Mega Thread Official Trade Week Thread

Its ok mate, i was just hanging some shit on you as it amuses me when people big note themselves about meeting players

http://www.thepunch.com.au/articles/my-name-is-emily-from-melbourne-and-i-hate-football/

I suggest you read this article for some perspective. BUT..

Back to trade week.

Anyone hoping for McLean type deals is going to be sorely disappointed. We simply don't have players of ANY currency that we can trade out!

Bate, Warnock and Maric are probably only worth picks that we wouldn't even use. The best we can hope for it an upgrade of some mid-late picks like the Cheney deal last year.

People can hang onto getting one of the 17yos however will NOT be happy if we pay overs to the GWScum to get one of them! By all means go get Crouch but anymore than 2 first rounders for an untried 17yo is ludicrous!!
If it comes down to a bidding war with Footscray, i say let them have him and we'll take 3 first rounders into next year

Fair enough, haha.

I'd be interested to know exactly what our mini draft strategy is, I'm sure the club has limits.

And I'm sure they are more conservative than some of the trades stated on here.

Latest from The Age

...The Demons' Matthew Bate was also of interest to the Dogs.

North Melbourne has inquired about Melbourne's Addam Maric, having already held talks with him...

That's interesting. I'd not be giving Maric away for nothing, while he may not have much currency he is contracted & unless we're offered something decent he should be held for at least 1 season under a different coach/coaching staff.

Liam Anthony has been mentioned as being available- what the hell happened to him this year? Looked great in his first couple of seasons and disappeared this year. Injury? Anyone reckon he's worth looking at for Maric? Certainly no world beater but then neither is Maric...

I think we would be well ahead in that trade. If Anthony wants out, then we should definitely make a play for him. Maybe Maric + 4th Round Pick for Anthony?

Anthony has had injury problems, but he can find the footy. I'd be surprised if North let him go though...

Was Anthony the one who the fans turned on cos he couldn't kick a goal to save himself? If that was him I'm pretty sure he was having some stress issues associated with the rpessure from the fans and the media so wouldn't surprise me if he wanted a change of scene. Question is would he hold up for us and flourish with a new environment? Or does he not have the mental fortitude to make it in the big league?

That was Thomas.

Anthony racks up the footy for fun but butchers it. I'd prefer to keep him though.

Nobody, anywhere, ever is interested in 8 and a half goals a year from Matty Campbell. He's behind Lindsay Thomas FFS

Career average of more than a goal per game.

He's injury prone, not a dud.

I think we would be well ahead in that trade. If Anthony wants out, then we should definitely make a play for him. Maybe Maric + 4th Round Pick for Anthony?

Maric not enough, so you sweeten the deal with pick 75? haha, nice one :rolleyes:

I doubt North would let Anthony go, but he is 24 so maybe with youth on Maric's side & North doing the enquiring, they might agree to a straight swap.

Not sure where he'd fit in our side, I think he'd get a game, but long term wise. Could be a win-win trade, both players improve in a new environment.

Re: the 17yo draft, let's also remember that it won't be easy to find space for 3 first round picks next year given the young nature of our list. And besides, we can't just keep topping up with talented kids for the sake of it.

So lets talk something fun instead of this GWS crap...

Jordan Lisle what are we going to pay?

I will start off with Bate and a crap pick? thoughts

I know very little about him so have no idea of his actual value, i do know he is like 196cm and 96kg can take marks doesnt necessarily kick goals though?

Hawthorn have a history of picking up our duds see; Kyle Cheney and Cameron Bruce.

Apparently the Bulldogs are after Bate? If so, I would say that giving them our third rounder (54) for their second rounder (39) sounds appropriate, although it is a so called weak draft so perhaps an established player instead, but the only people the Bullies seem willing to sacrifice are Addison, Stack and Hill. Perhaps we have a spot for Addison? He looked solid in the '10 finals series.

Perhaps we have a spot for Addison? He looked solid in the '10 finals series.

Joke post right?

You watched this guy play??

Think Brent Grigic's younger less talented brother, then mix that with Damien Gaspar and then you will still have a player who is by far more superior than Dylan Addison.

