Premier C - 2016

Rissoles, calling Rissoles. Howdy again! Following your useful explanation of the tipping guidelines (#201) I queried why you hadn't applied them in my case (#207)).

Seeing you haven't as yet replied I ask again as I think clarification is important.

You rightly said the BF tipping guideline relating to changing tips would apply. That guideline essentially says a participant can change his/her tips providing it is before the start of a match. That is pretty much standard procedure for such competitions.

Having properly said that is the standard you ignored the guideline by adjusting my tip number.

I changed my tips - one to be precise- at 5.21pm (#179)Friday as you will see by the edit to my post. That would be 20+ hrs before matches were started.

Either we abide by the guideline as you properly suggest we should or we adopt the Bedford option - to coin a phrase - and allow no change once tips go in.

If we apply the guideline as you said we should/would my tip numbers should not have been changed. On the other hand, if we are to ignore the guideline and adopt the Bedford option then the change was appropriate.

Your clarification would be appreciated.

Sorry for the delayed reply, AM - a busy day.

Penninsula
Willy
Caulfield
OI
Kew

After seeing that cautionary addendum, I've lost faith & changed my pick.:eek:

Your first post of tips at 8:35am would have recorded 4 points. Your second post at 5:20pm suggests you have changed your pick from Peninsula to Ormond, although I concede it is not definitive. That changed tip would have resulted in a total score of 3 points.

I heartily agree with one of your previous comments that we are not playing for sheep stations. I am merely the tipping recorder. If your tipping score should be 4, please let me know and I'll redo the table.

I vote 4.

And IMO Beeza is a coaching genius and brilliant recruiter. Even heard him in the ear of young Kew Comets spruiking the advantages of becoming Rovers. He starts his recruiting driving early. Come under the Beeza wing and only good times can follow..

Sorry for the delayed reply, AM - a busy day.
Your first post of tips at 8:35am would have recorded 4 points. Your second post at 5:20pm suggests you have changed your pick from Peninsula to Ormond, although I concede it is not definitive. That changed tip would have resulted in a total score of 3 points.

I heartily agree with one of your previous comments that we are not playing for sheep stations. I am merely the tipping recorder. If your tipping score should be 4, please let me know and I'll redo the table.
Ormond to Peninsula mate. Quite definite. There was some interaction with Bedford between posts.

Certainly not sheep stations. And because my knowledge of 'C' would be the poorest of the group I'll most likely finish down the pecking order. So the numbers are a side issue. Just gives the appearance of cheating as I see it.

It is good of you to do it as I've said earlier in the thread and you shouldn't take it personally.

Old Ivanhoe vs Kew - Old Ivanhoe - Coz and Home Ground Advantage
Ormond vs Caulfield - Ormond - A guess and home ground advantage
Old Camberwell vs Mazenod - Mazenod - Too strong across the field
Marcellin vs Peninsula - Peninsula - Marcellin too banged up from last week. If Carlson plays he is superman.
Oakleigh vs Williamstown - Oakleigh - Oak were good for a half, then over run. Home Ground advantage. Cloke

Max "Getting in early" Leader

Max "your 3rds have pulled out " Leader
Yes it was not an easy decision. interestingly, our neighbours don't have a 3rds or 19 in 2016.

Further to that, our biggest poacher, Heidelberg can't get a 19's , and if they can't get a team in 2017, they will be automatically relegated to Div 2 NFL.

Max "maybe next year" Leader

*Carl G, Old Ivanhoe Grammarians – Front on contact, 2 matches
Both Unlucky and lucky.

Play was not well after incident, however due to a simultaneous tackle which resulted in the player falling at the same time of the tackle, the damage resulted.

VAFA have a strong emphasis on front on contact, but a little commonsense applied.

Our player was upset with both the resultant injury to the Marc player, and given never been reported in his career. If anyone who sees him play, knows his goes hard, but always respectful of all players.

Max Leader

Yes it was not an easy decision. interestingly, our neighbours don't have a 3rds or 19 in 2016.

Further to that, our biggest poacher, Heidelberg can't get a 19's , and if they can't get a team in 2017, they will be automatically relegated to Div 2 NFL.

