R: Ackland Murphy Stevens
Inter: Wiggins, Hartlett, McLaren, Benjamin

B: Russell Hartlett O'Halpin
HBF: Bower Whitnall Thornton
C: Simpson Stevens Gibbs
HFF: Waite Kennedy Blackwell
F: Edwards Fev Betts
R: Ackland Murphy Walker
Int: Scotland Lappin Houlihan Kouta Wiggins Carrazzo (6 off the bench in NAB???)

I was tempted to include; Grigg, Austin, Anderson, Raso, Flint, Jackson & Benjamin into the side, but I think we will need to run a few of the more senior players into form for round 1.

It would be nice to see a few of these guys substitute dfor some of the players named above if we do progress beyond the first round.

B: Russell Hartlett O'hAilpin
HB: Walker Whitnall Thornton
C: Simpson Murphy Bower
HF: Houlihan Kennedy Fisher
F: Betts Fevola Waite
R: Ackland Gibbs Blackwell
INT: Bentick Lappin McLaren Stevens Wiggins Raso

That would be my team, remembering that in NAB Cup games there is a 6 man bench.

Those unlucky to miss out that I think could get a game: Flint, A. O'hAilpin, Edwards, Carrazzo, Grigg, Anderson.

Having said that, I wouldn't mind giving the older players more time and just playing the kids. In that case, we may see Whitnall out for Edwards, Lappin out for Anderson, and Stevens out for Flint

B: Russell Hartlett O'hAilpin
HB: Walker Whitnall Thornton
C: Simpson Murphy Bower
HF: Houlihan Kennedy Fisher
F: Betts Fevola Waite
R: Ackland Gibbs Blackwell
INT: Bentick Lappin McLaren Stevens Wiggins Raso

That would be my team, remembering that in NAB Cup games there is a 6 man bench.

Those unlucky to miss out that I think could get a game: Flint, A. O'hAilpin, Edwards, Carrazzo, Grigg, Anderson.

Having said that, I wouldn't mind giving the older players more time and just playing the kids. In that case, we may see Whitnall out for Edwards, Lappin out for Anderson, and Stevens out for Flint
You wouldn't give Kouta a run??

Errr.....ummmmm.....I forgot about Kouta :eek:

Yep, I'm ashamed to admit it :o

I might consider giving him a rest for the NAB Cup, have him fresh for the regular season, his last ever. If I was to play him in the NAB Cup, I'd put him in the team for Bentick or Wiggins.

B: Hartlett O’hAilpin Russell
HB: Scotland Whitnall Thornton
C: Simpson Bentick Walker
HF: Waite Kennedy Gibbs
F: Fisher Fevola Betts
R: Ackland Murphy Stevens
Int: Houlihan, Edwards, Blackwell, Hampson

God that was really hard!!!

Good idea to rest Kouta & Lappin in the NAB Cup. Perfect opportunity to give some of the kids a go.

If the kids start performing, I don't think we can find room for Carazzo, Kouta (sounds silly I know), Lappin, Bannister and McLaren. Couldn't even find room for Bower and he impressed in his two games this year.... Houlihan is included for experience only. Was hard to even find a position for him!! :eek:

This is only the NAB Cup though....

B. Russell Hartlett O'hAilpin
HB. Bower Whitnall Thornton
C. Walker Stevens Simpson
HF. Gibbs Kennedy Waite
FF. Edwards Fevola Betts
On Ball Ackland Murphy Scotland
Interchange X 6 Kouta, Lappin, Grigg, Fisher, Blackwell & either (Hampson or McLaren)

Go Blues

Cheers

B - Setanta Hartlett Bower
HB - Scotland Whitnall Thornton
C - Simpson Stevens Walker
HF - Fisher Kennedy Waite
FF - Betts Fevola Gibbs
Foll - Ackland Murphy Bentick
Int - Houlihan, Kouta, Lappin, Russell, Hampson, Anderson

That was pretty difficult. On paper there seems to be plenty of depth. The senior players are going to come under some pressure early on if the kids step up again.

