Paul Bower vs Patrick Ryder

Paul Bower or Patrick Ryder?

• Paul Bower

Votes: 0 0.0%
  • Patrick Ryder

Votes: 0 0.0%

I'm guessing you knew quite well how many times the ball got delivered to Buddy.
Not that often since Roughead got enough to kick 5, and Williams, Osborne and Brown 3 each.
And I know every Hawthorn supporter thought Bower's job on Buddy was one of the best all year purely due to the amount and "quality" of supplies.
No.

Seriously, how many does Franklin have to kick before he isn't considered to have been "shut down" by opposition supporters?

Having said that, Bower looks like a decent young player with good potential. Ryder is ahead at the moment, but needs more aggro about him if he's going to play back.

Mmmm, don't follow the AFL (a.k.a. Footy)
Ryder (plays for Ess En Don) had a great start in his career but development seems to have stalled somewhat.
Bower (plays for Carl Ton) is 19 and has already some large scalps to his name. He will only get better, much better.

Ryder the better player now. I'd take Bower in the long run.

So Ryder won't improve any further because his development has stalled according to you ?

And Bower has more to offer because "he will only get better, much better" ?

Hahhaha, yeah no worries mate.

FWIW, two good young defenders. Ryder a more versatile type, can go forward or ruck. Both have a lot of improvement left in them, its up to them how good they become. For pure football ability and whats to come, i'll take Ryder.

So Ryder won't improve any further because his development has stalled according to you ?

And Bower has more to offer because "he will only get better, much better" ?

Hahhaha, yeah no worries mate.

FWIW, two good young defenders. Ryder a more versatile type, can go forward or ruck. Both have a lot of improvement left in them, its up to them how good they become. For pure football ability and whats to come, i'll take Ryder.

Ryder has the higher profile having been around longer and having taken that good mark.
Having said that, I would be more than happy to have both these boys on the half back flanks, in my team.

I wish the Dons a good season in '09, just not too good.:)

Ryder has the higher profile having been around longer and having taken that good mark.
Having said that, I would be more than happy to have both these boys on the half back flanks, in my team.

I wish the Dons a good season in '09, just not too good.:)

Agree and well said mate.

Good luck to the Blues for 09, obviously not too good either. :)

You would think that both have what it takes to establish themselves as their teams' CHB in years to come and be very good at their positions.
It of course all depends on several issues. Whether Ryder can realise his enormous potential and show some consistency, and Bower can stay fit and injury-free for long enough. Either way, both should be 10+ year players for their respective clubs.:cool:
Also on just what positions they both play as well. Paddy has had stints in the ruck and the forward line and if worse comes to worse for Essendon, you could still throw him in those positions. Not too many players can dominate the game and the code by being a utility-type player, and if you do then you know you are good.
I'm not sure though where you would want to play him as I'm no Essendon fan in the slightest.:)
Bower has played mainly as a third tall as a back pocket or half back flanker, or a link-up type running out of defence for most of his career and has got plenty of attributes, pace, athleticism, strong overhead and on ground level, and played a valuable role for Carlton in that position. He has both an attacking and defensive side to his game and there is much to like about him.
But he's also played the CHB role a few times last year and looked the goods. Only problem so far are he has been exposed in 1-on-1 situations on a number of occassions. But with a big pre-season or 2 to add strength to his frame, it is in this role where I really do see him in the long-term.
I honestly reckon that he will be our long-term CHB for Carlton.
Intersting read on Bower being potential trade bait in a couple of trades. Yes, I did hear he was on the table for Judd (at least in the media) but not in the Warnock one. Thank god he's still at the Blues, I'm happy to talk this guy up as he's now right up there amongst my favourite players at Carlton.:)

Essednon have 3 young key defenders and one very old one that I wouldn't trade for Bower...but I'd need to see more of Bower before before rating him.

But he's also played the CHB role a few times last year and looked the goods. Only problem so far are he has been exposed in 1-on-1 situations on a number of occassions.

I thought he did very, well for a 3rd year KPD at CHB. He got a few kicked on him, but he didn't concede any bags. He was injured for 10 games as well you have to remember and was restricted once he got back.

Neither player has set the world on fire just yet, but both have very high potential and should be two of the AFLs premium defenders in 5 years. Ryder ahead for now but not by a long way.. Really expecting Bower to boost his profile in 2009

Ryder easily.

I'd also take Pears and Hurley over Bower.....quite comfortably.

but that's not to say Bower isn't a servicable player.

Ryder easily.

I'd also take Pears and Hurley over Bower.....quite comfortably.

but that's not to say Bower isn't a servicable player.

Can't believe Ryder to be only 20.
A good athlete that need some work on defensive skills.

Bower is a little more developed than opposition supporters would know.
Had injuries last year but is an absolute beauty as well as being a great guy.

Hurley: Hard to have too many Carlton Supporters bagging him just yet as I feel he was the guy we really wanted in last draft.

Pears: Must admit to seeing very little (read nothing). No position to comment.

The one huge disadvantage that Essendon must admit to is the fact that they will be replacing one Superstar in Fletcher, with someone that they can only hope will be half as good.
If Fletch was around for another 10 years then that would be something.

Actually I think they are both going to be very good players. Still very early for both of them, but I do like Ryder.

Obviously didn't watch him much in 2008. If he improves as much as he did then again in 2009, he'd stich up the best and fairest easily.

Bower has one of the best spoiling techniques you will ever see, and has the balls to take on his opponents and run the ball out of the defensive 50. ATM he is a 3rd tall, but will eventually take CHB (earned AA there u/18s).

He's actually a very similar type player to Matthew Scarlett, but with better closing speed.

I expect big things.
Wow. :o

Don't worry......Ryder should do okay this year. They should be able to move him around and hide him from any hidings that good players would inflict.........the new Dustin Fletcher.:thumbsu:

Struggled somewhat against the big body of bradshaw a few times tonight and was unlucky with a couple of questionable decisions.
But still a well rounded defensive effort after Jamison dissapeared never to return.Carltons backline doing enough to defend their second quarter goal onslaugtht and Bower doing a quality job.LOVING his developement:thumbsu:

Struggled somewhat against the big body of bradshaw a few times tonight and was unlucky with a couple of questionable decisions.
But still a well rounded defensive effort after Jamison dissapeared never to return.Carltons backline doing enough to defend their second quarter goal onslaugtht and Bower doing a quality job.LOVING his developement:thumbsu:
Um no.

Bower almost cost you the game.

Ryder is better than Bower no doubt but I recon his best position is in the ruck were he can run around the ground taking marks down back and going forward to kick goals. Hes got such talent he shouldnt be wasted playing to stop the other teams best foward.

Ryder by far for me.
He has speed and a HUGE leap.
Did anyone see the back page of mondays Herald sun? He was a metre in the air and was a metre away from the contest. [a picture would help me explain better]

Ryder by far for me.
He has speed and a HUGE leap.
Did anyone see the back page of mondays Herald sun? He was a metre in the air and was a metre away from the contest. [a picture would help me explain better]

Yeah, I saw the image.

Brilliant leap:thumbsu:
What he was doing metres away from the contest: Not so brilliant:thumbsd:

Nah, yeah,whatever: He'll be good.

Bower will be the better defender, Ryder wont play defence, why when we have Pears, Daniher, Hurley, Hooker all in the wings of Fletcher, yes Ryder is playing there now, but in the not too distant future, IMO, he wont be there :rolleyes:

Waite V Ryder might of been a better comparison.