the_fresh

dowdenphotography.com
1. Leon Davis- Since adding the tackle to his game he has shot up our list. Gets heaps of the ball, uses it well and will kick goals when resting forward
2. Sean Rusling- We've seen less than 20 odd games of him, in every game we've seen we like him more and more. Needs to work out his timing and kicking needs to get better but if he stays healthy that will come.
3. Jon McCarthy- Young & uses the ball well, needs more of it tho.
4. Alan Didak- All class, has to bounce back from last year and win back his team-mates and supporters with hard work.
5. Nick Maxwell- Love this guy, will never take a backward step and can't think of a better person leading this great club, skills aren't the best but does kick goals when needed and makes up for it in tougness
6. Tyson Goldsack- useful backman who can shut players down
7. Paul Medhurst- The biggest turn around of a career I can remember, seems to love the hard work and team play that this team has been built on
8. Harry O'Brien- Very under-rated and does his job each week. uses the ball ok, can run off and play tall or small
9. Jack Anthony- Everyone keeps saying he'll be a better backman, but there are players who become stars playing roles they weren't drafted to play. Takes a nice mark, very quick, dead eye dick & is a team player up forward. Will make it hard for teams with him & Rusling firing
10. Scott Pendlebury- Has added a bit of toughness to his game. Can see the basketball in his game & uses the ball very well. Midfielder who kicks goals
11. Shane O'bree- Ball winner but always a worry when he kicks it
12. Shannon Cox- Not too sure what to make of him, he looks too small to play AFL and reminds me of Egan
13. Dale Thomas- His best is amazing, his worst is so bad it's laughable, needs to bridge that gap
14. Anthony Corrie- not too sure yet
15. Leigh Brown- was picked for leadership and has a big role to play, still has a few years and will play a big role this year
16. Nathan Brown- a boy in a mans body, took on some the games best forwards and apart from Fev taking it to him he was huge. This year he'll be the AA full back
17. Dayne Beams- too early
18. Marty Clarke- I've said for a while he should be used as a run-with player, who will hurt you on the turn over. quick, fit, uses the ball well and has some smarts about him
19. Cam Wood- dropped off last year still young and learning the game, will get better and its just a waiting game with ruckman
20. Ben Reid- Must start playing week in week out or be traded, can play but theres no use him playing 2's
21. Sharrod Wellingham- Love this kid, looks 12, can run with players and gets lots of the ball, needs to use it better but that should come
22. Steele Sidebottom- Buzz kid, haven't seena lot of him but heard big things
23. Anthony Rocca- Can't stand this over-rated hack and for the good of the team better not play
24. Tarkyn Lockyer- much loved by the club and supporters, smart and kicks goals or does a job down back
25. Josh Fraser- As useless as **** on a bull. Always shows something but then has 3 weeks of crap. Gets beaten by lesser ruckmen, and does a big job against the better ones, last chance IMO and is he doesn't shape up get rid of him
26. Ben Johnson- I wanted him gone at the end of last season but he thinks he has found that love for the game again. Last chance
27. Jarrad Blight- ?????? who?????
28. Danny Stanley- Needs to find his role
29. Ryan Cook- who knows, I wasn't happy with his ball use of what I saw of him
30. Brent McCaffer- he needs a small forward to go down before he'll even get a chance
31. Chris Dawes- I'll keep him in the side before Rocca. Can take a good mark and reads the game well
32. Travis Cloke- B&F winner and CHF since 19, still learning the game, kicking is better and will be hard to stop this year
33. Brad Dick- Quick but needs to use the ball better, no use getting it if you're turning it over
34. Alan Toovey- How? Why?
35. Simon Prestigiacomo- If fit N. Brown becomes the 2nd key back which helps the side out.
36. Dane Swan- Ball winner who uses it, kicks goals, can take a over head mark. Hard to stop and our best midfielder
37. Luke Rounds- ?????
39. Heath Shaw- I wanna see a move to the midfield, he uses the ball well and it stops clubs draging him deep.
40. Chris Bryan- I like his hardness, small for a ruckman and not too bad as a back up. Does some very dumb things but if used right will play a role. I want to see him rested forward where I think he will be dangerous
43. Jaxon Barham- Have to see first

12. Shannon Cox- Not too sure what to make of him, he looks too small to play AFL and reminds me of Egan

15. Leigh Brown- was picked for leadership and has a big role to play, still has a few years and will play a big role this year

23. Anthony Rocca- Can't stand this over-rated hack and for the good of the team better not play

25. Josh Fraser- As useless as **** on a bull. Always shows something but then has 3 weeks of crap. Gets beaten by lesser ruckmen, and does a big job against the better ones, last chance IMO and is he doesn't shape up get rid of him

. Brent McCaffer- he needs a small forward to go down before he'll even get a chance

31. Chris Dawes- I'll keep him in the side before Rocca. Can take a good mark and reads the game well

33. Brad Dick- Quick but needs to use the ball better, no use getting it if you're turning it over

39. Heath Shaw- I wanna see a move to the midfield, he uses the ball well and it stops clubs draging him deep.

You and I appear to have very different readings of players and the games so I am not going to pick apart everything I disagree with in your evaluation but a few of the main ones

You can not honestly say Rocca is over rated and follow it by saying Dawes can take a good mark and reads the play well. They are Dawes too main flaws. Dawes is very often lost in the play. Gets himself caught in no mans land to the ball carrier far too often and is very poor above his head. Rocca is miles ahead of Dawes at this stage. Regardless of your veiw of Rocca he provides a target and creates a contest which is something Dawes is not ready to do.

Dick is one of the best players by foot at the club and I am going to go out on a limb and say you just made that up, or got him mixed up with someone else.

