Opinion Non-Crows AFL 7

• Thread starter Thread starter Scorpus

Daicos, for sure.
Imagine having Peter Daicos as footy Coach/mentor all your life!

I'm not as convinced about Rachele as most in here. Not sure why; maybe a bit nervous about the go-home factor.
If he goes home.. he goes home. Home for him is shepparton so the pull to go live in melbourne isnt gonna be as great.

Its gonna be more that he’ll probably be thrown some very big contracts his way by Vic clubs in two years from now.

No use worrying about it.

And go home factor wasnt anything i was considering in my comments. More just focusing on who’s gonna be the better player out of the three..

So you know what could have avoided that Saints lad hitting the Pies defender? If a free kick was paid against the Pies defender for the obvious scragging going on, which I thought was the point of the four umpires?

It all depends on your situation, you look for time slots, given you can only watch on tv, I like to plan ahead for for flights and things I need to work around for my business.

I’m with you, I want to plan flights etc.

Remember a few years ago when Carlton had all those Friday night games?

The AFL knows that Hawks, Roos and Eagles stink so you can program them to afford, Saturday and Friday night.

I expect given we are now playing exciting footy we will be given reasonable timeslots.

And go home factor wasnt anything i was considering in my comments. More just focusing on who’s gonna be the better player out of the three..
Yeah, no worries. I was just reflecting on my own doubts.

I think Daicos, some daylight then Rankine, then Rachele.

Yeah, no worries. I was just reflecting on my own doubts.

I think Daicos, some daylight then Rankine, then Rachele.
Daicos would probably be leading the Brownlow at the moment.. and if he continued to play as he has all season he could win it and be a worthy winner of it..

Worthy in that it would be going to a player that deserved it.. not just to a boring midfielder that accumulated a whole heap of possessions per game like Mitchell or Wines that werent actually anywhere near the best players in the AFL the year they won it..

As you may be able to tell.. I really dont reckon the brownlow is given to the best player in the comp each year. Sure, some years it is.

so I dont fully rate it as a great award.

Worthy in that it would be going to a player that deserved it.. not just to a boring midfielder that accumulated a whole heap of possessions per game like Mitchell or Wines that werent actually anywhere near the best players in the AFL the year they won it..

As you may be able to tell.. I really dont reckon the brownlow is given to the best player in the comp each year. Sure, some years it is.

so I dont fully rate it as a great award.
Yes eg how McLeod never won it is a travesty. I whined over Wines' win, woeful (:whistle:).
Were the Brownlow criteria ever "Fairest and most brilliant" as with the Magarey? Google has conflicting opinions.

I think the AFLPA MVP (voted by peers) is a better indicator, less likely to be corrupted, and rated more highly by the winner.

Bearded Clam do you like the AFLPA MVP award?
I dont know that i rate any of the “best player of the year awards”..

They are all open to bias, favouritism etc etc..

The Brownlow is a joke for a start as it makes it very difficult for the best player in the comp to win it if they have the second best player in the comp in their team!.. they enevitably have to share votes..

The Oliver/Petracca combo at the dees is a classic example.. both lads have been in the top 5 players in the comp for a couple of years now.. but will struggle to win a brownlow because they are competing against each other for votes..

The comps best player by a country mile in 2021 was Clayton Oliver.. yet he didnt win it.

Then you have the fact that the umpires seem to vote based more on possession count than effective possession count and would definitely have their own biases.

I just think the whole voting system is flawed.

But what do you do?..

Create an independent panel that watches every single game and then votes?..

can you imagine the VFL creating an “independent” panel to undertake this task!.. they’d stack it with biased Vicco lackies.

So you know what could have avoided that Saints lad hitting the Pies defender? If a free kick was paid against the Pies defender for the obvious scragging going on, which I thought was the point of the four umpires?
That's one cause-and-effect train of thought, for sure.
:think:
But how about if the Saints player showed some self-control and respect for his own team and his position in it? :shoutyoldman:
Then again, if a player like Gaff can be harassed and scragged to the point of giving a deadly left, anyone can.
I dunno.
Best conclusion is that 4 Umpires is a crap system for missing the scragging/nuisance garbage; too much second-guessing going on ("should I blow the whistle, or is s/he going to?")