I like to see "young" players or players who are trying to break into the line-up with a sprinkle of experience given a go in these games. I know Pagan doesn't agree with this and tries to have the best possible lineup but mine would be something along these lines:

Carrazzo Flint Bower
Bannister Hartlett Russell
Simpson Bentick Waite
Houlihan S.O'hAilpin Fisher
Edwards Kennedy Betts
Ackland Walker Murphy
McLaren Teague Jackson Blackwell Gibbs Grigg

I like to see "young" players or players who are trying to break into the line-up with a sprinkle of experience given a go in these games. I know Pagan doesn't agree with this and tries to have the best possible lineup but mine would be something along these lines:

Carrazzo Flint Bower
Bannister Hartlett Russell
Simpson Bentick Waite
Houlihan S.O'hAilpin Fisher
Edwards Kennedy Betts
Ackland Walker Murphy
McLaren Teague Jackson Blackwell Gibbs Grigg

Interesting Bannister before Thornton??? Possibly forgot...

Nah mate, I would intend to introduce Thornton, Fevola, Lappin, Whitnall, Stevens, Koutoufides etc etc ... as we progress towards round1.
These games should be used to see who "wants" a spot for R1 and "who" has improved and taken the next step.

Nah mate, I would intend to introduce Thornton, Fevola, Lappin, Whitnall, Stevens, Koutoufides etc etc ... as we progress towards round1.
These games should be used to see who "wants" a spot for R1 and "who" has improved and taken the next step.

Ok i see where you are coming from, but i would think that we would get the biggest belting which would not be good for the confidence or the morale in the group. Regardless of whether the boys know its only a smoke screen team it would be far too much pressure on them to handle it with our senior players. But i definatley see where you are coming from. Its just that the NAB cup is a promotion of your footy club and the youngsters. The year when we won the Wizard Cup our membership numbers soared, therefore the further we go in this competition the more publicity we gain = MONEY (membership and numbers through the gates). To be flirting win your side in this competition would be highly risky for this time of the year. We need to be settled come round one.

Cheers

LAPPIN O"HAILPIN THORNTON

SCOTLAND WHITNALL SADDINGTON

SIMPSON STEVENS WALKER

HOULIHAN KENNEDY WAITE

FISHER FEVOLA BETTS

ACKLAND KOUTAFIDIES MURPHY

I/C GIBBS RUSSELL BLACKWELL BOWER WIGGINS BENTICK

predictable, experienced , leaves out the new faces and makes them earn a spot. This is our most competative unit in the short term.

This WILL be the team.

B: Bower, Hartlett, Jackson
HB: Scotland, Thornton, O'Hailpin
C: Simpson, Murphy, Walker
HF: Gibbs, Kennedy, Houlihan
F: Waite, Fevola, Betts
Foll: Ackland, Bentick, Stevens
Bench: McLaren, Fisher, Carazzo, Saddington, Blackwell, Bannister

Resting first game - Kouta, Whitnall, Lappin, Wiggins.

B: BOWER THORTON O'HALPIN
HB: HOULIHAN WAITE Scotland
c: SIMPSON STEVENS WALKER
HF: WHITNALL KENNEDY FISHER
F: BETTS FEVOLA KOUTA
R: ACKLAND MURPHY, GIBBS

inter: Harlett, Blackwell, Grigg, Lappin, Mclaren, Russell

Should be no reason not to try Waite down back during the preseason comp, cant lose anything by doing it. Back 6 look good on paper, bit of height and athleticsm, houli & Scotto running and have prettygood disposal.

Simmo n walks runing the wingd all day long, with stevo, murph & gibbs in the guts.

Good targets up forward with Fev, Whitnall, Kouta and Kennedy.

Harlett to get a run down back with lappin. Blackwell interchange on the ball, Grigg on a wing or forward an Mclaren back up ruckman. Pretty well rounded side i would have thought.

Cheif Wiggins, Edwards & Betick unlucky?

