Movie Paranormal Activity

Re: Paranormal Activity Tickets Giveaway

I thought it was OK - a good little scary movie that actually had me involuntarily looking away right at the last few seconds. Worth a look but still had a big spot where I looked around wondering when they were going to move things along. And yes the giggling teenage girls in the audience were annoying.

Japanese films like Ring and Dark Water were far scarier.

Best recent film I've seen? I think Zombieland has to take that title even with a sort of lame-ish ending.

There is an underrated Japanese horror (low budget) that should still be on YouTube called Noroi, very clever movie and genuinely frightening, in 12 or 13 parts I think.

As for Paranormal Activity, a few scenes had me a little jumpy, but I can't really understand the hype, as usual the audience ruined any chance of me liking it.

Oh and slightly off topic (and an old topic too Im sure).. but is it just me or people are SO ****ING RUDE in cinemas these days.

As someone predicted earlier, teenybopper crowd put a dampener on the only movie that ive ever been scared in.

Agreed, I usually sit near the front and off to the side so I can be as far away from everyone, but I too copped it from teenage girls. One had seen it before and right before THAT scene she pretty much said what was about to happen. I have very forthrightly told people to SHUT THE **** UP (I don't see a need to be polite about it), I have kicked people out of cinemas before, I have almost gotten into fights, I have gone to Management and complained, I have had tickets refunded, and I have been given free tickets (last one was a free Gold Class ticket to The Watchmen). Cinemas these days are run by teenagers with little to no adult presence. No one monitors the cinemas, no one gets told off, kids these days won't listen, they'll do whatever they want.

Going to the cinemas will never improve until cinemas use headphones so that I don't have to put up with the incessant chatter from idiots.

Oh, and a spoiler about the film:
Lead chick has very good boobage!

Re: Paranormal Activity Tickets Giveaway

Yeah some of the Japanese horror films are very creepy.

90% of them are better than the English remakes.

Going to get The Exorcism of Emily Rose, we'll see how scary it gets. My friend said it wasn't scary though.

Exorcism of Emily Rose is a pretty scary movie. One I actually sat and watched through until the end, and enjoyed it. Alot of 'horror' movies these days are just boring as batshit, I'd definately recommend it.

As for PA? Well I'm slow when it comes to seeing new movies, if this is even still in cinemas, I'm going Wednesday. :cool:

I saw the original version last week. It was pretty creepy in parts. Agree with everyone who has said it stays with you once you have finished watching it. Unfortunately the reason I prob didn't find it more scarier was because one of the people I was watching it with (not by my choice) had already seen it so whenever something was about to happen she would make it so painstakinly f***ing obvious, and by the end of it I wanted to stab her in the f***ing neck. She even started telling us all about the alternate ending while the movie was still in its final stages. Some people. Stupid b*tch.

Cinemas these days are run by teenagers with little to no adult presence. No one monitors the cinemas, no one gets told off, kids these days won't listen, they'll do whatever they want.]

Hey once upon a time I was one of those teenagers working in a cinema!!

And I'll tell you it can be a bit daunting throwing people out of cinemas... sometimes. Depends what kind of mood I was in, lol. But I do agree, there needs to be monitoring. It doesnt take a genius to figure out a movie like PA is going to attract all the idiots watching it. Therefore more needs to be done to check the cinemas.

I really am kicking myself for not complaining after PA. But meh, I suppose i saw it for free. Didnt feel right to ask for complimentary tickets..

Going to the cinemas will never improve until cinemas use headphones so that I don't have to put up with the incessant chatter from idiots.
]

I thought I was the only one with that idea!!!!!

Or else more and more people are going to put in cinema rooms in their houses.. I know thats what Im thinking about doing... if I get the money one day, haha.

Saw it at the Jam Factory. As an aside, Jimmy Bartel was in the same cinema. Big lad.

Loved the film, thought it was fantastic. Scariest film I have seen, I reckon. Had the tingles going for most of the second half of the film.

I reckon you can break 'scariness' down into two types: the instant, 'oh my god' surprise scares, and the more suspenseful 'something bad is about to happen, I just know it' scares. This film is heavy on the latter and it works a treat.

There was one scene I didn't like and other people I have spoken to agree that it seemed out of place. Otherwise, a very well-made film which I thoroughly enjoyed.

:thumbsu:

Saw it at the Jam Factory. As an aside, Jimmy Bartel was in the same cinema. Big lad.

