Preview No Changes vs Saints

no changes, well just goes to show how bare the cupboard is at crowland, we are well and truely in a world of pain.

Rewind to when Sando got appt, I mentioned on this board that a Geelong Senior Official told me that the primary reason why Sando didn't get the Cats job was because the club had concerns that the type of relationship that he has with players would impact dis decision making on players, well at the time many on this board attacked my comments and it's interesting that some if the same folk are now bagging Sando
Your senior club official for whatever reason either chose to mislead you or you have chosen to misrepresent what you were told. The 'concern' at Geelong was entirely based on the relationship with the players that he actually played with and was personal friends with. It has zero relevance to his role at the Adelaide football club.

You sure you didn't just read Tredrea's rubbish article?

Petrenko is playing for his career, I reckon Sando has given him a last chance.

Playing in the sterile environment at the dome where you cannot blame conditions for poor kicking against a team that was widely tipped to be bottom at the start of the year after their GWS debacle loss in the NAB Challenge.

Yes a month is a long time in football.:rolleyes:

How could you not make ONE change after getting absolutely turned on last week?

Cmon, this is baffling stuff.... SURELY CEY gets a look.

CEY will help us with leg speed, we could get murdered on Sunday. Hmmm a murder of Crows.

Has CEYs form actually been that good in the reserves? Anyone seen him play?
I saw him last week and he was good. Played midfield, 8 clearances. Has quiet a big body and definitely deserves his chance. I think someone will drop out and he will play. If we play Martin ahead of him then we suck.

Interesting Harper said today that part of he reason for an unchanged side was that no one from the reserves was pressuring for a spot, with the possible exception of Martin:confused:

Did he honestly say that? Shut the **** up Phil.
Does he realise there's plenty in the afl side pressuring for spots in the sanfl side?

Rewind to when Sando got appt, I mentioned on this board that a Geelong Senior Official told me that the primary reason why Sando didn't get the Cats job was because the club had concerns that the type of relationship that he has with players would impact dis decision making on players, well at the time many on this board attacked my comments and it's interesting that some if the same folk are now bagging Sando

i got call from a mate at Geelong that said exactly the same thing... but added he was a real worker in the admin area too. :)

Overall I am happy with the final team. If we are tanking, at least we are being subtle. Bringing Smack straight back in would be far too obvious,

Sando is pretty consistent in his selections if you crack the code.

1) Structure is king. For example, he does not like to play 3 talls in the forward line and does not rate the role of a second ruck very highly. Late last season our second ruck was who? Well spotted Spackler, it was Andy Otten. Ideally we play 2 tall forwards, 1 crumbing forward, 1 defensive forward and 1 lead up player (lynch) and rotate midfielders through the F50 to complete the picture. The problem we have at the moment is that we don't have a decent Lynch type player. Last week JPod and JJ were wasted leading up to the wing and then having no one to kick it to.

2) We don't have depth, we have about 20 players that are fringe AFL players. We could drop half a dozen of these guys and bring in 6 of their mates and it will back little difference. We don't have heaps of out and out spuds (OK, I'll give you Gus) but lots of guys that are not quite up to it (Martin, LJ, Pets) or not ready yet (CEY) according to Sando. Sando has a clear ranking and he takes a lot of convincing to change his order. Older players like Stiffy and Porps have to play lots of bad footy to drop down the order but when they're gone, they're gone.

Sando ranked Matt Crouch above Lyons from the day he submitted his draft form and the only chance Jarryd will have is if we are decimated with injuries to midfielder. His possessions per TOG in the preseason and round 1 was excellent but he can dominate in the SANFL all season but it won't make any difference.

3) Finally, Sando selects the 22 that he believes will have the best chance of winning the upcoming match. This means we never see speculative selections like Port, Collingwood and Hawthorn. If in doubt, check the batting order.

Interesting Harper said today that part of he reason for an unchanged side was that no one from the reserves was pressuring for a spot, with the possible exception of Martin:confused:

Our selection committee probably went to the Centrals vs WWT game instead to see how Chris Knights was going.

how long has CEY been on the list now? if he couldn't get a run this week he will never get a run. im dumbfounded how we couldn't even make one change.

what little faith I had left in sando is now gone.

how long has CEY been on the list now? if he couldn't get a run this week he will never get a run. im dumbfounded how we couldn't even make one change.

what little faith I had left in sando is now gone.

Im not sure what Sando's history is like but dont rule out a tactical ploy to catch the opposition off-guard!

No changes is the right move. One of our main problems is team cohesion and this needs a stable side to improve.

Also from now on.... Unless we turn it around.... Senior players who get dropped need to stay dropped unless they Absolutely DEMAND selection. No going back to 'find form'. By all means say that, but we seriously need to either back in players or discard them. We have so many players that are just not good enoughh it's ridiculous. We always need a few of these players but atm we have about 20. Make a freaking decision and clear them out of play them.