Taking into account both facts of wanting to rest the older players, and yet wanting to win so that members sign up, here is my round 1 NAB Cup team:-

B: Thornton, Hartlett, Bower
HB: o'hAilpin, Whitnall, Scotland
C: Murphy, Stevens, Walker
HF: Waite, Kennedy, Houlihan
F: Betts, Fevola, Blackwell
Ruck: Ackland, Simpson, Gibbs

Int: Bentick, Russell, Fisher, Edwards, Anderson, Grigg

Ok i see where you are coming from, but i would think that we would get the biggest belting which would not be good for the confidence or the morale in the group. Regardless of whether the boys know its only a smoke screen team it would be far too much pressure on them to handle it with our senior players. But i definatley see where you are coming from. Its just that the NAB cup is a promotion of your footy club and the youngsters. The year when we won the Wizard Cup our membership numbers soared, therefore the further we go in this competition the more publicity we gain = MONEY (membership and numbers through the gates). To be flirting win your side in this competition would be highly risky for this time of the year. We need to be settled come round one.

Cheers

Denis is that you?:D
It's interesting isn't it.

I'll try to do one as well. Should have it up this arvo at some stage.

Backs: Carrazzo Hartlett O'Hailpin
H-Backs: Lappin Thornton Bower
Centres: Simpson Murphy Walker
H-Forwards: Fisher Kennedy Gibbs
Forwards: Betts Fevola Wiggins
Rucks: Ackland Scotland Stevens
I/C: McLaren Houlihan Edwards Flint
Bentick Blackwell

Left Whitnall, Koutoufides and Waite out to give the younger and less experienced players a go. Will probably come into the team should be get past Essendon

Backs: Carrazzo Hartlett O'Hailpin
H-Backs: Lappin Thornton Bower
Centres: Simpson Murphy Walker
H-Forwards: Fisher Kennedy Gibbs
Forwards: Betts Fevola Wiggins
Rucks: Ackland Scotland Stevens
I/C: McLaren Houlihan Edwards Flint
Bentick Blackwell

Left Whitnall, Koutoufides and Waite out to give the younger and less experienced players a go. Will probably come into the team should be get past Essendon

Waite needs all the game time he can get

2007 team
B Russell, S O’hAilpin, Thornton
HB Bower, Waite, Lappin
C Simpson, Stevens , Walker
HF Fisher, Kennedy , Blackwell
F Whitnall, Fevola, Betts
R Ackland, Bryce Gibbs, Murphy
Int, Scotland, Bentick, Kouta, Mclaren, Hartlett, Edwards,

Russell, up and coming player will step up next year and show us what he can do
S O’hAilpin, He is tall and getting bigger so can free up Thornton
Thornton,Is a top class player and is very attacking from the backline.

Bower, In what I have seen so far, looks very good and will be very attacking from here
Waite, Is tall fast and a good kick in play doesn’t kick enough goals for a forward
Lappin, this is where he plays best AA

Simpson, great year last year and will get better
Stevens, hoping this year they let him play football again and not tagging
Walker, Must go into the midfield and show us how good he is

Fisher, Injury has keep him from doing his best, with a good preseason he can be anything.
Kennedy, How good will he be, has great skills is fast for a big man and can kick goals.
Blackwell, fast, very clever and a good thinker next year he will show us how good he is

Whitnall, to slow to play on the top forwards didn’t beat one last year only played well when free across H/B but can kick goals and that is what we need him to do
Fevola, is just great
Betts, fast and can kick the goals we all go to the football to see. Will get better as well

Ackland, can run all day and will be a good handy pick up
Bryce Gibbs, This guy is first class and will play from round 1
Murphy, how good is he was just getting going this year WOW can’t wait

Int
Bentick,A very good tagger and will be better next year
Kouta, will be great coming of the bench and can play anywhere we need him
Scotland, Changing in the midfield
Mclaren
Hartlett, Edwards,are up and coming players with a full preseason under them will be putting pressure on getting a game as well
Carrazzo, Houlihan,

This is a team that will get better in 2008 and we will only lose 1-2 players from it

