swans4eva

Oct 1, 2008
Hello everyone,
Since Porps is hot loz has a red card, I have kindly posted her draft on bigfooty.:D:D:D

1) Melbourne; Jack Watts
Melbourne’s weakest spot is their forward line, and best available for them would then have to be Jack Watts. Will replace Nietz when finished year 12.

2) WCE; Daniel Rich
Best available for the Eagles. A lot of people have Nicnat here, but he is a bit too much of a risk. With Cox still got the best in him, ruckmen isn’t there first priority.

3) Fremantle; Nic Naitinui
With the surprise of Nicnat slipping, they will be certain to go him. With Warnock’s departure, little talent is left in the ruck department whom are young. They would be certain to get a few ruckmen in this year’s draft, and if the highly rated one is available, they will take him.

4) Port; Tyrone Vickery
For me, Port has had Vickery had top priority in their minds for a few months now. Will replace Lade in a few years time, but when he is still at the club he can rotate in the forward line. Handy option as he can kick goals.

5) Essendon; Hamish Hartlett
Stephen Hill has lately been strongly rumored he will come to Essendon. Hamish in my instinct is the best midfielder available so they will go Hartlett. With the backline a problem too, Hurley could still be a favourite.
"Our midfield is an area that we have to continue to strengthen because we're probably not quite there with the other big clubs in the midfield. We've got to keep trying to develop and add to it.” Words from the coach, which in my mind means midfield is first priority.

6) Carlton; Michael Hurley
Carlton are busting for key defenders. McKernan could still be on the list as he plays forward as well as he plays back, but Hurley is rated higher.

7) Brisbane; Tom Swift
Brisbane needs some talent in the midfield department and Swift is the one they need. A ball magnet who was the forgotten one for a while. Vossy rated him as the best 16 year old player he had even seen. Even though that was 2 /3 years ago, I think he would still rate him high. Good pickup.

8) Richmond; Shaun McKernan
Richmond has indicated they would be going tall. McKernan can play alongside of Simmonds and go up forward when needed and down back when needed. With both Bowden and Richardson getting past their best, he could be handy down the track. Also Trengove could be on their radar, but he is a more pure KP then ruckman which I don’t think Richmond will be aiming for. McKernan looks the best option.

9) North; Chris Yarran
Very underrated on bigfooty even though he isn’t on my wish list. Yarran is a very smart footballer who will replace Shannon Grant. Also he will push into the midfield and will become a full time midfielder if all works out well.

10) Adelaide; Jackson Trengove
With Sidebottom and Ziebell still available, I still think Adelaide will go with its first instinct and go tall with pick 10.
“Our first pick is at number 10 and, like most clubs; we'll pick the best player available there.” Words from the coach. I would say Sidebottom is a better player than Trengove, but Adelaide really needs a tall forward. The drafts depth of midfielders is amazing; it has way more depth than any other position in this draft, which is why they will go the safest way in Trengove.

11) Collingwood; Steele Sidebottom
With Steele slipping out of the top 10, there will be no hesitation. A goal kicking midfielder who has shown can play all day and will never give up. A perfect fit for the pies as he can play inside and outside very well. Sidebottom will help the talented on-ballers Swan, Pendlebury and Davis.

12) Sydney; Jack Ziebell
A fantastic player who dominates in the midfield. Has good talent, but not the best pace. He is a great leader and the Swans will be happy to pick him up here.

13) Saints; Stephen Hill
Rumors have been everywhere in websites that he will go top 10, and he has been linked to Essendon and Fremantle. I do think Hill is a good player, but he won’t go top 10 for my likings, there are many players I rate ahead of him. Saints will pick Hill up here, purely because he is best available and is exactly what they need.

14) WBD; Ayce Cordy
F/S rule

15) Geelong; Lewis Johnston
With Geelong needing someone to backup Johnson and Mooney, Johnston looks like the best available in this position. Also with words spreading that Geelong are aiming for tall too, he looks like the perfect fit.

16) Hawthorn; Phil Davis
A very tall defender who can play ruck too. With Hawks searching in trade week for a KP defender and not finding one, they will aim for one with pick 16. Davis is a great player who can run and has very strong hands. He can also go up forward and kick a few goals, and he can be damaging because of his hands. Suban could be a smoky here too.

