Roast Preliminary Final Umpiring Thread

Thanks TPA. That makes more sense.

Which then raises the question why didn't the allegedly "officiating" umpire overule the umpire out of the play?

Wait, I know the answer. They are dead set s******** morons.

Does make more sense Horace. Apologies.

Yes Richmond were unlucky not to get a free paid against Cunners. But the goal still had to be kicked and I still think we would have won because we seemed to have the answers, just as we did last year in the equivalent game against *essendon.

You're absolutely right. Read my post again, I said the free cost a crucial goal, I did not even mention it changed the result and I don't think that anyway. You were better than us that day no question. I was merely trying to make a point about umpiring. Sometimes it goes in your favour (semi final a case in point there), sometimes not. I agree that the WA teams get a terrific run, just not sure what can be done to change it.

What about the obvious out of bounds ? and the diving Waite did for a free ? I could go on but the umpiring was bad all round and not just one way.

Waite was actually unnecessary tackled after crossing the line and to make the umpires aware of 'HEY… wtf is this?'… esp after copping a BS call of 'shepherding BS free' which had him TAKING the F****** MARK!!!'… no wonder Waite did what he did and full credit to him… I guess to most WCE fans like yourself Jack the ninja, that you had no iota of a clue what the free was for when Waite took the mark… because it's been one way traffic in the frees dept for a VERY LONG TIME champ.. wake up and take your foot off the clutch FFS!!

The pissy BS minimal frees North got a long way from goal.. were laughable. But they get added on the stat sheet. Break the game down to what it was… frees overlooked like 'lazy Thompson' pulling on Kennedy's jumper were also overlooked.. that's one.. what other one did you guys have reason to feel slighted about? You got the pissy free (MC Hammer - Can't Touch Me) Jack Darling where he wasn't in the play and you guys had the ball anyway… but where the heck was that high head contact on the other guy? (can't recall WCE player) All the BS AFL propaganda of dropping your head to receive a free was written off which WCE are virtual masters of.. and suddenly the RULE is re-introduced from the past years 'rule/ interpretation' book. Rubbish/ garbage decision that RUINED the contest. WhY we upSet? at a crucial stage of the game. That's WHy!! That's why fans get miffed. You can't be making woolworth calls in a professional game of sports. Razor Ray dropped his stinking jocks on that decision and made us suck on it. F****** disgusted!! :mad::mad::straining:

Might as well get that little kid that was dressed up as an umpire at a game a few months ago and 80's WWF heel referee Dangerous Danny Davis to have a go next week. Maybe throw in one of those X Factor judges as well, isn't Chris Isaak one of those? He's been given a gig singing at the GF I think, just hand him a green polo after his performance. Read somewhere that he hasn't a clue about AFL, perfect fit imo.

Danny can GAGF, I still haven't forgiven that prick for ripping off the British Bulldogs.

Wrecked my childhood.

What about the obvious out of bounds ? and the diving Waite did for a free ? I could go on but the umpiring was bad all round and not just one way.

Does anyone else see the irony in "diving for a free" calls made by a supporter whose username and avatar are a tribute to Jack "Triple Twist with a Half Pike" Darling?

You're absolutely right. Read my post again, I said the free cost a crucial goal, I did not even mention it changed the result and I don't think that anyway. You were better than us that day no question. I was merely trying to make a point about umpiring. Sometimes it goes in your favour (semi final a case in point there), sometimes not. I agree that the WA teams get a terrific run, just not sure what can be done to change it.

You realise that Richmond had a good run with the umps as it is.. the 'greyest of greyest over the mark' interpretations << read: sick in the guts with that word) that fed you guys a gifted Rance goal.. WCE were doing that on more than a couple of occasions if I need to even be subtle about those decisions that don't merit a 50 in finals.. sure, that Cunners holding the ball in the pocket was a HOWLER… but sheesh… did you know what the ump called on Cunnington on the wing for his arm tackle that had the Richmond player caught stone cold?? 'holding the arm???' (whilst in possession)o_O Richmond free. Seriously.. we both agree that some umpires TOTALLY LOSE the PLOT. How the AFL allow Margetts to umpire WCE games is more than astonishing… it's a a shameless atrocity!! Hopefully you can agree on that last point.

