Nathan Ablett

MachoRandySavage

Just curious. Has anyone else thought about the prospect that he is a MASSiVE part of the will Gaz stay or go dilema. See the thing is that Gazza is weighing up heavily his decision, and I think the lure of "encouraging his brother/helping his brother" have 6 or 7 years on really really good coin is a big part of it. As far as I know, GC have yet to sign Nathan for next year, and i would bet that that decision (to sign him) will in part be made on the back of Gazza's decision.

So Now that Nathan is keen and supposedly training hard, I wonder if it would be a smart move from Cook and Bomber to throw in a 3 year deal to Nathan to help encourage Gaz to stay... We all know he is a good player and if he is keen, who knows, he might just end up being the forward we all thought he would be. Long shot I realise given his flaky past, but you cant help but think that Nathan has maybe gotten to an age where he see's his old man flogging old jumpers to not go broke, and realises that if he pulls his finger out for the next 7 years, he can be smart and not have to stress about money for the rest of his life...??? He might be willing to go hard at Geelong if he knows the GC wont be signing him.

THoughts?

Just curious. Has anyone else thought about the prospect that he is a MASSiVE part of the will Gaz stay or go dilema. See the thing is that Gazza is weighing up heavily his decision, and I think the lure of "encouraging his brother/helping his brother" have 6 or 7 years on really really good coin is a big part of it. As far as I know, GC have yet to sign Nathan for next year, and i would bet that that decision (to sign him) will in part be made on the back of Gazza's decision.

So Now that Nathan is keen and supposedly training hard, I wonder if it would be a smart move from Cook and Bomber to throw in a 3 year deal to Nathan to help encourage Gaz to stay... We all know he is a good player and if he is keen, who knows, he might just end up being the forward we all thought he would be. Long shot I realise given his flaky past, but you cant help but think that Nathan has maybe gotten to an age where he see's his old man flogging old jumpers to not go broke, and realises that if he pulls his finger out for the next 7 years, he can be smart and not have to stress about money for the rest of his life...??? He might be willing to go hard at Geelong if he knows the GC wont be signing him.

THoughts?

Being from QLD there has been a fair few stories float around about Nathan up here, and not to many are great to be honest. Last year at Broadbeach he went missing a fair bit, and when he played had no impact in a comp which a player with his reputation should really of dominated. And this year he has struggled again to make an impact for GC, with injury and form. I think we would be moving backwards if we looked at getting him back, and I think he seems pretty happy doing his thing on the GC. I dont think footy is the be all and end all in his life, and if the GC dont want him, why would Geelong? Dont reckon it will have to much bearing on Gary's decision any way, odds of him playin with him would be a million to one!

Ah doubt it. Nathan seems pretty committed to life up north away from the Victorian media hype and the scrutiny that his last name brings. If he can't make AFL playing for Gold Coast, he won't play it at all, unless his outlook on life has had a major change since he left.

I am pretty sure Mark Blake has kicked more goals in the VFL this year than Nathan.

Thoughts.....Nathan Ablett....back at Geelong....hmmmm.....Barge Poles came to mind....so did tea in china.....as did WOFTAM, you could add WTF!!! Then I thought maybe you'd be interested in some swampland Ive been trying to sell, also Ive got this bloke in Nigeria trying to give me money, I could hook you guys up if your keen

If he wanted to actually put in the hard yards, I'd take him back in a heartbeat.

It doesn't look likely though, he's only going to get a contract with GC if Gaz goes to them.

I would have thought that Nathan would have to go into the draft for any club (with the exception of the Gold Coast Flogs) to pick him up.

Did not Geelong delist him?

Have always regretted his departure. Being an Ablett, I have no doubt if he wanted TO PLAY , he would get himself right. I'd love him back here.

Can recall him playing crap in the 2's, no way would he have deserved promotion. Yet suddenly he gets a senior game at Geelong against Eagles and has 3 1st/4 goals! He is a rare talent that needs his brother's influence.

in a word - no

+1 .

The club did everything it could to convince him to stay, including giving him a whole year off to reconsider his decision. He still chose to walk out.

Why would we waste money on a new contract when money is tighter now and there are more deserving players on our list?

Nathan ablett is a bum.. He wasnt that a good a footballer and still isnt. Lives off his fathers reputation and will never be as good as his brother or father

(Article on Andrew Krakouer)
http://www.theage.com.au/afl/afl-news/west-coast-keen-on-andrew-krakouer-20100907-14zs0.html
The Gold Coast has first rights to sign those 10 players who have been in the system, but, in a little known and potentially significant rule, the Suns can also trade the rights to those players - who include not only Krakouer, but ex-Hawthorn premiership ruckman Robert Campbell.

So you would think if Jnr would go to the Suns if Nathan was there then the suns would just use one of their 10 selections and take Nathan with out even bothering to wait for a draft.

I hope that Gary doesn't go up to the GC to help out his ungrateful brother. Nathan is not a child (though he seems to be acting like one) and needs to stand on his own two feet.

You know, there is no guarantee that Nathan won't just go walkabout again. He has no committment to "big-time" football. Oh, he can't handle the media. Well, big deal. Every AFL player has to put up with it. Look, the media are just parasites who write what they want anyway, so just ignore them if they become too much. The media hassled his father, and yet, except for half of 1991, Gary Ablett snr stuck with AFL football.