17) Melbourne; Sam Blease
A Very speedy midfielder which suits Melbourne very well. They are missing speed in the midfield and after going tall with their first pick; they will for sure go a midfielder.

18) WCE; Jordan Roughead
After going Rich first round, they will want to get a ruckman with their next pick which I have done so. Roughead is an improving ruckman who can go up forward and kick goals. I rate him quite high but his pace isn’t the best.

19) Melbourne; Ryhs O’Keefe
After getting a midfielder and a forward with their first 2 picks, I put Melbourne down getting a running defender/midfielder in O’Keefe. Showing that he is a very talented player by winning MVP in the carnival for SA this year.

20) WCE; Jarred Blight
A tall player whom can play midfield and back. This kind of player will be handy for WCE as they don’t have many backmen who can rotate in the midfield.

21) Fremantle; Rhys O’keefe
A player who can rotate in the midfield and the backline. Handy for Fremantle as they will want to use their next pick for a player who can help Pavlich and Tarrant in the forward line.

22) Port; Jordan Lisle
A bargain for Port. Lisle is a player who can play forward and backline both as well as each other. Could become handy as they are struggling in both of them departments.

23) Essendon; Jayden Post
After going the talented Hartlett in the first round, and giving up their 3rd rounder for Geelong’s Brent Prismall; they will need to use this pick on the best available KP defender. I personally think this is a bit too high for Post, but I think he will work well with the rising star Ryder.

24) Fremantle; Tom Lynch
Is the star Pavlich getting past his best? You would think so, with only a couple or so years left in him. Tarrant the past superstar underperforming and Farmer the 2nd highest goal kicker retiring, Lynch looks like a perfect fit.

25) Brisbane; Ashley Smith
Very talented backman. Damaging leg which it one of his best attributes. Also plays very well in the midfield and can go up forward and be a good target. Very good pickup, as I rate this kid quite high.

26) Richmond; Mitch Robinson
After going with the tall utility of McKernan in the first round, they fill all needs except the midfield. Best available would be Mitch Robinson. A ball magnet that reads the play well as well as centre contests.

27) North; Nick Heyne
A midfielder who can kick goals. Has an X factor in him which I am sure North will like. Again he is best available. Was tossing over Schoenmakers here, but thought with them going Yarran with pick 9, they would want a midfielder; not another forward.

28) Adelaide; Ryan Schoenmakers
No, I did not let him drop for the sake of Crows, I actually would rather a midfielder here but Adelaide will go the local boy if available.

29) Collingwood; Dayne Beams
With rumors going around that Collingwood is keen of picking this kid up with pick 11, he is an obvious choice for Collingwood if still available with pick 29.

30) Sydney; Aaron Cornelius
Given the likes of Barry, Hall and O'Loughlin are soon to depart, and David already gone, Sydney desperately need some key forwards. Cornelius is a KP forward who just needs to tone up a bit, although he could become the next Justin Westhoff.

31) Bulldogs; Nick Suban
Best available for the doggies, and this kid looks like a superstar. The slider of my draft and Bulldogs will be happy to pick him up here.

32) Bulldogs; Mitch Brown
Bulldogs have mentioned that they need height in their team:
"We're looking for some height.” recruiting and football partnerships manager Simon Dalrymple.
Tall KP youngster who finished the year off well. Has a good shot on goal and good hands.

33) Geelong; James Strauss
This would be an amazing pickup. It’s not that I forgot about him, it’s that all of the teams above weren’t looking for a player like Strauss. He is a fantastic player with a wonderful footy brain; which is a very good prospect to have. Reads the play very well, and hits targets by foot more than consistent.

34) Hawthorn; Michael Walters
Hawthorn will be very interested in this kid. After picking up a star in Rioli, they will again go for the aborigine. Walters is a very handy midfielder. Has a lot of skill and can play down back to bring some pace to the backline.

35) Melbourne; Tom Hill
Perfect pickup for the Demons in my opinion. Can go up forward and kick a few goals, and also backup Johnson, Jamar and Martin.

36) WCE; Dan Hannebery
Talented under aged (?) player, with a lot of potential. Another one who has a damaging kick. Should go small after WCE have gone quite tall this draft.

