Pro and Cons

• Thread starter Thread starter Chops

Originally posted by dancingdoggie17
I thought Jordy was great. He tried all night, tackled and chased. What is missing exactly?

I guess we have differing ideas about McMahon's value last night.
I will watch him closely over the next few weeks before elaborating on what I think he is lacking as a footballer.

As much as jordy is one of my favourite players he has to start playing consistant footy and be a contributer on a weekly basis if not im sure there will be similar players waiing to take his spot.

How much ground time did he get? He has great pace but can he kick on the run? not much use if he has to stop and prop to deliver the ball. Not good enough mark to play half forward. Maybe he just needs more game time.

Gilbe has good pace and is a great kick running hard. Could be our next Smithy.

Originally posted by OldSchool
I guess we have differing ideas about McMahon's value last night.
I will watch him closely over the next few weeks before elaborating on what I think he is lacking as a footballer.

I was disappointed in Jordy last night but I watched the video when I got home and he actually did more than I thought. He won a bit of ball for himself last night.

Pros

Skips first game its about time to
Browny kicking multiple goals at least someone is

not many that i cant think of apart from that

Cons
Where do i start
The way the team is playing absolutley crap
Not giving crossy enough time on the ground :mad:
The form of bandy absolutley shocking
Alveys knee injury
Robbos injury

Originally posted by stefoid
How much ground time did he get? He has great pace but can he kick on the run? not much use if he has to stop and prop to deliver the ball. Not good enough mark to play half forward. Maybe he just needs more game time.

Gilbe has good pace and is a great kick running hard. Could be our next Smithy.

He got enough ground time but really was very disappointing.
I agree that Gilbee could be a hard running defender midfielder in the Smith mould as long as he continues to develop on the defensive side of his game

Originally posted by jim440
I was disappointed in Jordy last night but I watched the video when I got home and he actually did more than I thought. He won a bit of ball for himself last night.
I watched the replays on Foxtel and I was still disappointed in his game although the TV coverage does tend to flatter some of the players away from the action.

Agreed Jordy is a flashy player and looks better on tv because of it. Looked at his possession this morning which confirmed he hardly got it. Vice versa for Gia.

Originally posted by Chops
Agreed Jordy is a flashy player and looks better on tv because of it. Looked at his possession this morning which confirmed he hardly got it. Vice versa for Gia.
Sometimes a players work off the ball goes unnoticed. The stats can also be misleading. I suppose nothing beats going to the game

Pros:
Great to see:
Daniel Southern back at the club during the week and Brett Montgomery buying a season membership with the club.

Monty!! What a great guy!

Pros

The first quarter was brilliant. Every player put in, the tackling and intensity was ferocious!
After the fade out, the side showed guts in getting back to within 12 points.
Good form of McGuinness and Skip and Bowden

Cons

Lloyd smashing Robbo in the back and injuring him. No report - compare that to the incident Granty lost the freakin Brownlow over!!
Alves out while putting in hard and laying a tackle. Get well soon mate.
Darce giving away a goal by kicking across goals to his opponent.
Browny and Mitch missing easy shots.
Was one of Lloyd's goals over the line before it bounced into the post?

No, its not just you. The guy may have skill, but no heart. Some think Huddo was soft, this guy redefines the term (Mind, I loved Huddo).

Pros:
Is it just me ?:
Is there anyone else who is starting to doubt McMahon's ability to play good consistent football ? Great pace, good skills but there is something that is very critical definitely missing at the moment.

Originally posted by bulldogs1
No, its not just you. The guy may have skill, but no heart. Some think Huddo was soft, this guy redefines the term (Mind, I loved Huddo).

Sheesh that's a bit harsh!

Hey old school where did you read this ?

Good to see them both buying a membership qwith the clubs that gave them their start in afl footy even though southern isnt playing any more

Go Monty your a legend

Pro : Talented kids getting a game

Con : They stuff up sometimes - it's the inevitable pain that must be borne in order to turn them into decent footballers (eg I like McGuiness and liked some of his game last night - but he must have dropped at least 4 uncontested marks - 2 because he was unbalanced and 2 because he was probably getting panicky about the fact his match up was so wrong).

Pro : Great start by Skipper

Con : Power and McMahon probably need a decent hitout for Werribee in order to find some form. Both were slow starters last year and in hindsight, should have started at Werribee.

Pro : Good endeavour and attack on the ball last night

Con : Too many out of form players to win.

Originally posted by Doggiesrule1020
Hey old school where did you read this ?

Good to see them both buying a membership qwith the clubs that gave them their start in afl footy even though southern isnt playing any more

It was in either Fridays or Saturdays paper. Small article
Also today there is an article in the paper about the new real estate guru Guido

Pro : Browny's form

Con : Browny's kicking

Pro : The ball's getting in the forward line enough to win games

Con : Apart from Brown, there's no-one there.

Yeah, maybe it was, sorry. I'm not happy, though, and my dissatisfaction with his lack of endeavour hasn't resulted from this week, but goes back a while.

My father watches most of the games, and he's in agreement. He may develop this side of his game, especially as he puts on some muscle, but if he's not up to it, then back to Werribee as suggested, for a week at least.
Originally posted by Fossie 32
Sheesh that's a bit harsh!

