Rumour Pie + Saint 'Coming out' on The Footy Show

A lot of "who cares", "what's the big deal?" type comments in this thread. If I may put on my gay hat for a moment, and wonder who it might be that cares, here are a few points to consider:

*Australian state and federal governments open with a recital of the lord's prayer (Matthew 6:9-13).
*The lord's prayer is in the same book that explicitly tells its faithful to murder gay people (Leviticus 20:13).
*These governments refuse to allow gay people the basic human right to marry the partner of their choice.
*These same governments allow the scammers working in the religion business to dodge their self-evident ethical obligation to pay tax. (The same taxes that gay people pay.)
If a man lies with another he must be stoned. I've based my life around that biblical teaching.

I am on holidays next week in Thailand with my wife and three kids and my mate from Sydney and his partner and their two twin girls.

This has nothing to do with father son........just in case you haven't got that yet.

This is very big step for the two boys if they come out.......I just hope they are not made to become the gay poster boys for the AFL.

Unfortunately this is what will inevitably happen. I think it's a big reason no player has been publicly open about it so far. It's a lot of pressure especially for a young player. I just hope when it does finally happen that every time they are referred to it's not as "gay footballer......"

For those saying it's so acceptable and no one will bat an eyelid etc are living in dreamworld. That's how it should be but unfortunately the reality is very different. Maybe one day but we are not there yet.

Unfortunately this is what will inevitably happen. I think it's a big reason no player has been publicly open about it so far. It's a lot of pressure especially for a young player. I just hope when it does finally happen that every time they are referred to it's not as "gay footballer......"

For those saying it's so acceptable and no one will bat an eyelid etc are living in dreamworld. That's how it should be but unfortunately the reality is very different. Maybe one day but we are not there yet.

I have known who the Pies player is for a while.........I have also known my Club tried to "force" him into the leadership group.

I agree with you 100%........coming out IS a big deal just as it is being a leader of an AFL Club.

A lot of "who cares", "what's the big deal?" type comments in this thread. If I may put on my gay hat for a moment, and wonder who it might be that cares, here are a few points to consider:

*Australian state and federal governments open with a recital of the lord's prayer (Matthew 6:9-13).
*The lord's prayer is in the same book that explicitly tells its faithful to murder gay people (Leviticus 20:13).
*These governments refuse to allow gay people the basic human right to marry the partner of their choice.
*These same governments allow the scammers working in the religion business to dodge their self-evident ethical obligation to pay tax. (The same taxes that gay people pay.)
Where is marriage a right?
You have a right to be in a relationship with anyone so long as they are of age and its consensual.
Marriage is a a made up thing. It doesnt stop anyone from having a relationship, which is a right.

Whatever. Can they kick?
Plays for Collingwood. Doubtful.

But bloody hell, takes a lot of guts being the first i reckon.

People talk about bravery on the field, this is just as brave as running back with the flight. Probably even moreso.

Hope they dont cop too much crap.

On SM-N920I using BigFooty.com mobile app

Where is marriage a right?
You have a right to be in a relationship with anyone so long as they are of age and its consensual.
Marriage is a a made up thing. It doesnt stop anyone from having a relationship, which is a right.

Equality is a right. Were marriage purely symbolic then you might have a point, but it's included in our laws.

I'll believe it when I see it, there have been rumours in the past of this happening on TFS and it's come to naught.
Kouta was the rumour in the 90s but a few kids, TV shows and failed souvlaki franchises later you'd have to say the rumour was off or he's going seriously out of his way to cover it up.

Marriage is symbolic. Why do Gay people need the Governments permission to solidify their union?
Why does anyone want the Governments permission?

Marriage carries a legal and social weight, it's hardly symbolic.

No one needs the government's permission, but there are obvious benefits to having it as opposed to not.

Marriage carries a legal and social weight, it's hardly symbolic.

No one needs the government's permission, but there are obvious benefits to having it as opposed to not.
So whatever the benefits are (tax, property, next of kin etc) allow everyone the same access to those.
My point of view is that the government should get out of the marriage buisness.

So whatever the benefits are (tax, property, next of kin etc) allow everyone the same access to those.

Legalising gay marriage will do that. :rainbow:

Plays for Collingwood. Doubtful.

