- Reaction score
- AFL Club
- North Melbourne
- Other Teams
- Kangaroos

PLUS Your club board comp is now up!
BigFooty Tipping Notice Img
Weekly Prize - Join Any Time - Tip Opening Round
The Golden Ticket - Official AFL on-seller of MCG and Marvel Medallion Club tickets and Corporate Box tickets at the Gabba, MCG and Marvel.
FWIW there was a beer tent at the preseason game this year. Was good.The community doesn't eat and drink?
It seems that we are in fact beholden to unrepresentative cultural elites. I don't remember the Geelong footy club being shackled to a swathe of social causes when they were granted $50 million bucks.
Perhaps I am being naive? Perhaps it's the only way we will get anything?
I just figure that if the club is going to beat it's chest about these developments then it is reasonable to expect that there is something actually useful in it for the members.
Ok, here is the question that pops up here regularly No Bull
Do players read this Board?
Yes/No/Maybe
FWIW there was a beer tent at the preseason game this year. Was good.
A beer or a tent?You got one?
FWIW there was a beer tent at the preseason game this year. Was good.
Ha! Not at all. It was awesome!Was there widespread raping and pillaging by the heathen masses of the North membership?
Did society collapse?
happy to answer any questions you might have re development - when you know what’s planned, relocation talk is honestly funny.
While some people my be uncomfortable with the Tassie stuff, it is helping us grow like never before and is enabling us to increase our footprint at home.
Without AFLW, a NM facility expansion would have been unlikely but now we are aiming to start ASAP so it’s ready in time for 2019.
Adelaide has a joint venture with NT for AFLW and believe me, I think the Hawks would wish they did what we did with the Tas govt and AFLTas.
Good question. Some did when I started back in 08/09 and were certainly aware of it, but I think with the introduction of social media, their attention is diverted and more towards Insta and Snapchat.
I’m not sure the young ones do.
A lot of people, myself included, were worried about Tasmania because JB gave some wishy washy commitments and said he couldn't promise that he wouldn't offer 8 home games to Tasmania again in the future. It is why there has been speculation from the outside that we could relocate because our message lacked conviction, unlike Bulldogs or other clubs who also sold games but had a very strong message about the limitations of their interstate developments. It also didn't help that JB stood opposed to greater safeguards placed within the constitution of the club.
However, Carl and Ben have given a very clear and consistent message and I don't think supporters have a reason to believe they are not being honest.
The AFLW license is a fantastic result and I think the club did an awesome job to sell it as they did, it is probably what got us over the line. I think it is great that we have the strong relationship that we do with Hobart and Tasmania. I can't see Tasmania ever getting a male team in my lifetime so I think there is a good opportunity to have a strong relationship with them.
I look forward to more news about future developments at Arden Street, it is an exciting time for everyone involved with the club. To think that we could be at this point a decade a go, everyone would have told us it would be impossible. The club has done a fantastic job and everyone should be proud of what they have accomplished to date.
To be honest, that is probably a good thing.
...should have asked the Elephant in the Room and whether Brad Scott reads us.
Semi on topic due to the upcoming trade period.I didn’t know Ben Buckley well when he took over, but he is strong in his views and he said without any hesitation to me during a pre media interview briefing “North Melbourne will be our home as long as I’m Chairman” - and he’s reiterated that publicly several times since.
Couple that with the Arden St plans and it’s all stacks up
He doesn’t even read the HS and for a long time, didn’t have Foxtel! I’m actually not that sure he has it now!
I didn’t know Ben Buckley well when he took over, but he is strong in his views and he said without any hesitation to me during a pre media interview briefing “North Melbourne will be our home as long as I’m Chairman” - and he’s reiterated that publicly several times since.
Couple that with the Arden St plans and it’s all stacks up
Semi on topic due to the upcoming trade period.
How does the club feel about "In the knows" and sharing info they know? The major example that springs to mind is the Black Contract Debacle a few years back.
Sounds awesome.
Not sure if you have any info, but the AFL has already bought out Docklands or said they had agreed to, is there any news on an improved stadium deal provided to clubs that play there?
I think getting almost nothing from playing our home games has been a significant hindrance in terms of giving us the resources to invest on increasing our supporter base here in Melbourne. If we had the resources to replicate what we have done in Werribee in other growth regions we could significantly increase the supporter base.
Awesome, thanks for the response.Let’s call them leaks - and I hate them because you lose a fair bit of control over situations and some times it can be very detrimental.
People love to talk and most times it’s not malicious in intent, but the result can be very counter productive to what we want to achieve. I don’t think some people realise the damage that can be done.
In saying that, I think North is pretty good and most sensitive stuff stays in-house where it belongs. I haven’t had too much to worry about in my time.
With some situations, you can’t control it because there are so many people involved all with different agendas. When it’s player movement or related to contracts, what a manager deems appropriate might be different to the club’s view. Then you can have other clubs talking to media too - so it’s not always a leak within the club.
Awesome, thanks for the response.
In a similar vein, is it true that Fishy has been told to explore his options? Or something made up by the media?
I think Big Kev has hijacked No Bull's account. I haven't seen someone this excited on BigFooty since tashibatts "discovered" boys.
Heath - some questions:
1. Why the frown on leaks when Martin and Kelly were plastered all over the news with club figureheads being interviewed about them?
2. Can you provide a link to your book? (first I have heard about it)
3. If not a social club, can we see a return of Kanga Kasino equipped with pokies and "responsible gaming" and "responsible drunkenness"?
Thanks for your feedback and frankness, I'm sure everyone here appreciates it. Though you probably want to bail out before trade week starts...
Thanks.
I will use this quote in the 'Bye Bye Brad No 4' Thread that will start after the first Intra Club 'loss' in January 2018.
Hi mate.
1. The club never mentioned their names in any interviews until the very, very end. It wasn’t us that put it out there and this is what I meant re a situation that has heaps of people involved. If you were a manager, you’d want it known that a club is making a big play for your player - in order to get others to follow suit or make a move. If you were the player, it would be hard to keep that secret from family and friends. If you were an opposition club, you may want to tell a media source to try and blow the deal up or make things difficult. I don’t know where exactly it came from, but it could have been a number of sources. It wasn’t in our interest to have it made public so early but I think we handled it respectfully