THE FUTURE LOOKS GOOD Go Blues

FB Thornton O'Hailpin Bower
HB Scotland Hartlett Russell
C Stevens Blackwell Simpson
HF Waite Kennedy Gibbs
FF Whitnall Fevola Betts
FOL Ackland Walker Murphy
INT McLaren Houlihan Edwards Fisher Flint Carazzo

Thornton With Sentanta on the bigger bodied defender, Thornton can play as a second CHB creating play
O'Hailpin Man on Man with biggest forward
Bower Again providing run off a taller forward

Scotland Setting up play on a smaller forward, rotating on wing
Hartlett Please stay injury free, a chance to hold down a KP if fit
Russell Rotating through the midfield while working on his defensive game

StevensMidfielder floating out to the wing
Blackwell Rotating through the midfield and forward line, great goal sense
Simpson Run breaking the lines and delivering to forwards, rotating through midfield

Waite Playing an O'Keefe role while taking another tall defender
Kennedy Will be a star in a few years, can learn the game at the elite level at CHF
Gibbs Rotating through the midfield while kicking plenty of goals

Whitnall Playing as a second CHF so that he gets 2nd, 3rd or 4th best defender, giving fev space
Fevola Leading full forward with free 30 metres in front of him
Betts Crumber kicking goals from loose fev mistakes

Ackland Leading ruckman at the club next year
Walker Move into the midfield to show his worth, rotate with Scotland / Russell
Murphy Gun midfielder rotating in forwards who can kick goals

McLaren Second best ruckman, nothing special
Houlihan Should be played forward where he can deliver inside 50 and kick goals himself
Edwards Wildcard who can play forward or back Adam Hunter-esque
Fisher To be rotated with Waite
Carazzo Takes small forward, can be tried through the midfield
Flint Versatile backman who cna play small and tall who is the most ready to play AFL

Kouta, Lappin Rest for the old blokes

Grigg, Benjamin, Austin, Hampson, Wiggins, Raso, Bentick First 4 will develop, last 3 this is a make or break year

Saddington, Teague, Bannister All Past it

FB Thornton O'Hailpin Bower
HB Scotland Hartlett Russell
C Stevens Blackwell Simpson
HF Waite Kennedy Gibbs
FF Whitnall Fevola Betts
FOL Ackland Walker Murphy
INT McLaren Houlihan Edwards Fisher Lappin Carazzo

Thornton With Sentanta on the bigger bodied defender, Thornton can play as a second CHB creating play
O'Hailpin Man on Man with biggest forward
Bower Again providing run off a taller forward

Scotland Setting up play on a smaller forward, rotating on wing
Hartlett Please stay injury free, a chance to hold down a KP if fit
Russell Rotating through the midfield while working on his defensive game

StevensMidfielder floating out to the wing
Blackwell Rotating through the midfield and forward line, great goal sense
Simpson Run breaking the lines and delivering to forwards, rotating through midfield

Waite Playing an O'Keefe role while taking another tall defender
Kennedy Will be a star in a few years, can learn the game at the elite level at CHF
Gibbs Rotating through the midfield while kicking plenty of goals

Whitnall Playing as a second CHF so that he gets 2nd, 3rd or 4th best defender, giving fev space
Fevola Leading full forward with free 30 metres in front of him
Betts Crumber kicking goals from loose fev mistakes

Ackland Leading ruckman at the club next year
Walker Move into the midfield to show his worth, rotate with Scotland / Russell
Murphy Gun midfielder rotating in forwards who can kick goals

McLaren Second best ruckman, nothing special
Houlihan Should be played forward where he can deliver inside 50 and kick goals himself
Edwards Wildcard who can play forward or back Adam Hunter-esque
Fisher To be rotated with Waite
Carazzo Takes small forward, can be tried through the midfield
Flint Versatile backman who cna play small and tall who is the most ready to play AFL

Kouta, Lappin Rest for the old blokes

Grigg, Benjamin, Austin, Hampson, Wiggins, Raso, Bentick First 4 will develop, last 3 this is a make or break year

Saddington, Teague, Bannister All Past it

Yes I like it
well done