Multicultural Round - Why?

• Thread starter Thread starter SydCrow

Yes - because the vast majority of businesses that fail miserably in their first six months go on to be roaring successes. :confused:

As I said - I might be wrong. But I at least have some indication that I may be correct. You have none.

Gold Coast made a profit last year.

I don't know about GWS though.

In any event the AFL bankrolls multiple clubs (and not just the expansion clubs), and your beef with the expansion clubs has no relevance in this thread.

Lettuce be cereal, when I first saw the ad on channel seven featuring madjak daw, israel folau etc I couldn't help but think it it was the AFL's way of saying "See we are not racist". By throwing in the token islander and sudanese faces they are really saying multi-racial round instead of multicultural round. And that's totally cool, but don't dress it up as anything but what it is.

Where's the round embracing people with disease and disability? Oh that's right, it's not really a pain or a long standing issue in society it's just part of life (yeah tell that to medicare who pay $19k a year for my prescription just so I can walk) unlike a lack of multiculturalism which is something that plagues this Earth of course causing misery to millions!

I think the issue many of us bogans are feeling here is that there are so many problems in society that it's wrong to single out a handful of problems to canvas to the public because each problem finds it value in the eye of the beholder. Therefore to have issues dictated to us to be more important than others will never sit well unless we value it ourselves.

In short these rounds will always annoy some and please others however if the AFL had shown its self to be an altruistic organization concerned primarily with developing progressive ideals these rounds would be more palatable to those who don't find significant value in the issue presented but it's hard to believe the AFL to be such a thing when you can see the $$ in Vlad's eyes.

good to see that we can all discuss this important issue without resorting to name calling

I have no problem with celebrating all of those who have played and do play the game. I also have no problem with the AFL taking a leadership role.

Actually I do. The AFL is a sporting body. AFL players are not role models for anything other than those who want to be professional athletes.

If Demetriou and Ali Fahour are selling it, I'm not sure I want to buy it.
so you think Nicky Winmar was wasting his time lifting his jumper, essentially? And that the leadership the AFL displayed in tackling racism head-on, that has led to a situation whereby racism is utterly unacceptable on the field or in the crowd was a load of old bollocks that they had no right being involved in?

What is the Multicultural Round all about?

Does it showcase AFL as a pathway for all cultures to integrate into "Australian" society? Or is integration a racist concept?

Is it an example of the AFL's political correctness gone mad - will the prayer rooms be able to cope with the influx?

Or is it an excuse for some Australia Post advertising and to justify a job for the CEO's little brother, Ali "Angry" Fahour?

Help me brothers and sisters

Your not my brother.

Multicultural is just a feel good phrase line "Brothers and sisters"

Some people have hijacked it to loosely brand all the things they dont like in soceity

By yhe way, we should have a rounnd celbrating unionism.

Unionism brought about the shorter working week which provided saturdays off which was aprecursor to sporting organizations like AFL in the first place

In the sam light should have an education round, as public schools were where football games were developed

so you think Nicky Winmar was wasting his time lifting his jumper, essentially? And that the leadership the AFL displayed in tackling racism head-on, that has led to a situation whereby racism is utterly unacceptable on the field or in the crowd was a load of old bollocks that they had no right being involved in?

The AFL's reaction in respect to racial villification was indeed, commendable, groundbreaking and has massively improved the culture of Australian football - and, indeed, Australian sport.

Thats because it was a genuine, practical initiative to a pressing problem - rather than a tokenistic marketing ploy.

Don't confuse stamping out vilification with patronising, cringeworthy correctness.

Anyway, I've said my two cents - you guys have fun.

Your not my brother.

Multicultural is just a feel good phrase line "Brothers and sisters"

Some people have hijacked it to loosely brand all the things they dont like in soceity

Thanks comrade, sorry mate.

It's also a debatable policy

I'm pretty sure Nicky didn't do it just because he got a memo from AFL House.

And its not just racism now is it? Ask Will Minson. Lucky for him it wasn't Mothers' Round.

I find the position by some that the AFL being proactive rather than reactive can somehow be construed as a marketing ploy and a blight on their professional judgement. Basically, if you don't agree with a proactive AFL initiative then the AFL is at fault. Conversely, if the AFL reacts to an issue it's the AFL's fault for not being proactive. Whatever position the AFL holds, the whiners are going to complain.

Where's the round embracing people with disease and disability? Oh that's right, it's not really a pain or a long standing issue in society it's just part of life (yeah tell that to medicare who pay $19k a year for my prescription just so I can walk) unlike a lack of multiculturalism which is something that plagues this Earth of course causing misery to millions!

I think the issue many of us bogans are feeling here is that there are so many problems in society that it's wrong to single out a handful of problems to canvas to the public because each problem finds it value in the eye of the beholder. Therefore to have issues dictated to us to be more important than others will never sit well unless we value it ourselves.

