Phantom Draft - 2006

• Thread starter Thread starter HBF

Guess that means they've moved Voss and possibly one other onto the vets list. Although it could also mean McGrath has chosen not to re-sign. In any case Irel can know take his pick if there are no objections???

Yep...I say Brissie take their pick and move forward. There is a 98% they will use it in this draft, and if they dont it doesnt automatically render this draft useless. Its only abit of fun.

Brisbane # 54 Sam FIELDING - Clarence Tasmania

DOB 30 September 88 181cm 80kg. This may not be accurate as it’s last years measurements.
Tasmanian Captain at the nationals.

A player who possesses skill and pace ideally suited for the modern running game. Leigh has stated he wants running type players and Fielding meets the criteria. However I have a sneaking suspicion a QLDer such as Kiel may go with this pick in the real draft. Anyhow, Sam has also been given tagging roles on more established big bodied players for Tassie Mariners in the VFL and has not disgraced himself. He currently provides the drive from the midfield to his CHF Jack Riewoldt at Clarence and will have an opportunity to continue his association with his teammates Jack and Mitch at the Lions.

He’s an athlete that combines speed and endurance. Has a good kick and accurate disposal with improving defensive skills as well. Plenty of upside development.

I did not intend to draft three Tasmanians in this draft however that's the way it has worked out.

Pick #55 - Nathan Krakouer

Port probably need a key forward, but as they still have numerous picks remaining, I have continued my trend to go with who I think is the best available. Kraks has amazing pace, agility, great skills, has great awareness and knows where the goals are. Is however exclusively and outside player, who is far, far too skinny. Hopefully he doesn't loose any of his pace or flair when he bulks up, but given the way he plays, he won't have to bulk up too much I imagine. Will go much higher on the 25th IMO, but I can see why he has been overlooked here, too much upside to overlook him at pick #55 I feel.

Brisbane # 54 Sam FIELDING - Clarence Tasmania

DOB 30 September 88 181cm 80kg. This may not be accurate as it’s last years measurements.
Tasmanian Captain at the nationals.

A player who possesses skill and pace ideally suited for the modern running game. Leigh has stated he wants running type players and Fielding meets the criteria. However I have a sneaking suspicion a QLDer such as Kiel may go with this pick in the real draft. Anyhow, Sam has also been given tagging roles on more established big bodied players for Tassie Mariners in the VFL and has not disgraced himself. He currently provides the drive from the midfield to his CHF Jack Riewoldt at Clarence and will have an opportunity to continue his association with his teammates Jack and Mitch at the Lions.

He’s an athlete that combines speed and endurance. Has a good kick and accurate disposal with improving defensive skills as well. Plenty of upside development.

I did not intend to draft three Tasmanians in this draft however that's the way it has worked out.

Then that is your six player quota finished (two heads each....)

Pick #56

Hawthorn select

Brad Di(k - Western Australia - 184 cm 78 kgs

Will write up a bit later on.

pick 57 - matthew vasilevski (northern) 181 cms 80 kg

he hasnt gotten much consideration in most mock drafts, im more than happy to take him with this pick. pacy, is a ball carrier and is an excellent reader of the play. has the happy knack of being able to find space at will, and gets himself into damamging field positions. has a long, but not necessarily accurate kick, and will need to polish up his disposal a little to make it in this league, but seems to have the footy nous. he is also a sure ballhandler. has a future in the midfield, or as a playmaking, rebounding half back.

Pick 58 - Will Schofield (Geelong).

Tough choice for the Tigers. We think that the avilable flanker / winger types are better but we need to add a tall.

At Richmond we think we have options at CHB (Hall, Polak, Schulz, McGuane) but FB is a problem with only veteran Gaspar and young injury victim Thursfield able to play there.

Schofield has the height and pace to be a FB and is an exceptional spoiler. Played more school footy than TAC which kept his profile down. So athletic that he often stepped out onto the wing for the Falcons.

Little to choose between Schofield and QLDer Gavin Grose. In the end we favoured the bottom-ager because we hope for more upside.

Guess that means they've moved Voss and possibly one other onto the vets list. Although it could also mean McGrath has chosen not to re-sign. In any case Irel can know take his pick if there are no objections???
Brisbane have 34 senior and 2 rookies on their list at the moment.Will brisbane take 6 picks or 5 picks and PSD pick (4).ND picks 4,22,34,38,54,70 atm.

ST KILDA- CARL PETERSON

Awesome talent from the Kimberley region that would of been picked up by sydney last year but had not played a WAFL game, has the most spring on a football field that I have EVER seen, has good skills and also very good pace, played around 5-7 games for claremont league this year and was named the best first year player. Is around the 188-190 cm range and can play almost anywhere on the ground has even played in the ruck at league level, kicked 5 goals against east perth this year and showed that he is a serious talent. I think an AFL position for Carl would be the wing and I think he could be a player that could play next year.

I reckon he'd be a pretty handy addition to the forward line too LF. I guess he'll start at hff. Few games last year Claremont used to just isolate him in the square.