You really have to learn to take the good with the bad in terms of umpiring. In the Elim, Richmond were robbed of a crucial goal with 5 minutes remaining by a missed howler and last week vs Sydney, you had the rub of the umps most of the night. Time to build a bridge.
**** off w***er! If the umpires had actually done their job and paid the free kick to Ziebell when Deledio rode him like he was at a rodeo, then the Cunnington situation never happens.

Richmond supporters conveniently seem to leave this out if the equation. That's because you are delusional.

Last night was one way traffic. That maggot Margetts actually had a go at Swallow when he questioned why being tackled around the neck when on the mark is not a free kick. Deliberate and calculated by Margetts to get under Norths skin. This cheating campaigner knew exactly what he was doing.

Just like the Jacobs trip, he couldn't wait to pay holding the ball, because he knew it would deflate us.

Shit like this should be dragged into a public forum and he should be asked to explain how he could make such horrible howlers. Because while there is no accountability this shit will continue to happen, umpires have the ability to impact a contest if they choose.

When Darling kicked that goal to put them 10 up in the third, it was 19-9. That's a big discrepancy.
Coulda, woulda, shoulda, we'll never know, but I think we ran out of gas anyway and would have been run down.
That said, Shuey, Darling and Jacobs decisions all appeared clearly wrong, and that's 18 points in a 24-point game.
It was an AFL directive, Hawks v Eagles GF was there preference. They just forgot to tell the umpires to be subtle about it.

But it was hard to be subtle when we were winning the contest, so they just plucked them out of their arse.

WA is insular, secessionist and proudly ignorant - they stick to their own as cashed up bogans are wont to do. It's reflected in fan behaviour at Subiaco, and in the disgustingly biased umpiring. WC much worse than Freo obvs.

My family moved to Perth when I was 17. Most are still there, but I only lasted a year. It was a breathtaking eye-opener: I went to Perth proud to be Australian, but came home proud to be Victorian. The parochialism and hatred toward the "eastern states" was palpable.

That was some years ago, but it hasn't changed.

My family moved to Perth when I was 17. Most are still there, but I only lasted a year. It was a breathtaking eye-opener: I went to Perth proud to be Australian, but came home proud to be Victorian. The parochialism and hatred toward the "eastern states" was palpable.

That was some years ago, but it hasn't changed.
I think one of the reasons Victorians are not liked so much here is the AFL, its so biased toward Victorian clubs they all get incensed when some favoritism goes our way. Have a good look at the fixture as an example, oh the humanity that the Eagles get an easy draw...oh the outrage. How dare we earn 2 home finals, how dare we get one good game called by the umps...oh the outrage. Its spoilt brat syndrome, when/if the Competition actually becomes totally fair and reasonable with all teams having the same money distribution and away games out of the state can you come in here and stand aggrieved when we get one game our way with the umps.

When Darling kicked that goal to put them 10 up in the third, it was 19-9. That's a big discrepancy.
Coulda, woulda, shoulda, we'll never know, but I think we ran out of gas anyway and would have been run down.
That said, Shuey, Darling and Jacobs decisions all appeared clearly wrong, and that's 18 points in a 24-point game.

We received all 9 free kicks in the back half apparently.

I think one of the reasons Victorians are not liked so much here is the AFL, its so biased toward Victorian clubs they all get incensed when some favoritism goes our way. Have a good look at the fixture as an example, oh the humanity that the Eagles get an easy draw...oh the outrage. How dare we earn 2 home finals, how dare we get one good game called by the umps...oh the outrage. Its spoilt brat syndrome, when/if the Competition actually becomes totally fair and reasonable with all teams having the same money distribution and away games out of the state can you come in here and stand aggrieved when we get one game our way with the umps.

That one game is a prelim final.

They don't come easy ...

I honestly don't know what the hell you're talking about. What outrage? What "humanity" (sic)?

I don't know how old you are, but I can tell you the anti-eastern states sentiment predates you, your club, and the AFL by some way. Yours was the only state to vote against federation in 1900, and would likely still secede today, given the choice.

