Official 2006 Training Thread

Re: Training Report: 22/12/05

FIGJAM said:
As Johnno26 said at Hotrod's:

For a bloke known for his evasiveness, he'd normally dance around Malthouse who's known for his stubborness.

Looks like it was the illness that did it!:eek:

Coin_Toss said:
While I was waiting I saw this dude who asked for Luke Mason, but he has gone overseas.

Who was that? And I didn't go overseas, just interstate.

FIGJAM said:
Interesting comments re. Leon from DVL @ Hotrods:

http://www.voy.com/51976/47837.html

What is your opinion CT??

Generally, Leon is a good trainer. In what may come as a surprise to some, he actually was the winner of a training award as voted by the players last year. He does well in that regard - he has built up his work ethic from his younger days. That said, he needs to take the bit between the teeth and have a red-hot go in the engine room this year. He could be a real spark plug which ignites the side, but he really needs to do it this year. Crunch time.

Vandenbergfan said:
Geez what a crap venue. I remember playing U13s matches at grounds with cycling tracks around the outside. From what I'm hearing the turf on that ground is uneven and browned off, and there is no shade around the ground.

I thought Lexus/Olympic/Bob Rose Park was supposed to be state of the art, because it looks nothing like it. The ground itself must be 300m from your training facilities as well. I reckon if that is the best you can do you would be better off back at Victoria Park.

That won't be our training ground in two years. They are building a new one.:)

jabso said:
Does anyone know if Scott Cummings is still working with us?

As a functions host, and he still may be doing some kicking for goal work.

TRAINING - WEDNESDAY, 18TH JAN.

I ventured out to Edwin Flack Oval to see the boys train this morning. The sun was shining, but only just as most of the clouds were covering it. I arrived 10-15 mins before the first player (Brodie Holland) came out from the passage way down the back of the Oval. All of the other players came out shortly after.

The training session started with light "kick to kick". The players then formed a group and went for a light jog around the Oval about 3 times, stopping for stretches every 5 mins.
The injury group consisted of Tristen Walker, Rhyce Shaw, Paul Licuria, Tarkyn Lockyer (who later went on and practised his goal kicking), Guy Richards (again), Julian Rowe, Chris Tarrant, Danny Stanley, Adam Iacobucci - Nathan Buckley led the injury group for most of the session, but he didn't look injured. All of the injury group left the track 30 mins early than the others.
The first 20 mins of training for the others was pretty light on stuff. Then the first year players got told to go over to Alan Richardson, Alan coached the first year players all session, until they went off early as well. They did sprints, kicking and leading drills.

Afterwards, the players split into three groups - defence, midfield, forward groups. I was concentrating on the midfield group today.
There were two ruckmen (Hall and C2), both had to try and palm it down to the rovers/midfielders, the rovers/midfielders then had to look for the goals - while being under immense pressure from the others.
The midfield group consisted of Didak, Burns, Davies, O'Brien, Johnson, Davis, Holland, Egan, Caracella and O'Bree. The standouts were Holland, Davies, Didak and Johnson. Drinks then followed.

(Clement/Morrison walks off the ground...)

After drinks, the defence group came over and joined the midfield group. They played a mini-game - the teams were:
Defence Team: Gavin Brown (coach), Jason Cloke, Shane Wakelin, Ryan Lonie, Nick Maxwell, Heath Shaw, David Fanning, Harry O'Brien and Simon Prestigiacomo.
Midfield Team: Adrian Fletcher (coach), Josh Fraser, Shane O'Bree, Brodie Holland, Chris Egan, Scott Burns, Alan Didak, Ben Davies, Leon Davis and Blake Caracella.

Similar to the last game, the ruckmen (Fanning and Fraser) had to palm the ball down to the rovers/midfielders, who then had to look for the goals to get a point on the board. The final scores were:
Midfield: 5
Defence: 3
Impressive players were Davies (used the ball well), Holland (worked hard, good foot skills), O'Bree (kicked some magical goals), Davis (got a lot of the ball, used it well)
Mini-game completed.

Afterwards the forwards came over to join the defence/midfield group, the forward group was coached by a very happy Wayne Carey. All of the tall forwards (including Presti, Jason Cloke and Wakes) lined up in the goal square, the others on the 50 arc. The idea of this drill was the midfielders/small forwards would kick it to the leading tall forward, the tall forward then handballed/kicked back to the midfielder/small forward - the tall forward would then push back (fast) and would attempt to take a mark back in the goal sqaure.
Afterwards, McKenna came out in front of the goal sqaure with a bag on his back - they did the same drill as before, but this time they went up for the specky - Presti was very good at this, the other tall forwards cheering him on as he displayed his talents in front of them. :D
Everyone was impressive at this drill, but Presti was the best.

Nearing the end of another fantastic training session, Fraser was practising his "one-on-one" contesting work with Gavin Brown and Alan Richardson. They both tried to contain him, but he was too strong!
The other players finished off doing light drills with Mick Malthouse.

