Nathan Van Not Captain

Allbetsroff

Suspended
I feel, considering there is a thread for the people who want Van Berlo to be captain based on 1 quarter of good footy. There should be a thread for people who aren't ignoring his poor 3 quarters.

While his match winning goal was great, and his last quarter was pretty good, where was he in the first 3 quarters. I mean if we're basing the choice for Captain on this one game shouldn't Richard Douglas be the one, as he performed for the full 4 quarters.

I feel, considering there is a thread for the people who want Van Berlo to be captain based on 1 quarter of good footy. There should be a thread for people who aren't ignoring his poor 3 quarters.

While his match winning goal was great, and his last quarter was pretty good, where was he in the first 3 quarters. I mean if we're basing the choice for Captain on this one game shouldn't Richard Douglas be the one, as he performed for the full 4 quarters.

Well then mate which 4 quarter contributor from today should be captain?

as albertsroff said, douglas contributed and put 100% in for all 4 quarters, i know i'd take him before van berlo for sure, based on today and this years performances.

Exactly was not only better today, but he has been better all season, in some cases much better.

Some of us judge the playing group on an even field without putting our favourites on a pedestal..

Rutten's last quarter was great too, if it wasn't for him we would not have been in a position to win the game..

Maybe we should recruit John Anthony from the Pies cos he kicked that goal in the semi final last year against us and can't get a game now.. Make him captain too :cool:

Some of us judge the playing group on an even field without putting our favourites on a pedestal..

Rutten's last quarter was great too, if it wasn't for him we would not have been in a position to win the game..

Maybe we should recruit John Anthony from the Pies cos he kicked that goal in the semi final last year against us and can't get a game now.. Make him captain too :cool:
:D :D :thumbsu:

If you look at the contenders today

Dangerfield - Horrible
Rutten - Stunk it up, made an ordinary player look a champion
Thompson - Didn't really get near it
Stevens - Well it's Stevens

So in Steven Bradbury fashion, that leaves only VB standing.

After listening to AA before the game I reckon Dnger should be captain. Didnt think it before then, but certainly do now.

He is in the Roo mould and loves the club. Phil Harper said that his contract negotiation was one of the easiest of any player as he wanted to be at the club, as they had done right by him in letting him finish high school. That to me is a captain.

On field he tries his best to create a spark. As his ability increases this will be a regular occurance, like Roo.

Vote 1 Danger.

If you look at the contenders today

Dangerfield - Horrible
Rutten - Stunk it up, made an ordinary player look a champion
Thompson - Didn't really get near it
Stevens - Well it's Stevens

So in Steven Bradbury fashion, that leaves only VB standing.

Are we to read into him tossing the coin last week that NC thinks he is a contender for the captaincy??:eek:

He played up forward a lot in the first 3 quarters, was more of a mid in the last, but was still forward a lot.

He obviously should never play the first 3 quarter role ever again.

I am sorry but VB is not pulling his weight. Watching his effort the last few weeks I have come to the conclusion that at the moment he is a reactive player not a pro active player. His effort in the first quarter was pathetic and thats being kind. For some one thats supposed to be fast and the fittest guy on the list he sure tends to be unable to run down opponants. I also tend to see him jog more then sprint into a contest. I am sad to say but maybe his heart just isnt in SA and the crows and just perhaps maybe he is craving home. His year has been average at best. Maybe I am expecting too much considering his back problems and a lack of pre season.

He played up forward a lot in the first 3 quarters, was more of a mid in the last, but was still forward a lot.

He obviously should never play the first 3 quarter role ever again.
why was he up forward. i saw him near the ball a few times up forward but didn't think much of it (because at times Porpz, Tippett or Hendo were seen in the backlines).

I am sorry but VB is not pulling his weight. Watching his effort the last few weeks I have come to the conclusion that at the moment he is a reactive player not a pro active player. His effort in the first quarter was pathetic and thats being kind. For some one thats supposed to be fast and the fittest guy on the list he sure tends to be unable to run down opponants. I also tend to see him jog more then sprint into a contest. I am sad to say but maybe his heart just isnt in SA and the crows and just perhaps maybe he is craving home. His year has been average at best. Maybe I am expecting too much considering his back problems and a lack of pre season.

You're being ironic, right?

why was he up forward. i saw him near the ball a few times up forward but didn't think much of it (because at times Porpz, Tippett or Hendo were seen in the backlines).

No idea. I guess we're trying things. He didn't want to be there you could tell that. There were a few attacks on the ball up forward which caused me to compare his movement to Griffin with how slow he looked.

I think he might be carrying some injury too.

Fairly sure its a 'defensive forward' role. Hes there to put pressure on the defensive players as they move the ball out.

Its a pretty hard role to measure performance in statistically.

did you start another thread to escape your accountability in the other one, for providing examples of where you claimed he was soft and shirked contests?

Watching his effort the last few weeks I have come to the conclusion that at the moment he is a reactive player not a pro active player.

I think you're onto something. he really sat back in the last quarter when the game was on the line, if only he decided to stand up and do something about it.

did you start another thread to escape your accountability in the other one, for providing examples of where you claimed he was soft and shirked contests?

I did provide an example. Which is more than others have done, I've seen no examples provided of captain like performance in the first 3 quarters.