Next 4 rds.

vs Port
vs Roos away
vs Pies home
vs Brisbane away

is this not just about the toughest 4 consecutive rds we have had in our history? Thats a shocker, but atleast at the end of it we would have those teams out of the way.

I think if we win 3 of them we will be doing well and be set up for a good season.

Realistically you'd have to be happy even winning 2 of them (though of course u'd like to win all). I'd have thought Roos and one other would be a good result. Brisbane of course worth 8 points.

I cannot believe that I aam agreeing with Pred but 2-2 would be a good result. Having said that I see no reason why we wouldn't be able to win all 4 injuries permitting. They are all winable 50-50 games

Port - always a tough encounter. History shows that majority of these games are decided by less than 2 goals and usually are crackerjack games. If we win this one it would bring the greatest of joys out of the next 4 games

Roos - You could argue that we have a bit more class but to me Roos were never really a classy side. They served it up to Brisbane and like it or not this game will have a bit more agro in it if Carey plays. All I can say is beware of the shinbonner spirit

Collingwood - They are a very even side and one that can cause us trouble with their tall and in form forward line. We should win this since its at home otherwise we will not hear the end of it from feral pies supporters.

Brisbane - Tough game but I actually fancy our chances here. We match up OK with Lions and have won at GABBA in the past against the odds.

Originally posted by PrideofSA
Next 4 rds.

1. vs Port
2. vs Roos away
3. vs Pies home
4. vs Brisbane away

1. Could go either way, but we will definatley want to win this.
2. We are a good chance here, our form at Colonial is pretty good. We've beaten the Roos here before.
3. This will be tough. Our ruckmen will need to fire in this game. Home ground advantage may help us over the line.
4. The big one. We need to atone for last years disgraceful effort. We have won there before, so it is not impossible.

We should come away with a minimum of 2 wins in the few weeks. 3 or above would be an excellent effort.

Jerome

This must be our toughest 4 consecutive rounds this year in the minor round anyway. We need to build on our 3-1 start, as it will give us confidence for the next 2 months or so, and perhaps lessen the pressure to win games to stay in the 8.

1. vs Port. Always a tough match, but we might have a very slight advantage, albeit marginally, as we've won the last two matches and some of Ports main players might not be in the best match form currently. Tough call though no doubt.

2. vs Roos. I can already hear and see the media and all talking about Carey going up his old team etc etc. Will be tough, not b/c of that, but b/c it is away. I think on paper we are a better side, and I think we are much better than a 50-50 chance if our top guns fire.

3 vs Pies. The home ground factor must be used to our advantage as much as possible. If we can dominate the ruck and get first use of the ball more often than not, like in the WC final, we should be able to win this game fairly comfortably.

4 vs Lions. Its still a long way away and anything could happen up till then. They've got the home ground advantage definitely, even though we've won there before. Its the hardest match out of the 4 by far, IMO. I'd be very happy with a draw!

Next 4 rds.
vs Port
vs Roos away
vs Pies home
vs Brisbane away
Good sides don't worry about the draw & just get on with it. Anything less than a 2/2 split would be very disappointing.

vs Port - Most critical game of the 4 to give us respectability against our foe. Beating them in the wizzer was only a minor consolation. We must beat them in the real stuff & there are no excuses why we shouldn't.

vs Roos - Very winnable game & IMO the easiest of the 4. Whilst Roos are an honest side, I don't expect them to finish as high up this year with Laidley rebuilding the side with youth. Will be interesting to see how Carey goes against his old side.

vs Pies - Again beating them in the wizzer final was only worth the satisfaction of shutting up Eddie & Pies supporters for a short while. We owe them for our 1st 3 quarter performance at Footy Park & Prelim game last year. Hope we belt the crap out of them & that thug Cloke is physically attacked (fairly of course) by our hard nuts.

vs Brisbane - Is the hardest of the games IMO, even though we have a good record against them. I expect us to be dinkum after our last pathetic performance up there which was unacceptable.

I'm expecting us to go 3/1 for these 4 games.

Next 4 rds.

vs Port
vs Roos away
vs Pies home
vs Brisbane away

is this not just about the toughest 4 consecutive rds we have had in our history? Thats a shocker, but atleast at the end of it we would have those teams out of the way.

I think if we win 3 of them we will be doing well and be set up for a good season.

The power of positive thinking, don't talk about 2-2 or 3-1, we can win all four:-

Port - its time to put them back in the box, we owe them 4
Roos - we have more info on them than they do on us plus its a Telstra at night (forget about the Saints during the day). Reckon, Carey won't play.
Pies - time to put Eddie back into his box and payback for last years Preliminary final
Lions - this could be the game of the year. our record is ok and this time we ain't coming from Freo the previous week

Yes, we can do it. The downside for me is I won't be around to see the last three games as I will be flying out to the "Big Apple" next Sunday morning, after the Showdown of course.

