QAFL 2022

• Thread starter Thread starter GC2015

We'd all agree they have done well OFF the field, recruited and retained players well. But no they haven't done well ON the field. Thats up for discussion on a footy chat forum mate.

What's your definition of "doing well on the field"? Or more to the point, where do you think they should be on the table?

Haven’t been on for a while and have been working away . I’m interested to know what’s going on with coaches for 2023. From all the past posts (great reading btw) It seems like there’s lots going on at a few clubs and a few teams under performing .

Have any clubs locked in their coaches yet ? And have any decided to part ways .

How about we stop the grange bashing as I think a lot of people are making comments about a club they aren’t involved at.

Grange have done well this year and I didn’t hear anyone from Grange saying they would win the flag.
A lot of people were hyping up this Grange side in the off season. I wasn’t buying into it at all. Obviously in hindsight you can tell that this side wasn’t good enough to beat the majority of the top 6 sides. Grange need to focus on consistency before they consider themselves a hard team to beat. With regards to their culture it’s hard to tell from the outside looking in, but seeing a few of their games this year I do believe they seem to be more focused on a real crash and bash brand of footy that intimidates the opposition. Nothing wrong with that, but you need to have the right balance. Grange have a lot of upside in terms of their list and you can tell that they want to make finals as soon as possible, however that takes time. There’s no point rushing into it. Grange will do well in the future but they need to focus on beating the majority of teams around and below them before they can cement themselves in the top 6 for years to come. Overall they’ve done well this year but I expected them to win a few more games.

Not sure UiS - the "building" of a list tends to be more of an AFL thing where players don't move on as easily as they do at local level. Sometimes you have a good crop of blokes come thru and then bang - they all decide to head o/s for a backpacking sabbatical..:)
Plenty of clubs move straight into success mode without building as well - Maroochydore did, Noosa should play finals this year after 2 years, SP won a premiership in 2019 but hasn't been sustained, Morningside have fluctuated up and down as well. Be fair to say only Cats and Lab have really been consistently good for a while with I think Aspley and Redlands probably going to as well now.
Grange definitely loaded up this year with playing personnel - took 2 of the best available (Eagles and Payne) plus a number from NT. Every week ther seemed to be a "name" rolling into Hickey park during preseason. Whether that is to be a flawed strategy I suppose time will tell but I would think that with those additions they would have wanted to be playing finals this season, surely? Obviously a few games to be played still so all of this might change opinions if they win last few.

Coaching is hard too - some coaches look better bc of their lists - not necessarily good coaches but good recruiters, others coach really well without necessarily getting ultimate success bc the cards they are dealt aren't fantastic. Its such a subjective role and everyone has an opinion... :) Who is and isn't a good coach is sometimes easier to judge in retrospect when the emotional clutter is removed.

Not sure UiS - the "building" of a list tends to be more of an AFL thing where players don't move on as easily as they do at local level. Sometimes you have a good crop of blokes come thru and then bang - they all decide to head o/s for a backpacking sabbatical..:)
Plenty of clubs move straight into success mode without building as well - Maroochydore did, Noosa should play finals this year after 2 years, SP won a premiership in 2019 but hasn't been sustained, Morningside have fluctuated up and down as well. Be fair to say only Cats and Lab have really been consistently good for a while with I think Aspley and Redlands probably going to as well now.
Grange definitely loaded up this year with playing personnel - took 2 of the best available (Eagles and Payne) plus a number from NT. Every week ther seemed to be a "name" rolling into Hickey park during preseason. Whether that is to be a flawed strategy I suppose time will tell but I would think that with those additions they would have wanted to be playing finals this season, surely? Obviously a few games to be played still so all of this might change opinions if they win last few.

Coaching is hard too - some coaches look better bc of their lists - not necessarily good coaches but good recruiters, others coach really well without necessarily getting ultimate success bc the cards they are dealt aren't fantastic. Its such a subjective role and everyone has an opinion... :) Who is and isn't a good coach is sometimes easier to judge in retrospect when the emotional clutter is removed.
Yes agree the notion of “3 year rebuilds” rarely work at local level as losing a few through no fault of the club can easily happen and likewise a few good ins can change things quickly.

Also yes with salary and points caps it’s hard to sustain success and that is the whole idea of them- to equalise.

Easy to drop off quickly and definitely possible to rise quickly. Premiers Surfers 2019 and Morningside 2020 have dropped off quicker than they’d like. Maroochydore likely gone from GF to missed finals with the loss of Simpson and a couple of others.

On the flip side Noosa have risen quickly and Lab got going last year after 3 barren years. Cats having a strong period but I remember getting flogged in games in 2016.

As for Grange it’s good they had a crack in the off season and got some handy recruits in. In my mind they’ve underperformed and should be playing finals with that list. It is up to them to work out what went wrong and why, and it’ll be interesting to see if these NT boys are with them next year

Grange have been the most overhyped & underperformed Team for the past 6 years.
Money not well spent says the scoreboard

Hearing a whisper that Wyllie Buzza signed, sealed and delivered to Grange in 2023 on a very good package. Not sure how they fit Payne, Eagles and Buzza on same payroll with money being sprouted.

