Official BF Rooch (Roast) Thread

• Thread starter Thread starter relapse

RogerRabbit69 said:
I can't think of a Crows player who would tell Rucci (or anyone) that. Rooch isn't exactly the AFC's most popular journalist, after all. Perhaps JJ told Rooch there was a Crows player they'd like at Port Adelaide ... Johncock maybe?

Perhaps the John James bit was meant to be taken literally. Or perhaps it was just a throw away line. I mean, it does say 'consider'.

I don't think that's the main point of the 'story' though, which is that someone was a bit frustrated with the slow pace of negotiations.

macca23 said:
Has anybody heard anything on the second point? :confused:
I'm just adding 2 and 2 here so I could be way out.
But one specific (champion) player who represents himself had a hell of a time getting pen to paper, and even then its only a heads agreement. Even though its been announced that he has signed (he hasn’t).
I know as fact that he has been suggested as a possible trade for pick 1 and that he has had a rocky road over the past couple of years.
he has also had issues with some of his team mates and club ambassadors.

you should only ask why he chooses to represent himself and you might well agree that 2 + 2 = 4.

Ford Fairlane said:
My immediate thought was McLeod, because his protracted contract negotiations had been publicised in the media.

no that was made to be way to big of a deal - surely, can't see Macca going anywhere because no club would offer his worth (you would think ?)

if it is Scott Thompson I would be suprised but hey if Port give us there first pick and Hmm lets see Tom Logan maybe I reckon there could be a swap :o

jc67 said:
I'm just adding 2 and 2 here so I could be way out.
But one specific (champion) player who represents himself had a hell of a time getting pen to paper, and even then its only a heads agreement. Even though its been announced that he has signed (he hasn’t).
I know as fact that he has been suggested as a possible trade for pick 1 and that he has had a rocky road over the past couple of years.
he has also had issues with some of his team mates and club ambassadors.

you should only ask why he chooses to represent himself and you might well agree that 2 + 2 = 4.
You might as well name him here mate. You gave every possible clue under the sun so its not that hard to guess who is the player allegedly in question ;)

Stiffy_18 said:
You might as well name him here mate. You gave every possible clue under the sun so its not that hard to guess who is the player allegedly in question ;)

ok call be dull

but I am getting 2+2 = 5

PM who the hell you are talking about
(assuming its not Macca of course)

Stiffy_18 said:
No PM needed. You've figured it out ;)

I have to say

Any team AFL based that would offer anything for Macca is stupid (that is an offer that would keep AFC happy)

The only way I would get macca would be through the PSD – even then the price tag on his head would be too much to burden for a 30 yr old player with permantant injuries. The reason he is worth the risk for the Crows is because of the Veterans list.

So I discount this idea as very very unlikely.

I knew it wouldnt take Rucci long

From the advertiser
"NO one saw the 2006 AFL premiership side at AAMI Stadium yesterday. There was one in the making with Port Adelaide, perhaps in two or three years. And there was one in the dismantling as the once unbeatable Adelaide now stands as a wreck - physically and mentally.
Deserted by the bulk of their 50,000 members who did not turn up to Showdown XXI and deserted by luck as critical injuries continue to pile up, the Crows are now in a desert of misery seeking an oasis where Adelaide coach Neil Craig can find anything to revive a side that has hit the wall.

All the Crows planned to eagerly shove back up its reasoned critics - that it is slow, that its gameplan has been dismantled, that its second-tier, so-called "Backbone" players have either become lazy or have no higher gear, that its veterans looked tired, that is coaching staff has become predictably bland on match day and so on - can no longer be disputed. And to those blinkered Adelaide officials who last week labelled anyone who studies and measures AFL football with realism as being negative . . . start reading the writing on the wall. It is there in big block letters now.

Adelaide has lost four of its past five games and its only win was built on luck against a slow and unconvincing Collingwood.

Three of the losses are to next month's finals-bound West Coast, Fremantle and the Western Bulldogs. And to lose to the Power when it is a bottom-eight club limited to just 24 at selection and in a clearly defined rebuilding program is the ultimate confirmation that Adelaide is in trouble. Big trouble.

