Overrated things in life

• Thread starter Thread starter Cruyff14

Go back to talking about how cheese and other trivial everyday things are overrated, and watch the thousands mill to this thread to spend their hours away talking about trivial everyday things, laughing, patting each on the back, etc.

Cheese is overrated. Life isn't. Every day can bring something and be precious. It is overrated in that we do have to work/make money to live in a relevant level of comfort. But the competition social Darwinism aspect means we are always on our toes. We can never self actualise and as much as people want to it is either outside their circumstance or they are no in the right environment.

It doesn't matter what one is doing or not doing. It just doesn't matter. Life is overrated. Life is bullshit. You're all just preoccupied and amused with something that isn't conducive to yourselves. You're all just slaves, batteries, conduits, feeding something unknown beyond yourselves. Call it God or Devil or whatever the hell it is. Not saying put a gun to your heads. But understand it, and the self, and the relationship at play. Be cognizant of it, wary of it, don't give yourself up to it. And that will help you steer the course of Life a bit better, for your own self-preservation, self-empowerment. If you can, MAYBE, there's a chance you "win life".

Who cares about God and the Devil but if we were just considering ourselves then society would rupture. A lot of life can be overrated if you are not true to yourself. But like i said in not everyone is in a position to fulfill their soul's purpose. Life in that sense getting to that point (be it through work, winning the lotto, navigating difficult relationships) is overrated.

1. Technology
2. Crowded places for an event, I.e any of that ‘day on the green’ shit
3. Socialisation
4. Bali & Thailand
5. Drinking a lot of alcohol
6. Noosa & Port Douglas (Noosa more so)
7. Byron Bay
8. New Years eve
9. HR
10. The majority of mainstream tv shows
11. Any reality program
12. St Kilda

Food truck is just a wanky name for a burger van.
Don’t rate food trucks at all. So ****ing overrated. People think they’re getting some amazing experience because the food is coming out of the ‘food truck’. They also don’t realise the food is about 5x overpriced because it’s from a ‘food truck’. Whilst I am on a rant again;

1. Mt Bulla - every prick goes there because it’s closer.
2. Portsea & Sorrento - so so overrated. Beaches are no good, literally every campaigner from Toorak to Camberwell goes there on holidays. It’s not actually a holiday destination, it’s just private school toffs moving down the peninsula to do the same stuff.
3. This is my massive hate right now - MODERN PUBS! I’ve got a feeling I’ve had a rant about this somewhere before. Garden State Hotel. **** me. Tried to order a meal from these campaigners and it’s all this shared food and tapas crap. Each tiny bowl is about $14. The staff are even worse. Some 18 year old with a fake tan tried to give me a ‘tour’. I don’t want a tour, I want a beer and steak I can eat at the counter.

The esplanade is another one. God they’ve ****ed that place. You know you’re in a place that’s a flog hole when you have to justify to some meat head bouncer why you are wanting to come in. Absolute ****ing dive.

Pubs aren’t pubs like they used to be. My closest pub would be the auburn hotel, and that’s actually ok. I don’t mind that at all. To me a good pub has the following;

No pokies
Beer garden
No security
Heritage & history
Good range of beers
Lack of campaigners and people that can wear what they want whilst still being civil

1. Technology
2. Crowded places for an event, I.e any of that ‘day on the green’ shit
3. Socialisation
4. Bali & Thailand
5. Drinking a lot of alcohol
6. Noosa & Port Douglas (Noosa more so)
7. Byron Bay
8. New Years eve
9. HR
10. The majority of mainstream tv shows
11. Any reality program
12. St Kilda
Does anyone rate St Kilda?

Don’t rate food trucks at all. So ******* overrated. People think they’re getting some amazing experience because the food is coming out of the ‘food truck’. They also don’t realise the food is about 5x overpriced because it’s from a ‘food truck’. Whilst I am on a rant again;

2. Portsea & Sorrento - so so overrated. Beaches are no good, literally every campaigner from Toorak to Camberwell goes there on holidays. It’s not actually a holiday destination, it’s just private school toffs moving down the peninsula to do the same stuff.
3. This is my massive hate right now - MODERN PUBS! I’ve got a feeling I’ve had a rant about this somewhere before. Garden State Hotel. **** me. Tried to order a meal from these campaigners and it’s all this shared food and tapas crap. Each tiny bowl is about $14. The staff are even worse. Some 18 year old with a fake tan tried to give me a ‘tour’. I don’t want a tour, I want a beer and steak I can eat at the counter.

The esplanade is another one. God they’ve ****** that place. You know you’re in a place that’s a flog hole when you have to justify to some meat head bouncer why you are wanting to come in. Absolute ******* dive.

Pubs aren’t pubs like they used to be. My closest pub would be the auburn hotel, and that’s actually ok. I don’t mind that at all. To me a good pub has the following;

No pokies
Beer garden
No security
Heritage & history
Good range of beers
Lack of campaigners and people that can wear what they want whilst still being civil
Silent Alarm, is that you?