That's one cause-and-effect train of thought, for sure.
:think:
But how about if the Saints player showed some self-control and respect for his own team and his position in it? :shoutyoldman:
Then again, if a player like Gaff can be harassed and scragged to the point of giving a deadly left, anyone can.
I dunno.
Best conclusion is that 4 Umpires is a crap system for missing the scragging/nuisance garbage; too much second-guessing going on ("should I blow the whistle, or is s/he going to?")

Oh this is me completely having a go at the 4 umpire system, it was never going to solve anything.

I'm not really into sticking up for st kilda players but the Pies player (Murphy?) falls and clearly he is going for the chest region and due to the slip from Murphy gets him high. Wasn't like it was a clear hit that concussed him either, I was watching and was shocked to hear he was concussed.

We should be reducing concussions but to me this was 100% an accident and 3 weeks is too much. The AFL need to work out if they are punishing the action or the injury, it has always been the injury which is a mistake and they are now doing it correctly as by punishing the action they will reduce the amount of sling tackles, high bumps etc which will reduce injuries to players.

This one is a bump or potentially a strike to the body which due to other circumstances gets the player high. Is the intent there? No. Is the force there? I would say thats questionable (especially given the recent McCartin concussion and Murphy's concussion history)

I would've thought 1-2 weeks was more appropriate, hardly a thug move that deserves 3 weeks
Apparently Murphy texted Caminiti (after Caminiti sent him a text to apologise) and said he slipped. St Kilda tried to introduce it as evidence but was denied.

I feel for Caminiti on that one. Murphy was scragging and initiated the contact. Caminiti was just trying to get away from him to lead for the ball.

Got him high but an accident imho

You can tell Murphy is an utter dickhead from his reaction

Looks like Adelaide missed a trick by not having Mcadam give evidence. It was viewed as smart at the time, but with hindsight the tribunal has been completely gullible to player evidence in the Caminiti and Lynch cases.

Apparently Murphy texted Caminiti (after Caminiti sent him a text to apologise) and said he slipped. St Kilda tried to introduce it as evidence but was denied.
Rightly so. Nearly two decades of MRO has made people forget the absurd "oh... I didn't see who hit me" player code of silence nonsense.

Not that it was necessary as the tribunal accepted the claim on face value anyway.

Its also been raised as a concern about umpires not calling "holding the ball" a lot sooner as well. Its led to players having to be more aggressive with their tackles to stop/impede the player.

It will work in our favour when we get better time slots for the second half of the year
If the Crows continue their current trajectory, our Demons game in Victoria is likely to be on Friday night prime time.

Similarly our home Showdown and our game v Sydney should likely be in prime time slot.

It will work in our favour when we get better time slots for the second half of the year
Will we though?

Feels like they use the fixture to pump up clubs that need the help. So Port get Saturday night games to inflate their crowds. The bigger Vic darling clubs (Carl, Ess, Rich, Haw, Coll, Geel) get prime time slots to give their sponsors exposure and ensure TV ratings.

Our fans will turn up on a Sunday lunchtime. We are financially stable so don't need a good timeslot boost. Plus we're from SA so the AFL doesn't give a shit about us.

Sunday lunch or Saturday twilight slots.

Will we though?

Feels like they use the fixture to pump up clubs that need the help. So Port get Saturday night games to inflate their crowds. The bigger Vic darling clubs (Carl, Ess, Rich, Haw, Coll, Geel) get prime time slots to give their sponsors exposure and ensure TV ratings.

Our fans will turn up on a Sunday lunchtime. We are financially stable so don't need a good timeslot boost. Plus we're from SA so the AFL doesn't give a s**t about us.

Sunday lunch or Saturday twilight slots.
I think we will, we had much better time slots when we weren’t crap

I really don’t get the idea behind waiting.
Just stuffs everybody’s around, who cares if the odd game on prime time is shitty.
I'm trying to organise the post match for the Brisbane game... and I've had to book the function room for the whole weekend! Luckily the pub understands our situation, but still.

Bearded Clam and others thrilled by Daicos, did you see his touching and respectful acknowledgement of Nicky Winmar, post-match.
Brilliant and humble/classy:

I can think of several elite mids who are years older and could learn from that.

Would his dad have been playing in that infamous game?