PLAYER NOTES:

- Presti showed he was capable of playing some sort of a forward role.
- Davies looks like he is in for a big year.
- Rusling needs work done on his overhead marking, still not too flash.
- Richards trained with the injury group, again...

I hope you enjoy reading this as much as I enjoyed writing it...
Signing out,
Coin_Toss.

Cheers CT. Another welcome and informative report.

Would be interesting to know if some of the players in the 'infirmary' are rested from 1/2 sessions per week as they recover from off season surgery (eg Walker, Shaw, Tarrant) or have stress related injury histories (eg Richards). It seems the regulars in the injured group at the moment are Rowe (knee?), Iaccobucci (?) and Stanley (?).

Any signs from training on who might be being groomed for the small defender role on the likes of Andrew Lovett, Sampi, Betts, Milne, Schneider, Farmer etc? H Shaw did it a bit late in year. Hopefully Jimmy can be released from this role to a more attacking spot across half back in 06. Maybe R Shaw as he settles back in to senior footy?

harry 0 said:
Would be interesting to know if some of the players in the 'infirmary' are rested from 1/2 sessions per week as they recover from off season surgery (eg Walker, Shaw, Tarrant) or have stress related injury histories (eg Richards). It seems the regulars in the injured group at the moment are Rowe (knee?), Iaccobucci (?) and Stanley (?).

Shaw didn't train last Friday, don't know about Monday. Ask Pedro about that.
Tarrant has been in the main group all preseason for all I know, but he hasn't trained that hard.
It looks like Stanley has done something to his knee. He has been in the injury group for one week.
Don't know what's wrong with Yakka, this is the first time I have seen him in the injury group this preseason.
Rowe has definitely got a crook knee, hopefully it's 110% ok by the first round.

The injury group didn't do much at all today, they were allowed breaks between each light session.
They weren't on the track for that long either, 45 mins at the max.

harry 0 said:
Any signs from training on who might be being groomed for the small defender role on the likes of Andrew Lovett, Sampi, Betts, Milne, Schneider, Farmer etc? H Shaw did it a bit late in year. Hopefully Jimmy can be released from this role to a more attacking spot across half back in 06. Maybe R Shaw as he settles back in to senior footy?

I would've said Dane Swan, but he hasn't trained at all over the last week. I hope he is ok.

Other then Swan, I still think Maxwell is suited well for the small defender role. He is very well respected by all of the players at Collingwood, and he grows in confidence each time I see him train.

Other then Swan, I still think Maxwell is suited well for the small defender role. He is very well respected by all of the players at Collingwood, and he grows in confidence each time I see him train.[/QUOTE]

I am not sure Swan has the pace/agility to play on the nippy goal sneaks. OK across half back on the mid sized forwards like Chapman (Geel).

Maxwell at 190cm is a good 3rd or 4th tall defender but would lack the pace to play small defender. Great courage, good team man who can pinch hit on a shorter peripheral forward, but might get exposed by some of the top goal sneaks for pace etc.

Tarks has been exposed in the back pocket previously (pace, agility, overhead marking)

Rhyce seems the best of a poor bunch of options currently. But we haven't had a decent back pocket for a while, so I supposed we are used to it. Maybe Johno will be re-incarnated down back (again), but he is needed in the midfield.

In the back pocket Heath Shaw is also an option. Good pace and body size and relative height also an advantage.

Also Ben Johnson, at least temporarily until he finds enough form to force his way back into the midfield.

Rusling may be another smokey in defence. The kid needs to learn the ropes - why not back pocket?

Ben Davies maybe? Seems to have a defensive aspect to his game.

Maybe Lonie, although deep in defence he can get turned inside out.

Also O'Brien, although he's a rookie.

Coin_Toss said:
Thanks again Coin! :thumbsu:

Rus is an awesome overhead mark! Must have had a crap day.

As for Richards, there is a chance that we're rotating some non-injured players through, so as to ensure that they are not run into the ground. We'll see if he remains there.

Thanks again!

hotpie said:
In the back pocket Heath Shaw is also an option. Good pace and body size and relative height also an advantage.

Also Ben Johnson, at least temporarily until he finds enough form to force his way back into the midfield.

Rusling may be another smokey in defence. The kid needs to learn the ropes - why not back pocket?

Ben Davies maybe? Seems to have a defensive aspect to his game.

Maybe Lonie, although deep in defence he can get turned inside out.

Also O'Brien, although he's a rookie.

Heath Shaw is a big chance. If he can improve on his game next year at Williamstown there is no reason why he can't grab that small defender role for Collingwood.

I doubt MM will play Johno deep down in defence.

I wouldn't mind seeing Mick experimenting with Rusling in defence next year, but I doubt that would happen too.

I can definitely see Mick playing Davies deep down in defence. He has a brilliant defensive side to his game, and he would suit that sort of role in my opinion. It won't be for too long before Davies is a permanent wingman/midfielder though.

Lonie is suited on a HBF/wing in my opinion. No chance of seeing him deep down in defence.

O'Brien has certainly showed he is capable of withstanding the pressure, he must improve on his foot skills though.