The questions are to be asked with greater demand for honest answers. So what of this extra training program that was to have the Crows in peak form now?

Fact: Adelaide has not won a last quarter for five weeks. That Port's fitness coach Darren Burgess could put together, on the smell of an oily rag compared to Adelaide's resources, a team that out-ran the Crows is not a good sign for Craig.

That Port coach Mark Williams, a premiership coach, out-smarted Craig by simply gambling and never doubting - who would have imagined Adam Kingsley could still change a derby by going into the midfield as he did in Showdown III eight years ago - tells much of why Adelaide's once all-conquering gameplan is failing.

And what of those closed training sessions? Adelaide has performed with less clean skill and less conviction since they began five weeks ago. Has anyone else noticed that Adelaide's tempo football is now ineffective?

Adelaide is very lucky that it enters the finals with the double chance and assured of a home final. It will need these advantages . . . and more.

Season-ending injuries to key forward Trent Hentschel (dislocated knee) and Brett Burton (hamstring) and the growing concern that captain Mark Ricciuto, who missed the derby with a virus, has a groin problem, have reduced Adelaide's attack to a hit-or-miss affair.

An hour before Showdown XXI, Adelaide chairman Bill Sanders made it clear that the Crows must win the premiership or their season will have fallen to waste.

An hour after Port extended its derby lead to 12-9, Power president Greg Boulton would have been well in his right to say he will be celebrating a premiership at Alberton before Sanders has another at West Lakes.

And those 25,000 Crows members who avoided Showdown XXI to save up money for their grand final tickets? Big W has a sell-out on blockbuster DVDs that could be entertaining while someone else wins the 2006 flag."

I know we wont win the flag, but I do hope we win the next flag before Port, what a premature ejaculator Rucci is. This one will come back to haunt him I think, a flag in 2 to 3 years for Port ? (getting a bit ahead of yourself there arent we ?)

In amogst what he has written are some valid points, but the fat around the edges of articles like this that are filled with Port hype and anti Adelaide propaganda is where Rucci's main problem is because of the massive chip he has on his shoulders he has about the AFC.

I am so sick of the hyprocritical nature of this guy, and sick of him and saying this and that about Adelaide supporter with blinkers blah blah blah while HE IS EXACTLY THE SAME HIMSELF ABOUT PORT.

As for avoiding the showdown wasnt there 1,500 tickets left unsold ? If so why was there only 40k there ? How can port supporters who have these Port home matches tickets not going be Adelaide fans staying home. When it comes to Port though of course good old Rucci there is different rules for Port fans, ITS MOTHERS DAY, ITS TOO COLD, ITS TOO HOT, THE GAME IS TOO EARLY, ITS EASTER, THE GAME IS TOO LATE blah blah blah.

Good to see that once a whif of potential improvement for Port comes along Rucci goes back to the pumping up Port tires, adelaide hating troll which is his bread and butter and loves it.

Maybe now he might start writing about the Port games again now that they are winning and we can have at least someone decent writing articles on Adelaide games next season, because we all know that Rucci picks and chooses what games he wants to write about and conveniently becomes a anti-Adelaide troll and trys to deflect everything away from Port Adelaide when they are having a bad season and hence chooses to not write anything about them if they arent winning.

I dont know what is worse about Rucci, he obsession with pumping up everything up when it comes to Port or his obsession with the AFC.

Re: I knew it wouldnt take Rucci long

relapse said:
I dont know what is worse about Rucci, he obsession with pumping up everything up when it comes to Port or his obsession with the AFC.

I dont want to get too involved in this - but perhaps read a few of the articles written in the latter parts of the 2003 and 2004 seasons if you think Rucci only ever writes positive articles about port.

Rooch has been waiting for that day for quite some time. Let him have his fun.

Hopefully the club can bend him over and give it to him come finals time (though he'd probably enjoy that).

