Not Worth A Thread - Random Bulldog Discussion

Was Bernie Quinlan ever known as Superboot during his time at Footscray, or did he only acquire that nickname at Fitzroy?

I can remember him playing for us. I have a recollection of my dad telling me he was called Superboot not long after I started following the dogs. I'm not at all certain but believe he was always known as Superboot.

Good read, thanks for sharing.

The reference used for player positions threw up a few interesting ones. Lin Jong as a forward, JJ and Bailey Williams as outside midfielders and Zaine Cordy as a defensive midfielder!
Bookmarking to read that later, that looks really interesting.

Good read, thanks for sharing.

The reference used for player positions threw up a few interesting ones. Lin Jong as a forward, JJ and Bailey Williams as outside midfielders and Zaine Cordy as a defensive midfielder!
If you look at the categories they've got there, it isn't that surprising. There's no "attacking" or "rebounding" defender- only general defender. The rebounding role that JJ and Williams play is far more similar to an outside midfielder than a defensive player. Similarly, there's no "defensive" forward for Zaine, so defensive mid is the closest thing to his role. As for Jong, he actually spent quite a lot of time forward, and his tendency to take contested marks and kick goals probably fits the forward mould pretty well.

Remember in 82 i think it was when we had lost about 10 in a row and the hawks had won about the same and we beat them out at the Western Oval on a windy day where I think we kicked about 7 in the last to run over them, almost made up for those losses!!
I went to that game with a bunch of kids and a few dads. We sat behind the Hawthorn interchange bench. And big Dippa wasn't getting much of a run that day and spoke to us kids all arvo and we thought he was the best and followed his career after that. What a great win in a terrible year.

Remember in 82 i think it was when we had lost about 10 in a row and the hawks had won about the same and we beat them out at the Western Oval on a windy day where I think we kicked about 7 in the last to run over them, almost made up for those losses!!

IIRC, Dogs won by about 9 points and Stan "the man" Davison ko'd Lethal.

Was a sight to behold, watching Matthews wander around in a fog for a quarter or so...

I Was born in 83.
My son was born after the 2015 footy season ready for his first season in 2016.

It's official, I am the saviour.
Nice work! But I reckon it was a team effort......

I was born in 54
My daughter was born in 83 - the end of our horror run
My first son was born in 85 - we missed making the GF by 10 points after a brill year
My youngest son was born in 89 - we saved the club from disappearing
My second grandson was born in 2016........