is
from the hawks? Lance Franklin, shown lots and we have heaps to be excited from, but not one of the premier forwards in the comp
Beau Waters-Tough Nut, but i havent been overall impressed with him
Quinton Lynch-Wouldnt get a game in a lot of teams, gifted with a good midfielder, is an ok player, but i wouldnt say star..or gun
I rekon bushie is overated we all know he can tear the arse out of any newbie and veteren alike. but still rekon his fourth quarter efforts are still to be worked on. He also needs more pace through the midfield but thats what happens at the wrong side of forty.

Shut up!! i am an eagles supporter and i would pick pavlich any day over big ugly barry and brown... and why is over rated he is brilliant.. at least i can admit... u probably go for hawthorn or some bottom dwelling team that need someone of the likes of pavlich
Seconded, I have had arguments with their bonehead supporters on BF claiming that he is better then Richo, not even in the same leagueAh, this is easy, Anthony Rocca! Only people who actually rate him are that intellegent mob, called Collingwood supporters.
Johnathon Brown.
Hasn't won an AA jumper yet, hasn't dominated a season or two yet, hasn't kicked over 50 goals in a season yet. Really, what he's done to live to the hype many put on him?
Yet apparently he is viewed as the most dominant and the best forward in the game by some people? You'd think he'd kick 150+ goals last year due to all the Brown worshipping going on.
Don't get me wrong, I like how he goes about his game and he's a very good player, awesome to watch. But until he can actually put the runs on the board, he's not as good as people make him out to be. He is overhyped by the media to an extent that people follow them like sheep. He's a great player, but he's no Carey. His reputation seems to come from ripping apart a few games here and there, and having a lot of physical presence. Consistency is what he is missing - if he's really the most dominant forward in the game then he should have it. He should be tearing up games almost all the time, and going by his reputation, he should have already won a few AA positions and had dominant seasons.
But he hasn't. Well, not yet anyway. And herein lies one of the causes of his inflated rep - the "potential" word. No doubt he has the potential to overtake the rest - and maybe he will. But right now, that hasn't happened yet. Performance > potential - whether you like it or not, the fact is he hasn't done enough yet to live up to the hype. He's not the superstar some people make him out to be - well it depends how you define superstar doesn't it. In my view, superstars have the runs on the board and they do it time and time again. Like Voss, Buckley, Hird, Harvey, SoS, etc.
He's no where near that level, but his reputation here suggests that he just might be.
On-field performance never lies. He needs to string a season or two before he can even be compared to Hall, Pavlich, Tredrea, Riewoldt etc. Maybe he's better than Tredders right now, but at least the others are consistent and have an AA or two under their belt already. Hell, I'll even put Fev and Hall ahead of him as more dominant because they actually have been, in terms of individual performance. Fevola in particular kicked 80+ goals in a spoon side, the reigning Coleman medalist - here's an example of a more dominant forward as opposed to Brown who doesn't manage to get out of the park all too often, who hasn't strung up a season like he has.
If he can keep fit and suspension free, then let's hope he does dominate and win AA. It's long overdue for him.
Ripper said taking Judd would be downgrading, so it's fairly obvious he rates Pavlich as the best player in the comp.
Oh, and I don't think Pavlich is overrated BTW. There is always plenty of room for him at WC if he wants to play for a real team.
![]()
![]()
![]()
He was arguabley their best player [he was atleast playing the hardest position on the ground] at a very young age in the winning of three premierships in a row. What else does he have to do?