Ill do a player by player but I wasnt there so you all probably have different views to me

Murphy-Its time for him to go into the middle.He is that good in a one on one contest that even on a wing he he is going to be very damaging.Just think hes wasted at the moment.Did well on Hird even though Hird had more of it(9 clangers to).Only concern is he has faded out in games this season without exception.With Alvey out he should go to the wing.

Garlick-Better with 14 possesions before half time.Went missing after half time but not on his own.

Bubba-A couple of years ago he was overated but he is underated now.People still see him as the guy who has done nothing since 97.He has been brilliant since going back to half back last season.You expect his man to get a bit but his own input far more than his opponent.

Johnson-Another good game.Stepped up when game was slipping.

Westy-9 clearances and 28 possies for the ball magnet.Probably leading the b and f.

Hahn-Turned it over a bit but continues to impress with his attack on the ball.Needs to be left in the action as much as possible.

Bandy-Much better

Basset-Attacked the pill pretty well especially early.Finding it hard to find good matchups for him ATM.Could be a similar story this week.

Guido-Much better from Guido.Can hold his head up.

Darcy-His opponent had a good game but so did he.24 touches,20 hit outs,5 tackles and plenty of clearances is a good game.Suffering from his own high standards.

Power-Needed to put his head over the ball a couple of times.

Croft-Unlucky with Lloyd getting a couple when Croft was covering for others.Cant remember him getting beaten in the contest to much.

Brown-Close to best on.Has been running to close to the man on the mark since the first pre season game.Makes you wonder if he has been watching the video.Anyone hear Robert Walls making a tool of himself blaming Browns bad kicking on the way he holds the ball?Its as if he has only just noticed that he holds it a little differently.Its not the problem the problem is he has changed his run up.

Bowden-Cant believed he has been bagged.Played 58 minutes (under a half) and got 11 possesions and 5 marks.If he played the full game he would have been one of the best.We are crying out for someone to take contested marks and Bowden at the moment looks pretty dangerous in the air.Agree with Chops that he might be worth trying closer to goal.Been impressed with him every time this season.Presenting well and taking marks which is what we need.

Mcmahon-Needs time he missed big chunks of pre season and is being brought on and off the bench.Give him a bit longer and he will come good.To be honest since his highly publicised stuff up against North last season I havent seen him shirk an issue in a contest.May have missed something though on saturday.

Dimma-Showed why we still need him in the side.

Mcguiness-His opponent got a bit but I was still happy with him.Gave some decent run off half back and continued to show he reads the play well.Just needs to work through some of his mistakes.

Robbins-The mans got a death wish.

Alvey-Chance for someone else like a Murphy,Mcmahon or Gilbee to stake a claim on the wing.Would be happy with either of them being given an extended run there.

Skipper-Efforts at ground level and second and third efforts gave us a lot going through centre half forward.When you couple his form along with the improvement of Bowden and Wiggins form in the bees there is a bit to work with there.Skip wasnt far away from pulling in a few big grabs aswell.As long as he keeps working hard his game will fall into place beautifully.

Cross-One quarter on the ground.

Hargrave-Couldnt really pick up who he was playing on.Anyone able to tell me ?I reckon he needs a big job to get his focus back.

Originally posted by Fossie 32
Monty!! What a great guy!

Pros

The first quarter was brilliant. Every player put in, the tackling and intensity was ferocious!
After the fade out, the side showed guts in getting back to within 12 points.
Good form of McGuinness and Skip and Bowden

Cons

Lloyd smashing Robbo in the back and injuring him. No report - compare that to the incident Granty lost the freakin Brownlow over!!
Alves out while putting in hard and laying a tackle. Get well soon mate.
Darce giving away a goal by kicking across goals to his opponent.
Browny and Mitch missing easy shots.
Was one of Lloyd's goals over the line before it bounced into the post?

When you throw yourself backwards into a pack, and get crunched, its not a free against the other guy -- however, Robbo did hold that mark, and it only came loose after he was flattened, but the mark was not paid. You can also add Smithys carey-esque running with the flight of the ball chest mark into the pack to the list of marks not paid us as well. It clearly went 15, but they paid touched. thats screwed up, a guy takes a grab like that, you pay it, thats what footys all about.

I dont normally complain about the umpiring, not in about 5 years, but these guys blew big time.

Smith would get a game on the wing for the Melbourne Storm on that effort at the moment! Couldn't tell whether the ball was touched or not from where I was sitting but I would've paid it.

I thought the umpiring was reasonably good on Saturday night, sure there are always going to be some bad decisions but all in all they didn't get in the way too much (same can't be said for Barnsey as Essendons runner)

Pro's:
Attacked the ball with some passion
Skipper giving significant game time on debut and impressed.
Kmac looked the goods
Browns goal
Robbo showing what it means to have a bit of G 'n D

Cons:
We lost
Didn't make the most of our opportunities
Lack of communication on a few occassions
Alveys injury
Robbo paying the price for showing a bit of G 'n D

Originally posted by K9-54
Pro : Browny's form

Con : Browny's kicking

Pro : The ball's getting in the forward line enough to win games

Con : Apart from Brown, there's no-one there.

