NFNL Div 2 discussion 2024

Is it purely changing demographics in the area and the pokies money drying up that’s the reason for this? Hard to imagine a club that won a division 1 premiership a decade ago is now struggling in division 2.
Spot on mate - Their demise coincides with the Pokie revenue stopping - Hard to attract/buy the type of players that they did previously when you dont have the money anymore.

Are they not affiliated with Northcote Juniors though? At least when I played they seemed to have a decent amount of sides which could ideally lead to a few senior players when they age out of juniors.
Alot of quality Preston bullants juniors aligned with them once upon a time as well

Preston is 15mins away. Brunswick 19mins, west brunswick 17mins, north Brunswick 15mins.
Fitzroy Reds are 7mins away, Kew 10mins and Fitzroy stars are 12mins.

Try being Heidelberg West, Banyule, Heidleberg, Macleod and North Heidleberg. All within 30 seconds - 8mins from eachother and most all competing in the same division.

The geographic excuse is a bit of a reach
Couldn’t agree more.

Is it purely changing demographics in the area and the pokies money drying up that’s the reason for this? Hard to imagine a club that won a division 1 premiership a decade ago is now struggling in division 2.
Too many woke lefties playing VAFA?

NP definitely haven't moved with that trend

Correct me if I’m wrong, but wasn’t their local council responsible for the club to dispense with the pokies?

Spot on mate - Their demise coincides with the Pokie revenue stopping - Hard to attract/buy the type of players that they did previously when you dont have the money anymore.
Not sure how/why people are sympathizing with a club losing pokies money. None of the other 30 clubs in the Northern (or those in other leagues) rely on pokies money; they rely on support from members of their community. Community clubs are meant to be supported by the community- not fundraise through gambling etc.
If you can’t find enough support to stay in Div 2 (particularly being successful in the not so distant past), there’s clearly a bigger issue.

Not sure how/why people are sympathizing with a club losing pokies money. None of the other 30 clubs in the Northern (or those in other leagues) rely on pokies money; they rely on support from members of their community. Community clubs are meant to be supported by the community- not fundraise through gambling etc.
If you can’t find enough support to stay in Div 2 (particularly being successful in the not so distant past), there’s clearly a bigger issue.
Its not sympathy, its just the reason - Lots of fantastic people at NP and they would be the first to admit that the pokie venue sponsorship was a huge reason for their success and now demise.
Heaps of sporting clubs are getting a huge advantage due to their sponsorship by pokie venues - AFL clubs - VFL clubs like Werribee & Southport etc etc - Heaps of local clubs who would also suffer greatly if those monies disappeared.
Its irrelevant what people think about gaming revenue going to sporting clubs - If you are benefiting from it good luck to you!
Shows how good the other successful clubs are raising the same amount of monies through supporters, sponsors, benefactors without getting the 'free hit' from pokie revenue that must be allocated to clubs.

Its not sympathy, its just the reason - Lots of fantastic people at NP and they would be the first to admit that the pokie venue sponsorship was a huge reason for their success and now demise.
Heaps of sporting clubs are getting a huge advantage due to their sponsorship by pokie venues - AFL clubs - VFL clubs like Werribee & Southport etc etc - Heaps of local clubs who would also suffer greatly if those monies disappeared.
Its irrelevant what people think about gaming revenue going to sporting clubs - If you are benefiting from it good luck to you!
Shows how good the other successful clubs are raising the same amount of monies through supporters, sponsors, benefactors without getting the 'free hit' from pokie revenue that must be allocated to clubs.
Have players left or is half the team injured?

Northcote had 12 or 13 out
Why?
Heaps of clubs get sponsorship money from Pubs with pokies. I don’t see the issue with the money going to community sports.

Laughable the council has a hand in stopping this. Worry about fixing potholes.