Most Overrated player?

• Thread starter Thread starter Johnny_3

rely on him to play in as many games as you like, he most certainly can't be relied on to WIN a game......unlike Brown, or Hall, or ............the list goes on.

1) Be fair, Brown can't be relied upon to play a game, let alone win one these days.

Let's get real and put the rhetoric to one side.

Would you rather have Pavlich playing 20-22 games a season to a consistent All-Australian standard or Brown who since 2002 has played a diminishing number of games and has swung from mediocre to fantastic?

2) I notice you're an Essendon fan.

Is your opinion of Brown's perceived dominance the result of that night when he tore Ty Zantuck and Ted Richards apart at the Dome a couple of years ago?

Because I saw Pavlich dismantle Ben Rutten and the rest of the Adelaide defence - statistically the meanest for three decades and Minor Premiers - at AAMI Stadium in 2005. Booted 8 in a masterful display.

Once all the media and supporter circle-jerks died down I know which performance I rated higher.

Funny how when the players were polled during the middle of the year, they rated two players head and shoulders above the rest: Judd and Brown.

I guess they're part of the circle jerk.

Funny how when the players were polled during the middle of the year, they rated two players head and shoulders above the rest: Judd and Brown.

Yes, yes they are.

In all seriousness, hardly a surprise is it?

As I said previously, Gerard Healy rates him as some sort of demigod because he's "won three Premierships". Hardly a logical argument when you consider just who has Premiership Medallions and who doesn't.

As for Judd and Brown?

One has a Brownlow Medal, Norm Smith Medal, Best and Fairests.

The other has no individual accolades whatsoever. Fact.

Cue shouts of "Presence!", "It's not about individual accolades [when talking about individual greatness?]", "But he's the best since Carey!", etc.

Well i can remember Chris Judd saying something like this just last year.

I only watch footy once a week and that is a replay of the weekends game to go over the teams performance with the coaches.

Strange that :eek:

so how can they judge them if they only watch one or two games a year :confused: maybe the media :confused: nah couldnt be :rolleyes:

Most overrated. No 1 Scott Camporeale No 2. Kent Kingsley.
No 3. Cameron Ling.
No 4 Brodie Holland.
No 5 . Paul Medhurst.
No 6 Terry Wallet.
No 7 James Kelly.
No 8 Stephen Milne.
No 9..Most Overrated of all time Craig Kelly.

The other has no individual accolades whatsoever. Fact.

Sorry. I thought for a second there, I was a conversation with someone who actually knew something about the game.

Michael Tuck and Wayne Schimmelbusch not only never won a Brownlow Medal, they never even won their club's Best and Fairest.
It just goes to show what utter duds they were and how much they were overrated by everybody, fans, players, teammates, media.

how can they judge them if they only watch one or two games a year

Yeah, you got me. I reckon the players have no idea whatsoever.
If they rate Brown as clearly in the top 2 or 3 players in the game, it proves they are full of it.

I reckon we should do a poll on Big Footy instead and that will be a more defining list of the top players. :thumbsu:

Sorry. I thought for a second there, I was a conversation with someone who actually knew something about the game.

Michael Tuck and Wayne Schimmelbusch not only never won a Brownlow Medal, they never even won their club's Best and Fairest.
It just goes to show what utter duds they were and how much they were overrated by everybody, fans, players, teammates, media.

Were Tuck and Schimma ever considered the hands down premier player in the game though?

Furthermore, doesn't Tuck hold the all-time VFL/AFL games record - which infers he actually got out on the park every now and then?

Don't misunderstand me. Brown is a topliner, no doubt. But all this talk that he is hands down the premier player/forward/human on the planet - and the greatest/most dominant footballer since Wayne Carey is complete and utter horsesh#t.

If and when Brown gets on the park for 20+ games and actually really does dominate an entire season (or six) like Wayne Carey actually really did then he will deserve the reputation he currently enjoys.

But in reality, as of right now, he's got to be the only professional sportsman on the planet whose reputation grows exponentially the less and less he plays.

Brown's current and future legacy is nothing but ifs and buts.

are you saying that if we lost pavlich for the season,it wouldnt make a difference??

No, what I am saying is he is overrated in my opinion....but still a great player....and since then, ive added that I dont rate Pav as a real game winner, someone who turns the game on its head....ala jon Brown....

I do tihnk he's good, and Ive maintained that throughout - just overrated thats all, when touted as top 3 inthe league.....

No, what I am saying is he is overrated in my opinion....but still a great player....and since then, ive added that I dont rate Pav as a real game winner, someone who turns the game on its head....ala jon Brown....

I do tihnk he's good, and Ive maintained that throughout - just overrated thats all, when touted as top 3 inthe league.....

Well you've most likely never watch many Freo games before, because to suggest he isn't a match winner is just plain ignorance, you are a fool.