Rumors suggest the spend hasnt finished. Though 'news corp' is calling it 'fake news', which as we know, usually means its bloody Gospel!

Its probably the only way Grange, Morningside, Sherwood and Mt Gravatt are going to catch up to the GC clubs, Aspley and Redlands.

Rumors suggest the spend hasnt finished. Though 'news corp' is calling it 'fake news', which as we know, usually means its bloody Gospel!

Its probably the only way Grange, Morningside, Sherwood and Mt Gravatt are going to catch up to the GC clubs, Aspley and Redlands.

you know the ladder changes from year to year right?

here is hard data posted back in May:

Everyone has been strong at some point, even Grange.

In alphabetical order (excluding clubs that have left QAFL) bold denotes highest ladder finish, * = premiership, italics = lowest place finish of current clubs

Broadbeach 4, 5, 7, 3, 2, 4, 1, 2*
Labrador 3, 1*, 1*, 1, 7, 7, 8, 1
Morningside 1*, 4, 6, 4, 3, 3, 3, 2*, 5
Mt Gravatt 5, 7, 4, 5, 5, 5, 6, 9
Palm Beach 2, 6, 2, 2*, 1*, 1, 4, 8
Sherwood 6, 2, 3, 6, 6, 6, 3, 7
Surfers 7, 10, 5, 7, 4, 2*, 7, 4
Wilston Grange 8, 3, 8, 8, 8, 8, 8, 10
Maroochydore 5, 6
Redland 3
Noosa 11

Every single club has missed finals and every single club has made a prelim final.

Broadbeach Ave ladder position 3.5, 1 x flag 1 x minor premiership
Labrador ave ladder position 3.6, 2 x flags and 4 x minor premiership
Morningside ave ladder position 3.5, 2 x flags and 1 x minor premiership
Mt Gravatt ave ladder position 5.75
Palm Beach ave ladder position 3.25, 2 x flags, 2 x minor premiership
Sherwood ave ladder position 4.8
Surfers ave ladder position 5.75, 1 x flag
Wilston Grange ave ladder position 7.7

Maroochydore n/A
Redland n/a
Noosa n/a

On those numbers, Labrador and Palmy are the standout clubs since QAFL re-introduced. Surfers the fantastic 2019 win pulling Palmy back to the field and despite Surfers having a more successful era than say Sherwood or Mt Gravatt (by virtue of a cup on the shelf!), on average they finish lower or the same on the ladder.

All interesting stuff and shows that Grange were due to move up the ladder and people forget they did finish 3rd in 2015, though it is a big outlier.

Broadbeach Ave ladder position 3.5, 1 x flag 1 x minor premiership
Labrador ave ladder position 3.6, 2 x flags and 4 x minor premiership
Morningside ave ladder position 3.5, 2 x flags and 1 x minor premiership
Mt Gravatt ave ladder position 5.75
Palm Beach ave ladder position 3.25, 2 x flags, 2 x minor premiership
Sherwood ave ladder position 4.8
Surfers ave ladder position 5.75, 1 x flag
Wilston Grange ave ladder position 7.7

3 of 4 Brisbane clubs also on the 'bottom' of your history ladder.

We now have 2 powerhouse, rich, ex VFL clubs in the mix. One of them raided Morningside. The GC clubs also have their marquis players. Morningside havent a marquis player or even an import of note. Same with Mt Gravatt and Sherwood. Grange are attempting to bolster their list, and all the more power to them for it.

I dont mean to dismiss the post youve obviously put some work into, but i think the QAFL is getting stronger, and its not just through local talent, its also by some clubs recruiting from other competitions. 2022 QAFL is a different comp to 2016. By doing the same thing, clubs are going to get the same result. The clubs that have been proactively recruiting players are at the top. (besides Grange).

I'll say it again; If clubs want to compete with the top sides any time soon, they need to put their hand in their pocket and recruit.

3 of 4 Brisbane clubs also on the 'bottom' of your history ladder.

We now have 2 powerhouse, rich, ex VFL clubs in the mix. One of them raided Morningside. The GC clubs also have their marquis players. Morningside havent a marquis player or even an import of note. Same with Mt Gravatt and Sherwood. Grange are attempting to bolster their list, and all the more power to them for it.

I dont mean to dismiss the post youve obviously put some work into, but i think the QAFL is getting stronger, and its not just through local talent, its also by some clubs recruiting from other competitions. 2022 QAFL is a different comp to 2016. By doing the same thing, clubs are going to get the same result. The clubs that have been proactively recruiting players are at the top. (besides Grange).

I'll say it again; If clubs want to compete with the top sides any time soon, they need to put their hand in their pocket and recruit.

Off the top of my head, Mt Gravatt have recruited Grose, Malone and Buzza. Just have barely seen them, so unlucky in that regard. Also had that Castles guy from Canberra who has disappeared.

Sherwood from 2016 to 2020 recruited the likes of Staker, Harwood and Beams and then invested in a pretty serious coach as well.