37) Fremantle; Matthew Broadbent
After filling all needs with their first 3 picks, they will simply go for another midfielder, where they are struggling the most. Very mature kid with league experience.

38) Port; David Zaharakis
Port has yet drafted a midfielder. Zaharakis will fit in at Port well as he will bring speed into the team.

39) Geelong; Clancee Pearce
Small defender with a great kick. Hard at it and was WA’s go to man down back. Will be handy later on when he develops more pace and consistency.

40) Carlton; Neville Jetta
Carlton needs someone to backup Fevola and Betts, who seem to be the only real big names in the forward line. They would love a goal sneak in Jetta. Personally I would absolutely love this kid at the Crows; he looks the goods to me. Should play a lot next year and will be damaging when working with Betts.

41) Brisbane; Bart McColluch
No-way best available for Brisbane, but Bart may be the man to go if they have gone best available the past 2 rounds. McColluch is a tall utility that can plays a lot of ruck too. With the departure of Tippett, they would certainly have to go with one ruckman this draft.

42) Port; Tom Rockliff
Port needs someone to backup Tredrea who will soon be retiring and Daniel Motlop. Both Westhoffs are still developing so they desperately need some help. Rockliff is a good target up forward who isn’t greedy. Does like to kick goals but will pass off if better options. Bit older than the others, but more mature.

43) North; Sam Wright
Big slider as I rate this kid quite high. A bit of a Dale Thomas look alike, and also plays like him. Exciting player to watch who has an X factor. Has played as a goal sneak forward, has played as a running backman and plays very well in the midfield too. His best attributes would have to be overhead skills, his hands, clean below his knees and his work rate. Very talented player.

44) Adelaide; Matthew DeBoer
A mature midfielder who can play on the forward flank. Has beefed up quite a bit from the start of 2008 which is pretty good signs. Good competitor with great hands, deadly kick, great leadership and has a strong tackle. With Adelaide going tall the first 2 rounds, a midfielder would be the best to go here and DeBoer would be a great pickup.

45) Collingwood; Rory Sloane
Hard working small defender with a lot of speed. Great leap, average kick and good hand skills. Very silky player loves to get into the contests which are some pretty good values. Collingwood will be keen to pick up this kid after he has slid a bit.

46) Collingwood; Nathan O’Keefe
Hasn’t had any league experience, but defiantly look the goods. Finished the year off well with his club, kicking a bag of goals for the season. Great hands and a good shot on goal. O’Keefe will help the Collingwood forward line develop.

47) Saints; Riley Milne
Need a developing backman and Milne looks best available. Jones could also be one considered, but I don’t rate him. Keeps his feet well, and when he beefs up he could become a solid defender. Great skills for a bigman although his kicking needs to be worked on a lot.

48) Saints; Jamie Sheehan
Small running defender who plays a lot of midfield as well. Runs all day long and never gives up. Great skills and his speed of the mark is a big aspect. Saints will be happy to pick him up here.

49) Geelong; Tom Allwright
A player I rate quite high. Played very well for Tassie in the championships rotating in the backline and midfield. Geelong will purely go for best available which in my sites is Allwright.

50) Hawthorn; Steven Motlop
Brother of Daniel and plays just like him. His skills are superb; his kicking is pretty amazing but needs time to develop. Doesn’t look too ready for AFL yet. I would think he would last till Ports 4th rounder, but Hawks should aim for a small/medium forward after getting a midfielder and backmen with their first 2 rounder’s.

Thoughts?:D:D:D

I doubt Ziebell would fall to 12 to the Swans

46) Collingwood; Nathan O’Keefe
Hasn’t had any league experience, but defiantly look the goods. Finished the year off well with his club, kicking a bag of goals for the season. Great hands and a good shot on goal. O’Keefe will help the Collingwood forward line develop

Think our Forward line is already Solid enough

How can anybody take this seriously when it says that Pavlich is getting past his best, and only has a couple of years left. Pavlich will be 27 next year, a time when most players are at their best.

Overall, not one of the better drafts I've seen. I'm thinking you haven't really seen any of these guys, and are just going on stuff you've read.

How can anybody take this seriously when it says that Pavlich is getting past his best, and only has a couple of years left. Pavlich will be 27 next year, a time when most players are at their best.