I know I'm in the wrong thread here, so any abuse that comes my way I'll cop.

My experience of being an umpire (wafl level boundary - before I gave it away and missed my AFL calling) is that not one of the umps goes into the game with any pre-conceived idea of how the game will go. Our motto was (for all levels of footy, from Sunday league to afl) was that the game we are walking out to is the most important game of the day in the country.

It's a pretty tough job sometimes. You know that either way you make a call, someone won't be happy. You also don't have the benefit of slo-mo, instant replays, or 6 different camera angles (which is why there are three fieldies).

That trip non-call - really felt for north there, but the umpire in charge was behind the player coming around - so from there it would have looked like a bump to the side.

I can guarantee you that no umpire wants to favour a team. One of the first things we had to do is forget about the teams we supported. One of my best mates umpired on the weekend - and he wouldn't have a coffee with me this week until I took off my west coast scarf - so much was he intent in staying away from a potential bias perception.

In the end of the day - these blokes aren't full time professionals (except for a couple). Sure, the umpires next week will probably take home just over $100k after the end of the season, but 95% will supplement their income with other jobs, and train on a Tuesday and Thursday (and a meeting on Monday)

Maybe the Afl needs to make umpires better paid so they can go full time and train 5 times a week. But remember, these guys are human. Just like the players who make shitty decisions/kicks/head high contact at times. It's not a perfect system, but having every decision reviewed would be awful - just like these goal reviews where nobody knows what's happening.

Congrats on a good season btw - 8th into 4th is a good result, I know losing 2x prelims wouldn't sit well, especially with a couple of howlers going our way. But if you look at the game as a whole, our horrific kicking made the score line much closer than it could have been.

Hope you guys get behind us now. I don't hate hawthorn as they have proven to be champions of the modern era, but I still don't think they are as good as Brisbane in 2001-04, and I hope the 3-peat dream is destroyed.

Over and out

lol - you idiot!! One game your way?? You do know you have won the free kick count at home 46 of the last 50 games.

You won't get the gift this weekend and it's why the Hawks will win.

Mate there is no outrage here about the draw or the fact that you get home finals. Rightfully the draw nowadays in terms of teams played resembles the finishing order from the previous year. You will have a tougher draw next year than this through making a GF. We will get a similar draw next year to this year.

Equally we have no arguments about where the finals are played. You finished second on the ladder and rightfully you earned the right to two home finals. So don't bring that into the equation.

This is about last nights umpiring, which was disgraceful (euphemistically speaking). This is not about what happened in the QF between yourselves and the Hawks a fortnight ago, but could veryeasily resemble a similar view from Hawks fans whose team were reamed by the umps in that game.

I couldn't give a stuff about what people in WA think about Victoria and Victorians. Total irrelevance to the travesty handed out last night and to a lesser extent what was handed out to Freo on Friday night.

I just give a stuff that games be decided purely on the merits of the contest, not the lack of merit in the umpiring. That is all.

I honestly don't know what the hell you're talking about. What outrage? What "humanity" (sic)?

I don't know how old you are, but I can tell you the anti-eastern states sentiment predates you, your club, and the AFL by some way. Yours was the only state to vote against federation in 1900, and would likely still secede today, given the choice.

If they hate us so much, its not too late.

My experience of being an umpire (wafl level boundary - before I gave it away and missed my AFL calling) is that not one of the umps goes into the game with any pre-conceived idea of how the game will go. Our motto was (for all levels of footy, from Sunday league to afl) was that the game we are walking out to is the most important game of the day in the country.

It's a pretty tough job sometimes. You know that either way you make a call, someone won't be happy. You also don't have the benefit of slo-mo, instant replays, or 6 different camera angles (which is why there are three fieldies).

That trip non-call - really felt for north there, but the umpire in charge was behind the player coming around - so from there it would have looked like a bump to the side.

I can guarantee you that no umpire wants to favour a team. One of the first things we had to do is forget about the teams we supported. One of my best mates umpired on the weekend - and he wouldn't have a coffee with me this week until I took off my west coast scarf - so much was he intent in staying away from a potential bias perception.