Sustainable models are important. You say they at bottom of history ladder, but some of them have an average finishing position of playing finals football and being very competitive. Far be it for me to say it, but some community clubs don't exist for the sole purpose of winning QAFL premierships. PErhaps they should, but they don't. Some value player development above all.

Winning % since 2014

Broadbeach: 62%
Labrador: 74%
Morningside: 62%
Mt Gravatt: 54%
Palm Beach: 70%
Sherwood: 66%
Surfers: 55%
Wilston Grange: 32%

Players drafted to AFL:

Broadbeach: 3
Labrador: 1
Morningside: 3
Mt Gravatt: 0
Palm Beach: 4
Sherwood: 2
Surfers: 0
Wilston Grange: 1

Palmy have the model right. High win rate, good player development and kids drafted.

Also, alongside probably Sherwood - the only club that is a consistent Colts performer every year.

Off the top of my head, Mt Gravatt have recruited Grose, Malone and Buzza. Just have barely seen them, so unlucky in that regard. Also had that Castles guy from Canberra who has disappeared.

Sherwood from 2016 to 2020 recruited the likes of Staker, Harwood and Beams and then invested in a pretty serious coach as well.

Sustainable models are important. You say they at bottom of history ladder, but some of them have an average finishing position of playing finals football and being very competitive. Far be it for me to say it, but some community clubs don't exist for the sole purpose of winning QAFL premierships. PErhaps they should, but they don't. Some value player development above all.

Winning % since 2014

Players drafted to AFL:

Palmy have the model right. High win rate, good player development and kids drafted.

Also, alongside probably Sherwood - the only club that is a consistent Colts performer every year.

Buzza was a Mt Gravatt Jr.

You make good points, do the research, but only offer time as the solution. My point has been; IF the Brisbane clubs want to be able to compete with the GC, Aspley and Redlands ANY TIME SOON, then they are going to have to recruit.... just like the GC and Aspley and Redlands have done.

Youve made the point that 'over some years' leaders fluctuate, but if the current leading clubs keep churning over the juniors AND recruits, (they all have the money to do so) whilst the Brisbane clubs simply rely on Juniors, what is going to change?

Winning % since 2014

Players drafted to AFL:

When you speak of drafted to AFL does that mean put onto AFL list or a player that is consistently playing AFL footy

The numbers you quote are very low.

I know the cats have had
Weller
Nutting
Ellis
Conroy
Scott
Oea
Uwland
Fyfe

In the past few years. I’m sure other clubs would have more also

When you speak of drafted to AFL does that mean put onto AFL list or a player that is consistently playing AFL footy

I know the cats have had
Weller
Nutting
Ellis
Conroy
Scott
Oea
Uwland
Fyfe

At Maroochydore we are just hanging out coat tails on Cumberland. How bloody good has his past month been 😁

I know the cats have had
Weller
Nutting
Ellis
Conroy
Scott
Oea
Uwland
Fyfe

I can't be bothered checking, but I reckon every stat in that post is just made up.

At Maroochydore we are just hanging out coat tails on Cumberland. How bloody good has his past month been 😁
Been awesome SMY. Another slap in face for QLD footy that a kid like that has to leave his home state when he was in Lions Academy.

Becoming a common theme. Even at VFL kids leaving state due to lack of opportunities.

Been awesome SMY. Another slap in face for QLD footy that a kid like that has to leave his home state when he was in Lions Academy.

Becoming a common theme. Even at VFL kids leaving state due to lack of opportunities.
No one is forcing anyone to leave their home state. They don’t have to nominate for the AFL draft.

Every kid should know that moving interstate is a possibility, because that’s how the AFL draft works.

Lions and Suns can’t take every kid from their academies either. Doing so potentially compromises either team’s ability to try and win a flag.

It potentially leads to imbalanced lists.

Some of these kids might not receive the opportunities at either the Lions or Suns, that they might receive at another AFL club.

I can almost guarantee that Cumberland isn’t pushing Cameron, McCarthy, Rayner or Bailey out of our team.

And then we still have Blake Coleman, another academy kid in the same position, in our reserves. Plus highly rated draftee Kai Lohmann.

In Cumberland’s case, not to match the bid was a list based decision, as our list managers decided we needed a halfback/wing over a small forward. We drafted Jaxon Prior instead.

If kids are leaving because of a lack of opportunity at VFL level, that’s not the clubs fault either.

The Lions have 9 QLD kids/men on our VFL list, and one kid who relocated from Victoria.

Reality is we can’t fit every kid who has dreams of making it (AFL) on to our VFL list.

That’s just the nature of the sport and team lists.

Your post comes across as very nieve.

Interestingly we actually were glad he went out of state SM- the sort of boy he was it was good for him to head away and immerse in footy and especially at a club like Richmond. He was a rough diamond for sure but has battled through a 12mth injury and come out other side. Wasn't gifted a game and has earnt it. Only a handful of games but hoping he continues to go well. Loves his local footy club and they love him with sisters still involved at junior level.