Originally posted by Pred
Realistically you'd have to be happy even winning 2 of them (though of course u'd like to win all). I'd have thought Roos and one other would be a good result. Brisbane of course worth 8 points.

Port - beat them last encounter.
Roos - beat them last encounter.
Pies - beat them last encounter.
Lions - this is the tough one, but Crows have beaten them twice out of the last 3.

I don't know, maybe we should get Pred banned for a week for being negative on the Crows board ?

:D

I think having a stretch of tough games is good for the boys at this time of the season. It will force us to maintain focus for each match, safe in the knowledge that we'll need everyone up and firing to win. While playing successive big games can take something out of the guys, I reckon it'll make the team raise its standard of footy and enable us to keep that level.

It'll be a good test that will determine whether we finish the year top two or just somewhere in the middle of the eight.

Next 4 rds.

vs Port
vs Roos away
vs Pies home
vs Brisbane away

I would like to get over this weeks showdown before even thinking about what's next, as was proven against the Saints there are no easy games in AFL,

Originally posted by ok.crows

I don't know, maybe we should get Pred banned for a week for being negative on the Crows board ?

:D

They complained about me posting on there board [ which if the truth be known was only now & then] to much where as Pred must spend more time here than on the Port board, but i've noticed he has mellowed some what on his Crow thoughts so maybe he is in the process of switching over to the AFC,

Round 8: Whatta beauty! Looking forward to it.
Adelaide are a good chance against us always are. If anybody's midfield comes close to Brisbane's it's Adelaide's for sure.

It is not out of the question we could win all 4 of these. I'd be over the moon if we did.

3-1 would be an excellent result.

2-2 would be satisfactory.

Anything less would be a disaster. I guess that's stating the obvious really.

Dropping games like the Saints match could really come back to bite us later in the year.

Originally posted by noddy
They complained about me posting on there board to much where as Pred must spend more time here than on the Port board, but i've noticed he has mellowed some what on his Crow thoughts so maybe he is in the process of switching over to the AFC,
Nobody complained about you posting too much Noddy. They complained, quite rightly, about your constant unprovoked abuse and negativity.

As far as me switching to the AFC is concerned, PAH!!!

Originally posted by Pred

As far as me switching to the AFC is concerned, PAH!!!

If I remember rightly Pred, didn't you support the Crows before the Power came into being and the switched to the Power???

C'mon mate, if you've done it once you can do it again!! :D

Originally posted by macca23
If I remember rightly Pred, didn't you support the Crows before the Power came into being and the switched to the Power???

C'mon mate, if you've done it once you can do it again!! :D
Yes, that is true. When Port Adelaide Football Club had no team in the AFL, I did the patriotic thing and supported the Crows. In fact my siblings will testify that during a fairly boozy session around the TV watching an early Crows final, I was heard to repeatedly utter such rubbish as:

"Holy Ben, Mother of Footballers, Blessed is the Fruit of Thy Boot....*buuuuuurp*"

I was as strident supporting those lads as I am supporting my true love in PAFC. But it won't happen again ;)

and in rounds 20-22 we get to play 3 of them [not brisbane]again! - but in a different order.

who thinks its a good idea to have the showdown as the last minor round game of the year?

Originally posted by dezzmo
and in rounds 20-22 we get to play 3 of them [not brisbane]again! - but in a different order.

who thinks its a good idea to have the showdown as the last minor round game of the year?
I think that presuming we make the finals it will be a good prep. Because the level and importance is so much more higher in the finals, its good to play the stronger teams just prior, to get the team in the right frame of mind.

I think its impt to win the majority of these tough contests to give our confidence a boost. If we loose 2 out of the last 3, it might work against us confidence-wise, but then again it could also pump us up more and provide more inspiration. IMO, this goes for the Showdown at the final minor round match.

Presuming we make the finals, the Showdown in R22 is probably a good thing as its a home match, so even if we play away in R21, it means we don't have to travel for about 12 days straight, which can only be good. Having said that, travel shouldn't really bother us in the final game, unless its the same case as last year again, God forbid.

Originally posted by crowsfan
I think that presuming we make the finals it will be a good prep. Because the level and importance is so much more higher in the finals, its good to play the stronger teams just prior, to get the team in the right frame of mind.

I think its impt to win the majority of these tough contests to give our confidence a boost. If we loose 2 out of the last 3, it might work against us confidence-wise, but then again it could also pump us up more and provide more inspiration. IMO, this goes for the Showdown at the final minor round match.

Presuming we make the finals, the Showdown in R22 is probably a good thing as its a home match, so even if we play away in R21, it means we don't have to travel for about 12 days straight, which can only be good. Having said that, travel shouldn't really bother us in the final game, unless its the same case as last year again, God forbid.
Good point that we are better off with a tough preparation leading into the finals. I would prefer to get a decent hitout at home against Port in R22, rather than travel to play against an easier team such as Freo. As we know the travel in R22 is not ideal preparation as it can catch up with you in the finals, particularly if we have to play our "home" games in Melbourne.