This does not paint such a good picture for us

Originally posted by dogboy23
Ill do a player by player but I wasnt there so you all probably have different views to me

Murphy-Its time for him to go into the middle.He is that good in a one on one contest that even on a wing he he is going to be very damaging.Just think hes wasted at the moment.Did well on Hird even though Hird had more of it(9 clangers to).Only concern is he has faded out in games this season without exception.With Alvey out he should go to the wing.

Garlick-Better with 14 possesions before half time.Went missing after half time but not on his own.

Bubba-A couple of years ago he was overated but he is underated now.People still see him as the guy who has done nothing since 97.He has been brilliant since going back to half back last season.You expect his man to get a bit but his own input far more than his opponent.

Johnson-Another good game.Stepped up when game was slipping.

Westy-9 clearances and 28 possies for the ball magnet.Probably leading the b and f.

Hahn-Turned it over a bit but continues to impress with his attack on the ball.Needs to be left in the action as much as possible.

Bandy-Much better

Basset-Attacked the pill pretty well especially early.Finding it hard to find good matchups for him ATM.Could be a similar story this week.

Guido-Much better from Guido.Can hold his head up.

Darcy-His opponent had a good game but so did he.24 touches,20 hit outs,5 tackles and plenty of clearances is a good game.Suffering from his own high standards.

Power-Needed to put his head over the ball a couple of times.

Croft-Unlucky with Lloyd getting a couple when Croft was covering for others.Cant remember him getting beaten in the contest to much.

Brown-Close to best on.Has been running to close to the man on the mark since the first pre season game.Makes you wonder if he has been watching the video.Anyone hear Robert Walls making a tool of himself blaming Browns bad kicking on the way he holds the ball?Its as if he has only just noticed that he holds it a little differently.Its not the problem the problem is he has changed his run up.

Bowden-Cant believed he has been bagged.Played 58 minutes (under a half) and got 11 possesions and 5 marks.If he played the full game he would have been one of the best.We are crying out for someone to take contested marks and Bowden at the moment looks pretty dangerous in the air.Agree with Chops that he might be worth trying closer to goal.Been impressed with him every time this season.Presenting well and taking marks which is what we need.

Mcmahon-Needs time he missed big chunks of pre season and is being brought on and off the bench.Give him a bit longer and he will come good.To be honest since his highly publicised stuff up against North last season I havent seen him shirk an issue in a contest.May have missed something though on saturday.

Dimma-Showed why we still need him in the side.

Mcguiness-His opponent got a bit but I was still happy with him.Gave some decent run off half back and continued to show he reads the play well.Just needs to work through some of his mistakes.

Robbins-The mans got a death wish.

Alvey-Chance for someone else like a Murphy,Mcmahon or Gilbee to stake a claim on the wing.Would be happy with either of them being given an extended run there.

Skipper-Efforts at ground level and second and third efforts gave us a lot going through centre half forward.When you couple his form along with the improvement of Bowden and Wiggins form in the bees there is a bit to work with there.Skip wasnt far away from pulling in a few big grabs aswell.As long as he keeps working hard his game will fall into place beautifully.

Cross-One quarter on the ground.

Hargrave-Couldnt really pick up who he was playing on.Anyone able to tell me ?I reckon he needs a big job to get his focus back.

I like Murph in some space on a wing too...Id back him against most opponents 1 on 1. backline is under pressure, no good options, what to do? Bomb long to murph on the wing and watch the kid run leave his opponent looking stupid.

I like Skipper and Bowden across half forward to present and take marks. Im sick of short people like Eagleton on the half forward line. I would play Bandy and Brown as FPs and Wiggins as the leading FF.

Originally posted by Doggiesrule1020
As much as jordy is one of my favourite players he has to start playing consistant footy and be a contributer on a weekly basis if not im sure there will be similar players waiing to take his spot.

How can he be consistent if he doesn't get much ground time. He got a good run sat night and I think he used it well, he really impressed me. But the weeks before he hasn't had too much time. I think he is playing consistent when he has been on the ground.

Ok, he can't change whatever he's done in the last few weeks, but sat was good, so who cares about the ones before it.

Dancing doggie i know that he doesnt get much time but how is it that other younger players such as gilbo have to return via weribee while jordy returned practically straight into the seniors after he was out for most of the pre season.I just think that he has to be more consitant and he showed why hes going to be a good player with his efforts against the bombers its just that now he as many of our oter players are coming into their 3rd full seasons and by now should e playing well every week and not always relying on westy,johnno,browny and smithy to do the job each week thts one of many reasons hy we arent winning.

Originally posted by stefoid
I like Murph in some space on a wing too...Id back him against most opponents 1 on 1. backline is under pressure, no good options, what to do? Bomb long to murph on the wing and watch the kid run leave his opponent looking stupid.

I like Skipper and Bowden across half forward to present and take marks. Im sick of short people like Eagleton on the half forward line. I would play Bandy and Brown as FPs and Wiggins as the leading FF.
4 forward talls? We haven't even tried 3 at once yet!