Overall, not one of the better drafts I've seen. I'm thinking you haven't really seen any of these guys, and are just going on stuff you've read.
Well that would be 95% of the Phantom Drafts on here are

Richmond has indicated it will be going best availiable not tall with pick 8. So I think we would go Ziebell if he is still availiable instead of McKernan.

24) Fremantle; Tom Lynch
Is the star Pavlich getting past his best? You would think so, with only a couple or so years left in him. Tarrant the past superstar underperforming and Farmer the 2nd highest goal kicker retiring, Lynch looks like a perfect fit.

:rolleyes:
Pavlich is 26 and certainly didn't look "past it" this year.

:rolleyes:
Pavlich is 26 and certainly didn't look "past it" this year.

Ok Porps has obviously made one mistake about pick 24 and pavlich.
Can we just move on and forget she made it. I know that after spending hours of work on a phantom u dont want 50 freo fans criticizing u about one small error.
Extremely happy for Sydney!:thumbsu:

Can we just move on and forget she made it. I know that after spending hours of work on a phantom u dont want 50 freo fans criticizing u about one small error.
Extremely happy for Sydney!:thumbsu:

Problem is that it's glaringly obvious. Fremantle supporters in particular are being quite vocal about it.

Wouldn't be too disappointed from an Essendon perspective. Post is an interesting selection.

Okay, but only because you said so boss.

Thoughts?:D

Probably the worst I have seen.

25) Brisbane; Ashley Smith
Very talented backman. Damaging leg which it one of his best attributes. Also plays very well in the midfield and can go up forward and be a good target. Very good pickup, as I rate this kid quite high.

Havent seen him play down back.

Was tossing over Schoenmakers here

Wouldnt surprise me.

34) Hawthorn; Michael Walters
Hawthorn will be very interested in this kid. After picking up a star in Rioli, they will again go for the aborigine. Walters is a very handy midfielder. Has a lot of skill and can play down back to bring some pace to the backline

Hasnt ever played as a backman, too short. Isnt overly quick but is smart in traffic, nice touch with the term aborigine, :thumbsdown:

48) Saints; Jamie Sheehan
Small running defender who plays a lot of midfield as well. Runs all day long and never gives up. Great skills and his speed of the mark is a big aspect. Saints will be happy to pick him up here.

Try half-forward flanker with stints in the middle.

44) Adelaide; Matthew DeBoer
A mature midfielder who can play on the forward flank. Has beefed up quite a bit from the start of 2008 which is pretty good signs. Good competitor with great hands, deadly kick, great leadership and has a strong tackle. With Adelaide going tall the first 2 rounds, a midfielder would be the best to go here and DeBoer would be a great pickup.

Epic Lolz.

Pretty sure you have NFI :thumbsu:

Hasnt ever played as a backman, too short. Isnt overly quick but is smart in traffic, nice touch with the term aboriginie

Pretty sure you have NFI :thumbsu:

Strongly agree with this comment, it wouldn't hurt to think about the terms you use before writing them down, because what is written is offensive to alot of people.

Plus the Pav comment was totally wrong as well, he has plently of good years left in him.

Since when did Richmond indicate going tall with first pick?

They've indicated that ruck and KF were positions they'd be looking at addressing, but nothing about where in the draft they planned to do so.

I hope we don't go McKernan though, for exactly the reasons mentioned...We've taken a couple of hybrid KP/ruckmen of late ( Pattison/Putt ), so need to go for the 'pure' choices, so would prefer Trengove.

---------

For those talking about Pavlich...You shouldn't draft for current needs, but rather looking 2/3/4 years ahead, and by then, some coverage for him would probably be welcomed ( even if not strictly *needed* ).

The reason people have a problem with the Pavlich comment isn't to do with drafting for current needs or future needs, it's the fact that the comment was just completely wrong and was basically a troll disguised by a phantom draft.

This would be the shittest outcome for WC if the draft turned out like this.
If we take Roughead at 18, ill be spewing. Blight at 20? Wayy to early.

Rich has got alot of Colin Sylvia about him i reckon. Naitanui is too good to pass on, Rich like mids appear every so often.

Ideal WC draft that is a genuine possibilty at each of our picks

#2 Naitanui
#18 Blease/Yarran/Swift
#20 Walters/Ash Smith
#36 Zaharakis
#52 H Ballantyne/Jetta