Autopsy post mortem v hawks

Cannot go from somepoint in the second quarter to 7 minutes left and not score a goal and expect to win.

We are a bits and pieces side at the moment.

There is a decent consistent side in there somewhere we just need to persist until Shaw has it.

Some positives
Josh Walker - huge down back, would be top 5 bnf right now
Taz - colossus should be all Australian
Higgins - jet kept us in it when we were struggling
Simpkin last quarter huge
Lmac great all day both defensively and offensively
Hayden likewise took the game on and defended well
Goldy beat ceglar as he should
Curtis is seriously exciting
Tarryns last quarter lifted us also

I’m actually stoked Taylor backed himself in.
Imagine how much we’d be talking him up if he’d slotted it.

Two great marks again tonight. Love the kid.

He’s not afraid of the moment.
Neither is Simpkin.
Neither is Zurhaar.
Neither is Thomas.

It’s a stretch, but I’m taking that as a positive out of tonight’s game. Glass half full & s***
I don't think Brown would have even made the distance

Round 1 - Ziebell goes off with second half comeback.

Round 4 - Ziebell goes off with last quarter comeback.

Sorry, but he is cooked. I would be shocked if he plays beyond 2021.

Don’t play 2 ruckmen,it is just f**king dumb.

Xerri wasn't picked or played as a second ruckman though, he was played as another tall forward to help out Browny, because that's predominantly where X has played this year. And I thought he did OK for his first game, given our poor forward entries. I didn't think his performance was so bad that it warrants him being dropped. I would given him another run, at least until Larks is ready.

Playing Campbell would have been playing 2 ruckmen, which would have been dumb.

Watch the vision of the screamer that Curtis took. Xerri takes his man out of that contest. Could have easily given away a free.

The questionable free kicks are not always one way.
I’m not taking about questionable free kicks otherwise we would be discussing the constant shoving by Hawthorn defenders.

I’m talking about a holding the man decision where Lewis clearly has the ball and it spills while being tackled and the other to Wingard where Marley makes incidental contact to his arm and Wingard throws himself back.

Did at half time. Was sooking about them giving away frees at stoppage. Used the words soft frees, so in other words he was whinging.

Forgot to mention the goals they kicked from soft frees though.

Yeah, they were getting in the way of his holding, blocking, throwing game plan by paying 6 out of 53 free kicks.

He clearly ****ing intimidated them.

Blaming umpires is weak.

Honestly I laugh at other teams supporters when they do it.

If we were good enough they don't factor as something we cannot over come.

Thank you Only Forwards, it’s a pet peeve of mine too

Where would we be without Robbie Tarrant. Scary thought
He was immense.
When they showed the replay if him landing on his shoulder and driving into the turf, my heart was in my mouth, knowing his shoulder injury history. Huge relief when he came back on and played like he hadn't missed a beat.
Our most important player, structurally.

Blaming umpires is weak.

Copping it in the arse with a polite smile on your face is even weaker.

Clarkson wouldn't tolerate it, but we do. Therein lies the difference. The Marquis of Queensberry was a pansy.

Copping it in the arse with a polite smile on your face is even weaker.

Clarkson wouldn't tolerate it, but we do.

We've been down the road of flat out calling it out and our coach was fined significantly. Then the umpiring against us got worse.

So you grin and bear it?

I like you mate, but that shit is for losers. It's Brad Scott 101, and it needs to end.

Would Pagan put up with it? Would Barassi? Join the dots.

First quarter was honestly fine. We were ahead in most metrics and roughly even with them where it counted, neither team's gameplan was able to take hold because of the pressure from both sides
Second and Third quarter were putrid. We didn't come out with as much energy as the hawks and 90% of the gametime then was played under the conditions they wanted, exacerbated by some bewilderingly stagnant movement up the field and a blanket refusal to try and move the ball at speed.

Fourth quarter the hawks eventually took their foot off the gas, anyone's guess as to whether that was due to fatigue from playing at a high level for so long or because they had it in the bag, and while we didn't seem to be playing to a particular gameplan, in the last 10 minutes our intensity lifted, we started to run hard, and we simply outworked them and actually kicked straight. It was both exciting and extremely frustrating. It made the lack of movement in the previous two quarters even more apparent.

As to a few individuals... Brown was double and triple teamed, with a few liberal shoves to the side/back thrown in for good measure, due to us moving the ball so slowly. Really didn't help that he was mentally conceding not marking the ball and was merely trying to tap it to advantage, at least I'm assuming that's why he was flying one handed so often, otherwise i have NFI what was up.

Atley is a spud. I'm growing to loathe him now. He doesn't run as hard without the ball as with it, and when he's going full tilt with ball in hand he generally ****s up the disposal. Sick of it.

Silver did a great job in defence, let down by his disposal a few times but overall was one of our best.

Walker has seamlessly replaced Scooter. Not many thrills to the bloke but he is absolutely rock solid and knows how to defend like the best of them.

That play with Mahony getting three touches was insane. Worked in and around the congestion and all three handballs found their target. Looks like a smart and composed little bugger and I'm looking forward to seeing more from him.

Xerri doesn't appear to know how to mark a ball properly, dropped at least two that he should have gobbled up, but he isn't at all shy about using his body and commits to contests very hard. Good debut overall.

TT concerns me. He seems to coast most of the time with minimal intensity. God he turned it on for a period in the last though. Has such a high ceiling.

Jy is amazing. He's the next captain, and not just because he's building into being a great player.

Goldy did great. Regularly just pulling the ball out the ruck.

Hayden is a ripper. Slow to dispose the ball at times, but that and the hair are the only knock I have on him. Really promising.

Pittard... is a bit of a concern. I think tonight he went back to biting off more than he can chew by foot, and I think the hawks deliberately allowed him freedom so he could do just that. Not a short step in sight but he needs to know his limitations better.

Anderson needs to learn to kick. Dear god. He's hard and fast and more than decent inside and without the ball, but by god he is a liability by foot 75% of the time again.

Jack is cooked. Loved him, but the number of soft tissue injuries in such a short time span are incredibly worrying. Even before the hammy he was a liability by foot and looked as slow as ever. I think he's done for. His fitness base and ground speed have never been perfect, but this spate of injuries are just putting him further and further behind the pass mark. Not sure what his contract status is, but I don't think he'll be captain next year and possibly not even playing.

So you grin and bear it?

I like you mate, but that sh*t is for losers.

No we get ourselves into positions where it doesn't f***ing matter.

The umpiring did not make us not kick a goal from late in the second until there was 7 minutes left.

And we can control that bit.

The umpiring did not make us not kick a goal from late in the second until there was 7 minutes left.

Bullshit, it completely sets the psychological tone of the match. The same shit occurred last week and Sydney grew 3 legs. Trust your eyes, they aren't lying.

The umpires never kept us from moving the ball out of our back half
The umpires never kept turning the ball over on the half forward line
The umpires never kept kicking to a 3 on 1

Autopsy post mortem v hawks