Malibu#27 said:
I dont want to get too involved in this - but perhaps read a few of the articles written in the latter parts of the 2003 and 2004 seasons if you think Rucci only ever writes positive articles about port.
As told to him by Choco. Rucci's always been a Mark Williams mouthpiece. Haven't seen him writing too many negative articles about Choco.

noddy said:
Sorry mate but i'm all "Ruccied" out :(

Me too. I get as far as 'Michelangelo Rucci' before I hit the little X up the top-right corner but I appreciate there are still Crows supporters who still want to read his articles and 'comment' on them which is fine if they want to do that.

I love it when people get ahead of themselves. They tend to look pretty silly in hindsight when they are proven wrong.

Let people write us off. Finals action isn't here yet.

make Port won't win a flag for 10 yrs

they FACT (**** I hate when rucci does that) is that teams like Richmond and Hawthorn have far superior youngsters than Port

I find it quite funny on one hand he mentions how bad we plays but on the other feels that port youngsters have something to do with it ?

the fact was that like Essendons win over Collingwood it was the more senior players who helped win the game assisted by **** poor efforts by the crows

GoSarge said:
I love it when people get ahead of themselves. They tend to look pretty silly in hindsight when they are proven wrong.

Let people write us off. Finals action isn't here yet.
Port people have a real problem with that dont they. Didnt they saw when they first entered the AFL that they were going to win premership after premership, and what about their claims of creating a dynasty after their premership. Just another Port Power propaganda.

I desperately want to Crows to win the premiership this year, so Craigy can yell into the microphone during the presentations "And Rucci, YOU WERE WRONG!".

Then again, Craigy would carry himself with too much dignity to do that. ;)

AAMI said:
I desperately want to Crows to win the premiership this year, so Craigy can yell into the microphone during the presentations "And Rucci, YOU WERE WRONG!".

Then again, Craigy would carry himself with too much dignity to do that. ;)
But I can say RUCCI YOU ARE WRONG!!
Read his article taking up 1/4 page on P 3 of the footy liftout today. He bases his article on thae fact that Sydney are now 6th on the premiership.....Rucci has Coolingwood 5th and Sydney 6th at this moment. The Premiership Table on the adjoining page has Sydney 5th... A pedantic poin t but a chief football writer should look at the facts a bit more closely. He is too busy with his anti Crows rubbush!!

AndrewJo said:
But I can say RUCCI YOU ARE WRONG!!
Read his article taking up 1/4 page on P 3 of the footy liftout today. He bases his article on thae fact that Sydney are now 6th on the premiership.....Rucci has Coolingwood 5th and Sydney 6th at this moment. The Premiership Table on the adjoining page has Sydney 5th... A pedantic poin t but a chief football writer should look at the facts a bit more closely. He is too busy with his anti Crows rubbush!!

Glad someone pointed this out, I first looked at his 'likely week 1 finals line-up' and wondered how Collingwood will beat the Kangaroos by about 12 more goals than Sydney beat Carlton.:confused:

Then read up a bit and noticed he had Collingwood 5th right now.:rolleyes:

sapaul said:
Glad someone pointed this out, I first looked at his 'likely week 1 finals line-up' and wondered how Collingwood will beat the Kangaroos by about 12 more goals than Sydney beat Carlton.:confused:

Then read up a bit and noticed he had Collingwood 5th right now.:rolleyes:

I guess the libraries were closed again. :)

exactly why I don't buy the Advertiser any more. Sick and tired of it all to be honest.

The only way I can show my disinterest is to do so by pocketing my $1 or $1.50 and not read his drivel.

relapse said:
From the advertiser
"NO one saw the 2006 AFL premiership side at AAMI Stadium yesterday. There was one in the making with Port Adelaide, perhaps in two or three years. And there was one in the dismantling as the once unbeatable Adelaide now stands as a wreck - physically and mentally.
Deserted by the bulk of their 50,000 members who did not turn up to Showdown XXI and deserted by luck as critical injuries continue to pile up, the Crows are now in a desert of misery seeking an oasis where Adelaide coach Neil Craig can find anything to revive a side that has hit the wall.

All the Crows planned to eagerly shove back up its reasoned critics - that it is slow, that its gameplan has been dismantled, that its second-tier, so-called "Backbone" players have either become lazy or have no higher gear, that its veterans looked tired, that is coaching staff has become predictably bland on match day and so on - can no longer be disputed. And to those blinkered Adelaide officials who last week labelled anyone who studies and measures AFL football with realism as being negative . . . start reading the writing on the wall. It is there in big block letters now.

