QAFL 2021

• Thread starter Thread starter GC2015

Surely it’s quite easy… each players needs to supply copy of vaccine to aflq to be qualified to play… what’s hard to manage here

sounds easy not so easy in practice. Nobody from AFLQ can chase people up so it would be left the the clubs. Gett150 + proof of vaccine (for men’s and women’s) including for players that only play a game or two when the club is short is nigh on impossible.

What do you do if they don’t want the jab? Do we also mandate jabs for coaches officials members?

sounds easy not so easy in practice. Nobody from AFLQ can chase people up so it would be left the the clubs. Gett150 + proof of vaccine (for men’s and women’s) including for players that only play a game or two when the club is short is nigh on impossible.

What do you do if they don’t want the jab? Do we also mandate jabs for coaches officials members?
Don’t play or coach… same as what society will be dealing with in 6 weeks. No problem if you don’t want vax, but society moves on. I don’t necessarily agree with all the rules and protocols but it’s life going forward. No vax is no different to no fees paid, quite easy to manage. Always solutions to every problem.

That’s b.s.

My work has almost 6000 full time and part time employees. Not to mention contractors, suppliers, etc.

Everyone has to email a copy of their Medicare vaccination passport to their head of department by December 31st, or they no longer have a job.

Delivery drivers have to have proof of vaccination, or they’re not allowed to deliver goods. Same goes for couriers.

If all these 3rd party companies can organise their employees vaccination passports, then community sporting clubs should be able to manage it as part of their players registration.

AFL players are paid professionals and their job was classified as essential hence required to have the jab.
Community players aren’t paid professionals, yes some are paid , but it isn’t their main income so not classed as essential work so doubt the jab will be required to play at community level.
Plus statistics are proving double jabbed people are still contracting, spreading and dying from COVID so what’s the point?

AFL players are paid professionals and their job was classified as essential hence required to have the jab.
Community players aren’t paid professionals, yes some are paid , but it isn’t their main income so not classed as essential work so doubt the jab will be required to play at community level.
Plus statistics are proving double jabbed people are still contracting, spreading and dying from COVID so what’s the point?

Not sure those who are double jabbed and dying are of the age bracket kicking a footy around on a Saturday arvo - possibly a property steward or old Fred that does the oval - so in which case you certainly hope old mate who is 20 years of age but has some moral high ground to hold over what goes in his body doesn't kill old Fred with his stance. I also hope mister moral high ground isn't the sort of bloke who smokes or puts chemicals into his body - sort of defeats the purpose.

That’s b.s.

My work has almost 6000 full time and part time employees. Not to mention contractors, suppliers, etc.

Everyone has to email a copy of their Medicare vaccination passport to their head of department by December 31st, or they no longer have a job.

Delivery drivers have to have proof of vaccination, or they’re not allowed to deliver goods. Same goes for couriers.

If all these 3rd party companies can organise their employees vaccination passports, then community sporting clubs should be able to manage it as part of their players registration.

the difference is workplaces aren’t run by volunteers.

Don’t play or coach… same as what society will be dealing with in 6 weeks. No problem if you don’t want vax, but society moves on. I don’t necessarily agree with all the rules and protocols but it’s life going forward. No vax is no different to no fees paid, quite easy to manage. Always solutions to every problem.

clearly you haven’t been the fee collecting person. Is far from quite easy to manage.

No club in Australia has everyone paid up in full by the start of training or practice games which if a vax mandate came which would probably be the cut off. Most clubs at local level have a stack of blokes go through the ressies . Yeah good luck have fun local volunteers sorting that.

Good news is it’s very unlikely to happen for community sport.

I’m fully vaxxed by the way.

Is it really any different from players uploading birth certificates or drivers license as proof of age?

Surely if it’s put back on players to upload as part of reregistration?

I don’t see it as a massive issue if it’s put back on players/parents as part of registration process.

the difference is workplaces aren’t run by volunteers.
Do the players have to register each season?

If so, as part of registering, they have to email their Medicare proof of vaccination. Surely there’s a club president or secretary who handles such correspondence.

I haven’t been involved in a sporting club, but I used to be VP and then secretary of a small club. Yep, it can be a lot of work, but you know that when you stick your hand up for such a role.

