P Plates

• Thread starter Thread starter dooda

I'm off mine in exactly a month.
DOesn't really mean much to me. I haven't lost any points or recieved any fines or anything anyway.

When I did my test I was flying through it no worries. I wasn't nervous at all and then I did my 3 point turn got through that fine and then I realised I was home and had my licence in the bag.

Thats when I tightened up and started shitting brickes. It wasn't until I knew that I had to stuff up bad to lose it that I goe nervous and a little over cautions.
Taking your test is like a domino effect.

One thing goes wrong and the rest starts falling down around you.

When I got my licence the ACT didn't have provisional licences. You got your full licence at 17, the legal limit was 0.08 with no Random Breath Tests.

They weren't called the good old days for nothing :D

When was this law brought in?

Dont worry - that description was only partially right. Vic is introducing new P plate laws but they are being brought in slowly. 1st was the mandatory 120 hours on your Ls for anyone who got them after July 1 this year. next stage will be introduced on July 1 2008 and includes the introduction of the 2 stage p plate laws - red then green. red ps (p1) will have greater restrictions on the types of cars they can drive, they cant use mobiles when driving, not even hands free and they cant tow anything. you will also need a good record to move on to p2 (green) and the test will apparently be harder to get ur p's in the first place

Thank god they are not changing laws in relation to passenger limits of curfews - the vic government has strongly expressed thier opposition to this for good reasons - including how it contradicts the designated driver system and the fact that atm there is little access to public transport at night.

this site explains it all - http://gls.arrivealive.vic.gov.au/pplates/site/rules.html

In SA you know go on to your P1's first for 12 months, then to a hazard perception test and depending on whether you have lost any demerit points etc then you go on to your P2's. You only have to be on those for 6 months and you don't need to display your Ps. Pretty simple in SA..

It was far more simpler than that when I was a boy.

Can you still do log book? man that was some easy stuff. :thumbsu:

6 lessons and I had my P's

you learn about 5% from driving on your Ls...

i learnt so much when I first got my Ps, especially in the first 3 months... so don't get too excited and do something stupid... but enjoy the freedom, it's great, won't know yourself

Exactly...I had a close call on my P's in my first couple of weeks driving. I got lazy and didn't pay as much attention as I should have on the road until that point.

If you avoid a crash in the first few months, you should be right as long as you don't become more aggressive.

I'm in that period now, got my Ps in mid-October.

You just learn more and improve everytime you drive so don't be too over-confident when you first get your Ps. Passing that pathetic test (in Vic anyway) doesn't automatically make you a safe driver.

I have a theory that everyone goes through three phases when they get their P's. First there's the cautious phase, you still drive pretty much like you still have L's on and learn a lot. Then after three months you start to get cocky, and its pretty much a question of luck whether you have an accident or not. After you get that wake up call you're fine.

Just remember, 3 months from now, don't start hooning around thinking you're a pro driver.

I have a theory that everyone goes through three phases when they get their P's. First there's the cautious phase, you still drive pretty much like you still have L's on and learn a lot. Then after three months you start to get cocky, and its pretty much a question of luck whether you have an accident or not. After you get that wake up call you're fine.

Just remember, 3 months from now, don't start hooning around thinking you're a pro driver.

Thats about right.

Driving in WA is simple 16 theory get L's 16 and a half prac test stay on L's do log book (25hrs when I did it last year) 17 hazard perception P's which is 0.02 and 2 years of that before full license.

You dont learn a lot with L plates as the instructor/parent etc... basically does everything except push the pedals. During my driving test he told me which way to go while reverse parking between two cars at the shopping centre.

You learn 90% of stuff on your P's, espcially when moving from the country to the city 2 months after getting your license

Taking your test is like a domino effect.

One thing goes wrong and the rest starts falling down around you.

Ha, ha too true, that's what happened in my first one. The second time round I was actually a bit nervous but I think this helped me concentrate and I passed with flying colours.

Spot on the money with that statement. Driving by yourself without someone telling you what to do you learn so much more. Develop your onw style of driving and not someone elses. For me, this involves looking ahead to roundabouts/traffic lights to see if any one is coming/know the traffic light sequence. I hate it when people stop, when they could have avoided it and just checked as they approach.:rolleyes:

Very well said, they were my experiences as well. I managed to avoid a few ****up soon after I got my P's, reminded me to always be careful and since then its been smooth sailing.

I having a bet with with a girl friend of mine that if you get ur Ps in an auto you are restricted toan auto you get your full license. However, she reckons when you get your green P's you can drive anything. Can someone tell me I'm right, I've got ten bucks on it.

Logic tells me you are right, however I have no idea of the actual laws. :confused:

I don't know about green P's or any of that crap but I know that on the old system without green P's and the like, that you can drive any kind of car regardless of its transmission on your full license.

So you might be out a tenner there mate.

If you get your p's on an auto you can only drive auto until your full licence at 21 then you can drive auto and manual.
If you get your p's on manual you can drive both.

If you get your p's on an auto you can only drive auto until your full licence at 21 then you can drive auto and manual.
If you get your p's on manual you can drive both.

Unless vic roads stuffs up!:D

I only got an automatic license but they forgot to put an A under conditions on my license. I can drive an Auto and a manual and I still have a month on my P's to go.

Have fun. Its good times. But the first few years are the most dangerous. I had a fair few close calls in my first 2 years of driving. Completely spun out across 2 lanes, starting at 100 but prob got down to about 60 - 70 before I lost it. Managed to keep it on the road which was very lucky, and was also lucky I didn't spin out 10 seconds later when the ute came past. Easily could have died.

Nothing you can say can really prepare the kids, just be a little careful and hopefully lucky too!

That's what is so ****ed up, you look at car fatality statistics in nearly every country and you will find that the numbers don't deviate that much at all. It's a weird concept that I can't really explain but in the USA numbers usually sit in the 30,000-35,000 deaths/year, its extremely rare for deaths to fall below or above that range.

I've been driving since I was like 8.... Finally no P's later this year! Will go for my semi license when I'm old enough.

And screw that other P shit, L's, P's then full is all I know.