Toast Nathan Vardy Looks The Goods

• Thread starter Thread starter CF

I tend to agree with some on here, that we shouldn't go overboard just yet. He is definitely the second ruck option though, Hawkins whilst competes cannot get the height in the centre bounce like Vardy can.

This is where the experiment with Hawkins in the ruck probably ends. So in that sense, he should go forward and stick there.

I reckon so TG Hawk didnt do any centre bounce work at all yesterday and this even with West our best ruck going down. I reckon he needs alot more urgency even maniac at times when he attacks the loose ball and jumping at marks.

Vards has definitely got my vote. Love the guy's energy. I reckon we have Vards at CHF and back up ruckman, West as replacement for Moons and we also need to give Dawson Simpson more game time too. :thumbsu:

I tend to agree with some on here, that we shouldn't go overboard just yet. He is definitely the second ruck option though, Hawkins whilst competes cannot get the height in the centre bounce like Vardy can.

This is where the experiment with Hawkins in the ruck probably ends. So in that sense, he should go forward and stick there.

Yeah I agree too.
Vardy is looking very good though, seems to be fitting in very well.

What we have to look at is getting games into him, and also Brown before finals time and get them all up and firing.

That will give us plenty of options against opposition should, heaven forbid, otto or jpod go down.

Along with Hawkins pulling his finger out and the possibility of Moons getting his body and head right then our team and forward structure is definately the strongest it has ever been!!

I'm really not sure the same solution works for everyone, for instance I doubt Fevola or GA Snr learnt much by playing back if they ever went down there. The thing Id like to see do is just irradiate the things that we know don't work in the AFL. eg. Its know use taking chest marks in the V's cause it will not work against quicker bigger opponents in the A's.

I remember Fev being sent to start a match on Fraser Gehrig, he had 5 kicked on him in not much more than a quarter from memory. Fair to say he probably didn't learn much though.

Natural we will all be excited by what Vardy has shown , but at the end of the day he has only ticked a couple of many boxes. Looks to have all the assets needed but time will tell as to whether he will be able to perform on a consistent basis - please let it be so !!

We have a lot more salary cap room to play with this time though with A$lett gone, that was a huge factor with Mummy going.

Surely if he keeps getting game time he wouldnt leave for a few extra pennies, not with the prospect of being the new #1 when otto retires in coming years.

I'm sure he, along with all the other kids we've had in the senior side this year, we'll be re-signed soon. They've all earnt new contracts that's for sure.

Money is nice but I find it hard to believe he'd have left had we played him in the GF - he left for a combination of things - the extra money was certainly a consideration but more than that was Sydney promising him long term job security and more senior game time. He was probably disappointed we dropped him for Blake so soon after he'd been our number 1 option for quite a while.

Here we go again. Let's get something straight here - Mumford was not anywhere near deserving a Grand Final with us in 2009. NOT EVEN CLOSE. He had clearly run out of steam before the finals, and was quite rightly replaced once Ottens had come back into the team.

He performed well for us, took his chances, was given a ridiculous offer by Sydney (which Geelong could never match) and took it. Good for him. But I stand by the sentiment that for him to act like he was owed a Grand Final spot shows incredible selfishness.

Here we go again. Let's get something straight here - Mumford was not anywhere near deserving a Grand Final with us in 2009. NOT EVEN CLOSE. He had clearly run out of steam before the finals, and was quite rightly replaced once Ottens had come back into the team.

He performed well for us, took his chances, was given a ridiculous offer by Sydney (which Geelong could never match) and took it. Good for him. But I stand by the sentiment that for him to act like he was owed a Grand Final spot shows incredible selfishness.
That's exactly what I said mate - our mistake wasn't omitting him, it was playing him into the ground during the year as our sole recognised ruckman for weeks while Blake, who is very durable at the worst of times, was resting up in the VFL waiting for Mummy to run out of steam.

And I never said we owed him anything - but you can't blame a rookie-listed player for jumping at an opportunity for not only such a massive pay rise but also a long term contract with far better job security than we could offer him.

Please get context of what you're quoting in the future before you take a shot at someone. My original post was saying "Let's not run Vardy into the ground like we did with Mumford" and that one you're quoting was only in response to a suggestion he only left for the money and would have done so if we'd managed to give him a flag.

Got the impression at the time that Mumford made a pragmatic decision to leave mainly based on the promise of more game time , the $'s were probably a bonus. Saw himself getting little opportunity behind Otto and Blake so went to greener pastures. At the time he said he would have stayed if he saw himself playing more. Hindsight is always 100% but if he had backed himself against Blake and stayed.............

I'm sure he, along with all the other kids we've had in the senior side this year, we'll be re-signed soon. They've all earnt new contracts that's for sure.

I really hope so PO would hate to see any of the young guy's lost

On a different tact....where do we see the key areas of Vardy that need to improve?

He obviously needs more bulk, but geez his contested work is good already. Has a great leap, great second effort and from what i can gather can kick the ball reasonably well.

