sapaul

Sturt
Kane Cornes and Clive Waterhouse playing for Adelaide next year?

5AA reported this morning that Kane is unhappy with opportunities at the Power and Channel 7 last night mentioned about Clive possibly being a Crow next year.

Why would you recruit someone who's never fit? Crows need a tall forward. Who's fit.

not clive

Clive Waterhouse is not the answer to our forward problems. Kane Cornes maybe alright, but I think he'll stay at Port Powder. We would have no hope getting Wazza Tredcrap from Port Powder. He is a Powder man through and through. He won't leave them. My thoughts on Carey are changing. He maybe a worthwhile target but his age is a worry as is his commitment and desire after a year off. Pav won't leave Freo.

k
xx

Originally posted by noddy
I don't suppose their is any way we could entice Tredrea away from the Paps ??

hehehe, thats about as l ikely as Port enticing Ben Hart and Andrew Mcleod to Alberton...ie. NO CHANCE.

I still believe Carey should be our number 1 target.

I believe he will put in his best season yet next year, as he knows that he will need to be better than before to be accepted and his body should be in good nic.

I also believe that he is probably only good for three years or so, but that will give us enough time to find and nurture young forwards.

Question:

Do you believe that Adelaide's current situation is a sign of bad recruiting and drafting or just bad luck?

My longform answer!!

It is my belief that Shaw (or the recruiters under him) drafted very well but his coaching was not fabulous.

Blight, although brilliant and the primary reason for our back to back success, was opportunistic and took on a side that was about to explode and be a top four prospect for two or three years anyway.

After the failure in 99, we should have focussed more on rebuilding, particularly our ageing forward line, rather than trying to return to the top 4 (another Blight from Blight that comment of his as our 2000 list was never going to cut it).

In 2000, 2001 and 2002 we have relied heavily on our midfield dominance and attempted to "stop gap" our attack by recruiting Stevens, Welsh, Fitzgerald, Schell etc etc. Nothing wrong with these blokes but none of them are real key position players. The only half decent original (I think) player Adelaide came up with in this time is Burton (circa 99 anyway).

So in conclusion I think our recruiters have failed terribly leaving us in this position.

Although my suggestion above, recruiting Carey, is another stop gap, I believe it is our only real solution and that whether we get him or not, we must judicially and purposefully draft potential young forwards, not more midfielders which seems at times to be our only goal. If that means a 2003/2004 seasons spent "rebuilding" then so be it.

Others may substitute Pavlich for Carey. I just don't believe he is the answer.

Tredrea, not a chance.

Waterhouse, that would suit Adelaides previous years trading for players who are injury prone.

Kane Cornes, unlikely, Adelaide would have to give up a good player to get him and we all know Adelaide doesn't like to do that.

Personally I think the Crows would be better served going after Richardson than Carey or Pavlich. With Adelaides midfield Richo would shine, Carey is too much of a risk and Pavlich will stay at Freo or go to Port.

Originally posted by Zombie
Personally I think the Crows would be better served going after Richardson than Carey or Pavlich. With Adelaides midfield Richo would shine, Carey is too much of a risk and Pavlich will stay at Freo or go to Port.

Hmmm. Richo for Johnson and a draft pick?

IMO, Carey would be the best value. He is a better player than Pavlich, we probably would not have to give up as much to get him, & with the major drawback being that he only has 3-5 years left in him. By all accounts he was having a great pre-season & the year off could extend his career as he should now be over all his niggling injuries.

I would be happy with Pavlich too, but it looks like there may be a bidding war for him. Even if he decides he want to play for the team he supported as a kid, Freo are likely to ask for heaps in return.

Richo is an interesting proposition. The guy can play (eg. great contested mark) when he mentally sound, but is a bit of a loose canon. Whether he stays at Richmond depends on whether they decide to rebuild the side or not. He would only be worth going after if certain ground rules are put in place. The Tigers are in need of midfielders, but once bitten, twice shy...

No way in hell we should go after Waterhouse. K Cornes would be OK, but probably not worth it as we need key position players not midfielders & Port would want a fair bit for him.

In 2000, 2001 and 2002 we have relied heavily on our midfield dominance and attempted to "stop gap" our attack by recruiting Stevens, Welsh, Fitzgerald, Schell etc etc. Nothing wrong with these blokes but none of them are real key position players. The only half decent original (I think) player Adelaide came up with in this time is Burton (circa 99 anyway).

Please note that Welsh & Stevens should not be in the same catagorie as Fitzy & Schell.

