Mega Thread Port Forum 'General AFL Talk' Thread Part 5 - Cont. in Part 6

Dusty's signing decision almost reached Rory levels of media craziness in Melbourne. Live and daily reports from New Zealand (went there to seek his dad's advice), and reporters camped at Melbourne airport, Dusty's house and even his manager's. Dusty added to the circus on his return to Melbourne from NZ by having two body guards wearing matching black suits, white shirts and black ties escort him through the airport, brushing away reporters who were desperate to ask questions.

And it was reasonably obvious he was going to re-sign. He made it known that a decision would be announced this week. He would have waited if he signed with another club.
The biggest ridiculous component of this circus was Mark Stevens flew to Auckland and made live crosses from Auckland on Talking Footy and news, thinking he would get some scoop from over there. If I had any doubt that he was a flog, then this removed it.

Big effort for Dusty to give up $2mil to stay if his manager Ralph Carr isn't bullshitting us.
Signed for $1.3mill for 7 years, more than 10% of Richmond's salary cap and the most lucrative contract in 150 years of AFL football.

Fair to say he's worked this very nicely!

I don't get how it's $2million that Martin gave up. $200k less over 7 years is $1.4million.
and with tax is probably more like 600k, which he will make up anyway.

I don't get how it's $2million that Martin gave up. $200k less over 7 years is $1.4million.
o_O

Link
"The 26-year-old was weighing up a seven-year deal worth around $1.1m a season with the Tigers, or the Kangaroos' offer of $1.5m a year over the same duration."

(1.5 - 1.1) * 7 = 2.8

Crows and GWS 2nds to play each other huh? you don't make finals the tier below it's stiff shit right? can you imagine us getting approval if the maggies were out of the finals
Is this true??

o_O

Link
"The 26-year-old was weighing up a seven-year deal worth around $1.1m a season with the Tigers, or the Kangaroos' offer of $1.5m a year over the same duration."

(1.5 - 1.1) * 7 = 2.8

o_Oo_O

From the SAME ARTICLE

"But on Thursday the Tigers reportedly upped their offer to $1.3m a season, and a deal was clinched."

o_O

Link

(1.5 - 1.1) * 7 = 2.8
Probably signed for $1.2 with Richmond, $300k per year less than the $1.5 NM offer...so $2.1 mill less over 7 years.
Why would you believe media reports that the contracts are a fixed amount for 7 years, ie that there would no variation year to year and there wouldn't be guaranteed and non guaranteed amounts in there along with incentives, bonuses etc? Offered $1.5m a year and the offered $1.3mil a year are simple ball park figures to feed the chooks. The figure of "Dusty gave up over $2million to stay" from Ralph Carr is calculated from the whole 7 years not a simple flat no increase yearly figure.

Do you reckon Carr would have a)said it and the b)media would accurately have reported it, if Carr said the contract is $1.2m in the first year followed by a 7.35% increase to reflect the CBA increase in that year and then a 3.378% in year 3 followed by 2.26% in years 4 and 5 and then CPI in years 6 and 7. The reported yearly figures are simple ballpark figures to feed the chooks.

Why would you believe media reports ...
It's not official until you confirm it. :thumbsu:

I take everything I read in the media about player's contracts with a tablespoon of salt but in most cases that is all the great unwashed have to go on and that is what the discussion was based on.

It's not official until you confirm it. :thumbsu:

I take everything I read in the media about player's contracts with a tablespoon of salt but in most cases that is all the great unwashed have to go on and that is what the discussion was based on.
Buddy's Sydney contract was initially reported as fixed over 9 years, then it was reported as back ended contract and then a few weeks later the figures came out that it was relatively low in year 1 and then zooms up to over $1.5 up by year 6 and then it falls away dramatically to well under $1mil in years 7-9. Surely his manager would know what the difference in offer is and would be foolish to greatly exaggerate any difference when discussing it with the media.

Not sure what the spin angle would be if it was only giving up $1m and he said over $2m. He might lose potential clients who say I dont want him to manage me, he gives up too much.