Yes SMY you are correct however I hope not too much conjecture.The criteria at Maroochys much broader than that of the Sunshine Coast team.The only criteria for the Sunny Coast team that one must have played/coached 75 games on the Sunny coast!

Agree NB, whilst I havent been around to see Maroochydore for 50 years, I cant believe Simmo's not in that team. Scholard is stiff as well.Yes SMY a great advertisement for Sunny Coast footy especially leading into our 50 th year celebrations this week where a team of the half century will be selected.!I see Jacob Simpson did not make Maroochys team of the past 40 years!
He’s the best ruckman I’ve seen on the Coast in my 25 years being involved.Obviously a criteria issue![]()
Bewildering! Couple Best n Fairest, league MVP and just about the best player in 4 GFs in a row! Haven't seen a better ruckman on the coast in 25 years. Hope it has nothing to do with his decision to play in Victoria this yearAgree NB, whilst I havent been around to see Maroochydore for 50 years, I cant believe Simmo's not in that team. Scholard is stiff as well.

Agree NB, whilst I havent been around to see Maroochydore for 50 years, I cant believe Simmo's not in that team. Scholard is stiff as well.
Watch this collision!!! wow! (6.06)
Scholard only came back in 2018 I think Bud and the criteria was up to the end of 2019.Agree NB, whilst I havent been around to see Maroochydore for 50 years, I cant believe Simmo's not in that team. Scholard is stiff as well.
The years post 2019 didn't come into equation Miller - although it was a 50 years team it was supposed to be held back in 2020 but we know why it didn't...Especially given Simpson did some of his work when Maroochydore played at the highest level, whereas they had been a 2nd/3rd division club for 47 of 50 years and Simpson won the MVP for the QAFL.

It would send me insane listening to that all day on the boundary.Good perspective on watching from the sidelines when you just want to be out there.
Could have left out the bit abusing the young boundary umpire though from what looks like pretty close range.
Influencers gonna influence.
Good chance for the next 50 celebration if people can remember him then..Scholard only came back in 2018 I think Bud and the criteria was up to the end of 2019.

Surely that’s not the coach?It would send me insane listening to that all day on the boundary.
Surely that’s not the coach?
Its' been explained previously why its compromised this year (and also reasons overall its compromised)
GC clubs get 3-5 VFL players each from southport as 1 pointers and low cost, and almost zero work recruiting them.
GC clubs have 50-70k financial advantage from ground maintenance
Previously with the existence of the NEAFL, there were 3 NEAFL clubs in Brisbane and 2 on the GC (including the AFL reserves). So they drained the talent, but at least the excess players were farmed out via an uncompromised mini draft, making them distributed somewhat evenly.
Now GC has 2 x VFL teams and Brisbane has one. But the GC one has a list size of 45, making as many as 23 available between 4 clubs on a given weekend. The Suns VFL team mostly takes from academy, not using mature age top ups, while the one VFL team in Brisbane isn't feeding any players back, but instead still taking their best ones aged 20-22.
Despite all this, Brisbane clubs sit 2nd and 3rd on the ladder - one of them largely through NEAFL/VFL list recruiting from interstate (heaps of Tassie blokes at Aspley) and the other with a big collection of QAFL talent from other clubs concentrated in one location due to the competition structure change.
these things will even themselves out over time, but the competition has been heavily compromised structurally 2020-2022 and this will probably remain for a few more years until the new teams are bedded in and junior talent doesn't jump ship.
The years post 2019 didn't come into equation Miller - although it was a 50 years team it was supposed to be held back in 2020 but we know why it didn't...![]()
Heres what i said;
"...The Gold Coast clubs have really raised the bar to the strength and consistency teams need to have to compete at the finals end of the ladder. The Brisbane clubs are going to have to do some recruiting if they plan to get competitive against the GC clubs anytime soon. IMO, strength of juniors just isnt going to cut it...."
To which you responded;
"...i think you're looking at it through a pretty narrow prism in a period of a heavily compromised competition...." Then you just dumped a whole heap of dribble you previously ejected a page or two before.. (again above)
So despite your long explanation of perceived problems... how is it a 'narrow prism' when i say "...The Brisbane clubs are going to have to do some recruiting if they plan to get competitive against the GC clubs anytime soon..."? Thats actually a broad (and factual) statement, not a narrow one... As you suggested, GC clubs basically have their recruiting done for them. I said earlier, Brisbane clubs are going to have to get more creative in how they recruit... None of that is narrow.
Aspley and Redlands have just met the standard of recruitment required to be competitive vs the GC clubs. Both obviously very professional boards. Redlands did it at the expence of others... well, it is a COMPETITION after all!! Aspley could have lost a heap of players after exiting from the VFL,....but didnt. They RETAINED their players. Which is part of recruitment. Both are rich clubs. Both have just entered the competition, both have thought ahead. There is no reason to suggest they are going to plan to become average.. If you are going to wait till they 'come back to the pack', you may be waiting quite a while! They also both did it without a Beach! (Redlands is a muddy bay). Which again comes back to my point...; "...The Brisbane clubs are going to have to do some recruiting if they plan to get competitive against the GC clubs anytime soon...".
Mate, you are like a lot of people, you have nothing to say, but say it quite well. As against many here who have something to say, but dont quite know how to say it..
Youve outlined problems, and dared not offer solutions. Solutions are the hard part. Its easy to find problems. It takes creativity and imagination to come up with solutions. Both of which your posts are in short supply of. But, prove me wrong. What can Brisbane clubs do you strengthen their lists? Miller style? Running to the council or the league is not an answer. Come on, offer some original thought mate...
Fair enough, he was pretty good up to 2019, but maybe didn't meet 10 year service threshold?
Thats all great mate, but Brisbane teams sit 2nd and 3rd on the ladder. So are you referencing certain Brisbane teams, or just making a general statement that is completely incorrect based on the current status of the competition?
Broadbeach beat Grange by 2 points, Sherwood by 16 points and Redland by 3 points.
Broadbeach are going through a great patch and well done to them, they are currently the competition pace setters and juggernaughts, the last time they lost a game was more than 12 months ago against Sherwood. However, we have seen teams go undefeated in the H&A season and not win the flag twice in the last 5 years, so the cup could well still be coming to Brisbane and the "GC clubs might have to do some recruiting to be competitive with the Brisbane Clubs" could be your new line...
Surfers were the last Premiers in an almost uncompromised comp and they are 10th. Things go in cycles.
haha - no. But I'd be telling Baulchy that I love his enthusiasm but just stfu for a while...Surely that’s not the coach?