But bloody hell, takes a lot of guts being the first i reckon.

People talk about bravery on the field, this is just as brave as running back with the flight. Probably even moreso.

Hope they dont cop too much crap.

On SM-N920I using BigFooty.com mobile app

They will, we still haven't even got past racism.

If it's who this thread suggests I don't think it's wise for players so young to do this. All power to them if they want to come out but you'd think a player who's a bit older, mature and comfortable would handle the fallout a bit better.

Also would only have to put up with 3-5yrs of crap from rednecks in the crowd than 10yrs.

My point of view is that the government should get out of the marriage buisness.

Marriage in Australia is defined within the Marriage Act 1961 (Cth) Section 5, to be the union of a man and a woman to the exclusion of all others, voluntarily entered into for life.

This is the primary issue with recognition under the Commonwealth statute that does not recgonise the union of another couple outside of the definition. The Government refuses to amend the Marriage Act to recognise the union of 2 persons of lawful age in consent to the exclusion of all others, voluntarily entered into for life. So whilst the Marriage Act continues in its current form, persons of the same sex are not recognised in marriage by the Commonwealth, although defacto provisions under the Family Law Act 1975 (Cth) which deals with property and children rising from a defacto relationship to which same sex relationships do come under.

But this thread digresses to a topic of social matters in the context of arguing over the sexual preferences and the treatment of the matter by media outlets such as TFS seek to benefit in public ratings bringing a person's private matters to the public spotlight. Yes football players are often held to a higher standard of scrutiny and expectations, but unless the players themselves are doing it on their own accord TFS has no right to trivialise the matter so they can score a ratings improvement.

I hope the Pies player wants to come out on his own volition and isn't being pressured by my Club or the AFL to do so.

I'd hope my club would be advising against it for their own good. Not a returned host encouraging it to prop up the ratings of a failing show.

Players coming out won't matter for people under 35. I worry about the behaviour and mentality of those older.

I stopped after 3 and a half pages

Has anyone considered this is BS and Hysteria is Cos Cardone and is drumming up support for a dead show?

I mean sure Eddie is back but what other reason would you tune in, oh yeah gay guys right

I call beat up

Its actually the other way around dude. I have a couple of gay relatives and so I am friends with them on FB. I can tell you that for alot of gay people they are defined by their sexuality. 90% of their FB posts are gay related. 90% of their FB friends are gay. They are far, far, far more sexual on fb and their comments than straight people are.
Go FB trolling on a few gay guys pages and see for yourself.

If a man lies with another he must be stoned. I've based my life around that biblical teaching.

These two posts sum up my facebook experience with one of my gay friends.

For most of his 20's after he came out his facebook wall was a hotbed of gay activity, but nowadays all I ever see him post is weed related stuff.

Marriage in Australia is defined within the Marriage Act 1961 (Cth) Section 5, to be the union of a man and a woman to the exclusion of all others, voluntarily entered into for life.

This is the primary issue with recognition under the Commonwealth statute that does not recgonise the union of another couple outside of the definition. The Government refuses to amend the Marriage Act to recognise the union of 2 persons of lawful age in consent to the exclusion of all others, voluntarily entered into for life. So whilst the Marriage Act continues in its current form, persons of the same sex are not recognised in marriage by the Commonwealth, although defacto provisions under the Family Law Act 1975 (Cth) which deals with property and children rising from a defacto relationship to which same sex relationships do come under.

But this thread digresses to a topic of social matters in the context of arguing over the sexual preferences and the treatment of the matter by media outlets such as TFS seek to benefit in public ratings bringing a person's private matters to the public spotlight. Yes football players are often held to a higher standard of scrutiny and expectations, but unless the players themselves are doing it on their own accord TFS has no right to trivialise the matter so they can score a ratings improvement.
The marriage act also says its for life, which its not.
I assume your position is that love trumps gender.
So an honest question for you. If three people love each other and want the same right to have their relationship as two people do, should they be allowed? And before you say marriage is traditionally between two people, it is also traditionally between only a man and a women.
The fact is you cant deny for three people to have what two people do.

After looking at said Collingwoods players instagram page , no doubt 100% it is him. In saying that , don't really care and good on them if they do decide to come out