My trade of the week.

pick 12 + player (Warnock or Bate or Maric) to Lions for Clark - move onto West Coast for Gaff to Melb.

Maybe a win win .. then we can maybe go after another Mid etc.

Just a thought ..

My trade of the week.

pick 12 + player (Warnock or Bate or Maric) to Lions for Clark - move onto West Coast for Gaff to Melb.

Just a thought ..

Will never happen Warnock is GC bound according to the rumour mill

My trade of the week.

Just a thought ..

Don't worry about it not happening because of Warnock, it'll never happen because you mentioned Gaff. Why do people continually put up people's names just because they're from a particular state?

We make out like massive bandits there, giving up pick 12 & a fringe player for pick 4 from the previous years stronger draft who has already had a year at AFL level & shown he should be a very good player

And even if Gaff was homesick, he's in the first year of a 2 year draftee contract, why would WC give him up just for Clark? Off the top of my head I can't think of 1 draftee to get traded in their first year as a 19yo, let alone someone of Gaff's quality

Don't worry about it not happening because of Warnock, it'll never happen because you mentioned Gaff. Why do people continually put up people's names just because they're from a particular state?

We make out like massive bandits there, giving up pick 12 & a fringe player for pick 4 from the previous years stronger draft who has already had a year at AFL level & shown he should be a very good player

And even if Gaff was homesick, he's in the first year of a 2 year draftee contract, why would WC give him up just for Clark? Off the top of my head I can't think of 1 draftee to get traded in their first year as a 19yo, let alone someone of Gaff's quality

Its really up to WC if they want Clark they know they will have to give up something good.. maybe not Gaff but another like. You never know its all about what the team wants and if they have to many of the one type.

WC don't want Clark. It's just a ruse created by the Lions to get a better price from Freo.

And as Chip stated, why do people continually throw Gaff's name up. His currency is equal to that of Trengove, so suggestions of pick 12 and Warnock are outright ludicrous.

I wouldn't say WC dont want Clark, but they certainly don't desperately need him or need to give away someone like Gaff to get him.

Cox is getting old & Lynch won't last too much longer, Clark would suit them well as a forward/2nd ruck option to back up NicNat, but they aren't going to get bent over for it. And I bet they'd love to steal him when Freo want him :p

Your situation could work if you replaced Gaff with Koby Stevens, then we are talking business of pretty fair to each club, maybe Brisbane would feel they should get more for Clark but they might have to settle for a bit less & maybe pick 12 is a bit much for us to give up for Stevens, but this situation is much more like than Gaff getting traded

I'd strongly consider that trade & you'd really just have to put it down to where you rated Stevens against the other kids in the draft. For those who don't know him, strong midfielder, throws himself stupidly at the ball to the point he's been told to reign it back. He was pick 23 2 years ago (so he's 20 now), played some good games but had a few injuries, played really well in the WAFL (finished top 10 in the Sandover missing a few games playing for WC & injury) but the eagles midfield was pretty damn competitive to get into this year. First contract is ending this year & there are some WC rumours he's looking elsewhere for opportunity & MFC (along with Carlton) are rumour to be interested.

John McCarthy available. 21 y.o midefielder with some experience and a developed body. Could be a good inclusion for the next couple of years whilst the others develop.

Would we be more chance of landing someone like Jordan Lisle now that Gunston is officially a Hawk? No idea if we are really chasing him but I would have thought it means Lisle's chances of a regular spot in the 22 is pretty small.

If I were him I'd be having a long, hard think about moving somewhere else... he's a long way back in the queue now. I think we should definitely have a crack at landing him... shouldn't cost too much given he's only played 5 games.

True.

I wouldn't mind having a look at Ebert either - The Hun is reporting Geelong had a crack with their first pick but he doesn't want to go there (as he probably knows he will find it tough to crack their midfield) but I'm sure he would get a run with us. Just a thought, doubt we would chase him.

True.

I wouldn't mind having a look at Ebert either - The Hun is reporting Geelong had a crack with their first pick but he doesn't want to go there (as he probably knows he will find it tough to crack their midfield) but I'm sure he would get a run with us. Just a thought, doubt we would chase him.

He doesnt want to go to Geelong as he only requested a trade to go home to SA. No chance for us.