There was one scene I didn't like and other people I have spoken to agree that it seemed out of place. Otherwise, a very well-made film which I thoroughly enjoyed.

:thumbsu:

Jealous. :p

May I ask which scene was that?

And for the record, while I didnt like it, I will rent it on dvd when it comes out... thus watch it without the "commentary" I had whilst watching it in the cinema...

You should have seen the chick at the ticket booth who served him (and his missus) immediately before me. She had stars in her eyes. I didn't immediately work out who he was -- in my mind, I was thinking 'where do I know that face from?' -- and she interrupted my thoughts with 'Jimmy Bartel'.

May I ask which scene was that?

The fire on the widgeeboard (sp?). And the rapid movement of the thing on the board. Way over the top, for my money.

fd, you're the first person other than myself that I've seen say that about that particular scene. I mentioned it to my mate that it was too over the top, but he disagreed.

As far as I'm concerned, when I saw that happen, it made the film a lot less scary for me as I thought that was just too unrealistic.

Oh, and the other thing that made it less scary, as many others have said, was the ****ing crowd. ****ers.

But yeah, pretty good film, didn't meet my expectations, but will probably see it again on DVD and have a different opinion after viewing it without the constant noise from little shits that ruin films.

fd, you're the first person other than myself that I've seen say that about that particular scene. I mentioned it to my mate that it was too over the top, but he disagreed.

As far as I'm concerned, when I saw that happen, it made the film a lot less scary for me as I thought that was just too unrealistic.

[Semi - Spoiler alert]

I doubt we're alone. What was brilliant about the film was how they built up the suspense as the hauntings (for want of better term) got less and less easy to explain rationally. Weird noises? Just house creaks. Moving keys? Poor memory. Moving door? Just a draught. Shaking chandeliers? Hmmm, hard to explain that. Door slamming shut? Now I'm getting the tingles. Photo from the past? Now that's just creepy and I'm tingling up heaps.

Then, instead of a slight movement of the board thing (which I expected), we get fire and shit? That's just silly. No sane person would see that on film (as Micah must have) and not move the **** out ASAP, whether or not the thing follows. Why wouldn't you at least ask your mates to come live with you in case shit gets serious? That scene did take an edge off the film but still, a creepy movie. I'm home alone now and I'm getting the tingles just thinking about it...

[/ semi - spoiler alert]

Yeah, and added to that,
the fire itself just seemed too "out there" for my liking. The film prior to that part was believable, but seeing the flames looking like that, it was as if they were trying to add some special effects of some sort, but it just looked unrealistic to me. They could have done that scene a lot better, and I didn't find it chilling at all; just a feeling that they were adding in some flames for the sake of it.

Still not sure if I want to see it, and I usually make up my mind pretty quickly. I hope it's better than that other movie mentioned in this thread, Noroi I think it was. I don't think I've seen a Japanese horror movie less scary than that.

Exorcism of Emily Rose is a pretty scary movie. One I actually sat and watched through until the end, and enjoyed it. Alot of 'horror' movies these days are just boring as batshit, I'd definately recommend it.

I really liked Exorcism of Emily Rose. Really underrated. The fact that its more of a drama than a horror adds to the movie as well. Was pretty full on halfway through.

The Ring is still the movie that has freaked me out the most, predominantly due to the fact that my parents tv at the time (a Grundig, piece of crap) had a fault which used to turn it on with any small power surge, so 3-4 nights a week Id have to get up and switch it off at 3 in the morning. Predictably, it turned itself on the night I saw The Ring. Much bed wetting followed.

I really liked Exorcism of Emily Rose. Really underrated. The fact that its more of a drama than a horror adds to the movie as well. Was pretty full on halfway through.

The Ring is still the movie that has freaked me out the most, predominantly due to the fact that my parents tv at the time (a Grundig, piece of crap) had a fault which used to turn it on with any small power surge, so 3-4 nights a week Id have to get up and switch it off at 3 in the morning. Predictably, it turned itself on the night I saw The Ring. Much bed wetting followed.

Man, thats rough. I would have been losing it if that happened to me

Saw it the other night - pretty freaky.

Ring is probably top of the list of all time.

Not going to be scarred for life, never to sleep again?

Stop being a girl kerrby :p

It wont scar you for life, you might be in bed for a couple of hours thinking about it though. It did stick with me for a couple of days when I watched it (was 16 at the time)

Good movie though. :thumbsu: I rate it above the Ring.

Movie Paranormal Activity