Nathan is a fool. Who would walk away from an AFL dream? Any local footballer would give their right testicle to even get a look-in at the AFL. Hell, I would even persue an AFL career, if I weren't so unco-ordinated and not good at any sports. Yet, Nathan walked away from the fame, fortune, accolades and all AFL has to offer, to play footy with his mates in the park. What a child! He had to have his arm twisted to even play with Geeelong, and couldn't wait to get out of the place. Good riddance to him I say. Unless he proves that he is 100% committed to Geelong's cause, he can stay away. And he needn't be putting ideas in Gary's head about moving to the GC, since Nathan won't be there next year, because it will be all too hard and he will chuck his toys and leave.

So, I say to Gary Ablett, don't move to GC (which was a hole the last time I went there) for some wayward brother and thirty pieces of silver, and a team who will be a bankrupt basketcase and albatross around the AFL's neck. Stay at Geelong, with a winning team, loyal fans (at least the ones who supported you all the way through), Lauren, his family, and the chance of surpassing his father as Geelong's greatest and most decorated player EVER!!!!!!!!

Sorry Hendo, must disagree. Nathan achieved very quickly in AFL a premiership, and it didn't make him happy. We have been spoiled by the incredible nature of Gaz jnr. and all he had to cope with, even his name. And how he has coped so admirably should not be a slight to Nathan, who is clearly wired differently, not wrongly, just differently. It doesn't sit right with us that such a talent, (and check out his you-tube highlights if you want to see innate talent) could walk away from what we can't imagine ourselves succeeding at.

Nathan is still young, well we did pick up Podsy, and if he ever got truly motivated again, I would be ecstatic if he was at Geelong.

I hope that Gary doesn't go up to the GC to help out his ungrateful brother. Nathan is not a child (though he seems to be acting like one) and needs to stand on his own two feet.

You know, there is no guarantee that Nathan won't just go walkabout again. He has no committment to "big-time" football. Oh, he can't handle the media. Well, big deal. Every AFL player has to put up with it. Look, the media are just parasites who write what they want anyway, so just ignore them if they become too much. The media hassled his father, and yet, except for half of 1991, Gary Ablett snr stuck with AFL football.

Nathan is a fool. Who would walk away from an AFL dream? Any local footballer would give their right testicle to even get a look-in at the AFL. Hell, I would even persue an AFL career, if I weren't so unco-ordinated and not good at any sports. Yet, Nathan walked away from the fame, fortune, accolades and all AFL has to offer, to play footy with his mates in the park. What a child! He had to have his arm twisted to even play with Geeelong, and couldn't wait to get out of the place. Good riddance to him I say. Unless he proves that he is 100% committed to Geelong's cause, he can stay away. And he needn't be putting ideas in Gary's head about moving to the GC, since Nathan won't be there next year, because it will be all too hard and he will chuck his toys and leave.

So, I say to Gary Ablett, don't move to GC (which was a hole the last time I went there) for some wayward brother and thirty pieces of silver, and a team who will be a bankrupt basketcase and albatross around the AFL's neck. Stay at Geelong, with a winning team, loyal fans (at least the ones who supported you all the way through), Lauren, his family, and the chance of surpassing his father as Geelong's greatest and most decorated player EVER!!!!!!!!

you know the bass player of the arctic monkeys walked out on that band after releasing the fastest selling debut album in UK music history.

why? cause being a rockstar didnt fulfill him.

Sorry Hendo, must disagree. Nathan achieved very quickly in AFL a premiership, and it didn't make him happy. We have been spoiled by the incredible nature of Gaz jnr. and all he had to cope with, even his name. And how he has coped so admirably should not be a slight to Nathan, who is clearly wired differently, not wrongly, just differently. It doesn't sit right with us that such a talent, (and check out his you-tube highlights if you want to see innate talent) could walk away from what we can't imagine ourselves succeeding at.

Nathan is still young, well we did pick up Podsy, and if he ever got truly motivated again, I would be ecstatic if he was at Geelong.

Despite all the hoopla by some Cats, when he was with us he was just an average contributor. Played every game one year and didn't feature in the top 10 in the CG Medal. He was made look half decent by playing in a champion team. His true worth has been shown on the GC where McKenna said he would have been chopped before this had he not had size, something they lack - and having the name Ablett didn't hurt I suspect. And that's not mentioning how unreliable he is. Come back and visit us Nate, but leave your footy gear at home.

Nathan has more innate football skill & sense than 90% of the players in the AFL. His problem is he lacks the athleticism for todays game and he lacks the desire/motivation/single minded focus to overcome that. The fact is AFL football is just all to hard for him.

He liked to play footy running around for Modewarre being a mile to good for the kids he was playing against but in the AFL everyone has some attributes. As much as we all like to pits out of the players we think are Lemons , they have got there because of some natural advantage. But AFL is not a local League.
No player can succeed without honing every asset you have been given to you by the man upstairs and then also be willing to work hard to ensure your weakness don't impede you.

We all know Nathan really didn't like the focus of AFL , but I think what he really didn't like was the discipline required to compete at that level. It was all just too hard.

You appear to have tempered your rather assertive and personal - some might say bellicose even - attitude to those who dared suggest Gaz would head north, d_h. Hmm! Rest easy in relation to Nate because any pleading from him will have little to do with Gaz's decision.

--------------------------------------------------------------------
Just because I am not firing up on people, doesn't mean I think he is going.

Don't worry, if Gary does the right thing by us, the "Gary Ablett Apology Thread" is still coming!

I don't understand why supporters would call him things like bum, ungrateful etc. He tried his luck, won a flag and retired. He's now having a second crack and it may or may not work out. Big deal. Good luck to him in his life, I for one will remember him as one of the very few Geelong premiership players of the last 46 years.

I just think it comes down to Nathan Ablett not wanting to play footy, he's heart isn't in it. I think he may well be training hard and trying to start playing again, but for how long??. Also, getting him back at the Cats would be too difficult, he is a Q/lander now.