Adelaide has lost four of its past five games and its only win was built on luck against a slow and unconvincing Collingwood.

Three of the losses are to next month's finals-bound West Coast, Fremantle and the Western Bulldogs. And to lose to the Power when it is a bottom-eight club limited to just 24 at selection and in a clearly defined rebuilding program is the ultimate confirmation that Adelaide is in trouble. Big trouble.

The questions are to be asked with greater demand for honest answers. So what of this extra training program that was to have the Crows in peak form now?

Fact: Adelaide has not won a last quarter for five weeks. That Port's fitness coach Darren Burgess could put together, on the smell of an oily rag compared to Adelaide's resources, a team that out-ran the Crows is not a good sign for Craig.

That Port coach Mark Williams, a premiership coach, out-smarted Craig by simply gambling and never doubting - who would have imagined Adam Kingsley could still change a derby by going into the midfield as he did in Showdown III eight years ago - tells much of why Adelaide's once all-conquering gameplan is failing.

And what of those closed training sessions? Adelaide has performed with less clean skill and less conviction since they began five weeks ago. Has anyone else noticed that Adelaide's tempo football is now ineffective?

Adelaide is very lucky that it enters the finals with the double chance and assured of a home final. It will need these advantages . . . and more.

Season-ending injuries to key forward Trent Hentschel (dislocated knee) and Brett Burton (hamstring) and the growing concern that captain Mark Ricciuto, who missed the derby with a virus, has a groin problem, have reduced Adelaide's attack to a hit-or-miss affair.

An hour before Showdown XXI, Adelaide chairman Bill Sanders made it clear that the Crows must win the premiership or their season will have fallen to waste.

An hour after Port extended its derby lead to 12-9, Power president Greg Boulton would have been well in his right to say he will be celebrating a premiership at Alberton before Sanders has another at West Lakes.

And those 25,000 Crows members who avoided Showdown XXI to save up money for their grand final tickets? Big W has a sell-out on blockbuster DVDs that could be entertaining while someone else wins the 2006 flag."

I know we wont win the flag, but I do hope we win the next flag before Port, what a premature ejaculator Rucci is. This one will come back to haunt him I think, a flag in 2 to 3 years for Port ? (getting a bit ahead of yourself there arent we ?)

In amogst what he has written are some valid points, but the fat around the edges of articles like this that are filled with Port hype and anti Adelaide propaganda is where Rucci's main problem is because of the massive chip he has on his shoulders he has about the AFC.

I am so sick of the hyprocritical nature of this guy, and sick of him and saying this and that about Adelaide supporter with blinkers blah blah blah while HE IS EXACTLY THE SAME HIMSELF ABOUT PORT.

As for avoiding the showdown wasnt there 1,500 tickets left unsold ? If so why was there only 40k there ? How can port supporters who have these Port home matches tickets not going be Adelaide fans staying home. When it comes to Port though of course good old Rucci there is different rules for Port fans, ITS MOTHERS DAY, ITS TOO COLD, ITS TOO HOT, THE GAME IS TOO EARLY, ITS EASTER, THE GAME IS TOO LATE blah blah blah.

Good to see that once a whif of potential improvement for Port comes along Rucci goes back to the pumping up Port tires, adelaide hating troll which is his bread and butter and loves it.

Maybe now he might start writing about the Port games again now that they are winning and we can have at least someone decent writing articles on Adelaide games next season, because we all know that Rucci picks and chooses what games he wants to write about and conveniently becomes a anti-Adelaide troll and trys to deflect everything away from Port Adelaide when they are having a bad season and hence chooses to not write anything about them if they arent winning.

I have a friend who is a port season ticket holder and after about round five she refused to go to any more port games. Maybe all port fans have followed suite.

Nice to see he said we only triumphed over Collingwood through "luck"

Bulldogs 7 points, Freo and Port 14 points?

We had a chance to win all 3 of those games but were somewhat UNlucky.