Macaffer is not a small crumbing foward and is more likely to come in and play as a tall then he is to play as a crumber. The only of the small brigade he is comparable to is Medhurst who played tall last year.

Cox small for AFL???? he needed to lose weight last year and increase his fitness. The only thing Egan like about Cox is his lack of accountability. Dick is the one who needs to put on size maybe you got the two confused although both are superb by foot.

How can someone useless do well against the better ruckmen in the comp??? that is useful is it not. Regardless of your thoughts of Fraser his still by far the best ruckmen on our list. The amount of daylight between Fraser and the next collingwood ruck is crazy. Fraser's tap work is questionable at times, his around the ground work is generally fine he just really struggles with fitness and seems to be a guy who struggles more then most when not fully fit.

There is a difference between being a leader and being experinced. L Brown is the second. Running (albeit very slow running) around with not to much accountablity and being terrible in one on one contests despite being one of the biggest guys on the ground is not exactly inspiring leadership material.

Heath Shaw is not clean enough with his hands to play midfield. He may play like a loose run about wingmen but that takes away one of his best strength being his reading of the incoming ball to the foward 50.

I stopped reading your list after this.

You suck !

Hmmm some odd descriptions there.

On Fraser, yes he frustrates me at times too but at his best he is easily in the top 10 ruckmen in the league and he generally performs well in big games-refer finals series last year.

You dont do this very often do you mate?

Good effort even though i dont agree with alot of it

27. Jarrad Blight- ?????? who?????

These three comments are useless enough to invalidate the whole post.

First, Cox is a wingman/flanker that is 189cm... That's clearly big enough to play AFL - He's actually got pretty much ideal size.

Second, what do you mean "who?" You're offering opinions when you haven't even read up on who we drafted last year, or read training reports, or watched the videos on the CFC website. When you came across his name, did it not occur to you to look him up?

Third, pretty much anyone who's seen Brad Dick play will tell you that he is comfortably Top 5 at the club for footskills. He is absolutely immaculate, and is definitely the best on his non-preferred of anyone at the club. His wrong foot is better than 3/4s of the list's preferred foot.

I understand that it's just your opinion, but honestly, you could have done the slightest amount of research, or at least only posted about the players you knew enough about. You clearly know nothing at all about these three players.

Firstly I may have rushed some as time was getting to me in the end.

Secondly no I don't read draft or training reports and go on what I see, I've played high levels of footy, I'm able to read a game better than most people I believe.
Rocca to me is past whatever his best was. Fraser is just far to lazy, doesn't chase when needed and once in a while has a good game.

Secondly no I don't read draft or training reports and go on what I see, I've played high levels of footy, I'm able to read a game better than most people I believe.
Judging by the results of your "reading", I'd say that there's fair case to say that you aren't so crash hot.

well, that's different. No matter. What about the general shape of the list overall?

I'd say it probably still needs a young KPD, more oomph in the ruck, and probably a year or two into the new young mids to really be called potent. Meanwhile, the 'older' brigade of OBree, Johnson, Presti, Lockyer, Fraser (& Rocca?) will still be needed to do the heavy lifting.

You are an imbecile this guy has nothing but Collingwood in his heart, he bleeds for our great club. Name another person who is a higher 1% er than him. :thumbsd::thumbsd:

Get rid of you TWIT :cool::cool:

Rocca to me is past whatever his best was. Fraser is just far to lazy, doesn't chase when needed and once in a while has a good game.

Pump up your tyres much??

An opinion can't be wrong but if you have played high level footy and read a game better than most then your summation of Rocca's importance to the team astounds me

mate that sounds a little bit arrogant yeah??

Ive decided this thread needs this
vader-fail.jpg

Sorry dude when snag and vinnie and well most of the thread think your ratings suck there is nothing else to say but EPIC FAIL

i wish you luck with your future posting, possibly improve alot though

I think everyone is being a bit harsh on him to be honest.

Posting epic fail pictures is pretty uncalled for, especially since you defend people ripping into Dave so passionately...

I don't agree with some of his thoughts, but he stuck his neck out there and hasn't just stuck with the opinions of the masses.

I think everyone is being a bit harsh on him to be honest.

Posting epic fail pictures is pretty uncalled for, especially since you defend people ripping into Dave so passionately...

I don't agree with some of his thoughts, but he stuck his neck out there and hasn't just stuck with the opinions of the masses.
Mate some of his opinions seemed to be based around lies and guess work.

He thought cox was a small player, he had no idea who a drafte was, he just went troll or rocca and fraser.

Maybe the epic fail picture was harsh (yeah it probably is) but at least if you are going to do a rating dont get all arrogant and think you can just post bull and not get picked up on it.

Edit: i also defend dave as he cops abuse in every thread even when he hasnt done anything, if you noticed this week in his rubbish threads i have posted nothing to defend him.

A few of them are very questionable, I agree. I think his Brad Dick comment might have been based on the NAb Cup game against Adelaide where his disposal was pretty sub par.

I think some of what he said had merit, but was just said to the extreme and was far too harsh and blatant.

Aside from the obvious questionable opinions, the list was ok imo.

I think he intentionally made it extreme either way, like i said if he had of put out a list and then didnt try and defend it by making himself out to be some kind of footballing superstar i wouldnt of been as harsh.

Some of the comments like i said were just cut paste trolls, or cut and paste fanboy comments. There was no in between actual fact work imo

He started off alright, but he got shaky around the Rocca area, and lost me when he said "who" to Blight.

How can you do a list assessment that you expect to be taken seriously when you don't actually know everyone on the list?

You did a similar thing to Rounds.

opinions are one thing, and there are some players i like less than others...but to get all shirty and claim to be a football brain really gave me the shits.

i agree, blatant troll on fraser and rocca