No -there wasn't a 10 year requirement.Fair enough, he was pretty good up to 2019, but maybe didn't meet 10 year service threshold?
Thats all great mate, but Brisbane teams sit 2nd and 3rd on the ladder. So are you referencing certain Brisbane teams, or just making a general statement that is completely incorrect based on the current status of the competition?
Broadbeach beat Grange by 2 points, Sherwood by 16 points and Redland by 3 points.
Broadbeach are going through a great patch and well done to them, they are currently the competition pace setters and juggernaughts, the last time they lost a game was more than 12 months ago against Sherwood. However, we have seen teams go undefeated in the H&A season and not win the flag twice in the last 5 years, so the cup could well still be coming to Brisbane and the "GC clubs might have to do some recruiting to be competitive with the Brisbane Clubs" could be your new line...
Surfers were the last Premiers in an almost uncompromised comp and they are 10th. Things go in cycles.
So, wheres your original thought on fixing a 'compromised competition"?
The Brisbane teams you mention are in your opinion part of the problem in your 'compromised competition". Now you are pointing to them as evidence of successsfull Brisbane clubs!!! bwhahaha!!! You are a fake mate! No original thought, and cant hold a position. FFS. What a joke.
No, I said they are the reason for some of the other Brisbane clubs to be struggling. You are making out that every Brisbane club is struggling.
2 of the Top 3 are made up of Brisbane Clubs and 2 of the bottom 3 are made up of Brisbane clubs.
The ones in the Top 3 are definitely part of the problem for the other clubs, but many expect this to even itself out over time. Though Aspley will always hold a financial advantage, which they have earnt.
Tough job selecting that team - Simmo will get a spot here surelySpeaking of events the Sunshine Coast Hall of Fame is holding their celebration Friday this week. 32 new inductees, 3 legends to be named and a Team of the Half Century to be read out. A big day. We are lucky there are people on the coast to make this work but more importantly the sunshine coast football community, support it. No doubt some players will be debated as to their spot in the team but there always is. Very difficult to compare apples with apples when you have clubs playing at differing levels of competition across the 50 years but it will be what it is. Only criteria was 75 games sunshine coast representation which eliminated quite a few very very good footballers but rewarded longevity. If people are interested will post the side up on this site next week. No doubt some of you will know many of the names..

I must admit, I did find it a bit surprising to see Baulchy's personal camera woman walking around on the inside of the fence during a game a few weeks back. Good luck to him with all that TikTok nonsense, but it does come across as being a bit arrogant, and if nothing else, potentially dangerous.haha - no. But I'd be telling Baulchy that I love his enthusiasm but just stfu for a while...![]()