Max "maybe next year" Leader

Max, re 'your neighbours' we struggled to fill a thirds as last year for the majority of the weeks and our 19's played the year with only 25 registered players. We have had over 20+ guys retire, go overseas or get coerced to 'play down the road' via various school and student connections (And that is fine, it happens to district clubs).

Going up a grade with so many people finishing after years of service, off our ground as the new rooms get built and some enterprising recruitment from other local clubs (VAFA and Northern FL) have seen us facing a challenging year. But that is local footy and especially as a district club in the VAFA that has no traditional feeder via a school. One thing I do know - we could well have 4 teams again next year if what I am hearing happens.

Anyway, I will bugger off back to D1 and leave the C grade folk to their own until we hopefully get back up again at some time in the years to come.

Chump

Old Ivanhoe vs Kew
Ormond vs Caulfield
Old Camberwell vs Mazenod
Marcellin vs Peninsula
Oakleigh vs Williamstown

Max, re 'your neighbours' we struggled to fill a thirds as last year for the majority of the weeks and our 19's played the year with only 25 registered players. We have had over 20+ guys retire, go overseas or get coerced to 'play down the road' via various school and student connections (And that is fine, it happens to district clubs).

Going up a grade with so many people finishing after years of service, off our ground as the new rooms get built and some enterprising recruitment from other local clubs (VAFA and Northern FL) have seen us facing a challenging year. But that is local footy and especially as a district club in the VAFA that has no traditional feeder via a school. One thing I do know - we could well have 4 teams again next year if what I am hearing happens.

Anyway, I will bugger off back to D1 and leave the C grade folk to their own until we hopefully get back up again at some time in the years to come.

Chump
Chump

One day we may dance together??

Great win last week for you guys.

Max "Brown, Black and White wedding" Leader

Old Ivanhoe vs Kew
Ormond vs Caulfield
Old Camberwell vs Mazenod
Marcellin vs Peninsula
Oakleigh vs Williamstown

Chump
What are you hearing Chump and are your sources reliable

Firstly, I will apologies for the score updated from OI. It was me and I stuffed it up. What a ludite.

Now for the game.

OI came out of the blocks and should have kicked 6. Kew settled with the scores being even at quarter time.
2nd quarter see the an arm wrestle for most of the quarter, with some ill disciplined behaviour saw Kew gifted 2 goals. Kew where running well and looked quick, and with a goal late saw the Light brown and yellow up by 3 goals.
The 3rd quarter saw OI wake up and 6 goals with a total diminate performance, and ended up with a 20 point lead.
Kew were kicking with the aid of a 1-2 goal breeze, and had eradicated the lead within 10 minutes.
Kew kept on pressing and were leading by 11 points with 90 seconds to goal.
A goal to Del Monte with 50 seconds to goal saw the lead whittle down to 5 points.
A centre clearance saw a shot on goa which ended to the top of teh square.
Up steps the skipper and dukes a monster mark. Siren goes. Skipper kicks it.
Win by 1 point.

Observations.
Kew are good, actually very good. Confident and cocky.
Mal Mitris is a gun, and one of the best captains on the comp.

Max "winner winner chicken dinner" Leader

Firstly, I will apologies for the score updated from OI. It was me and I stuffed it up. What a ludite.

Now for the game.

OI came out of the blocks and should have kicked 6. Kew settled with the scores being even at quarter time.
2nd quarter see the an arm wrestle for most of the quarter, with some ill disciplined behaviour saw Kew gifted 2 goals. Kew where running well and looked quick, and with a goal late saw the Light brown and yellow up by 3 goals.
The 3rd quarter saw OI wake up and 6 goals with a total diminate performance, and ended up with a 20 point lead.
Kew were kicking with the aid of a 1-2 goal breeze, and had eradicated the lead within 10 minutes.
Kew kept on pressing and were leading by 11 points with 90 seconds to goal.
A goal to Del Monte with 50 seconds to goal saw the lead whittle down to 5 points.
A centre clearance saw a shot on goa which ended to the top of teh square.
Up steps the skipper and dukes a monster mark. Siren goes. Skipper kicks it.
Win by 1 point.

Observations.
Kew are good, actually very good. Confident and cocky.
Mal Mitris is a gun, and one of the best captains on the comp.

Max "winner winner chicken dinner" Leader
Max"shot AT goal Leader" see you next week