Mark Stevens has been a fantastic recruit for us, he has always been a key position player. I think he is better at CHB rather than CHF, however you can always rely on his contest at the ball and his fantastic defensive work. He is definately one of our first picked players each week! :mad: You messed with me when you messed with Stevo!

Welshy was having his best season by far until he got his Osteitis Pubis ailment. He was our best shot at goal, his defensive actions improved out of sight. He is a fantastic player and we are missing him terribly.

Fitzy was a gamble no doubt, it didn't pay off, but who knew it would happen? Always knew it was a chance, but none of usare able to see into the future. He was a good gamble. He had potential.

Dan Schell needs long term work. He was never going to come in and kick 80 goals for us. He needs intensive work on aspecst of his game. He will get better. Next year will be a test for him.

Brett has had his troubles aswell. But he is having a great season and is improving each week. He is vitally important for us and if he can stay sound it will be a huge bonus for us.

Think back to early in the season when we had all these guys available at the same time how good our forward line was.

k
xx

I think Carey should be our # 1 target for the 2003 season.

He will be fit. He will be mad keen to play well.

The thing that appeals to me about Carey is that he is an experinced forward. we keep throwing these young blokes to the wolves and we have no one with experince to guide them and show them how it is done. With Carey there he could really groom a good centre half forward/key possie player (ie Smith, Rutten) for us.

We need a leader with a bit of a killer instinct in him to inspire and shape our young blokes to play good footy. Carey is it.

Jerome

Is it my imagination or have I just read about 5 Crows supporters say they would like Carey at the Crows?!?!

Go Roos
Just hand over Kane Johnson.

you wish

I don't think that Kane will end up at the Kangaroos. I am not sure of the situation with Carey's contract etc, but I think it would be highly unlikely.

k
xx

There are big wraps on Reilly & Mattner, but again they are midfield players which we already have plenty of - ie. McLeod, Riccuito, Johnson, Goodwin, Bickley, Bode, Edwards, Doughty, Gallagher, etc. We can afford to trade a top line midfielder, as we have plenty of depth & there is a fair chance a Reilly or Mattner could take the next step ... unlike our key forwards (except Stevens) who don't appear capable of doing so.

I wouldn't mind either Carey or Pavlich, but reckon Carey would be easier to trade for him if he nominates the Crows as his preferred desination (Nixon is trying to ensure he will go to his club of choice).

Mark Stevens has been a fantastic recruit for us, he has always been a key position player. I think he is better at CHB rather than CHF, however you can always rely on his contest at the ball and his fantastic defensive work. He is definately one of our first picked players each week! You messed with me when you messed with Stevo!

Hey, I didn't mean to belittle Mark's contribution in the last few years. He has been truly invaluable, as has Welshy. My comments were actually there to reflect two things.

1. The Crows have used stop gap measures to cover up it's ineffective drafting and development of forwards.

2. I do not believe Mark is a dedicated CHF and agree that he is better suited to CHB.

CHB is a key position, my comments were really about the forward positions. Sorry about that :).

Carey

Well it looks like the Crows will seriously pusue Carey as the players have agreed that they would have no problems playing with him & that he would be a good acquisition. Still a long way to go to convince him to come & to arrange a trade though. Would Stiffy give up his no. 18 guernsey?

Hi guys,

Question I've been thinking about since the weekend.

If the Crows were guaranteed by Carey that he would come to thge club for say $150, 000 to $200, 000 a year, but also told by Pavlich that they were a very good chance of getting him, and the club cloud only afford 1 of the two players, how would you go about it ?

I.e. - take Carey knowing that you then had your centre half forward stiched up, or reject Carey and take the chance that Pavlich would change his mind/be convinced by Fremantle to stay ala Ben Holland .

Just go for both
Why not? I mean if both Pav & Carey both knew each other were coming to the Crows next year, wouldn't that be a greater attraction for them to come, as it would certainly overcome our key-position problem & make us a genuine premiership threat. Even if we had to trade away a key midfielder, perhaps one of our up & coming wingman & say our Round 1 & 2 draft picks it would probably be worth it. We have stacks of midfield depth (ie. all our good youngsters are also midfielders - not key position players) so we should do whatever is reasonable to get quality talls in 2003.

[back after a bout of flu'..]

I'd agree about our poor recruiting - especially the lack of good early draft picks - how many players have we got in the 1st 10 - Angwin?? - Hmm -anybody else.

One thing - the Bode/Rehn swap is looking a bit better

Just an aside - to an earlier post about Stevens and 1999 - He played in the '98 GF

Re: [back after a bout of flu'..]

Originally posted by dezzmo

Just an aside - to an earlier post about Stevens and 1999 - He played in the '98 GF

And took a great mark over Carey late in the game.