Untrue - I live in Perth, and have seen many Freo games - thats why I have listed him as my top pick. many a time I've seen him 45m out on the boundary at Subi only to chip it off outside 50 to no one....many times ive seen him lead up the wing to take a mark....and many times ive seen take a run andkick it into F50.....

i have argued this with several freo fans before....i will say once again, he is ont a bad player, in fact he is awesome and probably freo's best, but he's not in the top 20 for mine - and hence, he's overrated

Ask Michael Voss or Leigh Matthews how many cups they would have won without Jonathon Brown, i'm sure you will get the same answer, none. I get sick of all you experts of the game talking crap, bout this statistic and that statistic, who really cares, ask the players who they would want in there side, Brown would be in the top 2 responses, we all know he hasnt played the games he should have, but give him a break, he's playing CHF like a ruck rover, hes bigger then Carey and covering twice the ground Carey did, how many times did u see Carey push past the half forward line, if Brown had his own paddock to run back into he would have kicked alot more games, so you cant compare those too CHF's, and that is the reason Brown is injured, his body is built to play CHF 80's and 90's style, not 2000+, where the CHF has to clock up midfielder type distances.

I remember you putting Brown in your top 10, and yet blast Fevola for being up there because he has a long way to go before even justifying that rank.

From what has happened, Fevola has done more on-field than Brown has. He's come off an AA year, being the coleman medallist and kicking 80+ goals in a spoon side. Brown hasn't played close to a full season yet of that quality. In fact, he's never done anything of that quality yet. Christ, he's never kicked above 50 goals a season yet. Something which the rest of the power forwards have done more than once.

And yet he's got a long way to go, doesn't he? :rolleyes:

Brown himself certainly needs some catch up to do before you can rate him above forwards who have actually dominated a season or more. Especially if such forwards have done it very recently.

If you actually knew "anything about the game", you would realise that J. Brown's output has been considerably less than that of other power forwards, hence he doesn't deserve to be rated above them. Not until he can put the runs on the board.

Whether you like it or not, on-field performance never lies. He needs to do considerably more before he can live to the hype people put on him. You can use the opinions of players all you want, I'd rather stick to the facts and what has transpired on the field thanks.

Ben Cousins easily; soft receiver who watches Judd & Kerr do all the hard stuff

All time over-rated is easy

Micky Martyn. A full back who 'kept' his direct opponent to 'only' three goals or so while turning over the ball every time he touched it. How many times would North supporters remember him throwing the ball onto his boot only to see it being sent back straight over his head for an opposition goal

The most overrated player in the comp is definately Joel Bowden.

keeping in mind tiger fans before you jump to his defence, he is RATED as the AA CHB.

I think he's a goos player, and if he was a half back flanker or a wingman I wouldn't mention him, but because he is so unaccountable and NEVER stops his direct opponent, he is the most overrated player in the comp.

Any tiger fans who want to dispute this, do it on the basis that he actually is accountable, and he is worthy of his spot as the AA CHB.

Ask Michael Voss or Leigh Matthews how many cups they would have won without Jonathon Brown, i'm sure you will get the same answer, none.

Maybe their 2002 flag. Was his contribution that great for the other two that eh made the difference?

<snip comparision to Carey>

He's not Carey. He's never been better than Carey. He never will be.

To compare him to Carey insults the King. IIRC Carey was dominating for years until he reached Brown's current age. He had a few AA jumpers under his belt, he was consistent. If you think Brown is anywhere near Carey fair dinkum you're kidding yourself. It's kind of like me saying Stevens was as good as Bradley. Laughable.

Ask Michael Voss or Leigh Matthews how many cups they would have won without Jonathon Brown, i'm sure you will get the same answer, none. I get sick of all you experts of the game talking crap, bout this statistic and that statistic, who really cares, ask the players who they would want in there side, Brown would be in the top 2 responses, we all know he hasnt played the games he should have, but give him a break, he's playing CHF like a ruck rover, hes bigger then Carey and covering twice the ground Carey did, how many times did u see Carey push past the half forward line, if Brown had his own paddock to run back into he would have kicked alot more games, so you cant compare those too CHF's, and that is the reason Brown is injured, his body is built to play CHF 80's and 90's style, not 2000+, where the CHF has to clock up midfielder type distances.

BULL*****....

Voss, Aker, Black, Lappin, Michael, Lynch, Leppa, Johnson, The Scotts now these are the players that won those premierships. Brown was just a "good" CHF in a awesome TEAM. He was only 19 20 & 21 when they won them and you are trying to say they wouldnt have won them with out him...

That just goes to show how much people UNDERRATE Alistair Lynch because he was more important than J Brown.

Even a **** forward can look good when they have an awesome team, Prime example The West Coast Eagles and Quinton Lynch...

Comes from a place called Essendon, in Victoria. His name is Prince Hird. Is not a champion in the sense of Voss and Buckley, yet Essendon fans keep trying to rate him better than the other two. Dream on.

Tarks, one can of worms...
Opened!