Would be interested to hear opinions thus far.

That's exactly what I said mate - our mistake wasn't omitting him, it was playing him into the ground during the year as our sole recognised ruckman for weeks while Blake, who is very durable at the worst of times, was resting up in the VFL waiting for Mummy to run out of steam.

And I never said we owed him anything - but you can't blame a rookie-listed player for jumping at an opportunity for not only such a massive pay rise but also a long term contract with far better job security than we could offer him.

Please get context of what you're quoting in the future before you take a shot at someone. My original post was saying "Let's not run Vardy into the ground like we did with Mumford" and that one you're quoting was only in response to a suggestion he only left for the money and would have done so if we'd managed to give him a flag.

I've just re-read my post. Where did I take a shot at you? I was having a crack at Mumford if anyone.

The odd thing is even at the time of departure, there was nothing but goodwill between Geelong and him. Geelong knew they couldn't match the offer, wished him well, and that was that. All of a sudden halfway through last year he starts saying he would've stayed for a Grand Final berth. I'm curious about why he didn't say anything at the time.

Like all trades and drafts, no one has a crystal ball. He's turned into a good player, but wasn't good enough to beat Ottens up there this year. I'm pretty confident Vardy will improve rapidly enough to offset his loss.

I like the look of Vardy, he could be good (although I thought the same thing about Hawkins, who I think will get there, it will just take time).

Vardy looks to read the play quite well and has footy smarts.

I'm interested in looking back at his selection. He was selected at number 42 after all the lead up press was expecting him to go between 10 and 20. I think I read there was some issue which caused him to slide drastically just before the draft - anyone know what that was? I got the sense it was attitude.

Also remember Wells being very happy to snare Vardy, certainly wasn't expecting him to go that low. I think we are starting to see why...

I like the look of Vardy, he could be good (although I thought the same thing about Hawkins, who I think will get there, it will just take time).

Vardy looks to read the play quite well and has footy smarts.

I'm interested in looking back at his selection. He was selected at number 42 after all the lead up press was expecting him to go between 10 and 20. I think I read there was some issue which caused him to slide drastically just before the draft - anyone know what that was? I got the sense it was attitude.

Also remember Wells being very happy to snare Vardy, certainly wasn't expecting him to go that low. I think we are starting to see why...

I followed that draft year a bit and remember Vardy being one of if not the best TAC cup ruckmen, he played very well for Gippsland and I thought he would be picked up in the early second round...he may have had some attitude issues but I think the main reason he was not picked up early was his hieght (he is only 198cm) and the fact he didnt do overly well as a tap ruckman in the carnival.

He has improved drasticly both his tap ruck technique and more importantly his game as a forward when he has naturally been played as a ruckman all through juniors.

Surely he was overlooked because he is short for a specialist ruck - I guess at that point nobody was looking for versatility, they were all looking for the next Sandilands. Sub rule may have just made Vardy's career :cool:

I basically think people over rate players - because the media throws around words like Star, Mega Star, Top 5, etc - and the public basically have followed.

Vardy has played 3 games. He has shown some really good signs for a young player. I seriously hope he is the real deal as if he can stand up to half a season and finals - he could make a serious difference to our success when it counts.

Mooney is a big loss but he hasn't been that successful workhorse for a few seasons now. Age and injury has caught him up.

If we had a CHF who could lead, take a contested mark or two, kick a goal or two and still be mobile enough to chase and tackle - well game back on. So much depends on the forward line being more effective. The backline and midfield are doing their job - well enough to win a Premiership. The forward line is our weakest link.

But I just have to stay calm and say - wait and see what happens. Signs are good Vardy maybe a Saviour - and that is it so far. He could still turn out to be just a very naughty boy !

Whilst I hope Vardy becomes a superstar. Its impossible to tell after 3 games. Sure things look good, but Hawkins looked like the next Plugger after his first 3 games. If after 30 games Vardy is playing as well or even better, THEN we can start getting excited. Same goes for Duncan, Menzel, Hunt etc.

But I just have to stay calm and say - wait and see what happens. Signs are good Vardy maybe a Saviour - and that is it so far. He could still turn out to be just a very naughty boy !

Belisarius, are you old enough to remember all the hype that was made about a young blonde kid by the name of Steven Reynoldson who was supposed to be the savior of Geelong?

I think Vardy's future looks good, but I take your point. History has taught me to be a little careful with predictions concerning football.

On a different tact....where do we see the key areas of Vardy that need to improve?

He obviously needs more bulk, but geez his contested work is good already. Has a great leap, great second effort and from what i can gather can kick the ball reasonably well.

Would be interested to hear opinions thus far.

Looking at him I can see him in a few years time and I see him in a similar mode to Otto.

Now before I get shouted down go back to 2000 and have a look how slender Bradley was.
If he stays injury free and is able to spend his next 3 or 4 summers building muscle mass Vardy has the same body type that will allow him to carry weight well.