Coin_Toss said:
TRAINING - WEDNESDAY, 18TH JAN.

I ventured out to Edwin Flack Oval to see the boys train this morning. The sun was shining, but only just as most of the clouds were covering it. I arrived 10-15 mins before the first player (Brodie Holland) came out from the passage way down the back of the Oval. All of the other players came out shortly after.

The training session started with light "kick to kick". The players then formed a group and went for a light jog around the Oval about 3 times, stopping for stretches every 5 mins.
The injury group consisted of Tristen Walker, Rhyce Shaw, Paul Licuria, Tarkyn Lockyer (who later went on and practised his goal kicking), Guy Richards (again), Julian Rowe, Chris Tarrant, Danny Stanley, Adam Iacobucci - Nathan Buckley led the injury group for most of the session, but he didn't look injured. All of the injury group left the track 30 mins early than the others.
The first 20 mins of training for the others was pretty light on stuff. Then the first year players got told to go over to Alan Richardson, Alan coached the first year players all session, until they went off early as well. They did sprints, kicking and leading drills.

Afterwards, the players split into three groups - defence, midfield, forward groups. I was concentrating on the midfield group today.
There were two ruckmen (Hall and C2), both had to try and palm it down to the rovers/midfielders, the rovers/midfielders then had to look for the goals - while being under immense pressure from the others.
The midfield group consisted of Didak, Burns, Davies, O'Brien, Johnson, Davis, Holland, Egan, Caracella and O'Bree. The standouts were Holland, Davies, Didak and Johnson. Drinks then followed.

(Clement/Morrison walks off the ground...)

After drinks, the defence group came over and joined the midfield group. They played a mini-game - the teams were:
Defence Team: Gavin Brown (coach), Jason Cloke, Shane Wakelin, Ryan Lonie, Nick Maxwell, Heath Shaw, David Fanning, Harry O'Brien and Simon Prestigiacomo.
Midfield Team: Adrian Fletcher (coach), Josh Fraser, Shane O'Bree, Brodie Holland, Chris Egan, Scott Burns, Alan Didak, Ben Davies, Leon Davis and Blake Caracella.

Similar to the last game, the ruckmen (Fanning and Fraser) had to palm the ball down to the rovers/midfielders, who then had to look for the goals to get a point on the board. The final scores were:
Midfield: 5
Defence: 3
Impressive players were Davies (used the ball well), Holland (worked hard, good foot skills), O'Bree (kicked some magical goals), Davis (got a lot of the ball, used it well)
Mini-game completed.

Afterwards the forwards came over to join the defence/midfield group, the forward group was coached by a very happy Wayne Carey. All of the tall forwards (including Presti, Jason Cloke and Wakes) lined up in the goal square, the others on the 50 arc. The idea of this drill was the midfielders/small forwards would kick it to the leading tall forward, the tall forward then handballed/kicked back to the midfielder/small forward - the tall forward would then push back (fast) and would attempt to take a mark back in the goal sqaure.
Afterwards, McKenna came out in front of the goal sqaure with a bag on his back - they did the same drill as before, but this time they went up for the specky - Presti was very good at this, the other tall forwards cheering him on as he displayed his talents in front of them. :D
Everyone was impressive at this drill, but Presti was the best.

Nearing the end of another fantastic training session, Fraser was practising his "one-on-one" contesting work with Gavin Brown and Alan Richardson. They both tried to contain him, but he was too strong!
The other players finished off doing light drills with Mick Malthouse.

PLAYER NOTES:

- Presti showed he was capable of playing some sort of a forward role.
- Davies looks like he is in for a big year.

I hope you enjoy reading this as much as I enjoyed writing it...
Signing out,
Coin_Toss.

What do u mean he's still not too flash everytime I've seen him he has had excellent hands very strong overhead even in another training report someone said how good his hands are.

loki04 said:
What do u mean he's still not too flash everytime I've seen him he has had excellent hands very strong overhead even in another training report someone said how good his hands are.

He was dropping some sitters overhead today, but it was just a bad day on the track for Rusling - he will bounce back on Friday.

I have heard conformation that Stanley did a hamstring last Friday, and he would miss a good month of football. Bad blow for Stanley, he was making very good progress out on the training track.

Just want to say thanks for this thread,guys.
Living over here in Perth,I get to see very little,if any,of Collingwood each year.
You never get any news of Collingwood,or any other team for that matter,other than the Eagles and Dockers,in the the local paper.
At least reading this,I can,sort of,keep up with what happening with my beloved Magpies.
It good to know how they are training,who's doing what,who's injured and how our rookies are going,etc...
Keep up the good work,as it keeps alot of people like myself filled in on whats happening at Pie Land.

Cheers,
Rusty.:thumbsu: :thumbsu: :thumbsu:

Coin_Toss said:
I have heard conformation that Stanley did a hamstring last Friday, and he would miss a good month of football. Bad blow for Stanley, he was making very good progress out on the training track.

where did you hear that?

Official 2006 Training Thread