In the end of the day - these blokes aren't full time professionals (except for a couple). Sure, the umpires next week will probably take home just over $100k after the end of the season, but 95% will supplement their income with other jobs, and train on a Tuesday and Thursday (and a meeting on Monday)

Maybe the Afl needs to make umpires better paid so they can go full time and train 5 times a week. But remember, these guys are human. Just like the players who make shitty decisions/kicks/head high contact at times. It's not a perfect system, but having every decision reviewed would be awful - just like these goal reviews where nobody knows what's happening.

Congrats on a good season btw - 8th into 4th is a good result, I know losing 2x prelims wouldn't sit well, especially with a couple of howlers going our way. But if you look at the game as a whole, our horrific kicking made the score line much closer than it could have been.

Hope you guys get behind us now. I don't hate hawthorn as they have proven to be champions of the modern era, but I still don't think they are as good as Brisbane in 2001-04, and I hope the 3-peat dream is destroyed.

Over and out

A fair post mate, but irrespective, why is it that Margetts pays so many frees to the Eagles in games against us? It just never stacks up. Also the trip he did not pay to Jacobs, was one he was perfectly placed to see. Watching the replay you can see clearly over Jacobs as his feet are taken away and he falls backwards, Margetts running straight to the contest with his eyes on Jacobs. No excuses for him there.

A fair post mate, but irrespective, why is it that Margetts pays so many frees to the Eagles in games against us? It just never stacks up. Also the trip he did not pay to Jacobs, was one he was perfectly placed to see. Watching the replay you can see clearly over Jacobs as his feet are taken away and he falls backwards, Margetts running straight to the contest with his eys on Jacobs. No excuses for him there.
Guarantee you not many west coast fans like him either - they all think he favours the vics! Footy fans can be a fickle bunch ;)

lol - you idiot!! One game your way?? You do know you have won the free kick count at home 46 of the last 50 games.

You won't get the gift this weekend and it's why the Hawks will win.
We also flogged teams here by big margins and opposition teams were chasing tails, that coupled with the fact our crowd always turns up with their voice to cheer the Eagles on is a pretty good recipe to win the free kick count.

Over and out

Just so you are well aware and don't get me wrong here that we're still trying to understand how the AFL can SCREW IT UP with umpire Margetts getting appointed ahead of many other umpires …. Margetts who has an unparalleled reputation of being PRO WA teams bias. Why is that? o_Oo_O Need articles to stick it to you for proof??

I officiated Gridiron on the local front for several years and I know too well that the 'standard is the standard' after year 1..expectations to be aware of what to look for, what is the difference between technical and non-technical.. it was quite a comprehensive criteria. I don't know what the umps in the AFL talk about of how 'seriously they think about it' but we had 'meetings weekly' to iron out the wrinkles from certain feedback from teams (because WE COMMUNICATED!!!) in which were minor winkles btw.. we were very harsh on ourselves on the most dainty flinch… it was bordering on pro-perfection at times.. the first thing I was TOLD and learned from my first 'inadvertent' whistle is to NEVER EVER GUESS. The AFL umps have a tough job no doubt and with the neck breaking speed of needing to keep up and hopefully getting the side on angle to help them is crucial to making a firm, correct and positive decision.

What grates most / ALL fans is not much the 'non-decisions' but the 'SECOND GUESSES' that are completely shameless and dinky. Totally unprofessional and completely amateurish. Finals is about uncompromising footy and not being 'pedantic' as they can (unnecessarily) be early in the season. btw… being part time and doing it for the LOVE of the game is not much different in getting a truckload of coin but why do too many 'SECOND GUESSES' continue to ruin the contest??

And btw.. I was chosen in the inaugural State Championship game crew in just my second season due to following simple guidelines. WhY can't experienced AFL umpires 'avoid making stupid second guesses'??? That's where the 'standard' crumbles and makes the AFL a complete laughing stock.

We also flogged teams here by big margins and opposition teams were chasing tails, that coupled with the fact our crowd always turns up with their voice to cheer the Eagles on is a pretty good recipe to win the free kick count.

Um, I think that might be called snookering yourself.

Roast Preliminary Final Umpiring Thread