Does anyone rate St Kilda?
"St Kilda's Alright" legendary bit of vinyl by I Spit On Your Gravy.

Original pressing got confiscated by the Vice Squad and the band got charged under obscenity laws.The judge had a listen and said it wasn't obscene it was crap and threw the case out.

Don’t rate food trucks at all. So ******* overrated. People think they’re getting some amazing experience because the food is coming out of the ‘food truck’. They also don’t realise the food is about 5x overpriced because it’s from a ‘food truck’. Whilst I am on a rant again;

The esplanade is another one. God they’ve ****** that place. You know you’re in a place that’s a flog hole when you have to justify to some meat head bouncer why you are wanting to come in. Absolute ******* dive.

No pokies
Beer garden
No security
Heritage & history
Good range of beers

Yeah food trucks are massively overrated. Can get some nice small meals but are way overpriced. Plus often the places are so packed you have to line up for ages and the idiots in front take for ages to order (like they haven't been in line for 20 mins working out what they want)

As for Portsea & Sorreto - some nice beaches but over summer its like a carpark, cant get in and out of anywhere, every joint is packed - much rather the bellerine peninsula side.

Pubs are pretty crap these days (for your Saturday beer drinking session) - they all want to have craft beers, weird menu's etc. They are ok for the occasional pissup with mates but none would be good for your every weekend session. Country pubs are where it is at. They are what pubs used to be like. 3 or 4 beers on tap, normal menu (parmas, steak, burgers etc). No lines for beers service, get around in thongs, shorts and singlet. Play a bit of pool etc.

Our old local in outer suburbs, we went back for a session not long ago and were told to be quiet or get kicked out. All we were doing was having a chat and a few laughs. No-one was being an idiot or foul language. Then at 9.30pm on a saturday they say they are closing the bar and we have to move to the pokie side (where drinks are more expensive and any good vibes are non existent). FMD. We used to be able to drink at the bar until at least midnight (and im sure 2am). No wonder the joint was basically empty.

Glamping. I went camping on the weekend with some mates and a group of what I called "professional campers" rocked up at the site in RV's, they had a portable BBQ, set up a giant marquee, had an outdoor dining table setup, a number of generators and even had a TV going.

Whats the point? Why bother when you're going to basically sleep in a queen sized bed inside a huge RV and spend all day watching TV drinking refridgerated cans of beer?

They didn't even have a fire going!

Yeah food trucks are massively overrated. Can get some nice small meals but are way overpriced. Plus often the places are so packed you have to line up for ages and the idiots in front take for ages to order (like they haven't been in line for 20 mins working out what they want)

As for Portsea & Sorreto - some nice beaches but over summer its like a carpark, cant get in and out of anywhere, every joint is packed - much rather the bellerine peninsula side.

Pubs are pretty crap these days (for your Saturday beer drinking session) - they all want to have craft beers, weird menu's etc. They are ok for the occasional pissup with mates but none would be good for your every weekend session. Country pubs are where it is at. They are what pubs used to be like. 3 or 4 beers on tap, normal menu (parmas, steak, burgers etc). No lines for beers service, get around in thongs, shorts and singlet. Play a bit of pool etc.

Our old local in outer suburbs, we went back for a session not long ago and were told to be quiet or get kicked out. All we were doing was having a chat and a few laughs. No-one was being an idiot or foul language. Then at 9.30pm on a saturday they say they are closing the bar and we have to move to the pokie side (where drinks are more expensive and any good vibes are non existent). FMD. We used to be able to drink at the bar until at least midnight (and im sure 2am). No wonder the joint was basically empty.
That’s the thing I don’t get. The huge lines. Why wait for 20-30 minutes to get food? It’s ridiculous. Portsea & Sorrento just doesn’t typify what I call a holiday destination. When you’re back to back in traffic and car parks are full by 7:30am, it’s just not a holiday, it’s your local car park or shopping centre in Melbourne. To me a beach holiday was heading down to Waratah bay, walking out the back of the house to the beach and spending all day there. Getting groceries on the way in from Tarwin Lower or fish creek. Heading to Wilson’s prom for a few nights camping, or going to sandy point fishing and tearing around sand dunes.

We had family in Byron Bay whilst I was growing up, it was a pretty decent holiday destination up until about 2000 then it just went off the charts. I’ve never understood the attraction with it. Wategos beach you’d have to be at at 6:30am to get a car park, and the main beaches on any given day were ridiculously busy. Busy, full of yuppies, over developed.

As for pubs? You’re spot on. I don’t mind craft beers as I don’t like Carlton or VB, but all this extravagant menu rubbish just throws me. There are plenty of good pubs around the north. Brunswick, Fitzroy, etc. some of them are flog gushing holes, but heaps are very understated. I am not much of a drinker anymore but if I do get out I’d like to go somewhere pretty low key as you described.

I'm guessing the big dude who scarpered will be "known to police". It looked like he was working through some past issues.

