Most under rated player on EFC list?

I love watching rama when he has the ball in the 2000 GF. He justs glides across the ground and that natural left foot with its sweeping,driving drop punts.....fantastic player...and no matter what happens with him,he will always be regarded as a Bomber Champion:thumbsu:

i doubt fletch is under-rated??? certainly not by the media and if he is its usually due to non essendon supporters being so against the essendon footy club.

Id have to say our young up and coming midfield is being severely under rated by oppositons supporters, i really think this will be our strength come 2008-2009 providing they develop accordingly.

On an individual basis yeah sccoty lucas is under rated by opposition supporters and whilst his kicking needs a huge amount of improvment Jobe Watson is so so important to be the ball winner who gets it out to the likes of stanton, dyson, jetta, davey, lovett etc etc I can really see him becoming the onball general that Gary O'Donell once was providing he learns to kick at goal more accurately.

as a neutral supporter i reckon jobe is vastly underrated, even by alot of essendon fans. now that hes got himself fit and should have some pacy outside mids around hin next year, he will give the B&f an even bigger shake. great hands, great vision, and knows how to get first hands on the pill.

Very true. Our midfield as a hole is underrated by non EFC fans, they are all very surprised at our midfield stats for 06 and many think it was the reason for our demise this year, which just isn't true

For me, Nathan Lovett-Murray is the most underrated player on the team. Siting at the footy I constantly have to listen to fellow supporters around me bag his disopsal ability. Even if his disposals arent up to scratch (even though i think they are brilliant at some times), he still get the ball and RUNS it out of defence. He doesnt do this handball garbage that seems to have crept into our game over the past few years. I believe in the next couple of years he can be classed alongsind Mcleod, Gilbee and C.Cornes as the best rebounding defenders.

For me, Nathan Lovett-Murray is the most underrated player on the team. Siting at the footy I constantly have to listen to fellow supporters around me bag his disopsal ability. Even if his disposals arent up to scratch (even though i think they are brilliant at some times), he still get the ball and RUNS it out of defence. He doesnt do this handball garbage that seems to have crept into our game over the past few years. I believe in the next couple of years he can be classed alongsind Mcleod, Gilbee and C.Cornes as the best rebounding defenders.[/QUOTE]

I hope your wish comes true bout him...it' would be handy.;)

For me, Nathan Lovett-Murray is the most underrated player on the team. Siting at the footy I constantly have to listen to fellow supporters around me bag his disopsal ability. Even if his disposals arent up to scratch (even though i think they are brilliant at some times), he still get the ball and RUNS it out of defence. He doesnt do this handball garbage that seems to have crept into our game over the past few years. I believe in the next couple of years he can be classed alongsind Mcleod, Gilbee and C.Cornes as the best rebounding defenders.

I think you're hopes are very high if you want him to be as good as those three. I would love it myself, and I think he is a top player with great run, and having his best season this year. I still think he has a lot to work on in his game. He still seems to be a little soft to me, and he doesn't fly into packs for contested marks, which is what Chad Cornes is sensational at. He's got a great set of hands to do it though, so it's a possibility. Obviously skills need to lift to kick like Mcleod and Gilbee aswell.

Don't get me wrong though he provides us with great run out of half back and I think he is very valuable to the Bombers. But I'm not sure about him being as good as the three you mentioned. Would love to be proved wrong though.:D

I'm a great believer in people who find the football, and NLM is certainly that. his skill will increase becasue he will have to use under game situations heaps. You can teach a guy basic skills. Teaching him a football brain is way harder.

Three years ago, no one could have predicted Gilbee would have turned into the player he is today. I just hope the same happens to NLM

Well, the Pies were really chasing GIlbee back in 04..so the demand for his style of play was there. You can hold Rhode responsible for his stuttering start...same goes with Cross also. It was noted that Rhode had such a shocking game plan, that the seniors were looking to kick to one another instead of the younger brigade.

I'm a great believer in people who find the football, and NLM is certainly that. his skill will increase becasue he will have to use under game situations heaps. You can teach a guy basic skills.

Teaching him a football brain is way harder.[/QUOTE]

Sounds like your refering to my mate Bolts;)

I'd say Ricky Dyson, he just doesn't get enough game time and he does have some classy skills.

