Outsider View on WCE drafting 2014

Good post and well said BOND 007.

I had the very same discussion with swannies earlier today and transition ( ball movement ) was the focal point of our assessment of how we had drafted.

I have been quite critical of our recruiters over the last few drafts , however this year I am paying credit where its due, they seem to have recruited better this time round. Its more the types of players that they have drafted that has impressed me more so than the names and how others rated them.

Pace in it self is very overrated if the player doesn't use it to his advantage.

Two of our quickest players last year were Ash Smith and Jarred Brennan and neither used their pace well.
None on these boards seem to miss either player and supported the concept of their delisting.
Foot skills are far more important than pace.
Both Duggan and Jackson have very good foot skills and IMO are going to be an asset to our list.

Just goes to show you how much a coach and his style can directly and indirectly influence recruiters decisions. probably a good reason why senior coaches should have a life span.

Was more thinking menadue in the 2nd rnd. Of course you have to consider all the qualities of a player in drafting, the qu really is whether outside pace is a need for wc and if so what flows from that as far as recruiting goes. Some argue its not a need of ours, I disagree.

No doubt WC could do with outside speed - but they need quality ball users more because without them the Lewis Jetta's of the world become ineffective or worst still a liability.

With the WCE picks I personally would have taken Lever, Blakely, Gore and R.McKenzie just from a value standpoint. Then as a rookie Bampton. They're the guys discounting needs based on my power rankings that I would have taken. Similarly like West Coast's eventual draft it doesn't fill the pace need but through the midfield and the key position posts anyway they would be some in my view interesting additions.

Pfff. I'm glad you weren't in charge of our drafting.

Yeah was a bit deflating to hear Knightmare give us a 4.5 or a 5 out of 10 score. Fully appreciate the honesty and non biased opinions. However im with Falcon Strike and would much rather hear how we were the winners of the draft, 10 out of 10, all of our draftees should of gone top 10 etc!!

:)

II think that you and many others are confusing "honesty and non biased opinions" with a put down disguised as "honest and unbiased". If these guys were half as good as they portend to be they would be recruiting for a club, not on these forums.

I put my trust on our recruiters, knowing that only time will allow us to judge their selections fully.

Pfff. I'm glad you weren't in charge of our drafting.

As an exercise in drafting best available as opposed to drafting with needs in mind, it's an interesting comparison - the players identified by Knightmare were all rated quite highly and were good selections for the clubs that took them - back in 2009 we took Weedon and Stevens to boost our midfield and left Carlisle on the board because we didn't need talls at the time. I know who I would have preferred so it will be interesting to see how our four draftees develop in comparison to others that were available around their pick

II think that you and many others are confusing "honesty and non biased opinions" with a put down disguised as "honest and unbiased". If these guys were half as good as they portend to be they would be recruiting for a club, not on these forums.

I put my trust on our recruiters, knowing that only time will allow us to judge their selections fully.
Our recruiters have made their fair share of blunders so whilst they are better placed to make decisions than most they aren't infallible.

As for Knightmare's assessment I disagree with elements of it but I don't question that its anything other than an honest opinion and I appreciate him coming on here and providing his thoughts which provide an interesting counterpoint to our naturally biased views

that's a bit harsh mate. all those posters were specifically invited to this thread to give their opinions on our draft performance, specifically because they watch a shit-ton of junior footy, a luxury few of us enjoy.

none of them are taking pot-shots or pretending to be anything else so your comments are misguided IMO.

How is it that Brisbane can just casually pick up gun mids without even trying - with ordinary picks and we can't pick mids to save our lives with first rounders?

Wtf are we - the mid free zone - are we like totally friendzoned by mids?

Did we use all our midfield mojo in the 05/06 period and now we have been banned from owning mids by the rspcm because we neglected them with horrible cases of op and addiction?
Haha post of the week

With ,Adamson, Brophy, waterman, McGuinnes, Sheed,Nelson, College, Cavka, Duggan, Tunbridge, Lucas. we only really need two to become really solid player's on the verge of been b+ to A grade midfielders and our midfield will look alot stronger, surely at least two players out of the eleven can make a impact in our midfield ?

How is it that Brisbane can just casually pick up gun mids without even trying - with ordinary picks and we can't pick mids to save our lives with first rounders?

Wtf are we - the mid free zone - are we like totally friendzoned by mids?

Did we use all our midfield mojo in the 05/06 period and now we have been banned from owning mids by the rspcm because we neglected them with horrible cases of op and addiction?

Not yet they aren't. That's if they haven't peaked already.