Can you imagine if there was a Sudanese chap in the vid?

St Kilda in the Summer. It's like a flame for dickhead moths.
Yeah agree. God I hate people like this. Anyone that throws a coward punch should get a minimum jail term irrespective of injury caused, and anyone that does it and kills someone shouldn’t see the light of day for 35 years minimum.

St Kilda was ok when I was younger, the old esplanade was great, but it’s just a major epicentre for total ****wits now.

The devil is in the details.

Anyway, sure, people's brains cook and overload indulging in "heavy" talk. Tho, to my credit, I try to get to the gist, and say it how it is, without all the airy-fairy BS of intellectuals and artists. I'm not saying I'm better than sliced bread, just my nature to be forthright. People are just naturally cynical, thinking they have all the answers, or that no one has the answers. When there ARE answers, and not what THEY think they are. I don't have specific answers, but I know what Life is, and what the Self is, and that we're all being played. I'm trying to stay a step ahead of it.
I don’t know what you mean by getting played? I mean the way I see it life is really what you make of it right? There’s always going to be an overarching body, the government, and they’ll set rules befitting what’s best for everyone (as a whole - can’t please us all). We live in a capitalist world, which is positive and negative. But overall we have good access to education and health which I see as the pillars of any society and what every government should prioritise.

I think people fall into the trap of having to conform, whereas no one really has to if they don’t want to. Conformity is an issue. I am not like that, I hate conforming and being kept in line. I can’t work with lots of people because I don’t really respect that people have to play games in order to justify themselves and their existence. Crawling over bodies to reach the top is what the majority of campaigners do.

I think with age you filter out the wheat and chaff. You learn to deal with people that you only NEED to. I think it’s important to have a profession and a career objective, life isn’t going to be nice to you if you can’t work and make reasonable money. People say money isn’t everything, but it is. Money gives you the substance for life and making you comfortable. People that say that often have no money.

My tip for people - kids, when you’re young SAVE! Yes save your money and listen to older people like me who tell you the majority of things you’ll purchase are superficial and meaningless. Get an apartment. Stay at home as long as you can, sometimes until 28-30. Then move on out. Take advantage of the baby boomers guys and girls, but don’t move out at 28-30 with nothing. If you can have a little bit of real estate, you have some stability. Also mortgages are overrated, so pay it down ASAP. You’ll be 35 and have an apartment paid.

Guys, have kids at 33-35. Sign a prenuptial agreement with your partner, and have some stability. Life will be nicer to you if you can have something that someone else can’t control, your own piece of property.

Anyone that is reading this and is 18-22, stay at home and work whilst studying, also work lots. Save and save and save. Relationships at that age are overrated, have as many casual relationships as possible, but make something serious in your later twenties. Have as much sex as possible with different men and women (depending on how you’re inclined), because when you are married you can’t do it without ****ing life up.

I am 34 and life is good.

I don’t know what you mean by getting played? I mean the way I see it life is really what you make of it right? There’s always going to be an overarching body, the government, and they’ll set rules befitting what’s best for everyone (as a whole - can’t please us all). We live in a capitalist world, which is positive and negative. But overall we have good access to education and health which I see as the pillars of any society and what every government should prioritise.

I think people fall into the trap of having to conform, whereas no one really has to if they don’t want to. Conformity is an issue. I am not like that, I hate conforming and being kept in line. I can’t work with lots of people because I don’t really respect that people have to play games in order to justify themselves and their existence. Crawling over bodies to reach the top is what the majority of campaigners do.

I think with age you filter out the wheat and chaff. You learn to deal with people that you only NEED to. I think it’s important to have a profession and a career objective, life isn’t going to be nice to you if you can’t work and make reasonable money. People say money isn’t everything, but it is. Money gives you the substance for life and making you comfortable. People that say that often have no money.

My tip for people - kids, when you’re young SAVE! Yes save your money and listen to older people like me who tell you the majority of things you’ll purchase are superficial and meaningless. Get an apartment. Stay at home as long as you can, sometimes until 28-30. Then move on out. Take advantage of the baby boomers guys and girls, but don’t move out at 28-30 with nothing. If you can have a little bit of real estate, you have some stability. Also mortgages are overrated, so pay it down ASAP. You’ll be 35 and have an apartment paid.

Guys, have kids at 33-35. Sign a prenuptial agreement with your partner, and have some stability. Life will be nicer to you if you can have something that someone else can’t control, your own piece of property.

Anyone that is reading this and is 18-22, stay at home and work whilst studying, also work lots. Save and save and save. Relationships at that age are overrated, have as many casual relationships as possible, but make something serious in your later twenties. Have as much sex as possible with different men and women (depending on how you’re inclined), because when you are married you can’t do it without ******* life up.

I am 34 and life is good.
i dont mean the corporeal world of life but the mental/spiritual side. its a farce, a front, and humans dont realize it, as theyre obbiously too engaged in the corporeal world, where all their investment of time/energy goes.