Predict the top 8

Do you remember a GF back in 2009? Chappy won the NS medal. Do you remember who he won that award from on a count back? GRAM. He's no dud.

I'd have Ryder in our starting 22 easily. Apologies to West, but he is simply better.

Yeah I just realised I got mixed up with Gram and Gamble. That always happens!!! Gamble, now he's a dud.

West has had 20 games. Ryder has had 100+. Very unfair comparison. West hasn't had much opportunity except to play back up ruckman to Ottens. Now with Orren joining the team, I doubt he'll really get the chance to shine.

I wouldn't put Ryder in our 22. Doesn't matter how good a player is, only results show how well a player would go in a different side. West suits us well and I can't wait to see what he has in store for the next few years.

Ryder is the type of player we would never trade for. We dont like inconsistency.

FWIW I reckon Brissie will do a lot better this year. And Melbourne should.

Yeah I just realised I got mixed up with Gram and Gamble. That always happens!!! Gamble, now he's a dud.

West has had 20 games. Ryder has had 100+. Very unfair comparison. West hasn't had much opportunity except to play back up ruckman to Ottens. Now with Orren joining the team, I doubt he'll really get the chance to shine.

I wouldn't put Ryder in our 22. Doesn't matter how good a player is, only results show how well a player would go in a different side. West suits us well and I can't wait to see what he has in store for the next few years.

The only reason I compare Ryder and West is the position they play, their ages, and Ryder would directly replace West. I liked West in 2011, but Ryder would be a walkup start in our team ahead of West, inconsistency or not. A prototype #2 ruck man. West may surpass him, time will tell.

Hate to poke holes but you have no Geelong or St Kilda on that ladder... :confused:

Melbourne at top 4 is super unlikely IMO, and Essendon below Gold Coast just won't happen.

Opps went off the top of my head and then counted 16 teams to double check....old habits

Westcoast
North

Adeliade
Gold Coast
Dogs
Brisbane
Port
GWS

Geelong as premiers makes more sense now;)

Very tough year to predict with all the new coaches

If i had a spare 100 Grand - id put the lot on the Crows to make the 8 -they have a super soft draw and will be unbeaten after the 1st 5 rounds

I think there could be 2 big sliders- obvious one is WCE -They did win the wooden spoon the previous year -wouldnt even be surprised if they missed the 8

And hate to say it but with all these injuries -i think we might slide a fair bit . Where down to 2 ruckman -Orran -good luck to him -but he might be a dud at Afl senior level -who knows . Menzel Vardy Simpson and Pods -are all coming off Major surgery -so you might only get 5-6 games out of each of them -add to that the retirements, and will a lack of hunger kick in at some stage - i mean theve all won 3 flags- if we get more early season injuries -logic says we will slide a bit

Just like last season that 1st up win against Saints was very important for confidence and momentum -i think the 1st 2 rounds against Dockers and Hawks are super important -both tough games -however if we win those 2 -we could be just like a car in cruise control -sailing towards the finals again.

Very tough year to predict with all the new coaches

If i had a spare 100 Grand - id put the lot on the Crows to make the 8 -they have a super soft draw and will be unbeaten after the 1st 5 rounds

I think there could be 2 big sliders- obvious one is WCE -They did win the wooden spoon the previous year -wouldnt even be surprised if they missed the 8

And hate to say it but with all these injuries -i think we might slide a fair bit . Where down to 2 ruckman -Orran -good luck to him -but he might be a dud at Afl senior level -who knows . Menzel Vardy Simpson and Pods -are all coming off Major surgery -so you might only get 5-6 games out of each of them -add to that the retirements, and will a lack of hunger kick in at some stage - i mean theve all won 3 flags- if we get more early season injuries -logic says we will slide a bit

Just like last season that 1st up win against Saints was very important for confidence and momentum -i think the 1st 2 rounds against Dockers and Hawks are super important -both tough games -however if we win those 2 -we could be just like a car in cruise control -sailing towards the finals again.

Pods will be back start of season, Simpson will be back in VFL before round 10 and then may push for AFL, Vardy will be ok and resume mid season and even Menzel will get back to senior level before finals. Things not that bad and even though Menzel, Vardy and Simpson have enormous potential they are hardly established senior players! We managed fairly well before! Expect a lot from the likes of Guthrie, Brown, Hogan, Smedts, and Taylor Hunt early in season. Rest assured we will be well placed to make another assault!

I'd have Ryder in our starting 22 easily. Apologies to West, but he is simply better.

Really?

You watched the final against Carlton this year didn't you?
The guy is a show time pony who'll give the fans what they want during the home & away season but come finals time...that individual brilliance breaks down. He doesn't tackle and is such a light frame that he gets out maneuvered during stoppages unless he gets a clear path to out-leap his opponents.

A shame Westy isn't getting much credit by some as he really did help us secure a 3rd premiership.
Gotta remember that he only played 9 games this year after coming into the side midway or thereabouts through the season and he has yet to be given the time to develop his role like Ryder has at Essendon.
You'll be very surprised with West after he gets to complete a full 20+ game season of footy:thumbsu:

1. Hawthorn
2. Collingwood
3. Geelong
4. Carlton
5. Fremantle
6. West Coast
7. Essendon
8. St. Kilda

Really?

You watched the final against Carlton this year didn't you?
The guy is a show time pony who'll give the fans what they want during the home & away season but come finals time...that individual brilliance breaks down. He doesn't tackle and is such a light frame that he gets out maneuvered during stoppages unless he gets a clear path to out-leap his opponents.

A shame Westy isn't getting much credit by some as he really did help us secure a 3rd premiership.
Gotta remember that he only played 9 games this year after coming into the side midway or thereabouts through the season and he has yet to be given the time to develop his role like Ryder has at Essendon.
You'll be very surprised with West after he gets to complete a full 20+ game season of footy:thumbsu:
Really? You pick ONE game of Ryder's. Did you see his effort on ANZAC day 2 years back, Hille off, Ryder rucked like a man possessed and won the game. He has some years on West, but if the 2 were available right now, who do you honestly think would be chosen, and who is the better player? H & A games get you to finals, hardly Ryder's fault they were smashed. You have your opinion, you are just wrong. Not decrying West at all.

Ryder is just SO inconsistent though.
I agree, brilliant at his best, he tore us apart round 14 last year, but then didn't do much for the rest of the season.

Ryder is just SO inconsistent though.
I agree, brilliant at his best, he tore us apart round 14 last year, but then didn't do much for the rest of the season.

Yeah this.

The Essendon game was an odd one for us. Our players were way out of character, I'm surprised we got so close in the end.

Ryder was being criticised by Essendon fans before they played us, and I recall him being questioned by countless match previews.