In short these rounds will always annoy some and please others however if the AFL had shown its self to be an altruistic organization concerned primarily with developing progressive ideals these rounds would be more palatable to those who don't find significant value in the issue presented but it's hard to believe the AFL to be such a thing when you can see the $$ in Vlad's eyes.
I don't think it is the responsibility of the AFL to address issues with Australia's health and disability services or some of the other social ills affecting the country.Sure, I think they could contribute to the cause, but the burden isn't on them to fix the health or education systems, homelessness, rising costs of living etc (although cheaper tickets and food/drink at games would be bloody nice!).
I don't really care too much either way about these themed rounds. They are tokenistic and seem very contrived in the way they're developed however I don't really see it as a harmful activity. The AFL wants more people involved in the game to increase revenues; yes, it is all about dollars in the end. However, the footy is still on, I still get to see my team play, but before the game there might be a bit of ceremony to celebrate the theme of the round. While I fail to see how rounds like this will really improve multiculturalism or attitudes in the wider Australian public (people go to the footy to watch footy, not re-evaluate their social ideaologies; although it may foster a greater sense of inclusiveness for some people), I don't see it as a divisive issue that needs to be fought against tooth and nail.
EDIT: Brucetiki: YES! Haha, I think Vlad should sit down and take some notes from BASEketball. I'd love to go home with a fresh chicken, or some eggs to hurl at player's.

Even if it is only a marketing ploy, what is wrong with that anyway? We are all posting here because we love football and if the AFL undertakes a marketing campaign to expand the game and make it stronger how is that a bad thing?

and that's a bad thing... how?

Nicky Winmar wasn't acting on behalf of the AFL, but the AFL have acted above and beyond what a mere "sporting organisaion" might do with regards to stamping out racism, after the Long/Monkhurst incident and beyond, and they have had remarkable success in proactively pursuing this. Do you either deny that, or deny that this has been an excellent thing for the AFL and society more broadly, to the point that people who make monkey noises to aboriginal players are now identified by players and have their membership revoked as a punishment?

I find the position by some that the AFL being proactive rather than reactive can somehow be construed as a marketing ploy and a blight on their professional judgement. Basically, if you don't agree with a proactive AFL initiative then the AFL is at fault. Conversely, if the AFL reacts to an issue it's the AFL's fault for not being proactive. Whatever position the AFL holds, the whiners are going to complain.

The perception is that everything the AFL does revolves around maximising profit. The draw, broadcast rights, starting times, ball logos...it's a long list. Aggravating this, there is a lot of inconsistency. Many people take a cynical, or at least wary, view of the AFL's motives for every initiative. "Business before football", could be their motto.

A crowd of 7350 to watch them play Richmond (at least half the crowd being Tigers fans) says vastly more about GWS than I can.
It says GWS is a side in its first season in a new market.

The Swans were getting equally crappy crowds in the early 90s by the way. They go okay now just quietly.

Yes - because the vast majority of businesses that fail miserably in their first six months go on to be roaring successes. :confused:

As I said - I might be wrong. But I at least have some indication that I may be correct. You have none.
Yeah, a small crowd or two or three in the club's first season. That's convincing......

Sounds like you want them to fail.

If you actually lived here, you might have an inkling of how good for the game GWS will be in Western Sydney.

What is the Multicultural Round all about?

Does it showcase AFL as a pathway for all cultures to integrate into "Australian" society? Or is integration a racist concept?

Is it an example of the AFL's political correctness gone mad - will the prayer rooms be able to cope with the influx?

Or is it an excuse for some Australia Post advertising and to justify a job for the CEO's little brother, Ali "Angry" Fahour?

Help me brothers and sisters
I have as much dislike for the Fahours as you my friend , but getting back to the multicultural thing , all intergration is racist . If there was no races there,d be no need for intergration. But the powers that be seem to think that we humans with all our small to massive differences are supposed to get along easily . Its just not easy. Even if you are a silent decent human who insults nobody , I bet there are some thoughts in your heads about some people.
Its actually natural. As I,ve said before the Wolf who runs with the Jackals is not hunting with them he probably wants to kill them all, but he goes along for the ride , biding his time.

Its a hard world, some countries carry hatreds for centuries and hate is genetic for some. Some tribes hate and kill each other , some humans are not meant to live near each other . As we evolve further we humans, we just might grow out of it. And become the coffee coloured people talked about often. Don,t hold your breath you,ll die. We homo sapiens or cro magnons (spelling?) probably killed off all the neanderthals who had bigger brains and maybe weren,t the cave men we think they were, I heard on radio last night they actually had rituals and burials and cave drawings etc , so maybe we are the bastards of this planet . Any wonder we hate each other at times. Already gunned down one species , a few more to go yet, then we can really turn on ourselves. How would that go when you look at the world right now? ooooh!

The most racist thing in football is the " gee those aboriginal guys are great footballers" why isn,t it? "gee that guy is a great footballer". Its reverse racism , its all over the place and people who say it , don,t even realise how bleeding patronising it is .

This round is more about the AFL telling everyone how multicultural they are and less about actually promoting the notion of multiculturalism. Just because some people don't like the AFL's shameless promotion it doesn't make them bigots. FWIW I'm not even a middle class white male.

just quietly - whatever happened to heritage round?

Probably got ditched because it doesn't help promote the AFL image, who cares whether the fans loved it.

The most racist thing in football is the " gee those aboriginal guys are great footballers" why isn,t it? "gee that guy is a great footballer". Its reverse racism , its all over the place and people who say it , don,t even realise how bleeding patronising it is .

And there lies the paradox. One one hand we're not supposed to remark on differences, on the other they're being celebrated. It's schizophrenic.

I guess it's just to celebrate the way people from a diverse range of cultures have contributed to our game. Seems a weird thing to have a whinge about to be honest.
When you celebrate diversity, you actually celebrate difference , or apartness know what I mean. Where are we going with this stuff. Until there is no "aparhied" we will all be different to each other, these special days promote racism. Sorry but true.