Second that! Awesome skills, has pace and deserves more gametime. Does he have a big moter at training and do well in the longer time trials?

Scott Lucas is the next most under rated by the people i talk football with that are not dons supporters, none of the people i have talked to rekon he deserved all Australian this year which is a joke his season was better the pav's and he got a guernsey.

Second that! Awesome skills, has pace and deserves more gametime. Does he have a big moter at training and do well in the longer time trials?

Scott Lucas is the next most under rated by the people i talk football with that are not dons supporters, none of the people i have talked to rekon he deserved all Australian this year which is a joke his season was better the pav's and he got a guernsey.

Your talking to people who have no idea about football I suspect;)

Most under rated ? How do you measure it ? I`ll go The Great One, he has carried us over the line more times than I care to remember, but everyone takes him for granted, so I`ll nominate The Captain.

so your nominating LLoyd then??? because he is our captain now. i doubt anyone under rates hird.

Under rated by EFC fans: Peverill (this is a guy who regularly would be in our top 5 midfielders for a season, and yet continually gets treated as a second class citizen when it comes time to say what next year's team will be).

Under rated by non-EFC fans: McVeigh. Don't realise how good a small defender he is if he'd be bloody left there.

BTW, I see Hille as one of the most over-rated players by EFC fans. Half the teams in the league have a better ruckman than Hille.

Under rated by EFC fans: Peverill (this is a guy who regularly would be in our top 5 midfielders for a season, and yet continually gets treated as a second class citizen when it comes time to say what next year's team will be).

Under rated by non-EFC fans: McVeigh. Don't realise how good a small defender he is if he'd be bloody left there.

BTW, I see Hille as one of the most over-rated players by EFC fans. Half the teams in the league have a better ruckman than Hille.

He'll improve though, I dontthink we're close to seeing the best of him just yet. Salmon's best years were away from the red and black...well into his 30s.

This is a bit of a surprise, and it only really relates to half the public, not everyone but a lot still under rate Matthew Lloyd.

I know quite a few people who don't follow football much, or essentially follow only one team who seem to think that he has only ever kicked goals because of acting or diving. And I am not just talking about the idiots who say to be provocative, but there are a lot who genuinly believe it.

This is a bit of a surprise, and it only really relates to half the public, not everyone but a lot still under rate Matthew Lloyd.

I know quite a few people who don't follow football much, or essentially follow only one team who seem to think that he has only ever kicked goals because of acting or diving. And I am not just talking about the idiots who say to be provocative, but there are a lot who genuinly believe it.

Yes very true and it annoys the crap out of me because they are lead to belive something is true by idiots. The fact that Lloyd has recieved an average of just under one free kick per game doesnt seem to matter. The facts are he has played 212 games has 175 free kicks for and 198 frees against. If he has converted 70% of his frees into goals it makes a total of 122 goals out of 767 from free kicks.So he kicks a goal from a free roughly 1 in 7 goals.
The trouble is people listen to the clowns in the media and the monday morning experts and facts dont matter. No one can deny that Lloydy is/was prone to a bit of a dive which is annoying at times but those who continue to go on with the other crap have their head well and trully stuck up their arse.
I had this argument with my brother in law once and it wasnt until i showed him the stats on two different sites that he conceded he was wrong..grrrrr

Yes very true and it annoys the crap out of me because they are lead to belive something is true by idiots. The fact that Lloyd has recieved an average of just under one free kick per game doesnt seem to matter. The facts are he has played 212 games has 175 free kicks for and 198 frees against. If he has converted 70% of his frees into goals it makes a total of 122 goals out of 767 from free kicks.So he kicks a goal from a free roughly 1 in 7 goals.
The trouble is people listen to the clowns in the media and the monday morning experts and facts dont matter. No one can deny that Lloydy is/was prone to a bit of a dive which is annoying at times but those who continue to go on with the other crap have their head well and trully stuck up their arse.
I had this argument with my brother in law once and it wasnt until i showed him the stats on two different sites that he conceded he was wrong..grrrrr
the thing that surprised me when i first saw these stats on a site was how many frees he has against.

Yeah definitely Fletch, I think people forget how good he was at his peak, mainly because his been so consistent

Think NLM is underrated too and has all the tools to be very very good but i guess his got a bit to prove!!

Most under rated player on EFC list?