From an outsiders perepective we (Freo) had the draft you guys had to have. We picked up three players with elite speed and a possible Pridis replacement in Blakely. I wouldnt worry about Duggan though. His kicking in the highlight reel was some of the best I have ever seen. It is kinda weird that both WA teams didnt trade and then drafted players who didnt fit what appears to be obvious needs. In our case key position players and in your case midfield speed. Im not sure how you meet a need in your team without trading or drafting a player who fits the description of the set need.

You wait and give them time to deliver.

Freo has gone tall two drafts straight, they need to wait a couple of years to see if they have what it takes. You can't continue drafting similar types three years straight.

Eagles have quality talls and great depth in that area and have drafted / traded in a lot of mids / running BHFers over the past two years and then went another 6 this year with one being 193cm running tall in Lamb.

Sheed, Karapeny, Newman, Yeo, Ellis and now Duggan, Lamb, Neson, Cavka (who is my tip to surprise) plus Waterman and Lucas as a 23 year old rookie.

Foot skills and thinking fast is just as valuable if not more so than just speed.

You wait and give them time to deliver.

Freo has gone tall two drafts straight
, they need to wait a couple of years to see if they have what it takes. You can't continue drafting similar types three years straight.

Eagles have quality talls and great depth in that area and have drafted / traded in a lot of mids / running BHFers over the past two years and then went another 6 this year with one being 193cm running tall in Lamb.

Sheed, Karapeny, Newman, Yeo, Ellis and now Duggan, Lamb, Neson, Cavka (who is my tip to surprise) plus Waterman and Lucas as a 23 year old rookie.

Foot skills and thinking fast is just as valuable if not more so than just speed.

Only issue Fremantle have is that Apeness is the only one who's highly ranked and they had to reach a little to get him. Talls certainly do need time to prove themselves.

- Josh Simpson (Delisted)
- Tanner Smith (rookied 2014)
- Max Duffy (exciting medium)
- Jack Hannath (PSD)

- Michael Apeness
- Alex Pearce

- Brad Grey
- Matt Taberner

As far as leg speed goes we've added Bennell, Yeo into our best 25. Last year we added Karpany, Main and Powell all of whom have some speed. Newman could add more zip to the front half if he proves worthy. Lamb is obviously a jet. Nelson isn't a slouch and Cavka has elite endurance.

The two "slow" players have their own pace anyway, Waterman has good burst speed and Duggan is more than capable on the outside. It's Duggan's decision making that will need to hold up on the inside and on the spread due to his lack of explosive power.

It's Duggan's decision making that will need to hold up on the inside and on the spread due to his lack of explosive power.
Thankfully, from all accounts it looks like it will given his performance in the TAC cup. I think we drafted for decision making and poise under pressure, which is definitely addressing a need, as most of our mids make poor decisions under pressure. I think taking fast players without the poise would have probably been more detrimental than of benefit to the side.

Oh surely you jest SpaceClef, they're fast and that's all that matters.
Yes, your sarcasm meters should be going off the charts.

Man you are a twit !!!
Why is it when you invite opinions of others the village idiot pipes up ?

I feel freo's draft was in preparation for a couple of big fish in the free agency . Leuinburger and rance will be high on your agenda !

So this was an invitation to hear a couple of independent views on our most recent draft haul, which at this stage looks like neither of them rated very highly, on a needs basis.

The entire board pretty much just disregards their opinion anyway and says "yeah nah i disagree..." and then there is actually a clown who attacks them over it like they have a secret agenda?

Interesting thread.

So this was an invitation to hear a couple of independent views on our most recent draft haul, which at this stage looks like neither of them rated very highly, on a needs basis.

The entire board pretty much just disregards their opinion anyway and says "yeah nah i disagree..." and then there is actually a clown who attacks them over it like they have a secret agenda?

Interesting thread.

I'd suggest the assessment of our 'needs' is pretty subjective...

This. I dont doubt their knowledge of a player due to how much they watch these kids play, but I am not too concerned on what they think we need to take the flag out. Their opinion isnt worth more than anyone elses on BF in that regard.

Im just happy they have not said any of the guys we picked up are duds.

Maybe it is just me... but **** me i hate people saying we needed to draft in leg speed.

It is the new soy latte of football. The 'In" thing

I'd take Sam Mitchell over Isaac Smith. Kieren Jack over Leroy Jetta and Travis Boak over Polec.

Maybe it is just me... but **** me i hate people saying we needed to draft in leg speed.

It is the new soy latte of football. The 'In" thing

I'd take Sam Mitchell over Isaac Smith. Kieren Jack over Leroy Jetta and Travis Boak over Polec.

I agree - leg speed is obviously just one part of what makes up a footballer - but talk about cherry picking your examples lol I'd take Patrick Dangerfield over Brock McLean and Cyril Rioli over Adam Carter

Outsider View on WCE drafting 2014