Those very few doubled jabbed people who have died from Covid have had a significant or serious ailment already, which contributed to their death. Similar to how the elderly or immunocompromised represent a larger percentage of Flu deaths, than younger and largely healthy people.

The point is to lessen the burden on our hospitals (where I work), because statistics prove that the higher percentage of the population that are immunised, the less people actually end up in hospital.

It’s probably help those clubs lax on payments to tighten that up with the vax requirement. Think PlayHQ has payment gateways too which will change things for a lot of clubs. The days of the free ride at tour mates expense are numbered

Do the players have to register each season?

If so, as part of registering, they have to email their Medicare proof of vaccination. Surely there’s a club president or secretary who handles such correspondence.

I haven’t been involved in a sporting club, but I used to be VP and then secretary of a small club. Yep, it can be a lot of work, but you know that when you stick your hand up for such a role.

I like the “I haven’t been involved but it would be easy”.

and the old “you know that when you stick you hand up” is an annoying saying by those that think someone else should do the work.
Vax mandates would a burden on already stretched volunteers they can do without.

Lucky it won’t matter as I’d be surprised if it happened.

I like the “I haven’t been involved but it would be easy”.

and the old “you know that when you stick you hand up” is an annoying saying by those that think someone else should do the work.
Vax mandates would a burden on already stretched volunteers they can do without.

Lucky it won’t matter as I’d be surprised if it happened.
First, any burden on volunteers pales in to comparison to the burden those families who have suffered loss of life due to Covid face. It appears that the fact that we're talking about a life and death virus has been forgotten in a discussion about potential work loads.

Two points.

I didn't say it would be easy.

As someone who has stuck their hand up, been there myself.

Vax mandates don't have to stretch volunteers. You obviously have a registration system, so it becomes part of the registration system.

In case you haven't followed what our QLD government has said, when we open up, anyone who catches Covid, and their family or household, are still required to home isolate until they clear negative test protocols. Covid will potentially have a larger impact on community sports if a certain percentage of players and volunteers can't front up because they are in home quarantine.

Pretty easy to police it

Currently every rego requires proof of age (or identity)

In sportingpulse or whatever system they now use, before a player registered for 2022, they need to upload a proof of vaccination

clearly you haven’t been the fee collecting person. Is far from quite easy to manage.

No club in Australia has everyone paid up in full by the start of training or practice games which if a vax mandate came which would probably be the cut off. Most clubs at local level have a stack of blokes go through the ressies . Yeah good luck have fun local volunteers sorting that.

Yeah it would be a tough one to manage - agree.

Just out of interest what do clubs charge for rego fees for senior / reserves players at this level? I think the amount charged by the QAFL is around $35K. Do clubs divide by approx 60 here to get the fee?

Yes mate I think our Senior men and women paid around $400/$450.00 for rego.If they found a player sponsor then they are out of pocket $200.00 for rego.We have always tried to break even on Senior regos’ but impossible now in qafl.Junior Regos is where the money is made by clubs!

depends if you throw in their gear with it (apparel etc)

Playing shorts, socks, polo, singlet, warm up top etc

Some clubs include, others sell the gear seperatelyt

Just on a different topic what’s everyone’s thoughts on how Southport vfl players Will align themselves next year.Obviously due to location the two sunny coast teams won’t be involved.We’ve been asked by headquarters to give our opinion!Could be a very big advantage to the Gold Coast teams if like this year up to 4 vfl players could play for their aligned qafl club.Love the idea of each club having a marquee player that is exempt from both points and salary cap!Just have to find one😂

As long as they have a better points system in place. 1 point is ridiculous unless the player is a junior from that club. Should be at whatever the points would be if that player had been recruited to the club initially.

Just out of interest what do clubs charge for rego fees for senior / reserves players at this level? I think the amount charged by the QAFL is around $35K. Do clubs divide by approx 60 here to get the fee?
[/QUOTE

Personally I think a marquee player simply undermines the equalisation salary and points caps. Only a couple of clubs would be in position to have one ( most clubs play well below both caps. It’s a bad idea

As for VFL players in my view they shouldn’t be 1 point and the number allowed limits be reduced to a max of 5 of which max 3 main list players.

Labrador regularly played with 6 sharks players this season which is too many for mine and of course Morningside loaded up a bit for finals.